BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central California and Inland Empire Counties

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/31/1994

Barber Group, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (661) 834-6632Fax: (661) 398-4932View Additional Phone Numbers4500 Wible Rd, BakersfieldCA 93313-2629

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/31/1994

BBB has determined that Barber Group, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Barber Group, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
09/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide invoice or estimate for repair upon request

Complaint: Barber Honda misrepresented the total cost of the repair. They told us they couldn't estimate the cost until we repaired electrical system first.
To Whom It May Concern,

My girlfriend and I recently experienced a tire blowout on 7/7/13 on the I-5 N near Lost Hills, CA. The blowout did extensive damage to the electrical system and front fender. We both have liability only insurance and have basic roadside assistance only. We were initially towed to a tire shop nearby where we had two of our tires replaced (one was balding). We discovered that the gas no longer worked (the car didn't accelerate), and we had to stay overnight at a rest stop and contact a towing company to tow us 75 miles to Bakersfield, CA in the morning. When we got to the Barber Honda the next morning, a dealership with a service center, we specifically requested that we get a quote to fix everything. They subsequently told us that it would be $90 to have a repairman look at it. 2 hours later they told us that the electrical system have to be replaced and that it would cost $1647, they insisted that we do this so that the car would be able to run, and that we should talk about the estimate for the body later. We were told that in order for the car to be plugged into a computer to run a diagnostic, there needed to be a working electrical system in place. They said repeatedly that they couldn't give us an estimate without plugging the car in. Not knowing all that much about how cars work, we agreed to this repair. We were working with ***** and *** in the service center. We rented a car from Enterprise down the street and drove all the way back home to San Francisco, CA. We have since been in contact with Barber Honda and they have essentially told us that the car runs, but now requires around $4000-5000 of additional body work. We have decided that we don't want to spend that much to fix a car that may or may not have latent and unforeseen issues due to the initial tire blowout. We then asked the dealership to quote us on purchasing the car as-is from us. We hinted at cash vs trade in. We were transferred to the sales side and *** told us that the car isn't worth anything and that they don't buy cars anyway. He said that we still needed to pay the $1647 and should pick up the car. When I said that I don't want to come down to Bakersfield to try and sell the car as is, and I wanted to know if he could take the car off our hands for cash, he scoffed and said that all he would do for us is say that if we mailed him the title (pink slip), that he would call it even and we wouldn't owe him anything. I asked him how much would the car be worth without all of the damage and he told me "$3000". I then asked *** to put everything that he said in writing. I wanted a written estimate of all of the numbers he told me. He said that they don't give written estimates, "because they're estimates". I wanted an itemized list of the worth of the car, the estimated cost of the additional body work, the cost of the repair so far, the price of the initial inspection. He wouldn't give me any of this. I feel like we are been cheated out of our car. I feel that Barber Honda misrepresented themselves and took advantage of us by having us agree to the initial repair, without disclosing that there was at least $4000-5000 additional work to be done. I think that since they know we are from the Bay Area and it would be a hassle for us to come down to Bakersfield, they think that they can take our car out from under us.

So far, we have paid $210 for the two tires, $460 for the tow to Bakersfield, and $35 a day for rental from Enterprise.

The car is a 2008 Honda Fit with 50,000 miles on it. The market value looks to be $8000-9000 for a working car of that year, make, and model. My question is: if the car isn't worth anything to Barber Honda, why offer us a way out by "taking" it off our hands? I think they knew that we would have balked at spending $6000-7000 on the car, so they led with the $1647 and didn't discuss how much any additional work would cost. Please help me with this situation.

Business' Initial Response
BBB:

I have reviewed the complaint by Mr. **** regarding his girlfriends vehicle.

First, the damage to the customers car while on vacation is unfortunate.

Second, we gave a normal (everyday) estimate of $90, to have one of our factory trained technicians look at the vehicle and attempt to determine the extent of the mechanical damage to the vehicle.

Third, when the vehicle came to the dealership, there were both mechanical problems and body damage. The vehicle would only reach a maximum speed of 5 mph.

Forth, once the vehicle was evaluated by the technician, it was determined that the wiring hardness had been damaged and that prior to determining if there was any other damage to the system, it would have to be replaced. An estimate for the wiring harness, parts and labor was given to the customer ($1,647). That work was authorized by the customer and performed.

Fifth, at no time was an estimate given for body repair of the vehicle. This must be done by a qualified body repair shop.

Sixth, Mr. **** has made an error in his evaluation of the KBB value of this vehicle. The vehicle has 128,468 miles on the odometer (not 50K as stated in his complaint). The value of the vehicle (without the extensive body damage) would only be $3,200 in fair condition. We believe that the body damage exceeds the value of the vehicle.

We suggest that the customer pay the outstanding bill and if they wish to have the vehicles body damage repaired close to home, they can rent a vehicle trailer from Uhaul.

Our position is that the customer was treated fairly and given proper estimates of repair.

******* *******, President
Barber Honda

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Tell *** from sales that we had a very bad customer service experience with him. Otherwise, the incident is in the past, and we are moving on.

Business' Final Response
In regards to this case the issue has been resolved. Mr. **** was the boyfriend and wasn't really involved in the transaction. We told the gal that her vehicle was worth about $1600 which about the same cost as the repair bill. She didn't want to pay for the repair bill so we ended up giving her a $1 for the pink slip of the car and that wiped out the bill. We were able to sell the car for a $1 more so we were able to recoup the money for the repair bill.

***** *******

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/24/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/18/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/05/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/15/1991Business started: 01/01/1961
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10949 N Mather Blvd
Rancho Cordova, CA95670-6409
(800) 952-5210
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov

DMV - Occupational Licensing Branch
PO Box 932342
Sacramento, CA94232-3420
(916) 229-3127
http://www.dca.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 92062 for this company, issued by Bureau of Automotive Repair. Their web address is http://www.autorepair.ca.gov.

Type: Automotive Repair

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 00728 for this company, issued by DMV - Occupational Licensing Branch. Their web address is http://www.dca.ca.gov.

Type: Department of Motor Vehicle

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 1962, CA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Stephen Ekegren (President)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Barber Honda, Barber Automotive Group, Barber Pontiac Co
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including mediation and arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.
Industry Tips
Auto Purchase
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
The Hail Season is Here
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Barber Group, Inc.

4500 Wible Rd

Bakersfield, CA 93313-2629

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 4500 Wible Rd 

    Bakersfield, CA 93313-2629

  • PO Box 45001 

    Bakersfield, CA 93384-5001

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Barber Group, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (661) 396-4200
  • (888) 503-8891
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.