BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central California and Inland Empire Counties

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/25/2009

Hannspree North America, Inc.

(888) 807-8808View Additional Phone Numbers4401 Eucalyptus Ave STE 110, ChinoCA 91710-9707View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers tv's, laptops, tablet pc's, and miscellaneous technology products.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/25/2009

BBB has determined that Hannspree North America, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hannspree North America, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 17 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues6
Problems with Product / Service13
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 20

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (20)BBB Closure Definitions
11/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought a tablet that does not work and wanted to send it back for a new one but Hannspree won't respond to my email request on how to send it back.
Purchased at Walmart a 10.0 tablet Model # SN1AT71BUE301 Unit # 3336W1DSXXXXX.
Purchase date: 12/7/13.
Cost: $149.99
ISSUE: Tablet is very slow and I wanted it replaced with a new one or my money back.

STEPS I HAVE TAKEN: On 10/26/14, via email, I informed Hannspree of my displeasure with the above tablet.

On 11/4/14, I was informed via email from them that I needed to contact their customer service department so I could be issued a RMA number so the unit could be sent back to them so they could look at the unit.

On 11/4/14, I spoke with ****** at XXX-XXX-XXXX-he grilled me about the problems I was having with the unit and I answered numerous questions including my name, address, phone number as well as the particulars of the unit such as model number, serial number etc.
He explained I would then get a SECOND email explaining how to ship the unit back to them.

After speaking with ******, I then received an email from him on 11/4/14 asking for the same info I provided on the phone. He also asked for some additional info.
He did give me a RMA # and it is HNA-GXXXXXX.

I replied to his email as directed, sent a photo of the unit,unit ID numbers and receiptthat email was sent to him on 11/4/14 at 5:41pm.

On 11/7/14 at 5:06 pm, I sent a follow up email asking when I would get the SECOND email that was supposed to give me instructions on how to return the unit.

I had not heard from Hannspree by 11/16/14 so emailed them again and so far today 11/17/14 8:06 pm have not heard from them.

This particular unit has had numerous horrible reviews on Amazonwhen I filed my initial complaint to HannspreeI attached no less than 50 of those reviews as proof this unit is worthless.
Hannspree has assured me they can fix this unit and that they would ship it back to me.

Interestingly enough, this unit was discontinued.
Wonder why ?????

Oh and by the way before I started emailing them so that I could keep a paper trail, I spoke with 2 customer service reps by the names of ***** and **** at XXX-XXX-XXXXthey refused to provide last names and **** insulted by very tech savvy husband.

TO BE HONEST, I REALLY DO NOT WANT TO GO TO THE EXPENSE OF SENDING THE UNIT BACK ONLY TO HAVE THEM SEND IT BACK TO ME BECAUSE THEY FEEL THE SPEED OF THE UNIT ONCE THEY LOOKED AT IT, IS ACCEPTABLE TO THEM.
IF I HAD TO CHOOSE, I WOULD REALLY PREFER TO HAVE MY MONEY BACK AND NOT ANOTHER HANNSPREE UNIT.
I HAVE NO CONFIDENCE IN THEM AS A COMPANY.

Desired Settlement
All I want is what I paid for this--total with tax was 162.74

Business Response
Our customer service has contacted the customer on Nov.18 2014 with the instructions on how and where to ship the unit to have it repaired.Now we are waiting for the unit to be received

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
At this time I am satisfied that they responded back to me regarding how to ship the unit back. I have since followed their very explicit instructions though I did feel their email to me was rather condescending. If I am not satisfied with how they address the unit's issue (slowness), I will be sure to let you know.
Thanks

11/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I've contacted HannspreeUSA and HannspreeUK on several occasions. I asked for repairs and they will not honor my request.
I emailed them at their repair service and they asked for details on the Tablet and what's wrong. Then they said I had to go to their customer service to give them the details and they will give me a RMA ticket. They have been bopping me around between customer service & repair for over a week. When I try calling them, people are on the phone speaking a thick English that you can rarely understand. They did the same at UK Hannspree. Acted like they're helping but are playing games.

Hannspree 10.1-inch Quad Core Tablet PC T7 Series with IPS 1280xXXX XX Points Touch and 16GB Memory Android Jelly Bean (Metallic Color)

Payment Method: Debit Card Last digits: ****
Date of Purchase - March 20th, 2014
Date of problem- Sept. 7th, 2014
Item(s) Subtotal: $158.55
Shipping & Handling: $0.00
Total before tax:$158.55
Estimated tax to be collected: $0.00
Grand Total:$158.55
Sold by Galactics by Amazon. Order No. #XXX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX Sold online.

Fault Description: The Tablet just refuses to charge. It hasn't charge in 3 weeks. It charged beautifully before that.I tried a different charger and tried charging by micro USB for over 2hrs. It's completely dead.

Serial Number (13 digits beginning with a number) - 3326W1DSXXXXX
Model Number (13 digits beginning with a letter) - *************

Desired Settlement
All I was hoping for is to get this Tablet fixed because I have all my information on this Tablet. If they think they can't fix it, then replace it but I was wondering if they could get my hard drive info off the old tablet somehow. If not just give me my money back so I can get something else. I can't believe the way I've been treated.

Business Response
Our records show that case was opened on Sept.24 2014 ..Customer called about email procedure and customer servive rep guided customer on how to do it.Customer never sent in tablet for repair.Hannspree does NOT give refund .Hannspree can only give exchange or repair unit..which states that in our warranty

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As God is my Witness, I wanted them to give me the information for sending them the tablet. They kept dodging my request asking for more and more information about the tablet and how and where I bought it. My wife and I contacted their customer service and they said they couldn't find me in their records. They spoke in a heavy accent and we couldn't understand a lot they said. At this point, I really don't want another Hannspree tablet. I'd rather have my money back and call it even, but if they can fix this tablet, I would accept that. But they have to be straight with me and tell me the the instructions on the return for repair of the tablet without further delay.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I said many times before, I was never given a case number or an address where to send it to. Do I send it to Hannspree in California and hope it gets there alright? I was given no direct information from anybody. The BBB says you are top of the class but all you've given me is headaches and suffering. Do I have to tell the newspapers how you have treated me before I get what I need. Do you want people snooping around your business? This has to stop now! I'm tired of the fight! Fix this.

Final Business Response
Customer tablet was received in our warehouse on Nov.4 . Our repair department will repair any problems on the unit..After all repairs are done we will ship unit back to customer..

11/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On March 11, 2014 I purchased a Hannspree 10.1" tablet from Hannspree Via Amazon.com ever since receiving the device it has failed to work properly.
I have attempted to contact the companies customer support hotline several times and every time I receive a run around about getting the device repaired. The camera does not work nor does the auto rotate feature. The people on the phone say I can mail the device in AT MY OWN EXPENSE and insist on creating an argument when I ask for the information required to get the repair completed and subsequently they terminate the phone call when I repeatedly ask for the information claiming I am being hostile. I have not been hostile. This company simply does not want anything to do with the product once they sell it and they want the consumer to be responsible to shipping in the product so they can claim they never got it and wash their hands of the situation. I want my tablet replaced or my money back.

Desired Settlement
I would like the tablet to be replaced at the companies expense or my money back.

Business Response
Customer was not willing to send his tablet initially and that too by paying for shipping. he was requesting for a tablet to be sent out to him first, resolution: educated about warranty policy. customer did not agree. Customer must pay one way shipping to Hannspree and Hannspree pays for the shipping back to customer ..Never in our warranty states that we send out tablet first..Hannspree has no problem repairing the tablet .If tablet cant be repaired Hannspree will exchange the unit same or equal tablet..

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Returned item to place of purchase

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I already returned product to Amazon.Com and find this company lacks communication skills as this is the second time I have related this information in this complaint. Company is full of lies. No offer to repair or replace has ever been made. Each call agents insist on causing argue to not give rma information and terminates call.

Final Business Response
We have followed all guidelines of our warranty .If the customer already returned the product to the retailer there is no warranty to provide at this point.

08/05/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
PACKAGE SENT TO ONE ADDRESS AND WAS TO BE FORWARDED TO ANOTHER ADDRESS STATED BY USPS & COMPANY PACKAGE RETURNED BACK TO MY HOME UNREPAIRED.
Hello ****** **************
Thank you for shopping with us. We'd like to let you know that Amazon has received your order, and is preparing it for shipment. Your estimated delivery date is below. If you would like to view the status of your order or make any changes to it, please visit Your Orders on Amazon.com.
Your estimated delivery date is:
Wednesday, December 18, 2013
Your shipping speed:
Two-Day Shipping
Your Orders
Your order will be sent to:
****** *************
*** ******** *****
******* ** XXXXX
United States
Order Details
Order #XXX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX
Placed on Monday, December 16, 2013
Hannspree 10.1-Inch Quad Core Tablet Pc T7 Series With Ips 1280XXXX XX Points Touch Bluetooth And 16Gb Memory Android Jelly Bean (Metallic White Color
Personal Computers
Sold by Hannspree North America
Condition: New
Facebook Twitter Pinterest
$169.99
Item Subtotal: $169.99
Shipping & Handling: $0.00
Total Before Tax: $169.99
Order Total: $169.99
To learn more about ordering, go to Ordering from Amazon.com.
If you want more information or need more assistance, go to Help.
Thank you for shopping with us.
Amazon.com


MODEL #HSG1279
SERIAL# 3366W1DSXXXXX

Desired Settlement
$40.00 FOR SHIPPING AND RETURN SHIPPING FOR BEING GIVING THE WRONG INFORMATION BY THERE COMPANY. EMPLOYEE ****** TELLING ME MY TABLET WAS FORWARDED TO THE FACILITY AND BEING REPAIRED ON THURSDAY 07/18/14 AND IT RETURNED BACK TO MY HOME ON THE 07/21/14 NOT REPAIRED.

Business Response
On July 1, 2014, this customer was issued RMA # GXXXXXX and our RMA system sent instructions via email that the unit should be sent to:

Hannspree Repair
A&D ELECTRONICS,LLC/Hannspree
**** ** ****** *****
******** ** XXXXX

According to USPS, the address the unit was sent to was "XXXXX ******* ** ****** ** XXXXX"; Hannspree has never used this address.

Since USPS has return her tablet to her, she needs to send it to Repair following the instructions above

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The Tablet was sent to:
Hannspree Customer Service
XXXXX ****** ****
******* ** XXXXX

This address was listed on the bottom of all three pages of the packing instructions

(It was not sent to XXXXX ******* **** I live in ******** ***
USPS insurance and tracking #XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Final Business Response
The unit needs to be sent to:

Hannspree Repair
A&D ELECTRONICS,LLC/Hannspree
**** ** ****** *****
******** ** XXXXX

Once it is received, ***** the Repair tech will test it and either repair it or replace it depending on the cause of the problem. The unit will be fully tested overnight and then shipped back to the customer. This process usually takes three to five days.

05/29/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to honor defective product.
I purchases a Hannspree tablet from TigerDirect on 2/4/14. Only two months later, the tablet does not hold the charge. I have sent many emails to the company which have never been responded. I called and a rep told me that the battery would drain as designed.

the product is useless since it would be dead after I unplug the from the charger. I don't think that is a desirable feature for tablet. I have tried to contact the company again but an avail.

I would like to get the company response in writing stating the fact the rechargeable battery would drain on it own is a designed feature.

Thanks

****

Desired Settlement
I purchased the product based on the statement that the company provide warranty for 1 year against defective product. It is only two months, and the company does not honor its obligation.

This is a promissory estoppel which is a violation of the business contract law.

I no longer wish to do business with this company and prefer to get a refund of $149.99

Business Response
Customer Service has been trying to reach this customer since 4/1/14 but has had no success - We can certainly help this customer but he will need to accept communication from us before anything can be done

Consumer Response
I just read this statement from Hannspree on your website, and it is a complete lie.


"Customer Service has been trying to reach this customer since 4/1/14 but has had no success - We can certainly help this customer but he will need to accept communication from us before anything can be done"

I have not heard from Hannspree either by phone or email since I file the complaint. This is the continuation of the deceptive practice by Hannspree.

Final Business Response
From the Hannspree Customer Service Lead ****** "We tried reaching this customer several times in XXX XXX-XXXX, but unfortunately every time it goes to a voice mail of Ms. ******** Each time we left voice message requesting the customer to call us back. I received an E-mail from this customer with the correct phone number. The phone number mentioned in the BBB complaint was incorrect. Since the customer claims that the battery does not hold charge issued the above mentioned RMA." This customer's purchase receipt was received and RMA GXXXXXX was issued on 4/16/14 and he should have received the RMA instructions from the Hannspree RMA system via email that same afternoon

Final Consumer Response
As of today, 4/16/14, I finally received the return authorization number from Hanspree to send back the unit for repair at my own shipping cost.

This should not be misconstrued as a settlement since I will not know what the company would do after they receive the unit.

I have played this game all along by their rules. I have provided all information requested. Hanspree would not even offer me a chance to send in their defective product for inspection if not for the complaint filed with BBB.

As company featuring an outstanding member of the BBB should have not made that difficult for a buyer to request for help with a defective product. What's a shame!

I reserve my right to come back and report the outcome of my complaint.




Consumer Response
Hello Customer Support Team

It was a surprise for me to receive the tablet back last Friday. It was only 3 days from the time you acknowledged of receiving my shipment. There was no document enclosed in the box, and there was no sign of it has been repaired.

I gave it a full charged and used for 1 hour yesterday. I turned it off, and the battery was completely discharged by this morning. The tablet still froze up this evening.

I wonder if it was mistakenly sent back to me before it was repaired. As your instruction in your email, I would receive an email informing me of the return shipment. I have not seen one prior to received the tablet back. It seems that what you said and done are two different things.

I hope to hear from you soon.

**** ****


Business Response
After reading the repair notes, it is clear this customer's complaint is valid as the battery issue was not addressed. The unit should have been replaced but the firmware was flashed instead and the unit shipped back to the customer. A new RMA (GXXXXXX) has been issued and a shipping label sent to this customer. The unit will be shipped to Hannspree's corporate office where a replacement will be issued to this customer.


Consumer Response
I have sent the tablet back to Hanns per their request. I received FedEx's confirmation that it was delivered on Fri 5/16/14.
As of today, I have not heard from the company what their action would be beside the statement on your website that the unit should be replaced.
I will confirm when I receive the replacement or my tablet is properly repaired.
Have a good day!

**** ****


Consumer Response
I received my tablet back yesterday. It was a good sign that the battery was not dead after 3-4 days during shipping. There was no document included in the packaged, so I have no idea what have been done to it. I will give it a full charge and test the battery out.

I am thankful to BBB for its intervention with this company.

However, there are lots more things to be desired with Hanns service. It took me almost 3 months to get the company to fix its defective product. Second, Hanss does not been communicate to its customer. There have been many my emails to Hanns customer service which have never been responded. I sent following up email asking for status and shipping info since I was going out of town. I didn't get a response until after the package has been left at my front door. It could have been taken by anyone walking by.

Should a company bearing the BBB approved membership has this kind of customer service practice? I think not.

I have search on the web regrading others having problem with Hanss'tablets, and there are more than I expected. I regret that I have purchase a total of 3 tablets from Hanns, which two were my Xmas gifts to my kids. It would be the last time I purchase anything made by this company.

As I stated,I don't know if the tablet has been fixed properly at this point. I just want to acknowledge of receipt the return shipment.


Business Response
The replacement was shipped via FedEx tracking number XXXXXXXXXXXX


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
As of today, I have tested the battery on the tablet, and it seems to works as should be. Thanks to Hanns for finally fixing the battery!

Thanks for BBB to bring a resolution to my quest of getting the warranty service.

My 1-year warranty by Hanns does not expire until Feb 2015, I hope the company would not give me any trouble in the event there is other issue with my tablet.

Page 1 of 3
12/08/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product failed, has not been fixed for 3 months.
Contacted Hannspree on August 14th about a unit that had failed less than a year after manufacturing. Response was hostile, combative, and unproductive. Responding agent refused to escalate call, refused to offer service.

Finally got through to someone today(11/14/2014), Hannspree refuses to cover the shipping cost of returning the product, even when they have committed these failures. Replacement of the unit has not been achieved. Hannspree's supervising employee, ***** which was very clearly not his real name, claimed that he was "Unable to do anything".

Hanns-G's corporate contact number is disconnected, meaning that further escalation is hindered. However, if I have to take this further in every possible way, my office will do so.

Desired Settlement
I will settle for no less than a complete replacement of this defective unit, shipping paid by Hannspree. I will not accept any less than a replacement unit being sent, with shipping labels to return the defective unit in the new unit's package. Failing that, Hannspree will be responsible for furnishing me with a check equal to the maximum dollar amount of the purchase of a replacement comparable unit from another brand(No less than 300$US). I am not asking for much here. But apparently, Not Much is too much for their shoddy customer service.

Business Response
An RMA was issued to customer since Aug.14 2014.One of our customer service reps tried to trouble shoot customers unit but with no luck.Since there was no luck trouble shooting customer service advise customer the unit will need to be sent in for repair or replacement but customer was not willing to do this. He just want us to send the replacement unit with shipping label and He would like to speak to our legal team. Our warranty states customer must bare the one way shipping to our repair center. Defective unit must be sent to us first. We would have to try to repair unit first and if unit can not be repaired then unit will be replaced with the same or equal unit. Customer also needs to supply us a copy of Proof Of Purchase to validate warranty..

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
A proof of purchase was supplied, your agent ignored it. Additionally, you have not abided by any other part of your warranty, so support is now officially out of scope. You have made false claims, you have sold a known defective part, and your company(Through A&D Electronics USA, which is contracted to provide support to Hanns-G, a company that I will note has a nonfunctional website who's cached version shows that it was never completed in the first place) has refused to acknowledge this and replace the unit.

The unit has a failed power board. Specifically, the main scrubber capacitor has blown. I know this without even opening the unit, as I have already serviced other similar units in the past.

Again, if Hanns-G/Hannspree/Hannstar wishes to refuse to abide by their warranty and acknowledge the phenomenal failure that has taken place in regards to this case on every single possible level, including the fact that Hannspree has listed a disconnected number for their corporate contact listing, then I will be forced to take legal action against the company in question. More to the point, I will have no issue taking action via the Federal Trade Commission in regards to the fact that your company, on the date of Friday, November 21st, Once Again failed to abide by and to commit to a proper callback procedure after AGAIN refusing to escalate a call. I have kept detailed records of every refused escalation up to now, and I have no problem whatsoever with passing these on to the proper authorities, which can result in criminal fines against your company.

Additionally, I will be publishing a video breakdown of the component failure within the next several days, publicly listing every single failure that your company has made up to now. I will also be passing this information along to my office contacts, which will be changing their procurement requests for future orders to ensure that Hannspree products are not on that list, a present listing that now includes close to 2,000 units as of the date of this statement.

The RMA was never issued, I received no RMA number, I received no service beyond broken promises, broken warranty guarantees, and a broken unit. And every lost dollar that comes along with that. Your business has caused me to lose money on something that you should have fixed properly in AUGUST. You refused. Your agent refused. Your agent refused to escalate after they refused to assist.

You have until the date of public commentary to resolve this issue. Due to the extreme nature of the faults involved, and the fact that the component failure can easily result in a safety situation wherein harm to property or life can take place, this is now outside of warranty scope. This is now damage control for your company.

This is easily fixed by your company. You are simply choosing not to. And I will drag this out as long as it takes before you do what's right. I don't care if that means that every person in A&D Electronics USA is filing unemployment by the time this is resolved.

Final Business Response
Last contact with the customer was on Nov.25 2014 .The customer is NOT abiding by our warranty.Customer has not provided us with proof of purchase.Customer must send unit to Hannspree first then we can fix or replace the unit.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Business has refused to proceed with resolution repeatedly, and has refused to acknowledge that they received the proof of purchase on the VERY FIRST PHONE CALL I MADE. I have already contacted the retailer and have come to a different solution. What Hanns-G failed to do for three months, the retail outlet resolved in a 15 minute phone call. Hanns-G, and any company that associates with A&D Electronics, will not receive my business, nor the business of any office I contract for, nor the business of countless others, ever again. The company was given ample chances to solve the problem. They chose a different path.

12/02/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I sent my Hanspree 10.1 tablet in this past September 25th for warranty repair. I have not received the unit back or gotten any updates.
As stated, I sent the unit in for repair on the 25th of September. As of the 19th of October, I had not received any update so I called them. They had no record of receiving the unit. I provided them with the UPS tracking number and they were able to find the unit in the warehouse. Since then, I have called every few days for an update as they promised it would be repaired right away. Their response "not to worry". Well it is now November 6th and I just got off the phone with them. The unit still has not shipped and I was asked to call back in another 48hours as they always ask me too.

I am done dealing with them. The unit was mediocre to begin with, but to wait 6 weeks for a 2 week repair is ridiculous. I question whether I will even get the unit back which is why I am asking the BBB for help.

Desired Settlement
I either want the unit repaired and returned immediately with an extended warranty or I want a refund for the total amount including shipping.

Business Response


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They did ship the unit back but only after I contacted Amazon. Two months they've had the tablet and thy did not touch it. It was returned just as I had shipped it. Still not functional.
Amazon was nice enough to refund me the price of the tablet. Now I want Hanspree to refund my shipping.
Also,never has Hannspree never contacted me.
Many promises to do so but never has.
Horrible company.

Final Business Response
Customer already has the unit. Unit was repaired and sent back to customer .Unfortunately we can not refund the customer his shipping fees as he is requesting .

11/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
NEW TABLET THAT HAS MALFUNCTIONED FROM DAY ONE. I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO RECEIVE A NEW TABLET AND ROAD BLOCKS ARE ALL I GET.
I HAVE TRIED FOR 4 MONTHS TO GET A NEW TABLET OR REFUND. I RECEIVED THE TABLET AS A GIFT FROM MY HUSBAND AND FROM DAY ONE THE TABLET WAS BLACKING OUT. FINALLY THEY AGREED TO REPLACE MY TABLET AFTER THEY DID TESTING OVER THE PHONE. IT TOOK 8 PHONE CALLS AND 5 EMAILS LATER JUST TO GET A SHIPPING ADDRESS THAT I HAD TO PAY FOR TO SHIP IT TO THEM UNDER WARRANTY. I FINALLY SENT THE TABLET THEY RECEIVED AND STATED IT WAS NO DAMAGE FROM ME IT WAS THE TABLET ITSELF THAT MALFNCTIONED. I RECEIVED THAT EMAIL ON JULY 24,2014 AND HERE IT IS AUGUST4, 2014 AND I HAVE NOT RECEIVED A REPLACEMENT. I CALLED IN AND WAS TOLD THE TABLET WAS IN REPAIR AND THEY CANT FIGURE OUT THE PROBLEM OF MY TABLET. I ASKED CAN I GET ANOTHER ONE OR REFUND AND MY ANSWER WAS NO THEY HAVE TO SEND ME THE SAME ONE CALL BACK BETWEEN AUGUST 10-15 AND SEE WHATS GOING ON WITH MY TABLET. THIS IS THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE DEALED WITH FOR ELECTRONICS. I HAVE OTHER TABLETS AND LAPTOPS WITH INSURNCE AND WARRANTIES THAT SHIP ME A REPLACEMENT AND I RETURN THE MALFUNCTIONING DEVICE BACK IN THE BOX THE SENT THE NEW ITEM IN. IF HANNSPREE DONT KNOW HOW TO FIX THE EQUIPMENT THE SELL THEN WHY WOULD IT GIVE THE CUSTOMER SATISFACTION GETTING THE SAME DEVICE BACK. I WANT A REFUND AT THIS POINT AND FROM NOW ON ANY GIFTS WILL BE WITH A COMPANY THAT HANDLES BUSINESS WITH CUSTOMERS MORE PROFICIENT.

Desired Settlement
I WOULD LIKE A FULL REFUND.

Business Response
We are sorry for this customer's problems caused by our service regarding her tablet. Unfortunately, the repair team was terminated just two days prior to her unit arriving. Since then, the RA manager has hired new technicians and is finishing the training now. The status of this customer's unit at this moment is that it has been received with no damage but other than being put on a test rack for diagnosis, there is no further information at this time. The unit will be either repaired or replaced as soon as possible and I have placed it at the beginning of the repair queue.
Refund requests must go through Sales

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If there is no damage why not just send me another tablet that works. I asked for a refund and still haven't got a response. I would rather have a refund at this point. what good standing company fires (supposedly) there whole IT department. Hannspree Have the worst service ever.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No because there is no resolution. Well excuse me who firesthe repair technician of a business knowingly that faulty tablets are coming in. You can go back and forth but the bottom line is Hannspree shouldn't be able to conduct business treating customers they way you guy are. By the way I contacted Amazon and they stated if Hannspree got my tablet a refund should be issued because you have been paid for the tablet.

Final Business Response
Guidelines of the warranty we can only issue a prepaid return label for customer to send back tablet for repair or exchange.

08/20/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product under manufacturer warranty and Hannspree is being non-compliant to warranty.
My Hannspree 10.1 tablet has suddenly shut down and stopped working. I cannot get it to turn back on. I have had numerous issues with this tablet since purchase and am not happy with it. It is still under manufacturer warranty and I would like this issue resolved as soon as possible. I have contacted the manufacturer numerous times and they are being non-compliant and are not replying to any of my correspondence.

Model No: HSG1279
SN1AT71BUE301
3326W1DSXXXXX

This item was purchased 11/22/2013 from Walmart, order no: XXXXXXX-XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I am asking for the non-working product to be replaced. I don't want to settle for a repair, I want a replacement. They can gladly have the non-working item once a replacement is received.

Business Response
No decision will be made whether to replace or repair the tablet in question until the repair technician has had the chance to test and diagnose the cause of the tablet's failure.
Currently, Customer Service has not yet received the purchase receipt for this unit as required by the warranty however, the serial number does clearly identify this unit as still in warranty so that receipt requirement can be overlook.
Please send the unit to:
Hannspree Repair
A&D ELECTRONICS,LLC/Hannspree
**** ** ****** *****
******** ** XXXXX
Attention RMA GXXXXXX

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They have failed to contact me with the above information as they claimed they would. I never received the email that they claimed they would send with further information after making two phone calls to the company. I am more than happy to send them a copy of the receipt of purchase via email. However, I need a direct email address to send it to. I am not satisfied with their company, warranty or customer service. I would really just like to be refunded of actual purchase price and be done with this. I initially requested a replacement, but I don't want any further hassles with Hannspree products.

Final Business Response
Again, no decision will be made whether to replace or repair the tablet in question until the repair technician has had the chance to test and diagnose the cause of the tablet's failure.
Please send the unit to:
Hannspree Repair
A&D ELECTRONICS,LLC/Hannspree
**** ** ****** *****
******** ** XXXXX
Attention RMA GXXXXXX

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am very hesitant on sending in an item to a company who was very non-compliant in the first place and had no communication with me until I took it to the BBB. I am very hesitant to send the item because I am worried that I will not receive the item back! What worries me is that I will send in a tablet that I purchased to either never see again or to have another piece of junk sent to me that will again have troubles. I truly feel that a product that is barely used and only 8 months old should not have to be repaired, but should be replaced! It's obvious that there is an issue with the item and I don't want to have future problems.

04/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product is very slow and the battery would not hold a charge. When calling Hannspree, they do not identify themselves until someone comes on line.
Model number: HSG1279
13 digit type number: SN1AT71BUE301
Serial number: 336W1DS08904
Date of purchase: 12/8/2013 but received for Christmas. order number: 2677942-313222 WalMart
Hannspree Tablet
1/30/14 I called Hannspree because the tablet was not holding a charge and then I had problems restarting it. I said I wanted a refund & was told no refunds. I was told I had to send it in at my cost, even though their warranty states:You may be responsible for shipping & handling charges if the product cannot be serviced in the country in which service is requested. They will try to get me free shipping- denied. I filed the correct paperwork to send it in & I did not hear from them within the 72 hrs. so I called. I was told they were waiting for a proper receipt, which I had sent. They couldn't email me or call me. This person said he'd call me back (a former person {a supervisor} said they couldn't call a person. I had to do all the calling.) They finally sent me a prepaid label to send it in. After I received the tablet back on 3/3/14, I called to find out what was done to fix it & was told they updated drivers & system & parts were changed. I want to know exactly what was done & was told he would send a request to find out. I had to call back in a few days which I did. I was told there was nothing done to it. That person said he'd expedite a request to find out. When I called again, I was told there were no defects and no parts changed. I don't feel I can believe what they say. For the time being, the battery holds a charge, but it did at first too. Response time is still very slow. Many times I have to hold my finger on the app or other places to get it to do anything.

When I call they answer with: "Thank you for calling. Calls may be monitored or recorded for quality purposes." One does not know if they've reached Hannspree or someone else. After at least 10 min. on hold, a rep. comes online and does identiry Hannspree. I mentioned this to them several times.

Desired Settlement
I want a complete refund and reliable answers to questions. I am not satisfied with the product.

Business Response
This customer's tablet was received by me here in our corporate office and I gave it to our engineer who tested it for several days and was unable to make it fail. He did update the Android system but since there was nothing wrong with the unit, it was shipped back to the customer.

If she is unhappy with the unit and wants a refund, she needs to contact Wal-Mart where she purchased it.

Thank you,

***** *******
Customer Service Supervisor


Consumer Response
Hannspree's response is not satisfactory. No explanation was given for the failing battery and only one person
offered help with this when he said that, when the battery doesn't hold a charge, the battery is defective or the
software is defective.

On 1/30/14 I contacted Hannspree because the tablet battery was not holding a charge and the unit has very slow
response time. After receiving it back from the company, I called because I received no explanation as to what was
done to the tablet. I was told that they updated the driver and systems and parts were changed. I wanted to know
what parts were changed. I had to make more phone calls to them and was then told there were no defects and no parts
were changed. I find it hard to believe what they say because responses are not consistent.

At the present time, the battery has been better at holding a charge, but it is beginning to show signs that it is not
going to be long before it won't hold a charge again, as it doesn't hold a charge for as long as it did earlier.

I am not satisfied with the unit. I contacted Wal-Mart and was told they could not give a refund because Hannspree
will not honor it after so many days. I feel it is Hannspree's responsibility to give a full refund, since I am not
satisfied.

When a person calls Hannspree, the phone greeting is "Thank you for calling. Calls may be monitored or recorded for
quality purposes." After waiting on hold for at least ten minutes, a representative comes on the line and identifies the
company as Hannspree. Is this going to be changed? People like to know if they have reached the correct number.

Thanks,
*****


Final Business Response
Currently, we are waiting for this customer to provide us with her new shipping address. A shipping label will be sent to her email address once the shipping address is corrected. No promise of a new replacement can be given because we do not currently have any of this model as all were purchase by distributors. As we do have an order for these currently on a ship heading to the US from China, we may have a new replacement available once the unit in question finally arrives. Any replacement unit, whether new or refurbished will be full tested by Hannspree's in house engineer prior to being shipped to this customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I spoke to Hannspree and they said they could issue a pre-paid label only until 4/7/14. Hannspree noted they would replace the tablet. Now I find out they would only send me a refurbished tablet, not a new one. Now they say that they could note that they could issue a pre-paid label when I am ready to send it in to have it checked once again, and not before. Due to circumstances, I am not able to send it right away. I have not heard from the contact person at Wal-Mart as he was on vacation. Hannspree still has not addressed the issue of the manner in which calls are answered, other than a comment will be submitted.


Final Consumer Response
Due to the many discrepancies in things I have been told by different representatives and the poor performance of the tablet, I do not feel I can give a good rating to this company. The description of the tablet indicated the battery should last about 8 hours and I am told that it lasts only 3 1/2 to 4 1/2 hours. I see they have now changed the battery life time in the description to 5 hours. The response time is very slow. They only want to send a refurbished unit, or possibly a new one, but they can't say for sure. It would be helpful if the company would include an instruction manual. I will not be requesting a prepaid label to send it back. Wal-Mart, reluctantly, agreed to a refund.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computers - Supplies & Parts

Additional Information

top
Business started: 06/01/2003
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 2007, CA

Business Management
Customer Contact: Gerard Ruiz (Customer Service Supervisor)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Neil Yang (CEO)
Business Category

Computers - Supplies & Parts

Alternate Business Names
HannsG, Hannspree, I-Inc, I-Inc Repair
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including mediation and arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.
Industry Tips
Has Your Computer Modem Been Hijacked?
Picking a Computer for Your College-Bound Student

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hannspree North America, Inc.

4401 Eucalyptus Ave STE 110

Chino, CA 91710-9707

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4401 Eucalyptus Ave STE 110 

    Chino, CA 91710-9707(909) 992-5025
    (909) 740-6935

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hannspree North America, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 808-6789
  • (909) 992-5025 (Disconnected)
  • (909) 740-6935
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.