BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/08/2011

Destroyer Automotive, Inc.

(951) 353-9677View Additional Phone Numbers10200 Hole Ave STE 100, RiversideCA 92503-3436

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/08/2011

BBB has determined that Destroyer Automotive, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Destroyer Automotive, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Destroyer Automotive, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
07/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Took my car to destroyer automotive for repairs and things did not go well. They did not fix everything correctly and were very unprofessional.
On 2/16/15 my car was towed to this shop for a engine replacement it cost me $2,804.56 with a 5 year warranty. I went to pick it up on 2/24/15. It then ran fine until I went to get the oil change at 500 miles my check engine light came on so I then took it to the shop again and i was told it was my catalitic converter and crank sensor. So I had them fix that on 3/24/15. Cost $895.00 of which As they repaired that I also told him about a noise I heard in my tires or front axle. He attempted to check it but did not do a full visual check. He stated that it didn't sound like anything was wrong. So as I proceeded to go home I noticed my car was misfiring and almost cut off on me on the freeway and i had to turn around and go back to the shop he then checked my engine and it was a coil that was bad. Which remind you I just had my engine replaced. Also the noise in my tires was getting worse through the days and weeks. After all of this I also hear a really loud tinging noise from the catalitic converter when my car is drove a long way and or drove far and then turned off. I let him know this as well on 3/24/15 and he kind of brushed it off with a statement like if it wasnt important. Now My car cuts off on me all the time and the engine sounds terrible my car does not run well at all. If he would have fixed all of these problems correctly I wouldn't be complaining or having any car problems for as much that I paid. This was a very unprofessional shop and is causing me a lot of hardship.

Desired Settlement
I would like my car fixed correctly up to my extent and or a refund.

Business Response
On X-XX-XX this customer requested us to install a used long block engine, which included spark plugs, oil, oil filter, coolant, water pump, thermostat, intake gaskets, transmission filter kit and fluid. On X-XX-XX the customer brought the vehicle back for us to check codes. The vehicle needed a crank sensor and catalytic converter. The customer authorized these parts which we installed. On X-XX-XX the customer brought the vehicle back for us to check a misfire. There were no codes and we detected no misfire. We did install 4 new spark plugs and 1 used coil, possible defective coil. This was done at no charge. We have spoken with the customer and the vehicle will be coming back today X-XX-XXXX or Monday. Customer states engine light is on, possible cam sensor or defective crank sensor. We will check the vehicle for free to see what the problem is. If the problem is anything we did we will fix it at no cost.

12/16/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They lied about parts being in stock and timeliness of the work.
I called them up on a Saturday and was told they could replace my transmission no problem - they had the correct model replacement in stock and it would be $1300 for an already rebuilt transmission installed. It was a little more than I was quoted elsewhere but then they said they could do it quickly with parts that were in stock and I needed the car quickly.

By Wednesday I had heard nothing so I call up to find out the status... it has not been done yet, there's another car ahead of mine before they will get to it but it should get on the rack that day. No further word.

I call on Thursday, I get almost the same message - mine is the next one to go up on the rack. It should be done that night or the next morning. They will call when it is done. I ask how late they are open "7 or 8 PM". Since I work closer to the shop than I live, I wait at work until 8:30 PM but I don't hear back.

Friday morning, I go to their shop to get the car. At 10 AM no one is there and the doors are locked. I call asking about the status - "they sent the wrong transmission over". They? I thought it was in stock. "Yes, we have it in stock. They are sending over the right one right now." If someone is supposed to be delivering a transmission to this shop, they are going to be disappointed when they get there because NO ONE WAS AT THE SHOP and the doors were locked.

I call again at 3:30 PM, "there is a Honda on the rack right now and then you're next" SAME BS as before. It is not easy or convenient for me to get to their shop and I need to make arrangements to do so - I live up by Lake Arrowhead - an hour away - and I told them this, yet they never can give me a solid time the thing will be done. These guys are dishonest and make promises they can't keep. I needed the car done quickly to avoid problems at work, but it has been a week and still no car.

Desired Settlement
I need my car back and I need it now. I told them I wanted it back if they could not get it done today. They said I could come get it if I was willing to pay them for tearing it apart. Why did they tear it apart if they didn't have the transmission to put in? I nearly lost my job because of this ordeal.

Business Response
Destroyer Automotive, Inc.

Response:

The customer called and was quoted a price for a "used" transmission not rebuilt. We were told by our supplier that the transmission was in stock. Our supplier sent the wrong transmission on more than one occasion. We found out that the transmission for this vehicle wasn't easy to come by and would take a little time. When we called and spoke to the customer, telling him what was going on he was quite angry. He stated we never told him the transmission was used and that he was quoted a price for a rebuilt one. The customer continued stating this until we decided to do the rebuild at no extra cost to him. The vehicle was picked up on Nov. 26 and had a problem so we towed the vehicle back to the shop, also at no cost to the customer. We fixed the problem with the vehicle at no charge and it was picked up Dec. 3. The customer received a rebuilt transmission for the price of a used one, which included a 3 year warranty.



***********************
XXX-XXX-XXXX

05/27/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Engines - Supplies, Equipment & Parts, Transmissions - Automobile, Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts, Auto Repairing - Foreign

Additional Information

top
Business started: 08/04/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10949 N Mather Blvd
Rancho Cordova, CA 95670-6409
(800) 952-5210
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 263290 for this company, issued by Bureau of Automotive Repair. Their web address is http://www.autorepair.ca.gov.

Type: Automotive Repair

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 2010, CA

Contact Information
Mr. Robert Lane (Manager)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Engines - Supplies, Equipment & Parts, Transmissions - Automobile, Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts, Auto Repairing - Foreign

BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including mediation and arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Destroyer Automotive, Inc.

10200 Hole Ave STE 100

Riverside, CA 92503-3436

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10200 Hole Ave STE 100 

    Riverside, CA 92503-3436(951) 279-3141
    (951) 353-9677

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Destroyer Automotive, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (951) 279-3141
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.