BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Mini of Ontario

(909) 390-1818View Additional Phone Numbers1251 Auto Center Dr, OntarioCA 91761-2209http://www.miniofontario.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Mini of Ontario is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mini of Ontario's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Mini of Ontario

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
08/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Leased a car thought had XXXXX miles on lease only had XXXXX had to pay 850. for excess miles had complainded to service about problem with speedo .
when went to turn car in said had to buy extra miles 850.00 (5,200) told dealer again about problem ,laughed about Mini ticket protection by having speedo wrong reads 80 going 75 GPS tells actual traviling speed don't think ishould pay for extra on car ,Mini of North America said can be off 10% more like 60 %

Desired Settlement
refund or credit on new car

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** Svc Dir.
Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@penskeautomotive.com
I have reviewed the statement from Mr. ********* delivered to us by the Better Business Bureau. There is nothing in Mr. *********'s statement or in the repair history that suggests that there is a defect with this vehicle as it relates to lease miles accumulated. I have attached (see e-mail)a Service Information Bulletin from BMW of North America (parent company of MINI) addressing this concern. It explains the cause of a difference in GPS speed measurement versus the speedometer reading as well as the following statement about accumulated mileage:

The amount of speedometer advance has no effect on recording accumulated mileage in the odometer display. The odometer records mileage digitally, and does not incorporate any "advance" tolerances.

I do apologize if anyone here did not treat Mr. *********'s concerns respectfully. I hope this provides an explanation as to why no adjustment for accumulated mileage can be offered to him.

Best regards,

***************

02/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Specifically asked if the vehicle had new tires @ was told yes.
I came into the dealership the end of July / early August and purchased a 2011 Mini Cooper Clubman S. I specifically purchased a Certified vehicle and asked if the tires were new explaining I would be driving across the country - moving back to Missouri. The sidewall of the tires looked new; and was told they were. Additionally, because safety and vehicle maintenance is important I paid almost $2,000 to extend the maintenance on my car until 100,000 miles.

Since purchasing my car I have only put 8,000 mile on the vehicle to-date. When we had a significant amount of rain late-November I felt unsafe in my car; it felt as if I was "skating" on the highway. To be honest, I thought it had to do with the fact I had hi-performance, run-flat tires on my car. I started making calls to price replacing them with all-season tires as being back in Missouri I knew I was headed toward snow and ice; and, especially since I felt unsafe on wet roads.

On the evening December 17th my car started driving horribly - it felt as if I had a flat tire. I did not have any indicators in the car showing low tire pressure; I even had the pressure checked. On the 18th it was so terrible I went straight to Firestone. Unfortunately there is only one Mini dealer in the greater-St. Louis area; which is 32 miles from my home and didn't want to drive any further than reaching the closest tire facility.

When Firestone put the car on the rack and had me come look at my tires I almost threw-up! That is literal! I drive almost 30 miles one way to work and when I saw my tires it all made sense; and, realized just how blessed I was that the rear driver tire didn't blow at 75 mph!

I immediately called the dealership and spoke with the service manager. Having only put 8,000 miles on my car I knew IF my car had new tires on it when I purchased it they should not be in the condition they were on the night of the 18th. I explained everything to him that I am explaining in this report and was told tires are not covered under a warranty - - there was nothing he could / would do.

I was specific when purchasing the vehicle I wanted new tires on the car. I am extremely upset to know the tires on the car could not have have been new as I was told; and again, thankful the rear tire with the bubble didn't blow at 75 mph!

I have pictures of both rear tires showing their condition.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be reimbursed for the cost of the tires I just had put on the car.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** Svc Dir
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@penskeautomotive.com
January 21, 2015
*****************************************************************************

XXX XXX-XXXX

Re: Case# ********: ******* ******

Dear *****,

On July 29, 2014 ******* ****** purchased a 2011 Certified Pre-Owned MINI Cooper Clubman from MINI of Ontario. She was provided a copy of the Vehicle Inspection Check List filled out and signed by our Service Technician, Service Manager and Sales Manager. In the lower part of Page 1, Section 2: Wheel Assembly, all four tires, Pirelli 205/45R17 84V are noted to be in "good" condition. The tires measured at 7mm each and were inflated to 38psi. Nowhere on the document does it read "new" or "replaced." The vehicle also received a 4-wheel alignment as part of the reconditioning process. On page 42 of the MINI NEXT CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED DEALER OPERATIONS MANUAL, it states to "REPLACE any tire measuring LESS THAN 3-mm tread depth at all locations across the entire surface." We would not have replaced tires that measured more than double the minimum tread depth and noted to be in good condition.

We have no way of knowing what happened to this vehicle in the more than 8,000 miles it was driven from the time we sold it until Mrs. ****** discovered that the tires required replacement. In any case, tire maintenance is not part of the extended maintenance plan and the tires are not covered for wear under the CPO warranty. The condition of the tires was properly documented and accurately represented for this transaction, MINI of Ontario will not be accepting any responsibility for their replacement.

Regards,

****** ********
Service & Parts Director
BMW of Ontario
MINI of Ontario


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
BUYER BEWARE! LESSON LEARNED! I failed to realize - and thank you for the education - that I needed a law degree before buying a vehicle! I have always been of the belief that the salesman representing a dealership - their role was to "assist" a potential customer in the purchase of their vehicle. If asked questions about the vehicle provide honest and accurate information. In MY case, I was specific about the condition of the tires. I did not ask to see the Vehicle Inspection Check List and make sure I looked in the "lower part of Page 1, Section 2: Wheel Assembly, all four tires, Pirelli 205/45R17 84V" - - in order to determine they were "in "good" condition." Nor did I make sure I knew that "the tires measured at 7mm each and were inflated to 38psi." ADDITIONALLY, I FAILED TO READ THE MINI NEXT CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED DEALER OPERATIONS MANUAL" so that I knew that the dealer would not replace the tires unless... "any tire measured LESS THAN 3-mm tread depth at all locations across the entire surface."

What this dealer has implied is that ALL CONSUMERS MUST AND SHOULD read all provided documentation PRIOR to ever signing any paperwork.

Silly me... but IF I was a salesman and a POTENTIAL buyer asked if the tires were new and explained why they were asking... I would have gotten the paperwork and made sure the potential buyer KNEW what they were getting.

PERHAPS THIS IS EXACTLY why MOST consumers detest the car-buying experience and think car salesman are dishonest!

Furthermore, I am insulted by the response "We have no way of knowing what happened to this vehicle in the more than 8,000 miles it was driven from the time we sold it until Mrs. ****** discovered that the tires required replacement." I guess the "ASSumption" is, I squeal my tires... I have used my car for drag-racing... I am less than responsible with the service of my vehicle (although all of that is tracked in Mini's system). But then again, IF you are less than honest when asked direct questions about the condition of a vehicle you are considering buying; one might ASSume that your customers are less than honest as well when filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau!

Shame on you for missing an excellent opportunity of RETAINING a satisfied customer as opposed to insulting a customer and having MINI loose a customer who was honestly considering the purchase of a new MINI. I have had THREE BMWs over the past 10 years = a LOYAL customer. Your opportunity would have been... perhaps splitting the cost of the tires - $200.00! Loosing a REPEAT customer, having this experience shared on social media ... as a manager who UNDERSTANDS the importance of customer service shows me you don't care about your customer!

07/28/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/14/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top

Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable, but not guaranteed as to its accuracy. The BBB has not verified information including, but not limited to: business start date, ownership, licensing, and registration (if applicable). BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

Business started: 05/22/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV - Motor Carrier Services
2415 1st Ave
Sacramento, CA 95818-2606
(800) 777-0133
http://www.dmv.ca.gov

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10949 N Mather Blvd
Rancho Cordova, CA 95670-6409
(800) 952-5210
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 82197 for this company, issued by DMV - Motor Carrier Services. Their web address is http://www.dmv.ca.gov.

Type: Department of Motor Vehicle

BBB records show a license number of 270170 for this company, issued by Bureau of Automotive Repair. Their web address is http://www.autorepair.ca.gov.

Type: Automotive Repair

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Mr. John F. Sullivan (Owner)Mr. John D. Wiggins (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mini of Ontario

1251 Auto Center Dr

Ontario, CA 91761-2209

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1251 Auto Center Dr 

    Ontario, CA 91761-2209(909) 390-1818
    (888) 743-4041
    (909) 230-5950
    (909) 390-7888
    (888) 556-4307
    (888) 750-6001
    (877) 616-1280

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mini of Ontario is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 743-4041
  • (909) 230-5950
  • (909) 390-7888
  • (888) 556-4307
  • (888) 750-6001
  • (877) 616-1280
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.