BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/15/2013

Streetstrider International, LLC

Phone: (800) 348-0998

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
02/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have emailed several times and left several voicemails, as my streetstrider is broken and they won't get back to me and send me the part
I have emailed several times and left several voice mails, as my streetstrider is broken and they won't get back to me and send me the part that is broken. I've had it since November and still can't use it. Customer service is horrible there. They charge you for extra stuff you don't need and then you are stuck paying for it. i tech named **** emailed me and I responded back and then received nothing from him.

Desired Settlement
I am asking for 500.00 from the company for making buy extra stuff that already come with it and for the part that is broken on the street strider. I still can't ride it and I'm paying for something I can't use.

Business Response
Case #**********************
She has received the rear brake she requested, and was informed of the move so she is aware of why there was a lack of communication.

02/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ordered 20" back tire; received incorrect size; called several times. company to resend 20" inch tire; never received new tire.
Called the company about 20 times and kept going to voice mail, left multiple messages and emails and no return call. Ordered a back tire 20" on November 1, received one month later a 16" tire. Called after multiple attempted and finally spoke to someone who said a 20" back tire would be reshipped. Still have not received the correct 20" back tire as of 12/26/2014. continue to call the company after various times a day and no one answers. Left multiple messages and emails no return in calls. Not able to use the product for 6 weeks.

Desired Settlement
just want someone to send me out the correct tire overnight. improve service for others. Great product but need to improve service.

Business Response
Case # ********: *****, ***
I communicated with the customer that the request for the tire got lost during the transition between our locations. Her replacement is scheduled to arrive Thurs. 29th, and the tracking number is: XXXXXXXXXXXX

01/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
failure to send a necessary bike part. Ignored numerous emails and phone calls.
I bought a bike from this company approx. 2 years ago. Shortly after buying the bike, when I was riding, I lost a bolt. I had to call the company numerous times to finally get the replacement bolt. Shortly, after that I wanted to purchase all terrain tires. The company charged my credit card, but 2 weeks later, no tires. When I called,they said the tires were not in stock yet. I got my refund and ended up purchasing the tires myself straight from the tire manufacturer. On December 29, 2014, I called for tire lock washers. No one answered or called back. On 12/30, I called again and someone answered. I told them what I needed and they said, "not a problem," they will send it right out and get me tracking on it that day. This was early in the morning, so when I did not have tracking by 3pm, I called back. They told me it will take some time, but I will get it that day. I never got it. Called and emailed several time on 12/31 and 1/1 and got no response. On 1/2 I continued to send emails and calls and still no answer. I eventually called off of a different phone number and got an answer. I explained I never got tracking and it seemed he had the wrong email address. When he finally did provide me tracking, it displayed that the product didn't ship until 1/2/15 after 5pm. I then sent an email stating that they lied about sending it out on Tuesday and ******* ***** said, "because it was small, it must have gotten misplaced and that's why it hadn't shipped yet." Misplacing someone's product shows a lack of respect or concern for that person getting their product. There are other reviews online about people not getting parts. I said in my most recent phone call before the product shipped that they should not treat people this way and this is my commuter bike and now it would not be ready when I went back to work and in exchange for the hassle I wanted overnight shipping and they disregarded my phone call. Finally after an email about feeling treated wrongly, I got an exchange of emails, as Mr. ***** wanted me to explain the nature of why I needed to replace these washers. In part of the second to last of these emails, I asked him for a new chain for my bike and when he responded back, he ignored this part of the email. I then asked again, and again, he ignored my email, and as I sit here writing to you, he never answered me about the bike chain.

Desired Settlement
Although they sent out the washers finally, they never answered my question about the bike chain. I would like a new bike chain, another spare set of the lock washers and the nuts that keep the lock washers on, new rear brakes, a set of the three bolts that hold the bike upright, and any other bolts, washers, nuts, that the company knows people frequently request, so I do not have to contact the company for new parts any time within the near future.

Business Response
Case # ********: *****, *********
Customer was upset with the lack of communication, again she was notified of the delay. Her piece was delivered, we have contacted her regarding her bike chain as well as the request for the other parts.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Multiple calls and emails sent regarding missing part. No answer.
I ordered a Streetstrider 8r (order #XXXXXXXXX) and the accompanied indoor package (order #XXXXXXXXX) on 12/13/14. Received both ordered before 12/25/14. During assembling process, I noticed the indoor package missing a very important part ("Main Top Plate Frame #9") in order to use it in a stationary position. I then email the company twice with no response. I then called and left 4 messages and still haven't received any response. It seems to phone number gives a few choices but all the choices go to voice mail. The indoor machine is now useless and take up quite a space in my living room.

Desired Settlement
Want them to send me the missing part ("Main Top Plate Frame #9") in the assembly manual.

Final Consumer Response
They have responded to me and are sending the missing part on 1/14/15.

07/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i purchased a bike back in april of 2014 in the amount of approximately $1700. the bike took several wks to ship. the manager, ******* called me and apologized for the delay. when the bike arrived, I immediately contacted ******* because there were several scratches and paint missing from the bike. I told him that this was unacceptable, especially for a $1700 bike. He apologized but said he could take only $100 off of the purchase price. I told him that that was unacceptable and I would be shipping the bike back. if you purchased a brand new car off of the lot and it had several scratches, they would knock off a significant amount off of the purchase price, or get you a new car. ******* offered neither. he told me to take it back to the store. I was never provided with any shipping box and explained this to *******. I had to contact him several times before getting a response. He finally said that he would send me a box. The box arrived several weeks later and was all torn up and was in several pieces. I had to use a whole roll of packing tape to put the box back together. I had no other box of this size to ship the bike back in. the bike was carefully disassembled and returned back. ******* called me and said that the box arrived in bad condition. I explained that this was because of the box HE provided for me and that was how it was when I received it. he agreed and told me I would have my FULL refund in a matter of days. I did not. I called the credit company-GE Capital and was told that they did refund my account, but not for the full amount. this is NOT what I was promised. I was promised a full refund. I have all of my conversations with ******* documented. this is a very shady company. I have contacted ******* 7 times since the bike was returned about my credit. he decided NOT to contact me back and to just leave me hanging and out of my money. there is no way by law a consumer has to pay for shipping or anything else when a product arrives damaged.
Product_Or_Service: bike

Desired Settlement
I want my FULL refund. ******* still owes me $100 in which he refuses to pay, even though I have a TAPED conversation saying that that is what I will receive. I want my full refund. if I do not receive it, I am blasting him on fb, twitter, going to the news channels and then also filing a lawsuit and YES, I will win. I have fought companies before who try to rip off people. just look up nelson gamble and associates if you don't believe me.I started a class action and won for over 4 billion!

Final Consumer Response
this complaint is a moot issue at this point. i am completely satisfied with the result of this incident and wish to have this complaint deleted. **** from Streetstrider stepped up and apologized and completely resolved all issues. I am very pleased and will recommend this company to anyone in the future! great business!!

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Exercise Equipment

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.