BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1962

Hedrick's Chevrolet

(559) 291-7711View Additional Phone Numbers961 W Shaw Ave, ClovisCA 93612-3203

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1962

BBB has determined that Hedrick's Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hedrick's Chevrolet's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Hedrick's Chevrolet

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
11/18/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Purchased a 2010 Toyota Tundra about 2 months ago, that has given us too many problems.
My wife and I recently purchased a used 2010 Toyota Tundra form Hedricks Chevrolet (Sales Re. ******* 2 weeks after purchasing this vehicle while driving home from work the engine completely shutoff on us while the truck was running (we were just glad that our newborn was not in the vehicle at the time of this incident). We called Hedricks Chevrolet and were told that we should take it in to a Toyota dealership to get it looked at (at there expense, spoke with the service manager), we had it towed home that afternoon, and towed to the Hanford CA Toyota dealership the very next day. They told us that they noticed that this had happen to the truck once before and that it had been taken to get serviced in the Toyota Dealership (Next door to the Hedricks Chevrolet) in March with the same issue. The truck ran fine for a couple weeks now, and just this weekend we had another issue, while on park the engine felt very weak, as if it were going to shutoff. I turned off the truck for a while and when I started it up and it was fine. Now yesterday on our way home from picking up my son in town our check engine light and traction light turned on, the engine once again felt weak. Didn't run the truck until this morning, when I turned on the vehicle this morning the RPM seemed to be really high, which is not normal, the check engine lights were off but the vehicles RPM on idle was really high, as if someone had their foot on the gas pedal. When I attempted on driving it, the same thing happened when I was pressing the break it was wanting to go forward on its own. This vehicle is what I believe to be a lemon. I am very dissatisfied with the vehicle that I purchased from Hedricks Chevrolet, with all the issues that I have had which I believe could've gone a lot worse if I was in a bigger city or on the freeway with my child in the vehicle, I am simply done with this truck. I would like to keep going to Hedricks Chevrolet in the future however, I do believe they should take responsibility for selling us a vehicle that does not perform the way it should. I could see this happening a year down the road, but I have had problems with this vehicle from just about day one. If you have any questions please feel free to contact myself (******* *******) or my wife ******** *******) at XXX-XXX-XXXX or XXX-XXX-XXXX. I don't know if this will help resolve my issue but I figured it was worth a shot. Thank you for your time and have a wonderful day.

Desired Settlement
I would like for Hedricks Chevrolet to take the Tundra back and replace the truck with one of equal value, might even be able to get a truck that is a little more expensive than this one if the numbers are right (doesn't necessarily need to be another tundra, we are open to a GMC or Chevrolet Truck). I feel its only right, I don't feel that i am asking for too much, however i do believe that as a customer you should always feel like you got a good deal for what you purchased, you should at least be satisfied with it for a period of time longer than a month. I would like to keep doing future business with Hedricks because I enjoyed my buying experience just don't enjoy the vehicle that we ended up with. Once again thank you for your time.

Business Response
We are in the process of working with the customer to resolve this issue. This opened communication for us. Thank you.

Consumer Response
It has happened once again, while my pregnant wife was on the road with my 8 month old baby in the truck it completely shut down in the middle of the freeway. I would really appreciate it if at thus point would just take the truck back and relieve me of this debt and hassle this vehicle has been. The safety of my wife and child is not worth any money in the world. Please contact my wife at XXX XXX XXXX, if you have any questions I would put my number but I am at an academy for work so I can answer Monday through Friday my wife also works Monday through Friday 8 to 430 if u have questions at that time call her at XXX XXX XXXX her name is ******* ******* thank you

Final Business Response
We have contacted customer and are working to help them with a resolution. I got some additional information for them and have left 2 messages but haven't heard back from them yet.

07/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I took my car in for key recall, they damaged my turn signal switch and would not repair it.
I took the car in on 6/16/14 for campaign repair work. My turn signal was working fine. I picked the car up the same day. I parked it and didn't use it until the following week because I went out of town, using my other car. Monday morning when I was on my way to work the blinkers wouldn't cancel themselves to the right. I tried it to the left and they won't engage. The blinkers work if you use the switch manually. I have owned this car since purchased new in 2007. i have never had any problem with the column or its componets. I took the car back the next day and ****** **** said they didn't touch the switch. I don't see how they would have removed the cover of the column without touching the switch. But they refused to repair what they had broken. I picked up my car and with the damaged switch.

Desired Settlement
I want my car fixed back to the condition it was in before they damaged the column.

Business Response
We will be taking care of customers turn signal switch.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 03/01/1962Business started: 01/01/1944
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10949 N Mather Blvd
Rancho Cordova, CA 95670-6409
(800) 952-5210

DMV - Occupational Licensing Branch
PO Box 932342
Sacramento, CA 94232-3420
(916) 229-3127

BBB records show a license number of 5287 for this company, issued by Bureau of Automotive Repair. Their web address is

Type: Automotive Repair

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 01332 for this company, issued by DMV - Occupational Licensing Branch. Their web address is

Type: Department of Motor Vehicle

Type of Entity


Incorporated: September 1968, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brett Hedrick (President)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Hallowell Chevrolet Company Inc
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including mediation and arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.
Industry Tips
Auto Purchase

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hedrick's Chevrolet

961 W Shaw Ave

Clovis, CA 93612-3203

To | From


1 Locations

  • 961 W Shaw Ave 

    Clovis, CA 93612-3203(559) 291-7711
    (559) 294-2279

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hedrick's Chevrolet is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (559) 294-2279

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Auto Purchase

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.