BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Tom Bell Chevrolet

(909) 793-2681View Additional Phone Numbers800 Alabama Street, RedlandsCA 92374http://www.tombellchevrolet.com/View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 12/11/2014 this company's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to failure to respond to one or more customer complaints filed with the BBB.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Tom Bell Chevrolet

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
09/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I took my 91 corvette in to have the ABS light checked , change my oil, and transmission fluids, and fix the window washer device, new spark plugs and plug wires. I dropped it off on 07/25/2014. I told them I needed the car by the July 30th. On 07/29/2014 I was contacted by ***** and told that they ordered the wrong ABS censor and the other one was on back order. She said all other work was done. On 08/12/2014 I called *** **** and spoke with ***** and told her ABS censor or not I NEED MY CAR and will pick it up Saturday 08/16/2014. I got to *** **** at 9:00am. I was told the car was being washed and that they had them detail the engine. I never asked for that. At 11:30 , my car was done . I asked them to not go over a thousand dollars. My bill was over 1600 dollars. I paid them. I get 1 block from *** **** and the car dies. I take it right back. I am told that when they detailed it , they used too much armoral and they had to clean it off. So I waited another 4 hours. They say they are done again!I get in and drive another 3 blocks and it dies again. This time it won't start. *** **** comes and gets me and has to tow my car back and they give me a 2014 Chevey car to drive. Today ***** calls me and says , oh that's not the problem it is your fuel injection needs replaced and there is now an oil leak. They want another 2,800.00 to fix it. My car ran GREAT b4 I took it there. I was doing preventive stuff to it. Now I can not drive it off the lot. I have no choice but to pay for it. They change my oil and now I have a leak and I have to pay for it......What do I do ! I can not afford this ****. Why are my fuel injection bad , I did not ask them to mess with my fuel. They changed the oil , and now it leaks? And they still do not have my ABS censor. Being a single woman , I think they are taking me to the cleaners. It ran fine before going there, they said that the injectors made the car die when it got hot. They flushed the fuel system , did they stop it up. Today 8/18/2014 and no car still.

Desired Settlement
I have already gave them 1,600.00 dollars. 600 over the amount I asked them to stop at. First it was them cleaning my engine I never asked for that made the car not run and now it is fuel injection and an Oil Leak.I say it had no oil leak before you changed my oil. They should fix it.If they got Armoral in my fuel injection system , they should replace it! I never asked them to detail my engine and allow me to sit there for 7 hours in 105 degree heat and sit on the side of the road in it.

09/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
they came and took car after i had it for 3 months.i informed them of 10 day rule they said they would report car stolen and put it as a repo.
sined for car first on 11/16/2013 then again on 12/14/2013.they came took car back on 1/27/2014.contract #X XXXXXX. contract #X XXXXXX.its just not right that they were able to get out of contract by putting fear into me so i would surrender car.

Desired Settlement
i just want car back and they should have to carry the loan as the law permits

11/14/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top

Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable, but not guaranteed as to its accuracy. The BBB has not verified information including, but not limited to: business start date, ownership, licensing, and registration (if applicable). BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

Business started: 01/08/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Dick DeWese Chevrolet Inc., Tom Bell Collision Center

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Tom Bell Chevrolet

800 Alabama Street

Redlands, CA 92374

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Tom Bell Chevrolet is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (909) 824-7145
  • (888) 431-0422
  • (888) 815-7012
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.redlandschevrolet.com
  • http://www.tombellchevy.com
  • http://www.tomBellChevrolet.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.