BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/23/2000

Unicars Honda

Phone: (760) 345-7555

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues6
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
03/16/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Honda Unicars wrote the loaned based on my Social Security Disability, the Disability my minor son receives as well as Child Support.The payments are 543.00 a month! They also sold me a 2500.00 extended warranty which I was unaware of. It does not cover pre-existing conditions which makes it useless as the vehicle is a 2009.I feel they really took advantage of me.
Product_Or_Service: 2009 Toyota Camory
Account_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
6150.00

Business Response
The vehicle service contract can be cancelled at any time.
If Mrs ***** would like to cancel the service the service contract, we can do that but the money will go to the finance company. If she can stop by the dealership we can take care of it.

Thank you
Unicars Honda


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would like the 2000.00 I put down, the extended warranty for 2500.00 and all payments made to me refunded in exchange for turning in the vehicle.
Sincerely,
******

Final Business Response
The cancellation of the service contract is the only available option.

Thank you
Unicars Honda

12/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Problem with dealership accepting car deal agreed upon the contract. Already changed contract once, got called again today.
On November 13th, 2014, I co-signed a Honda vehicle with my brother. I was approved for .9% and payments were $338.16/month. On Friday the 14th, I received a phone call to "sign papers we forgot to sign". I informed them that we would not be available until Monday, which they agreed to. On Monday, we were presented with a new contract with an APR of 1.9%. I told them that I will not pay any more than what we agreed to on the original contract, so he changed the contract to 1.9% anyhow, but lowered the invoice price of the car to keep me at my car payment. Thought everything was taken care of until my phone call this afternoon, November 20th. I received a phone call from the finance manager, Glenn, about problems with my current car loans and the fact that my brother does not live with me and that I co-signed for a relative not living with me. I provided over the phone the car loans I have out including the new purchase last week. He told me he was "back at square one" with this contract. I told him before I hung up "let me know how it goes", to which he chuckled to and hung up. I contacted the Honda USA service and was informed to contact the BBB since Honda dealerships are franchised, so here we are. I informed her that I am starting to feel harassed by the dealership because we got a very good deal on this vehicle, and they keep trying to get more $$$ out of us. I have never signed more than 1 contract for a vehicle ever, and they are attempting to get me to sign a 3rd for 1 vehicle. I have never been apart of a deal like this and am afraid they are going to do something that is going to affect my credit score long term. They need to honor the deal that was given and deal with this as a business should.

Desired Settlement
To honor the contract signed on 11/17/14 and to not bother me with looking for more out of me or my brother. The contract was signed and then resigned with their "revision".

Business Response
Unfortunately the changes are requested by the finance company. I f we don't make the changes they will not do the loan. We absorbed all the additional cost by reducing the price of the vehicle.
We apologize for the incontinence.
Respectfully
Unicars Honda

10/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I canceled the extended Service agreement and the person said it would take 3 weeks for me to my refund and its been over twice that.
My Wife and I purchase a 2015 Fit toward the of the Day on 8/11/14

During the negotiation he said if we took the extended service agreement ($1900.00) we had a deal. I ask does that mean I must take the extended service agreement to get the deal. And he said yes.

All along the sales man – Kirkendoll had said the car had XM radio in the car because this is what we wanted.

After all the signing of paper work it was not until we were in the car when he said o I forgot the car did not have XM radio

The next day (8/12/14) I called my insurance agent to put it on my policy and in that process the agent ask me if I wanted an extended service contract. I explained to her what had transpired the night before. She expanded that was not right. And you can cancel that policy.

This same morning(8/12/14) I called the gentlemen who arranged the financing (Cory Cox).

By email at 10:35 on 8/12/14 I ask if I could canceled the extended service($1900.00) agreement & the gap($550.00) coverage.

From this point on I coped our emails below./////

Desired Settlement
On Oct 12, 2014, at 12:02 PM, "*** *****" <***@yourexposolutions.com> wrote:
On Aug 19, 2014, at 7:41 PM, "*** *****" <***@yourexposolutions.com>

I sent (email & fax) those 2 form to cancel the Alliance gap
coverage
& Century Extended Warranty to you. Do you take care of this from
this
point forward or is there something else I need to do to cancel both
of these.
With no answer.

I left phone messages yesterday and today.

***
(XXX) XXX-XXXX
***@yourexposolutions.com

Original Message
From: *** *****
Sent: Monday, August 18, XXXX X:XX PM
To: Kathy Marconi
Cc: ***@yourexposolutions.com
Subject: FW: Cancelation

Would you please print out these 2 attachments and Fax them to Att:
Corey (XXX) XXX-XXXX

Thanks ***

Original Message
From: *** *****
Sent: Monday, August 18, XXXX X:XX PM
To: Corey Cox
Cc: ***@yourexposolutions.com
Subject: RE: Cancelation

Here you go.

I have filled them out.

What is next.

Thanks for your help Corey

***

Original Message
From: Corey Cox mailto:************@yahoo.com
Sent: Monday, August 18, XXXX X:XX PM
To: *** *****
Subject: Re: Cancelation

Just sent them

Sent from my iPhone

On Aug 18, 2014, at 3:03 PM, "*** *****"
<***@yourexposolutions.com>
On Aug 18, 2014, at 2:49 PM, "Corey Cox" <************@yahoo.com>
wrote:

I don't have a scanner here..is there a fax number??


Sent from my iPhone


wrote:

wrote:

Please send the forms.

Thanks ***

Original Message
From: ***** *** mailto:************@yahoo.com
Sent: Saturday, August 16, XXXX XX:XX AM
To: *** *****
Subject: Re: Cancelation

I will send you the forms on Monday

Sent from my iPhone

On Aug 15, 2014, at 3:43 PM, "*** *****"
<***@yourexposolutions.com>

Business Response
Mr. *****'s Vehicle, Service Contract and the Gap were financed by Capital One Finance.
We canceled both products as per Mr. *****'s request and we send a check to Capital One Finance for the cancelled Service contract on September 17th and a check for the cancelled Gap on September 24th. The reason for the two different checks is because the Service Contract and Gap were issued by two different companies and one took one week longer to send a refund that the other. We send out the refund checks the day we received them. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Thank you
Unicars Honda

06/19/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tinted windows and paint protection were supposed to be included with the car but were itemized and I was charged over $800 for each "add-on"
I purchased a 2013 Honda Accord on 6/10/14. I was told by my salesperson ********* that the car would have tinted windows and the Auto Butler paint protection added. Since neither of these items were on the car at the present time, I asked if I could just opt out of those in order to have lower payments. I was told "No, it was included with the car". Not told that it would be itemized as $825 for a tint job which only includes the back 3 windows and $890 for 6 applications of paint protection. I called 2 hours after leaving the dealership in reviewing the contract because the ****, who did the finance deal did not go through the contract line by line as indicated by the Federal Truth in Lending Law. I have tried resolving the problem internally with the sales manager ****** but he has told me that the deal has already gone to the bank and there is nothing they can do.

Desired Settlement
I would either like a refund including interest for the services I did not want (paint protection and window tint) or a contract re-write which excludes these additonal services.

Final Consumer Response
Matter has been resolved. The general manager **** handled the problem promptly and hassle-free.

06/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I also had a schedule of down payment with Unicars Honda. I had not defaulted on it or my loan. They repo without any warning to resell and kept effe
I had a payment schedule for the down payment of 4500 usd. I was on track with the schedule and had already paid 2500. At the same time I have a loan with Santander which also was open and active with no default pending or repo ordered. on 5/7 Unicars Honda sent a repo truck who stated they were legal owner (false and also not a lienholder). Santander was blamed for the repo and Santander still states "there was no default or repo ordered to take possession." They also stated "this is not a reflection on how we do business and are appalled that a dealer would play such devious games." I was initially told by Jarod the finance rep at unicars that I could not unwind the deal witgin 24 hours as I had asurgery for my daughter to pay for. Now 2 months later they for no stated reason, wouldn't accept the down balacnce. return my possessions or the car. I have property of my employer, medical devices for my daughter, uniforms, kids schoolbags with homework etc...

Desired Settlement
My down payment of 2500 usd immediately or a reconcile of contract and continued finance,

Business Response
Mr. ****** purchased a 2010 Dodge Charger on February 9th 2014.
Santander finance Co. agreed to finance the purchase with $7500 down payment.
Mr. ****** gave us $3500 on February 9th at delivery and signed a conditional sales agreement (553) with two deferred down payments totaling $4000, one for $1500 due on February 10th 2014 and one for $2500 due on February 20th 2014
Mr. ****** only paid $2000 and did not respond to our repeated request for the balance. Santander discovered that the entire $7500 down payment was not paid and demanded that we repurchase the sales contract, which we did.
We have cancelled the service contract and GAP that Mr. ****** purchased with the vehicle and today we issued a refund check for $869.06 for the balance to Mr. ******.
Please find below the calculation for the refund.

Thank you
Unicars Honda


Repurchase amount paid to Santander $13,836.53
Repossession cost $ 350.00
Unpaid down payment $ 2,000.00
__________________
Total Cost $16,186.53

Refund 100% of selling price $14,999.00
Refund from cancellation of Service contact $ 1,275.84
Refund from cancellation of Gap $ 780.75
___________________
Total Refund $17,055.59

Total Refund less cost $869.06

Page 1 of 2
08/16/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.