BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central California and Inland Empire Counties

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/24/1992

Grant Mercantile Agency

Phone: (559) 683-4651

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
04/12/2013Billing / Collection Issues
04/08/2013Billing / Collection Issues
10/15/2012Billing / Collection Issues
06/25/2012Billing / Collection Issues
05/15/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide itemized billing as requested

Complaint: I have sent 6 letters to Grant asking for debt validation and have not received any itemized billing or contracts back showing what account 1TRM300021
I have sent alot letters to GRANT MERCANTILE AGENCY asking for debt validation on 1TRM3000219
that is reporting on my credit report because I believe that they are reporting inaccurate, unverifiable and erroneous information. According to FDCPA Section 809(b) they are not allowed to pursue collection activity until the debt is validated. They did get at least one of my letters because they have updated the account to report "in dispute." According to the credit reports I have been getting from the credit reporting agencies, they state that they are verifying the information with GRANT MERCANTILE AGENCY but they have ignored me and have not given any proof to me. I need your help to get them to remove the inaccurate data from my credit report. I also noticed on my credit report that they continue to report payment history by adding a KD in the months that I am disputing this account and according to FDCPA 15 U.S.C. ยง 1692g(b) they must cease ALL collection activity during the investigation period and a KD is considered collection activity.

Initial Business Response
We would appreciate the opportunity to help, but we are unable to find an account for this person. We also need signed authorization from consumer in order to be able to disclose any information to the BBB.

Thank you again, we look forward to being able to assist this consumer.

********~

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is nothing attached! This is the reason I made the complaint in the first place. I shouldn't have to send 6 letters and do a complaint to received debt validation. According to the Fair Credit Reporting Act, they still have not validated this debt and therefore can not report it! I want it removed from my credit file at once!

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

09/24/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Failure of accepting a settlement offer.
I was informed of this debt about 52 days ago. It has been 7 years since the date of service. I have offered to pay a amount of 40 dollars on the original amount of 178.25. I do not work I am a full time student and that is all I can afford to pay. I was in good faith with this and today I recieved a letter stating pay in full, here's half balance in 30 days, or never pay! Never intend to pay! That is not what I was expecting at all. I feel that this was a direct attack on me because i can't afford to pay this bill from 7 years ago. Also in california there is a statue of limitations that has passed on this.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@sti.net
Thank you for the opportunity to help resolve this account. On 06/24/13 we received an e-mail from Ms **** in which she requested the verification of the charges. On 08/07/13 we sent the verification of the charges and Ms **** replied back to us by email on 08/15/13 stating that she had received the verification, but would not be paying interest and offered to pay $45 on this $284.02 account because she had no job and was on a fixed income. We then replied back with a counter offered of $232.25 as a courtesy to Ms **** and agreed to accept it as full payment if paid by 08/28/13. We never heard back from Ms **** until now. We would like to extend this courtesy once again to Ms. **** if the $232.25 is paid by 09/23/13 we will accept it as full payment and agree to delete this item from her credit as an added courtesy.
Once again we thank you for the opportunity to help reach a resolution.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I recieved a letter which I stated in the first response, I will pay the original amount of 178.25 that is it!! I am not paying interest on a account I was not made aware of till July of this year. The debt as stated ealier is 7 years old. Date of service was 10/05/2007. By law I am not liabable for debt that is over a certain time frame. So the amount I am willing to pay was more than fair the first time around.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

03/19/2014Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collection Agencies

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.