BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/13/2015

Exclusive Auto

(909) 794-191631710 Yucaipa Blvd, YucaipaCA 92399-1637

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/13/2015

BBB has determined that Exclusive Auto meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Exclusive Auto's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Exclusive Auto

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
03/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Damaged my vehicle while doing a routine pre-sale inspection.
I was selling my 2006 BMW 530i sedan and for peace of mind for the buyer, I agreed to get a pre-sale inspection done at a local repair shop that works on German and Import Vehicles. I did a google search and the first place that popped up is Exclusive Auto in Yucaipa. Being relatively close to my house, I called and asked if they do pre-sale inspections. He said they did and I made an appointment for 8:30 the next morning (Friday, Feb. 27th). I arrived at 8:15 and was quoted an hour to and hour and a half max, so agreed to do it and wait. It took them over 2.5 hours to even get to the car. The mechanic that was doing the inspection was ******. At the start of the inspection, ****** takes my car for a test drive up the block to make sure that it is running properly I guess. I watch him pull out of the driveway and proceed to floor the car and hotrod the car up up the street. Then I watch him slam on the brakes and do a u-turn in the middle of the street. Floor the car again and attempt to brake to pull into their driveway. The driveway is at a 90 degree turn from the street and goes up a hillon both sides of the driveway are dirt berms. He waits until the last minute to brake and again slams on the brakes and hits the dirt berm head on. I run out and scream at him. The owner comes out and tells me that he will take care of it. Tells ****** something and he takes the car behind the shop and out of site and proceeds to hose the front off. Long story short, I was mortified. The car had a few pounds of dirt up inside the valance. Scraps and deep gouges in to the bottom of the bumper. I was told again by the owner (***** I believe is his name) that he would take care of it. I wait another hour and a half (4 hours total) and get the car back in a lot worse of shape then when I bring it in, Keep in mind that I was there just for a pre-sale inspection. I have owned many cars in my yearsfrom Porsches to Lexus and everything in-between. I have had many dealings withe Dealerships and Local Mechanic shopsI HAVE NEVER had such a terrible experience.....EVER!!! As I leave I again ask the owner how he is going to take care of thishe tells me I can go to the local car wash and they can try to buff it out. These are gouges and deep scratches!!!! I proceeded to take the car to *** Clymers Bodyshop in Yucaipa (not far from Exclusive Auto)just to get an estimate on the damage that ****** and Exclusive Auto caused to my car$945!!! A little more damage then a car wash buffing it out!! I have pictures of the car before and after taking it to Exclusive Auto, as well as a written assessment and quote from *** Clymers Autobody shop. I faxed to Exclusive Auto and spoke with *****, who repeatedly told me that they didn't cause any damage to my car and that I should take him to court if I had a problem (I also recorded this conversation). I have recently read reviews and done some research on the shopthey were closed for a few months in the beginning of last year, due to complaints. I should have never gone there, but you live and learn I guess.

Desired Settlement
Just wanted to warn you guys of the repair shop and their shady dealings! But I would like to have the damage to my car repaired also!

Business Response
Purchasing Cust. called in for a pre-purchase inspection. Was advised that it would take an hour to hour and half for the Tech. to perform inspection.
Seller brought in the vehicle the next morning.
The technician jumped on the inspection immediately after he was finished with the previous repairs he was already performing on another vehicle.
The technician took the vehicle for a test drive. On his return the low profile bumper scraped some dirt which had collected where the street and the drive-way meet. The customer mentioned to the owner that his bumper had rubbed against the loose dirt. The vehicle was put on the hoist again to finish the inspection. The customer was taken to the vehicle and was shown that there was pre-existing damage to the bumper and none that was new. A few wood screws were in fact holding a previously broken lower part of the bumper in addition to innumerable scratches from the previous times when the bumper had bottomed out over the years.
No damage was caused at this facility and the cust. was never told that we would be paying for any, simply because none occured here.

10/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Brought my vehicle in for oil leak. Told having 2 oil leaks and that it's the problem. Paid $713 and car doesn't start. Refused to fix it.
I brought my 2006 BMW 325i in for an oil leak that was causing the smoke. I brought it in on Monday 8/18/14. I was still running and the smoke was coming out of it. I had it towed in because I didn't want to risk driving it and causing more damages. I had made an appointment online with Exclusive Auto and called to confirm my appointment. I was told to bring it in. My vehicle was there the whole day on Monday. I didn't think it was a big problem since I dropped it off early in morning and thought it would be done by the end of the day. I called and was told no one knows the issue of the car yet and that they're working on finding the cause. I told them I need a car to drive home and drive to work tomorrow. I spoke with the service manager **** and he told that his company has contract with Enterprise Car Rental and I can rent a car for $25/day. I did just that thinking my car would be done by the following day and that I could return the car. On Tuesday, 8/19/14, I called to check on the status because no one has called me. I was told they found the problem and it was 2 oil leak areas; valve cover gasket and front crankshalf seal. I was quoted for $810. **** told me that he would try to get it done at the end of 8/19/14. I went to return the rental and got a phone call from **** stating that it would not be done today and that his company is willing to pay for my rental. I went home hoping my car would be done fixing by the end of tomorrow, 8/20/14. That was not the case. **** called me and stated that the car wouldn't drive now and the technician is trying to figure out what's going on and that he would let me drive the rental car until my car is fixed and that he would give me some discount. On 8/21/14, while driving home from work, **** called and told me my car is done and ready to go. I can pick up on my way home and drop off the rental car at his location. I stopped by and paid $713. When I got in my car and tried to start my car, it didn't start. **** tested it too and it wouldn't start. He told me he didn't know what happened and that the problems were fixed and my car was test drove for 5 miles. It was running great. He needed to do more investigation and let me have the rental car back. At this time, Exclusive Auto has had my car for 4 days. After this, I spoke to **** periodically and he kept telling me they don't know what caused the car not running. Mind you, my car was still running when I brought it in for the oil leaks. Now, after fixing the oil leaks, my car stop running. Today, 8/27/14, after keeping my car for 10 whole days, **** called and said that my car has "a head bolt that broke and got in to the timing change" and he let me talk to the owner, SINGH CHARANJIT, who told me I would have to pay an additional $2500 to fix this problem. I stated that he had called North America BMW and was told that this is a very common problem. I told him that when I brought my car in for the oil leaks and his paperwork said that his technician who he claimed is certified to fix BMW diagnosed the oil leaks was the only problem. Now he told me otherwise. He refused to fix my car without the additional $2500. He kept insisting that it's not his technician's fault that the head bolt and got into the timing change. How do I know if this is not the technician's fault? They have my car for 10 whole days. I don't know what they've done to my car. I suspect the technician did something to cause this problem and the owner refused to standby his employee. He told me to come pick up my undrivable car and take it somewhere to get it fix if I'm not willing to pay the additional $2500. I contacted a local BMW dealer and told them about the latest issue with my car. I was told it's VERY UNCOMMON for this to happen. I brought my car in for the oil leaks, paid for the services, and my car doesn't even drive.
Many of their online reviews have the same complaints. Very unprofessional and rip off!

Desired Settlement
I would like Exclusive Auto to deliver the services I paid for.
I brought my car in which was drivable for the oil leaks that they diagnosed was the problem. I paid for it and my car stopped running. I am demanding that Exclusive Auto fix the so-called "head bolt broke and got in timing change" problem which I think created by the technician while having my car at the location for 10 days and taking my car a park. I don't think I should pay the additional $2500 while I was told the oil leaks were fixed and my car was running but in reality that was not the truth. I do not have any money to fix this so-called new problem the owner told me.
This is a very dishonest business and many of their customers wrote reviews as such. Exclusive Auto rips off their customers and doesn't deliver the service promised.
If Exclusive Auto refuses to fix my car, I would like this business to be on the "bad list" of BBB so that no one else will go through the same horrible problem I'm going through.

Business Response
Cust. vehicle was towed in. She told the service adviser that the car had oil leaks. An inspection confirmed that the front crankshaft seal and the valve cover gasket were leaking oil. A written estimate was furnished and the Cust. approved the replacement of the Valve cover gasket and Crankshaft seal.
After replacement of the parts the technician started the car and it ran for a few minutes and stalled. The technician determined that the timing chain had jumped a couple teeth and resulted in a poor running engine. The Cust. was informed that we need the vehicle for an extra day to reset the timing with a special BMW tool. A rental car was furnished at our expense. After the timing was reset the car was successfully test driven by the technician the next day. The Cust came to pick up the car and it would crank but not start. This was very unusual because the Tech had just test driven it. The Cust. left without the car. Once again the Tech determined that the timing chain had jumped a couple teeth. We did extensive research and consultation with other technicians and also called BMW North America and determined that this particular Engine has an inherent problem wherein one of the top portion of a head bolt inexplicably breaks and falls into the timing chain part of the engine causing the Timing chain to jump a couple teeth resulting in a no start condition or the engine will start and run but with a miss.
We advised the Cust. of our findings and an estimate of what it would take to repair that condition. The Cust was also advised that our Tech could not have done anything to cause this condition.
A printout from Google ,authenticating how common this condition is on this BMW Engine was handed to the Cust. for her information.
The Cust. declined repairs and had her vehicle towed.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I came to this place of business yesterday to pick up my car because I had no other options. I brought my car in for one oil leak and they told me there were 2 oil leaks. I paid $713 after they assured me that my car was done and ready to go. My car didn't even start. How is it possible? They had my car for the whole 10 days and who knows what could happen. They then told me I need to pay an additional $2500 to fix the new problem they supposedly found. I couldn't believe it. I had to cancelled having work done to my teeth so I can have the $713 to pay for the 2 oil leaks they told me. Now they want more. When will this ends? I believe they did something to cause the damage to my car and forcing me to pay them to fix their mistake. This is so wrong on many levels. This car is my only source of transportation. My car was running before I brought it in. I had it towed because the oil leak was causing the smoking. They even agreed that the oil leaks causing the smokes. Now after paying them $713 and I can't even drive my car. I have a job that I'm as risk of losing because I don't have a car to drive to work. I live pay check to pay check and don't have the spare money they ask me to pay to fix this so-called new issue they found. I'm extremely regretted bringing in my car and trusting them with my car. Now my car is sitting my garage undrivable. I can't afford to buy another one and don't have the $2500 they told me to pay them. The owner told me to pick up my car if I don't want to pay him this amount of money to fix it. This business is so greedy and dishonest. They need to take the responsibility to fix my car and give it back to me in drivable condition (that is drivable for more than 5 miles) so I can drive to work. I will lose my job and everything else because I can't use my only source of transportation. I'm out of other options and I'm begging BBB help me resolve this issue because I can't afford to lose my job as a result of not being to drive my car. Please help!

Final Business Response
We stand by our original response and are sorry to hear that the customer is trying to hold our technician responsible for a pre existing condition that is so common on these cars.

The customer has pointed out some negative reviews on the internet. We would like to inform her that some of those were in fact misunderstandings, and were promptly resolved when brought to our attention. Also we would like to point out that there are hundred of positive reviews left by highly satisfied customers and thousands of other satisfied customers that we serve every year.
Our garage has had high BBB ratings for years, is the top automotive garage in this area, and it is unfair that the customer has accused us of being dishonest.
Just to satisfy this customer, We once again offer to perform the needed repairs at a highly discounted price.
The vehicle is perfectly drivable when it left this facility but we have advised her not to do so because the broken head bolt can cause internal engine damage.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Saying that you told me my car was perfectly fine and in driving condition is a lie. I asked the question and was told by ****, the service manager and the owner that my car is not drivable! Also, the technician replaced the battery without my prior authorization. My car's electrical system is completely ruin and my car is completely dead I can't even open my trunk nor my car with my key fob. This place should not be allowed continue business . I have filed other various complaints. It's not right for them to take my hard earned money and destroyed my car.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repairing - Foreign

Additional Information

top
Business started: 11/01/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10949 N Mather Blvd
Rancho Cordova, CA 95670-6409
(800) 952-5210
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 277580 for this company, issued by Bureau of Automotive Repair. Their web address is http://www.autorepair.ca.gov.

Type: Automotive Repair

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Charanjit Singh (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repairing - Foreign

BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including mediation and arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Exclusive Auto

31710 Yucaipa Blvd

Yucaipa, CA 92399-1637

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 31710 Yucaipa Blvd 

    Yucaipa, CA 92399-1637(909) 794-1916

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Exclusive Auto is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.