BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/24/1992

Grant Mercantile Agency

Find a Location

(559) 683-465149099 Road 426, OakhurstCA 93644-9486

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/24/1992

BBB has determined that Grant Mercantile Agency meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Grant Mercantile Agency's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues9
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Grant Mercantile Agency

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
03/10/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Terrible business practices with subpar customer service
It's a shame that a collection agency can't honor a request and in turn provide a loathsome experience when you are looking for a collection removal after years of hardship with medical bills.

On December 16, I spoke with someone and kindly asked if I pay the collection to please remove it off my credit report. What I got was an incessant remark about how they don't remove items off a credit report. As a customer who has endured about 5 surgeries in 4 years with limited income who can barely make payments, I was insulted.

Here I am, providing payment of an amount which wasn't disclosed to me from the original biller and I am getting unnecessary excuses as to why they can't remove it from my report. I have dealt with many collection agencies over the past few years and Grant Mercantile has been the worst of them all.

I paid the amount in a timely manner, quickly and easily with the utmost respect and yet they refuse to honor my request. Truly a shame.

Ref#CAL201************

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a resolution of collection removal from Equifax and Experian bureaus.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Thank you for contacting our office. The contract we have with the credit reporting agencies does not allow us to erase a person's credit history for exchange of funds. This account was owing since 2011 and was paid in 2015. Unfortunately we do not know every patient's situation, but do try to work closely with them if they communicate with our office. Notes show that your insurance paid their portion and provided you with the explanation of benefits showing you had a co-insurance balance, but it did not get paid. On 09/23/14 you sent a letter asking for proof of the charges, which we provided, but still no payment. On 12/09/15 you called and explained that you had already paid this account and would be sending proof. We did not receive the proof, but you did call and paid it over the phone on 12/16/15. Once our agency supplies the information to the credit reporting agencies, it is no longer the owner of the information. It is just a furnisher. Ms. ************ we unfortunately did not know of your struggles and are sad to read how you feel about our company since this we take pride in helping those in extraneous circumstances. We will as a courtesy ask the credit reporting agencies to remove this item next time we report to them, which will be at the beginning of April. In the meantime we will provide you confirmation of the deletion.
Thank you.
********~

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for your assistance and prompt response in regards to this matter.

02/10/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid off what was owed to the medical vendor, yet this company keeps charging and keeps on My credit report something I've never dealt with them ever.
The original medical carriers invoice was lost in the mail, when I received a second bill, I paid the vendor directly. Later to find out when I check my credit report this agency is trying to collect the a fee for something they never handled and I never dealt with them. They keep something g derogatory on my credit that I never had with them and I believe us illegal and they should fix immecuately. I do not owe this, nor have I ever owed them and dealt with them.

Desired Settlement
Remove them off my credit reports and remediate I don't owe them and they never did anything with me.

Business Response
Please provide a signed release in order for us to disclose any information regarding this matter.

Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Final Business Response
It looks like we waived the interest as a courtesy for ******* and reported it paid back in January of 2014. The account has been closed since then. I can go ahead and delete this item for her as an added courtesy since the credit reporting agencies still show it owing.

Thank you.

********~

01/27/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Collection agency increasing balance
Collection agency has increased balance without notice. Keeps increasing balance by $5 every month. No notifications

Desired Settlement
Remove from credit score since you keep increasing balance without notice. I've noticed the balance go up $20 within the last 4 months. $5 every month

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@sti.net
Thank you for contacting our office. We have contacted the doctor's billing company and they have indicated that this balance was written off after they received a payment. They have indicated that this was assigned to our office in error. We have cancelled this account and will be sending confirmation to 1475 Glengarry Rd address.
Please call me directly if you have any further questions or concerns.
******** ****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/25/2015Billing / Collection Issues
01/18/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was directly lied to from the manager there, by a person of the name of mary rose.
On approximately between oct. 19 and oct. 26, I had called and talked to **** ***** and I had told her that I had tried to talk to a Dr. **** regarding my medical bill from many years ago. I explained to her that at the time of the medical bill I had 100% coverage of all medical bills. She then told me that medical bills a lot of times are deleted from her agency. S he also explained to me that if I could show her that I actually had 100% medical insurance at the time she would indeed remove this unpaid bill from my credit report. Then after all my phone calls. and visits to Madera Unified School Dist., I faxed her the information that she had asked for.
i then called a few days later and she then told me that she would delete it from my credit report only after I pay for the total amount. Why would I go through all the trouble to prove to her that I had 100% medical insurance if she would only remove it if I paid it in full ? I other words she just flat out lied to me. I think that she thought I was bluffing, which I wasn't, and that I proved.

Thank-You

*** J. ********

Desired Settlement
The only resolution I seek is to have the one and only disputed item on my credit report REMOVED !

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@sti.net
This account was cancelled on 12/29/15 and Mr. ******** was sent confirmation of the account being cancelled. Confirmation was mailed to XXXXX ***** Way, ****** CA XXXXX. The account was cancelled after the original provider could not provide verification of the charges or whether insurance had been billed. This takes time especially since the service was in 2009 and documentation is archived, but he was most definitely not lied to. The credit agencies do take some time to update a credit file and he will need to contact them directly if he wishes for the credit agencies to update him file sooner. He can also provide them with a copy of the letter we sent him.

Thank you.
********

08/03/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I sent a certified letter on 6/10/2015 to Grant Mercantile regarding a collection placed on my account. In the letter I request a validation of debt.
I sent a certified letter on 6/10/2015 to Grant Mercantile regarding a collection placed on my account. In the letter I request a validation of debt. On 6/29/15 I received a Itemized statement from Saint Agnes Medical Center and Bill for 5,107.89. Included in that bill they attached a amount for Eye Q Vision Care for $18.94 that have no knowledge of and no itemized statement for.$1,227.59 of that bill is in interest and their is no itemized break down of how they came to that amount of interest on what percentage. The letter requested as per the Fair Debt Collection practices Act, 15 USC 1692g Sec. 809 (b). The notice states that your claim is disputed and validation of the account is required.

This notice is not a request for verification of the account or proof of my mailing address, but a request for validation made pursuant to the FDCPA laws. I humbly request that your agency/office sends me valid proof that I am legally obligated to pay you.

Please provide me with the below mentioned things:
* The amount you claim I owe you
* Explain and show me how you have computed the amount
* Send me the copies of any documents that prove I agreed to pay the alleged amount
* Identify the original creditor
* Confirm that the account has not crossed the SOL period
* Prove that you're a licensed debt collector
* Show me your license numbers and registered agent.


I would like to inform you that in case your agency has reported invalidated account information to any of the 3 main Credit Bureau's such as TransUnion, Equifax, Experian, then it will be regarded as a fraudulent action under both the federal and state laws. Due to this reason, if any negative item is reported to any of my credit reports by your agency or the agency that you represent, then I will be compelled to take legal steps against you for the below mentioned reasons:

* Violation of the FCRA
* Violation of the FDCPA
* Defamation of character


If your agency can provide me with the requested documents, I will need minimum 30 days to investigate this information, and during this period of time, all collection activities must be stopped.
And in no ways have they fulfilled there legal obligations as set forth in this letter. Accounts in question SAMCXX-XXXXXX-PQ Saint Agnes Medical Center #XXXXXXXXXX #XXXXXXXXXX #XXXXXXXXXX And Eye-Q Vision Care #XXXXXX.

Desired Settlement
Properly and completely send all documents requested in validation of debt. Are remove questionable debt from credit report within 30 days of this letter.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@sti.net
Thank you for the opportunity to try and resolve this matter, please provide our office with a signed release from the consumer to be able to disclose full account information.

Thank you.

Consumer Response
Authorization Release Form attached.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Still not what I request in full over a month ago. Please send me the requested documents proving validation of debt and not verification. And please make document clear and understandable, I'm fully aware of the amount you claim I owe. I still cant understand fully how you came to that amount including interest. I need a clear break down of date when interest start incurring and at what amount. And to fulfill any other request clearly stated in letter sent to your company more than once.

Final Business Response
Here is a more detailed brake down of how interest is applied.

Acct#XXXXXXXXXX
Date of service 07/29/12
Unpaid principal of $1,320.06 multiplied by 10% equals $132.00 divided by 12 months equals $11.00 of interest per month from the date of service of 07/29/12 equals $1,708.84.

Acct#XXXXXXXXXX
Date of service 04/11/12
Unpaid principal of $1,844.00 multiplied by 10% equals $184.40 divided by 12 months equals $15.37 of interest per month from the date of service of 04/11/12 equals $2,442.15.

Acct#XXXXXXXXXX
Date of service 01/10/12
Unpaid Principal of $706.00 multiplied by 10% equals $70.60 divided by 12 months equals $5.88 of interest per month from the date of service of 01/10/12 equals $952.80.

07/31/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Regard an account in collections
On April 2, 2015 I wrote Grant Mercantile Agency by a letter in regards to a collection bill, that was on file in my name. I have not received a response from them at all. Today is July 16, 2015 and I still have not received a response. I am asking them for proof of the account, and if there is an account I would like to set up payment arrangement. But first I would like PROOF OF DOCUMENTATION that the account is mine. The account number is XXXXXXXXXXe/rst

Desired Settlement
I would like proof that this is account is mine, and if so I would like to make payment arrangements. If the account is not mine I would like it removed from all 3 of my credit reports asap!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@sti.net
Thank you for contacting our office. We will need a signed release to be able to disclose full account details.
Thank you.
******** ****

04/20/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The GRANT MERCANTILE agency has left my collection account on my credit report. I paid the account in full and would like it removed from my credit
The GRANT MERCANTILE agency has left my collection account on my credit report. I paid the account in full and would like it removed from my credit. I paid the bill in a timely manner

Desired Settlement
I would like the collection removed from my credit report.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@sti.net
Good morning, please provide us with the signed release to be able to disclose the account details.

Thank you. I will be happy to help Ms ********* directly if she wishes to call.
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Thank you
********~

05/15/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have sent 6 letters to Grant asking for debt validation and have not received any itemized billing or contracts back showing what account 1TRM300021
I have sent alot letters to GRANT MERCANTILE AGENCY asking for debt validation on 1TRM3000219
that is reporting on my credit report because I believe that they are reporting inaccurate, unverifiable and erroneous information. According to FDCPA Section 809(b) they are not allowed to pursue collection activity until the debt is validated. They did get at least one of my letters because they have updated the account to report "in dispute." According to the credit reports I have been getting from the credit reporting agencies, they state that they are verifying the information with GRANT MERCANTILE AGENCY but they have ignored me and have not given any proof to me. I need your help to get them to remove the inaccurate data from my credit report. I also noticed on my credit report that they continue to report payment history by adding a KD in the months that I am disputing this account and according to FDCPA 15 U.S.C. § 1692g(b) they must cease ALL collection activity during the investigation period and a KD is considered collection activity.

Desired Settlement
Since GRANT MERCANTILE AGENCY has refused to provide me validation on this account and they continue to violate Fair Debt Collection Practices Act laws, I request that this account be removed from my credit report.

Business Response
We would appreciate the opportunity to help, but we are unable to find an account for this person. We also need signed authorization from consumer in order to be able to disclose any information to the BBB.

Thank you again, we look forward to being able to assist this consumer.

********~

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is nothing attached! This is the reason I made the complaint in the first place. I shouldn't have to send 6 letters and do a complaint to received debt validation. According to the Fair Credit Reporting Act, they still have not validated this debt and therefore can not report it! I want it removed from my credit file at once!

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collection Agencies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/16/1990Business started: 10/30/1972
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1986, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Slayon (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Maryrose Diaz (Manager)
Business Category

Collection Agencies

Alternate Business Names
Yankee, Inc.
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including mediation and arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Grant Mercantile Agency

49099 Road 426

Oakhurst, CA 93644-9486

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Grant Mercantile Agency is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Collection Agencies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.