BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/09/1995

Merle Stone Chevrolet Cadillac

(559) 781-8355View Additional Phone Numbers800 W Henderson Ave, PortervilleCA 93257-1743

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/09/1995

BBB has determined that Merle Stone Chevrolet Cadillac meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Merle Stone Chevrolet Cadillac's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Merle Stone Chevrolet Cadillac

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Work was billed but not actually performed.
On June 6, 2013 ***** ****** brought my Chevrolet C1500 pickup to ***** ***** Chevrolet in Porterville, CA for new oil pan seals, (oil pan seal & rear main seal) and oil change. On July 02, 2013, (7 days later), ***** ***** Chevrolet mechanic called and told me that the seals didn't seal and that he would have to redo it. Approximately 2 hours later, the mechanic called and told me the truck was ready. (Why did it take 7 days to do the job the first time due to being a complicated procedure then only 2 hours to redo it?).

On 08/11/2015 I took my truck to Oil Can Henrys for an oil change. The mechanic noted that the oil pan was leaking and appeared to have been sealed with silicone and JB Weld.

On 08/12/2015 I went to a Lassen Chevrolet in Oregon to have the job by ***** ***** verified. After the ASE Certified mechanic's evaluation, he determined that the oil pan had never been removed but rather an attempt was made by ***** ***** Chevrolet to seal the leaks with silicone.

The Mechanic walked me under the vehicle and I observed the less than acceptable work performed by ***** ***** Chevrolet.

After leaving the Lassen Chevrolet in Oregon, I called *** ****** at ***** ***** Chevrolet in Porterville, CA. I informed him of the findings and he was reluctant to admit possible fault pending pictures taken by the mechanic at Lassen Chevrolet.

Desired Settlement
I am asking that ***** ***** Chevrolet in Porterville, CA to pay Lassen Chevrolet in Albany, OR for ALL necessary repairs as well as ANY damage that may have occurred as a result of ***** *****'s neglect to actually perform ALL necessary repairs to correct the original problem. I am also asking ***** ***** to pay $49.00 diagnostic fee as well as $70.00 to replace the Mobil1 5W-30 Synthetic motor oil that was used for my last oil change one day prior to this discovery. (Paid $109.99 to Oil Can Henrys located in Lebanon, OR on 08/11/15).

Business Response
First, on Wednesday, June 26, 2013, Lorna Gordon did bring a 1997 Chevrolet pick-up, VIN I ****************, to Merle ***** Chevrolet in Porterville for an oil leak concern. On Friday, June 28, the leak was diagnosed as an engine oil pan gasket and was authorized by Loma Gordon for the amount of $770.00. Parts were ordered and received Monday, July 2. Our technician began the job on Monday afternoon at approximately 2:45 pm and completed the repair on Tuesday, July 2 at approximately 1:15 pm. All documentation we have, including time stamps on the work order and parts charged on the invoice support this was completed. No one here has any recollection of the repair having to be done twice, as Mr. ******** stated, nor would "the mechanic" have called him to tell him anything about the job. The service advisor would have called him when the job was completed. Our service advisor who assisted this customer, who is also still working for our company, says he does not remember any such concern.
I reviewed the repair order with our GM Certified technician who completed the repair 2 years ago, and still works for our dealership. Although it has been over 2 years since doing this repair, he said he vaguely remembers doing the job, mainly because the V-6 engine in, this truck has to be lifted to access the oil pan gasket replacement, and as far as he remembers, the job was nothing unusual and was completed as expected. When I showed him the pictures Mr. ******** sent to me of the "siliconefIB Weld" smeared on the front of his oil pan, he said the job absolutely did not leave here that way and he would never complete a job in this manner.
While I will agree there is an engine oil leak and the glob of sealer should not be on the front of the oil pan., we do not agree on its origin. I personally know our GM Certified technician to be a man. of character and honesty and have no reason to think b.e would have turned out of this substandard quality. We have no idea nor would we speculate on the chain of custody of this vehicle over the past 2+ years and 21,445 miles but do know that there would have been several necessary general maintenance due over this time and miles which would give someone opportunity to do what is alleged of us. Someone did put scaler on the front of his oil pan. but we are confident without question it was not done in our shop.


As to the allegation that "the oil pan had never been removed", that is purely speculation for anyone to make such a statement. We know that the oil pan was removed and the gasket replaced. This is not speculation. Being an ASE Certified technician myself and working in dealer service departments since 1975, I'm not sure how anyone would make that determination, especially after this length of time and mileage since we replaced the gasket, which is more than twice any applicable warranty or guarantee of parts or workmanship. I see no such "evidence" in the photos provided by the customer. If there was an oil leak after our replacement of Mr. ********'s pan gasket, the failed gasket would. have been cover under General Motors parts warranty for 12 m.onth.s or 12,000 miles from 7/2/2013 or 78,745 miles at any GM dealer in the US.
In Mr. ********'s email, he demanded we pay for the pan gasket to be replaced again, as well as the rear main seal, which is also leaking now according to the Lassen Chevrolet invoice, The rear main seal was not leaking on 7/2/2013. We do not feel this is reasonable.
I hope I have properly explained the amount of time we spent investigating the complaint. We never want an unhappy customer and will always strive to do the right thing. T believe we have made a fair decision base on the facts, not speculation. We positively replaced the pan gasket on the vehicle bought to us and it was not leaking after the repair. Furthermore, the silicone or JI3 Weld on Mr. ********'s pan was not present at the time the truck was delivered back to him after the repairs on 7/2/2013. As a footnote, we do not stock JB Weld or a silver silicone in our dealership as seen in the picture provide by Mr. ********. We approached this claim with an open mind to find the truth, although Mr. ********'s mind seemed to be made up as to what was done or not done to his vehicle from, his very first phone call.
All related documents are attached to this letter for you to review, We are more than happy to assist with any further information that the BBB may require.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. ******'s assessment is speculation. I can prove through AT&T records that there was 2 calls from ***** ***** Chevrolet that day. Someone from ***** ***** Chevrolet did IN FACT call to tell me the leak did not seal and that it would be a few hours. ************ can testify to that fact as well. I am MORE THAN WILLING to take a Polygraph or a Voice Stress Analyzer (VSA) and compare it to the actual mechanics Polygraph or VSA result. The external sealant did not put itself on the oil pan seal. I know for a fact that ***** ***** Chevrolet's Service Department is the only entity to do ANYTHING with regards to my oil pan and I am willing , as stated above, to get a polygraph or VSA assessment. A WARRANTY on a job means nothing if the job was never actually done or if the job was not done correctly. Because 2 years have passed ***** this work order, their warranty period should be irrelevant as I do not do daily, weekly or monthly "oil pan checks" and that unfortunately this was not discovered until 08/11/2015. Lassen Chevrolet ALSO has ASE Certified mechanics and verified that the job was never done.

Final Business Response
Here at Merle ***** Chevrolet, we have always done our best to make every customer completely satisl9ed with their experience with us and regret that Mr. ******** feels the way he does_ To my knowledge, in our years of doing business here since 1957, we have never had a situation like this. The reason the Better Business Bureau or the California Bureau of Automotive Repair do not have a history of complaint for our dealership is because we maintain a high level of satisfaction with our customers.
At this customer's request, the California Bureau of Automotive Repair did a full investigation into this complaint as well The state investigator found no fault or wrong doing on the part of our dealership.
for the phone calls, it is customary to talk to a customer by phone multiple times during a service visit but our position stands on our original statement, "No one here has any recollection of the repair having to be done twice, as Mr, ******** stated, nor would lie mechanic" have called him to tell him anything about the job, The service advisor would have called him when the job was completed_ Our service advisor who assisted this customer, who is also still working for our company, says he does not remember any such concern "
We would welcome the opportunity to inspect the vehicle at our facility at no charge as a courtesy to the customer, even oiler mere than two years since this repair was completed. It is unfortunate the customer refuses to bring the vehicle to us for our inspection so we might better help Mr. ******** come to a satisfactory conclusion.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Truck Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/09/1995Business started: 01/01/1957
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10949 N Mather Blvd
Rancho Cordova, CA 95670-6409
(800) 952-5210
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov

DMV - Occupational Licensing Branch
PO Box 932342
Sacramento, CA 94232-3420
(916) 229-3127
http://www.dca.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 180050 for this company, issued by Bureau of Automotive Repair. Their web address is http://www.autorepair.ca.gov.

Type: Automotive Repair

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 25938 for this company, issued by DMV - Occupational Licensing Branch. Their web address is http://www.dca.ca.gov.

Type: Department of Motor Vehicle

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 1994, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Stone (President)Mr. Larry Stone (Vice President)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Truck Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Merle Stone Chevrolet Geo Oldsmobile Cadillac, Stone Holdings, Inc.
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including mediation and arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.
Industry Tips
Auto Purchase

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Merle Stone Chevrolet Cadillac

800 W Henderson Ave

Porterville, CA 93257-1743

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 800 W Henderson Ave 

    Porterville, CA 93257-1743(559) 781-8355
    (559) 853-4746
    (559) 853-4759

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Merle Stone Chevrolet Cadillac is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (559) 853-4746
  • (559) 853-4759
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Auto Purchase
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.