BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/29/2012

Soto Fence Co

(559) 230-14443151 W Dakota Ave, FresnoCA 93722-4902

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We are a family & locally owned business, we have over 30 years experience, and specialize in chain link, wood & wrought iron fence. call for a free estimate / quote.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/29/2012

BBB has determined that Soto Fence Co meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Soto Fence Co's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Soto Fence Co

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have a complaint about **** ******* and the crew that put up my fence.
I have a complaint about **** ******* and the crew that put up my fence. I called about the fence not being complete, they left off a board on the top cap. I called ***** 3 weeks ago, several times since to come out to fix, but as of today he still has not shown up. Also the crew had to avoid only three sprinklers, but covered two up with dirt backfill. Now my grass is dead. I will be calling the better business bureau about shoddy workmanship and not following up with completing my fence. I will definitely NOT recommend Sotop Fence Co. to anybody who needs a fence.

Desired Settlement
To come out immediately to make repairs

Business Response
Mr. **** did call and report there was a small board missing from this fence, we tried our best to get someone out to place the small board were is was missing. but was unable to in a timely manner, we did express our concern with getting this resolved, but not soon enough for this customer. As of 5/13/2014 the issue has been fixed and a 1x4 inch board has been installed. As to the sprinkler issue, this is the first it was brought to our attention. We do apologize for any dirt that may have been placed over the sprinkler's but after the amount of time it took to be reported, how can we be sure were it came from. I am not sure how to fix this issue, so I suppose Mr. **** can come up with a solution on a resolve for this issue. We will do our best to work with him or figure out something else. Also we as a company would like to resolve this issue, and sincerely apologize to Mr. ****.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I decided to purchase my fence through Soto Fence Co. due to the fact that they were registered with the Better Business bureau. The crew that did the work should have asked me to inspect work before saying it was complete. Also the clean up was not satisfactory, a lot of dirt was left behind my yard shed, which is not moveable. **** ******* kept promising to come out but continued to shine me on. I am disappointed with the company and workmanship.

Final Business Response
We are not sure what type of solution we need to get to in order to satisfy this customer, the repair has been completed. As to the dirt left behind, this customer was told we are not responsible for grading and he said it was fine, he could spread the dirt along the fence line. Also to set the record straight, ******* **** was not shined on, it was difficult to send someone there on the only day he was available (Friday).Since the original complaint has been addressed (To come out immediately to make repairs) we are not sure why this is ongoing. Mr. ******* has expressed his apologies to Mr. ****, but it seems to not be enough. Please inform us what we need to do, in order to close this issue.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fence Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/29/2012Business started: 09/05/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr
Sacramento, CA 95827-1703
(800) 321-2752
http://www.cslb.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 740128 for this company, issued by Contractors State License Board. Their web address is http://www.cslb.ca.gov.

Type: Contractors State License Board

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Erasmo Soto (Owner)Customer Contact: Alex Sanchez (Office Manager)
Business Category

Fence Contractors

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 04:30 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 04:30 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 04:30 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 04:30 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 04:30 PM
Service Area

California

BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including mediation and arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Soto Fence Co

3151 W Dakota Ave

Fresno, CA 93722-4902

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3151 W Dakota Ave 

    Fresno, CA 93722-4902(559) 230-1444

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Soto Fence Co is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Fence Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.