BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1976

Future Ford of Clovis

Phone: (559) 294-6300Fax: (559) 490-1034View Additional Phone Numbers920 W Shaw Ave, ClovisCA 93612-3202

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1976

BBB has determined that Future Ford of Clovis meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Future Ford of Clovis' rating include:

  • 9 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Future Ford of Clovis' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Future Ford of Clovis

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
04/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I believe Future Ford duped me into believing my truck that only has 58,858 miles needed repairs that it did not for a total of $517.52.
See attached letter and attachments.

I originally purchased my 2005 Ford Ranger from Future Ford of Clovis.

On February 5, 2016 I took my 2005 Ford Ranger into Future Ford of Clovis for Recall 15S22
Invoice 441464 (attached)
Mileage on 2/5/16 was XXXXX

Other services noted on this invoice included:
B) Inspect under hood (see invoice)
C) Inspect tires (see invoice)
D) Recall (see invoice)

Vehicle check-up form (attached) showed my vehicle all Green lights.

On March 23, 2016 I took my 2005 Ford Ranger back to Future Ford of Clovis for Recall 16S01
Invoice 444347 (attached)
Mileage on 3/23/16 was 58858 (577 miles later)

Here is where I was scammed:

In just 47 days and 577 miles later according to the Mike Weygandt (service writer) my truck now was in dire need of the following:

1) Transmission Flush $235.41
2) Cooling System Flush $164.80
3) Brake Fluid Flush $100.23
4) Tax $17.08
$517.52

I asked if this was truly necessary and **** said, "You could have transmission failure from the dirty oil; brake failure and without fixing the coolant you are risking overheating in the upcoming hot summer." **** did not show any evidence that the fluids were dirty; unlike when I have the oil changed regularly in 2 vehicles, the mechanic always shows me the condition of the oil.

I am 73 years old and **** took advantage of me. As the documentation shows, this truck has very low mileage for a 2005; but **** was so convincing with his scare tactics that I did not want to risk my safety and higher costs down the road, so I approved the repairs. However, when I got home I immediately went to the owners guide and to my surprise found nothing in the manual about a maintenance schedule for these 3 items.

I then called Ford Motor Company in Michigan and told them I felt taken advantage of by Future Ford of Clovis and they asked me to first file a claim with the BBB of Central California which I did.

Furthermore, I am a regular subscriber to Consumer Reports and to my surprise I saw there was a "Road Report" on "Dealership Recall Scams" and by golly there it was in black and white the scam that was perpetrated on me. Page 55 (attached) refers to this as "5 Sneaky Mechanic High Scare Scams" - Of the 5 scare tactics, Future Ford ****** got me for 3 of them. I will refer once again to what **** told me:
"You could have transmission failure from the dirty oil; brake failure and without fixing the coolant you are risking overheating in the upcoming hot summer."

The only resolution to this is a complete refund of the $517.52 I paid for repairs that were most likely not needed. I look forward to your response.

Desired Settlement
The only resolution to this is a complete refund of the $517.52 I paid for repairs that were most likely not needed. I look forward to your response.

Business Response
Future Ford of Clovis made repair suggestions based on time, mileage and fluid conditions. The client authorized those repairs in person and the repairs were completed. As a goodwill gesture Future Ford of Clovis will refund these repairs. The check will be mailed later in the week.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Yes I accept the response from Future Ford of Clovis. I have always heard about the BBB, but in all my years I have never used BBB. I thank the BBB for their help in the resolution of my case. I appreciate all that you have done and I sincerely hope I will not need your assistance again. Your staff was attentive, thorough and caring. Thank you.

03/07/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Deceptive offering of services and appalling customer service from their service manager.
To whom this may concern,

I am writing this Better Business Bureau complaint because of deceptive offering of services and appalling customer service (to be fair, primarily from your service manager) I have experienced from your business.

I bought a new 2014 Ford Fusion titanium, and I took it for servicing to your dealership about a month and a half ago. At this time, I had quite a few issues that needed to be resolved with my car. Your dealership diagnosed my car with a few issues that includes: an air condition with an organic musty smell and a sound that permeates throughout the cabin from the gas tank.

Your dealership pinpointed where the noise came from within my car. I've talked to two different people from your dealership all in the servicing department, and they told me that the noises I am hearing are abnormal. When Ford contacted me, your dealership told Ford that it’s a “normal” characteristic of the vehicle because ONE car on your parking lot made the same noise. It’s quite appalling that your dealership only tested ONE car to verify the noise and label it as a “characteristic” of my vehicle.
Your dealership told me one thing, while telling ford a different thing - which is extremely deceptive. The servicing representative from your dealership even told me I should try to pursue an alternative for noise reduction on my vehicle, either “foam” or a different insulation, yet Ford stated your dealership never said that.

In terms of my air condition, your dealership diagnosed my vehicle with an organic smell that is permeating throughout the cabin. The smell is at startup and also when the air condition is on automatic (when it hits fan mode). There is a TSB for my vehicle, which your dealership failed to mention. This TSB is for an “organic smell” at vehicle start up.

Your dealership contacted me and asked if my problems were resolved. I stated no because they were not resolved. A representative from your customer satisfaction department told me to bring my car in and they’ll try to get a rental car for me to have in the meantime. After a week of back and forth with Ford corporate, I was finally able to obtain permission for a rental car. Unfortunately, when I was on a three-way call with your service manager and Ford corporate, everything went downhill. I was extremely displeased with Ford Corporate (not Future Ford of Clovis) and their extremely slow pace to try to get my car fixed. Based on my displeasure with Ford Corporate, your service manager thought that I would write a negative feedback for your dealership, thus denying me service.

Your service manager refused to take a look at my vehicle again, because of a potential “negative feedback” for Ford’s customer satisfaction. The manager told me that this affects revenue, etc. Apparently, an abhorrent judgment against customer satisfaction verses revenue. So basically, a week and a half of back and forth with Ford corporate and your dealership, your service manager denied me service.

I’m absolutely baffled and appalled of how this service manager is treating a Ford customer. The feedback survey is for customers who deliver an honest rating based on their satisfaction from a dealership. Skewing the odds in your favor is absolutely dishonest, deceptive and abhorrent customer service.

If this is a futile attempt, I hope to get the word out about your dealership and the deceptive practices it has been conducting by social media, Google reviews, Yelp, and word of mouth. This is not limited to a formal complaint to Ford. I’m giving your dealership a chance to ameliorate the situation by writing this BBB complaint.

Desired Settlement
I'm just looking to get my vehicle fixed. That's all. Your dealership was recommend by other dealerships in the area, thus I chose your dealership.

Your dealership diagnosed my vehicle with abnormal noises coming from my gas tank and a moldy/organic smell from the AC. I need the problems that I’m having with my car fixed.

Business Response
Mr. ****** I'm truly sorry we were unable to resolve your concern. We were involved because of your dissatisfaction with your selling dealer. At the request of Ford Motor Company we attempted to verify your concerns. We utilized Ford Motor Company's technical hotline and it was determined that one of your concerns was normal. The technician felt the ac smell was resolved with a deodorizer. During the time your vehicle was in our care Ford did come up with a TSB for a smell concern. I do agree that this repair needs to be performed on your vehicle. While we were on the phone with Ford customer service you started to get belligerent and you began to threaten me with a lawyer. At that time I did decide that it was best for you to return to your local selling dealer to resolve your concerns. Ford Motor Company did not disagree with me.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Unfortunately, I don't believe anything will be resolved with this BBB complaint. If you're going to state fictitious and asinine statements such as "threaten me with a lawyer", that shows how appalling your customer service is. First of all, there is no basis or merit to even threaten you with a lawyer. Your dealership never sold the car to me nor had a scenario that is even applicable of utilizing a lawyer. Secondly, to state a blatant lie of "threaten me with a lawyer" is quite low. The phone calls are recorded, and I would highly advise you to ask for a transcript of the phone call. Third, YOUR own employees told advised me to try for a lemon law by utilizing an attorney. Your own employees stated that course of action against Ford corporate.

Your customer service is abylsmal at best. That's why I'm writing this BBB complaint. You're unable to resolve my problems and make up fictitious statements to justify your actions of my case.

03/31/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
poor comunication the run around
false exstended warranty told covered all only covers minmal now covers non
purchesd red 2003 f350 lifted big tires diesel
4-9-13 from future ford
also purchased same day for 4,300 an exstended waranty from future ford to cover what goes wrong with this type of truck have original warranty contract that has no warranty level cked or options had trouble with truck first 2 days had to take it back for Lf wheel bearing and hub and that same time they were working on truck was told altenator went bad while they were fixing the LF hub was asked if i would pay for altenator . I said to them you guys sold me an exstended warranty they tried to tell me it wasnt in effect yet after waiting a week got truck back they fixed it wheather they billed the warranty or not i dont know i had driven the truck 2 days and had it back to them for a week nice way to make a new custmer wait. But it gets better for a little while next visit the same LF HUB goes out again but it is covered under factory part warranty i think that was 3 or so months ago talked to service advisor that the truck needs more work and would like to bring it in as soon as i can make time and that as with everytime io brought it in i was concerened about my exstended warranty coverage since no boxes were cked on my contract and again i was told it is all covered not to worry.
well finally got a chance to take it in before my warranty exsperise and get all the problems fixed they had it for a week with only 2 day rental car not cool but worst is the warranty they sold me was not all the option on the sheet but only a level 2 coverage so about 2,000 dollars of parts it needs are not covered. and they missed the worn sterring parts i complained about that are covered so i called in and they took the truck since the warranty company wanted to send an inspector to look at . now it gets better come to find out the warranty compony is telling me they are not going to cover the truck any more becuase it is consider modified being lifted with big tires and kn airfilter. The big problem with that i have is i bought the truck from future ford that way and if that was the case they should have never clipped me for an exstended warranty. i have all docs if needed. i trully just wanted my truck fixed and to get what i paid for today i did get a call back from ***** which supprised me since are first week fiasco i was always told to take it to daniel at fleet sales and daniel would always insure me it is all covered dont worry i am your personal go to guy but when daniel said the warranty company did not want to cover the need parts he sent me to ***** so i am waiting to here but no holding my breath regardless i did get sold a lesser warranty than told and with out any boxes cked but being told that you have all and now being told you have non all for 4,300 plus i dont want to have to go to small claims but may have to

Desired Settlement
truck drag link and steering box replaced
as warranty level 2 coverage states they gave level 2 but i was told i had all levels or boxs
which would cover the other parts needed

second since i am also being told by the warranty company my truck power train will not be covered any longer i would like 2,000 back for parts it still needs and also loss of warranty the letter is coming to me any day from the warranty company they said it is my problem future ford sold me a modified truck and an exsteded warranty for it that wasnt for a lifted truck and not thier problem that the warranty they did purchase for me did not include all the diesel pickup but rather just a car warranty . ist that nice of future ford to take care of new custmers hope you can help still waiting for vinnys call back been a few hours

Business Response
This issue was resolved with the customer yesterday. He asked us to throw away anything we received from BBB.

Thanks,

****** *****
Business Manager

07/22/2016Problems with Product / Service
11/27/2015Problems with Product / Service
10/26/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/01/1976Business started: 02/18/1976New Owner Date: 05/22/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV - Occupational Licensing Branch
PO Box 932342
Sacramento, CA 94232-3420
(916) 229-3127
http://www.dca.ca.gov

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10949 N Mather Blvd
Rancho Cordova, CA 95670-6409
(800) 952-5210
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 11317 for this company, issued by DMV - Occupational Licensing Branch. Their web address is http://www.dca.ca.gov.

Type: Department of Motor Vehicle

BBB records show a license number of 222996 for this company, issued by Bureau of Automotive Repair. Their web address is http://www.autorepair.ca.gov.

Type: Automotive Repair

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1978, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Deborah Clark (Business Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Future Ford
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including mediation and arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.
Industry Tips
Auto Purchase

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Future Ford of Clovis

920 W Shaw Ave

Clovis, CA 93612-3202

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 920 W Shaw Ave 

    Clovis, CA 93612-3202(559) 291-2581
    (559) 294-6300
    (559) 291-5300
    (559) 862-1570
    Fax: (559) 490-1034

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Future Ford of Clovis is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (559) 291-2581
  • (559) 291-5300
  • (559) 862-1570

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (559) 291-0798
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Auto Purchase
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.