BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central California and Inland Empire Counties

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/17/2012

Nissan of Clovis

Phone: (559) 297-6919Fax: (559) 297-6921

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
08/02/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: Ran our credit report even after telling us they would not since we already had financing setup with our Credit Union.
We told the salesman multiple times that we had pre-approved financing setup with our credit union and that we were not interested in Credit thru the dealership. He talked to his Sales Manager and brought back a form and said they would not run our credit but we needed to fill out the form so they knew who they were selling the car to. We completed the form and were brought back our credit scores. This company has a dishonest Sales Manager or Salesman.

Business' Initial Response
A credit application form was completed and signed by consumer granting authority to run a credit report. Inquiries with credit bureaus can be challenged directly by consumer to respective agency.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The salesman specifically told us they only needed the information so they knew who they were selling the car to and they would not run our credit. The credit application was only completed with limited information and was not complete.

Business' Final Response

Mr. *** & Mr. ******** came into the dealership over the weekend to Nissan of Clovis and purchased a new Nissan Juke from us. We discussed the credit app issue and communication from sales staff. It is my belief all is well with the gentlemen and their purchase. It was a pleasure speaking with them and I appreciate their input, patience, and understanding.

All the best,
**** *******

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Contract Complaint Issue

Complaint: Vehicle was purchased, contract signed, vehicle taken possession. Over four week period, there have been 5 errors resulting in Nissan changing terms.
The contract Nissan of Clovis drew up contains 5 separate errors that requires further action 5 separate times by the purchasing party (***** and ******* **********.)
1. On 5/11/13, Nissan of Clovis' financial officer, ******* ****** put in the contract the amount owed of $18301.94 as payoff for purchase of vehicle. A check for that amount was brought by ***** ********** on 5/12/13. The amount the financial officer submitted to us was wrong. *****, the buyer, required to provide an additional $29.29.
2. During signing of the contract ******* ***** failed to provide the "Contract Cancellation Option Agreement." Forms arrived in the mail the afternoon of the day they were due to dealer resulting in Buyers not having enough time to return "Agreement" in timely manner.
3. On 5/12/13, without Buyers knowledge Nissan of Clovis applied to Golden One Credit Union for auto loan on behalf of buyers, (***** and ******* **********) after buyers had already informed Nissan of Clovis that the buyers had gone through the application process with Golden 1 and had prequalified already. This resulted in 2 loan applications being submitted for same vehicle. This in turn resulted in Buyers receiving letters of loan denial from Golden 1 Credit Union.
4. On 5/20/13 Buyers received letter from Nissan of Clovis that DMV fees quoted during buying process were wrong resulting in Buyer receiving check for $62.37.
5. On 5/25/13, Buyers again received a letter from Nissan of Clovis stating that amount of DMV fees were wrong and Dealer asked for another $105.00 to cover "what they paid to DMV for us."
Buyers ***** and ******* ********** went to Nissan of Clovis that day to protest the additional fees as we were no longer secure in the knowledge of the figures given by Nissan of Clovis. During that visit Sales Manager signed off on the $105 fees, signing the letter and stating "We will take care of it."
On 6/15/13, Buyers received another letter stating that if the $105 fees were not paid we would be taken to collections.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Gen Sales Mgr
Contact Email: *****@nissanofclovis.com
Clients visited dealership on 6/17/13 at approx. 11:30am and discussed matters with ownership of Nissan of Clovis. Both parties are happy with resolution of the dispute.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/05/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
11/06/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
09/05/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.