BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/15/2009

Blue River Cabinetry, Kitchen & Bath

(661) 588-8481120 Union Ave, BakersfieldCA 93307-1551

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/15/2009

BBB has determined that Blue River Cabinetry, Kitchen & Bath meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Blue River Cabinetry, Kitchen & Bath's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Blue River Cabinetry, Kitchen & Bath

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
08/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Blue River Cabinetry(BRC) has poorly designed a kitchen island that crowds the dining area and has damaged many cabinets during installation.



On January 27, 2014, we hired BRC to design and completely remodel our kitchen and paid $1000. After the cabinets arrived, we paid a 2nd payment of 10,000 on June 3, 2014. On July 7, 2014 we paid a 3rd payment of $10,470 after drywall was completed. In June we became aware of the over-sized island that BRC designed and expressed concerns about crowding at the breakfast nook entry and seating area. BRC agreed to move the island toward the sink which helped the entry crowding, but did not help the crowding at the seating area. When the table is centered in the nook we have only a 9” pathway behind a person seated at the table. When we expressed our concern, they offered a change order (July 28 email) that reduces the scope of work in original contract & charges us additional money to fix their mistake with no consideration for the cabinetry we already purchased that will be of no use. BRC did not share measurements of the island. The picture we were given with our contract shows seating for 4 at the island counter. We realized when the island was installed we had a seating area measuring 74” which allows seating for only 3 adults. In June, we also took note of the substandard installation of the cabinetry; we found unacceptable damage to several of the cabinets.
LIST OF DAMAGE:
1. Upper right cabinet: Back separated from left cabinet side during installation. BRC refuses to replace or repair correctly. Proposed fix does not repair, but conceals damage. Unnecessary holes(4) in veneer back where stud was missed. Finish nail visibly protruding under cabinet at bottom trim.

2. Upper left cabinet: Multiple holes made when attaching to adjacent cabinetry. Multiple Finish nails visibly protruding & splitting veneer under cabinet at bottom trim.

3. Hutch: Lower Bead Paneling poorly cut leaving gaps at edges and not aligned with upper panel. BRC agreed to replace lower panel. Upper hutch has mismatched screws & inside finished veneer is split at one screw.

4 Island: 5 of the 9 cabinets were damaged during installation.
cab.#1 has 3 screws/holes through FINISHED FACE of hardwood.
cab.#2 has multiple holes where screws missed adjacent cabinet during install.
cab.#3 has excessively large & poorly cut hole for flue & wiring in bottom deck.
cab.#4 has multiple holes/splits in veneer back from incorrectly attaching adjacent cabinet as well as some separation of back & left side.
cab.#5 has unnecessary holes & split veneer at bottom shelf caused during installation.

5. Backsplash: Poor installation. Rows of tiles neither level nor flush. Edge tiles are chipped. Must be removed & retiled.

Desired Settlement
We would like to terminate our contract with BRC. They have given us a dysfunctional kitchen island design, extremely poor craftsmanship, and unpleasant customer service. We want no further association with BRC. Based on the workmanship we have seen so far, we have no confidence that they can repair the damage they have done and fix their mistakes. Some of the damage is simply not repairable. Placing wood putty in holes on the finished cabinet face is not what we paid for. Placing a false back in a cabinet to hide the fact the back is no longer attached is not a repair. We have expressed our concerns about their solutions and offered alternatives given by carpenters, but BRC refuses to correctly repair the damage. Their solution to remedy their poor design for the island is to charge us additional money and reduce the scope of work they will perform to complete the kitchen. The owner has been argumentative, dismissive and hostile. We have given BRC $21,470 and have a non-functioning kitchen with damaged cabinets. We still have many expenses to get this kitchen finished and the over-sized island has added to our expenses. These expenses include: 1- Appliances. 2-Labor to demo existing island & rebuild. 3-New cabinets to correct island design. 4-Labor to demo & retile backsplash. 5-New tile. 6-Additional flooring needed after removing over-sized island. 7-Increased labor cost for flooring. 8-Countertop for island. 9.Labor to complete trim work. 10. Plumber for sink & disposal hook up. 11-Additional expenses for dining until kitchen is complete. BRC has refused to give us an invoice for the cabinets so we could reach some kind of settlement. At this point we feel we have no other alternative but to file a complaint here and with the Contractor™s License Board.

Final Consumer Response

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/11/2008Business started: 10/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr
Sacramento, CA95827-1703
(800) 321-2752
http://www.cslb.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 865925 for this company, issued by Contractors State License Board. Their web address is http://www.cslb.ca.gov.

Type: Contractors State License Board

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Annette Mercado, CKD (Owner)
Business Category

Contractors - General

BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including mediation and arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Blue River Cabinetry, Kitchen & Bath

120 Union Ave

Bakersfield, CA 93307-1551

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 120 Union Ave 

    Bakersfield, CA 93307-1551

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Blue River Cabinetry, Kitchen & Bath is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Contractors - General

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.