BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Serafin Collision Repair

(951) 343-723510611 Magnolia Avenue, RiversideCA 92505-1815http://www.serafincollision.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 09/30/2014 this company's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to failure to respond to one or more customer complaints filed with the BBB.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Serafin Collision Repair's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.
  • Failure to have a required competency license.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Serafin Collision Repair

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
08/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After having my car painted in July 2012, I am still trying to get the poor quality paint job resolved due to blemishes, scratches & swirls.
On July 10,2012 I was quoted $1380 to paint my car the same red as it has always been. I paid a $100 deposit and the balance of $1280 by check when the job was completed. I picked up my car on Aug 4,2012 and was told to only use microfiber cloths and good car wash on the new paint job. There were screws missing from the front bumper and the tail light bulbs were not put back into place for my brake lights to work. By Aug 23 I noticed little pits in the front fender and top of hood; sanding marks, swirls & scratches on hood, doors, and trunk lid; and both doors had ripples. **** said that the paint needs to cure and I can bring it back for any touch ups needed.I returned my car on Aug 30 for blemishes noticed. They were touched up. I was given a small can of touch-up paint so that I can fill in or touch up the blemishes as they would appear. I returned my car again on Sept 20 and was told it would receive touch ups, re-dos, and finishes & that as the paint cured things would show up that he would take care of, and he did - several times. My car was returned to this shop for the same issues over and over again. Dropped off again on 9/20/12 - picked up on 9/26/12 and I noticed the spare tire cover off and things in the trunk a mess. I returned my car again after the first of 2013 for same blemishes that got worse with time and was told they would get fixed. The "fix" was just to get by until the next return. On 3/13/13 *******'s replaced my windshield from scratches of a sander. On another date thereafter, the shop replaced my rear window for the same reason of scratches due to sanding the glass. My car was returned several more times and I was told the blemishes would be fixed. On 8/20/13 **** told me that he would repaint my car if I wanted to pay more for a better quality paint. On 8/30/13 I was told that only the hood and front bumper would be re-done. Returned 9/23/13 & picked up 9/26. More blemishes appeared even after a re-do again. I have spoke with **** ******* several times over the course of 17 months regarding a paint job on my car. When I first inquired about an estimate **** knew that I wanted a very nice, high quality paint job that would last for many years. My car is a two door coupe, 15 yrs old and maintained like a new car. I keep my car running well & have all receipts to show for it. I have had to return my car several times for the same problems and they are still there in the paint job. Serafin's Body Shop has not fixed their poor paint job. On 10/16/2013 I spoke with **** ******* at his shop and he told me that the blemishes on my car are normal for the quality paint job that was done. He said that he gave me 2 quotes & that I took the cheaper one. I was given only one quote and no choices. When I mentioned my car being painted in the open booth that is at his shop, he said that he sends cars out to another location to be painted. I was never told that my car was painted elsewhere. After discussing these issues with a professional auto detailer, I was told that the car was painted with particles in the air and that the paint will never "cure" because the car was never sanded & prepared properly before being painted. **** asked me what I wanted. I said to have my car painted by someone else at his expense, or my money back, or small claims court. He then told me "I would never blow you off. I've done every touch up/re-do you've asked for". I said "I shouldn't have to keep bringing my car back". After more discussions on further dates, I called **** on 12/02/13 and asked what we are doing about this problem. He told me to call him on Mon 12/09/13 to talk about things and that he needs to find his paperwork on my job. I called on 12/09 and he told me that he had to go downtown and that he would call me when he got back so we can resolve this. He did not call on 12/09 and I have not heard from him since 12/02/13. I do not want to deal with this shop any longer other than compensation.

Desired Settlement
I thought that maybe I should get my car repainted by a reputable company at the expense of (****) *******'s because this business put a very poor quality paint job on my car that shows lots of blemishes and that my car will never look nice because of this. But, I do not wish to deal with *******'s any longer. I also thought I could have *******'s repaint my car at no cost to me with the better quality paint that **** has now offered to me. But I do not trust this company to do any better of a job. So, I am asking for my money back plus an additional $500 for my time in having to return my car over and over for the same issues and having to borrow another car for the times he had my car for re-dos and touch-ups; and for the stress caused me by this company's poor business.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Additional Information

top

Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable, but not guaranteed as to its accuracy. The BBB has not verified information including, but not limited to: business start date, ownership, licensing, and registration (if applicable). BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

Business started: 04/06/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10949 N Mather Blvd
Rancho Cordova, CA95670-6409
(800) 952-5210
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 266626 for this company, issued by Bureau of Automotive Repair. Their web address is http://www.autorepair.ca.gov.

Type: Automotive Repair

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Serafin Collision Repair

10611 Magnolia Avenue

Riverside, CA 92505-1815

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10611 Magnolia Avenue 

    Riverside, CA 92505-1815(951) 343-7235

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Serafin Collision Repair is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair & Painting

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.