BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1956

Three-Way Chevrolet-Cadillac

Phone: (661) 847-6400Fax: (661) 847-6593

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
05/04/2015Problems with Product / Service
05/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Provided an estimate of $200-$3,100 for transmission repair and was then told it would be $5,600. In addition another part on my vehicle was damaged.
My vehicle was left at the dealership on 3/17 after my transmission light came on. I was provided an estimate of $200 for basic repair and $3,100 to replace the transmission as a worst case scenario. My truck sat at the dealership until Friday, 3/20 when they were finally able to look at it. I received a call from ***** the service rep, and was informed that the transmission would need to be replaced for a cost of $5,600. This was nearly double what I was told when I left the truck. I made arrangements with another repair shop to have the transmission work done but then received a call from **** at Three-Way again informing me that when the technician was removing my vehicle from the rack, he heard a "pop", and when he looked, he found that the Pitman Arm on the driver side had snapped off. I advised him that I wanted my truck back in the same condition it was in when I left it and was then told three different stories from Three Way in an effort to have me pay for both the part and the labor to repair. One of these "stories" alleged that the vehicle was never on a rack which, in my eyes, becomes a safety issue for the employee. As a result of Three Way Chevrolets poor service, I was without my vehicle for two weeks which in turn caused a delay in the repair of my transmission from a reputable shop at a more reasonable price, I was charged $110 for the initial inspection fee for which I feel I should be refunded since it resulted in further damage to my vehicle, and I was charged an additional $147 for the part that the technician damaged during the inspection process. Might I add that this part was quoted to me initially at $170, then I received a call with a final charge of $130, and was eventually charged $147 when I picked up my vehicle; ludicrous!

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund for all monies paid to Three Way Chevrolet for their inability to provide satisfactory service in a timely manner and for causing the need for an additional repair due to their negligence in order for me to remove my vehicle from their facility. I am requested a full refund for the $110 inspection fee as well as $147 for the repair caused by the technician for a total amount of $257.

Business Response
On 03/17/15 Mr. ***** ****** arrived at our dealership requesting that we investigate a transmission concern on his 2002 Chevrolet Silverado K2500. Odometer reading was 154,188 miles.
Per service advisor, customer inquired about the cost of a transmission prior to receiving a diagnosis of his vehicle complaint and was given an approximate estimate of $5,500.
The service technician began the diagnosis on 03/17/15 at 1:12 p.m. Part of his diagnostics included a test drive with a computer to assess the problem. Following the test drive, the vehicle was placed on a lift for further inspection.
When the vehicle was lowered to the ground and backed out of the technician's stall the steering was unresponsive. The technician found the pitman arm was broken. Upon close inspection we discovered there was an aftermarket device that "stiffened" the arm, and that device had actually been holding the broken pieces together. Both pieces showed signs of road grime inside the cracks, which would serve as evidence the crack had been worsening over time and certainly prior to being brought in for repair.
The transmission diagnostics were completed and an estimate was supplied to the service advisor to contact Mr. ******.
The estimate included the replacement of the Pitman Arm and repairs to the transmission for overheating, due to possible cracked pump stator and turbine shaft assembly, torque converter stuck in off position, and transmission leaking at vent tube.
On 03/20/15 Mr. ****** was informed of all suspected damage and recommended repairs; however, he declined to have any repairs performed.
The service manager spoke with Mr. ****** on 03/25/15 at 11:50 a.m. and explained the issue with the pitman arm and offered to replace the arm and straighten the aftermarket piece at no charge for labor if Mr. ****** agreed to pay for the part. Mr. ****** agreed and and Three-Way provided the labor at no charge to Mr. ******.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The vehicle was left with 3-way Chevrolet on Tuesday, March 17th and an original "estimate" was provided with a range of $200-$3,100. The amount stated by 3-Way Chevrolet in their response was not provided to us until their call to report the diagnosis on Friday, March 20th with a total of $5,600. At that time there were not specific details provided to us regarding the damage to the transmission, simply that the technician listened to the transmission with a scope and he believed it needed to be replaced. Regardless of the facts presented by 3-Way in their computer system, this information was not shared with us, the customer. There were several calls made back and forth between the dealership and us regarding the Pitman arm and 3-Way changed their story numerous times. They initially stated the vehicle was on a rack, then it wasn't, then suddenly three days later it was. Their response does not mirror the information provided to us over the phone by 3-Way.

On Tuesday, March 31, we met with the Service Manager on site who agreed that his department had mis-handled both the estimate and the Pitman arm repair and that he would address both issues with his service advisor, ***** to prevent future issues. In the estimate and final receipt, invoice #CXXXXX, entered by Advisor **** ******** it states that the "CAUSE of damage is: Pitman arm broke while moving truck." Please note that the truck was picked up from the dealership on Tuesday, March 31st which marked a two week period that 3-way Chevrolet had the vehicle. The service and communication surrounding our interaction with 3-Way Chevrolet between March 17 and March 31st was unacceptable, inconvenient, and in the end was a disservice to a loyal customer. We will discontinue using any Chevrolet dealership for service or repairs in the future and will make sure all individuals we interact with do the same.

Final Business Response
The original estimate provided on March 17th was for $281.64, which we failed to include in our original statement, is in fact reflected on the repair order.

The customer engaged the Service Advisor with questions relative to replacing the transmission prior to our shop having the opportunity to perform a proper diagnosis.

The Service Advisor provided an estimated cost of replacement, if required, based on prior experiences with replacing a transmission. This figure was only provided as the customer was requesting possible worse case scenarios.

Our Service Manager remains adamant that no statement was made that our estimate and pitman arm repair were mishandled.

We have empathy for the customer as the transmission damage turned out to be quite extensive as indicated by the detailed estimate provided.

We feel we extended every courtesy and kindness to the customer by replacing and installing the Pitman Arm, which had been damaged for some time, as we provided installation of the replacement part on this 13 year old truck with no labor cost being charged to customer.

We are apologetic that repairs required an extended period of time, but every effort was made to move this repair through our extremely busy shop as quickly as possible.

We respect the customer's decision to select any repair facility for future service needs, but we are disappointed that an act of compassion on our part lead to threats of derogatory comments to individuals with whom customer interacts.

We performed only those services requested and approved by the customer. As an act of goodwill, we provided $422 in labor costs (at no charge to the customer) to replace the Pitman Arm. The customer neither acknowledged nor offered his thanks for the gesture.

We respectfully decline to refund the amount paid for the replacement part and detailed analysis and diagnosis performed.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While I appreciate the detailed response from 3-Way Chevrolet, the root cause to the issue stems from the initial estimate provided. I requested a "worst case scenario" estimate, as would any other client, in order to prepare for this. The original "worst case scenario" cost provided was nearly $2500 less than the estimate provided once the vehicle was assessed. Both the original estimate and the revised estimate were stated to be the cost to replace the transmission. As a result of this significant variance, we lost all trust in 3-Way Chevrolet. Had 3-Way Chevrolet honored their original "worst case scenario" estimate the other issues would not have been an issue. I wish 3-Way the best of luck but choose to not recommend their service department to friends and family due to the inconsistencies in their shop practices.

07/30/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.