BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/15/2000

Sanger Auto Body & Paint, Inc.

Phone: (559) 876-7727Fax: (559) 876-77461204 9th St, SangerCA 93657-3158

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/15/2000

BBB has determined that Sanger Auto Body & Paint, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Sanger Auto Body & Paint, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sanger Auto Body & Paint, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
06/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The customer service rep/ front desk receptionist is very inappropriate, has a foul mouth, a lack of self control, anger mgmnt issues.
On Monday, 4/28/14, I took my 2001 Chevy Silverado back to S.A.B. for yet another look at my vehicle resulting from an accident which occurred back in January of this yr. My truck was making a "clunking" from the front end and before the accident we had replaced the suspension and front end parts as well as rebuilt the top end of the engine and had the transmission rebuilt. After they have been pd in full, they have continued to repair my truck as there have been numerous things going wrong due to incomplete or poor quality work. The receptionist called me at 1:50pm to let me know after having my truck since 10:30 that morning that my truck was finished and they were ready to show me what the problem was. My husband and I arrived and she requested we go back to the lift as my truck was still raised in the air to show us what was wrong. She claimed that our torsion bars were loose and her tech moved them and they "clunked". For some reason she was the one to explain what the problem was and not the trained tech. She claimed this was pre-accident and they were not going to do anything to it. They had our truck for over 3 hrs and found nothing else wrong. Upon inspection of the undercarriage, I pointed out the driver side torsion bar was bent. She claimed it was from bottoming out as our truck is slightly lowered and showed me some scrapes in the ctr of my vehicle. I told her the clunking was not there before the accident and that if it was from bottoming out in the ctr, the bar on the side of the impact wouldn't be the only bar bent. She told me I needed to go to the office and sign "final" pw. I told her I was going to call S.F. and get a second opinion and I would not sign any "final" pw. I proceeded to walk out towards the front and noticed the tech had left my keys dangling in my freshly repainted door as they open and close the door. I asked him respectfully and politely, "Can you pls not leave my keys dangling in the door while you open and close it?" She gets loud and says, "Don't talk to my tech that way!" I said, "What, with manners?" She said State Farm told her to send us packing and that I needed to get my **** into that offc and sign tht pw. I said you need to get out of my face and stop yelling. That I was the customer and she was not going to talk to me like that. She responded saying I've been nothing but difficult and that she's been nothing but professional with me. I told her I disagreed with her, that she interrupts me when I'm talking, she talks over me and she thinks they're doing me a curtousy when they broke something and needed to fix it, and that if they had done the work correctly the first time I wouldn't need to keep bringing it back. Since I wouldn't sign the pw, she declared we were not going to get our vehicle from their lot. ***, my husband wasn't going to tolerate that as she was still yelling and our ins (State Farm) had pd them in full for their work done. There was no lawful reason they could retain our vehicle. *** jumped into the cab of the truck and was going to back it out. She screamed at a painter that works there to close the gate and she jumped into the bed of my truck putting her hands all over the roof of my truck screaming at my husband to shut it off and get out. I told her to get out of my truck as she had no reason to be in it and she screamed at her tech to call the police. Her tech then threatened my husband that if he touched him he would sue. So my husband got out of the trk, locked it up and we walked to the front of the facility, outside of the gate and I advised him that the best thing would be to wait for the police as they could not hold our vehicle. She then comes out to us, approaching again, and says we can have this copy of the pw and she would let state farm know we refused to sign. The tech came out and *** told him not to approach him on the street.The receptionist grabbed ***'s shirt, threatened to kill him, and reared her fist back and I flagged police.

Desired Settlement
We are requesting she get terminated from her employment with Sanger Auto Body. She negatively impacts the image of professionalism for the company as she has threatened to kill *** and as she stated that day, has our resident info (from the customer file), we request her to be forced to take anger management classes as well as customer service training and for the facility to have to pay for us to have our truck evaluated and fixed at another faciltiy. When my husband tried to talk to the owner, he fluffed him off like she wouldn't do or say that. The owner and my husband went to school together. That's another reason he wanted to take it there. But the owner's wife is dying of cancer so we think he just doesn't have the time or energy to deal with training another employee. I've been in customer service for years and know better than that. She has no customer service skills, no control over her language, her mouth and her desire to beat up on a customer. She also has anger management issues. My husband had to tighten our rack and pinion himself. Being able to rotate by hand, turning it three times before it was tight when they claimed it was tight. They couldn't figure out why our back lights weren't working and after 3 days of eval, not being able to figure it out, my husband had to come over and figured it out in ten minutes. She claimed she would do us the curtousy to try to find the problem as it was after market lights. However at this point the lights had been disconnected and the bed removed from vehicle over and over and stored on site, for a period of over a month (total on property for over two months). After they supposedly aligned the driver front and rear doors and replaced the weather stripping, I drove it on the hwy and the driver door was shaking and acted like it was going to fall off. I locked the doors, called and talked to the owner of the shop and then took it in next day as they were almost closed. The tech said they forgot to tighten a bolt in the door. So we want to have their work evaluated by another shop. State Farm said they are not a State Farm approved facility so they can not force them to finish the job.

Business Response
We have fulfilled the repairs per the request of State Farm. The customer kept on adding additional repairs and State Farm told them no. I am sorry they were unhappy but my staff and I handled this situation fairly and followed State Farms request per their evaluation. My job is finished. What I showed the customer iS damage that was not accident related. I even offered to fix it for free.


Consumer Response
There is no signature on this statement, I don't feel this even came from the owner of the company. Nothing was even addressed about the lack of customer service or the way his receptionist handled the situation. State Farm has a log of all our complaints of the items that were insufficiently and unsatisfactorily attempted on our truck. If any of the repairs were not directly resulting from the accident, State Farm wouldn't have approved the repairs or payment to Sanger Auto Body. The only thing State Farm said no to,was covering the costs of taking our truck to a more reputable company that is State Farm approved, after S.A.B wouldn't finish the work. This facility was NOT State Farm approved so they said since we chose that facility and the ins paid them in full for work already done, they said we would be out of pocket on any additional costs incurred. Each time I took my vehicle back, State Farm paid them for work done. I returned for 14 road tests due to wind noise they didn't fix right the first time. Each time they taped body seams to troubleshoot, adjusted the alignment of the doors multiple times, forgot to tighten bolts down to my driver door causing it to flop and rattle as if getting ready to fall off so they retightened, replaced weather stripping and resealed the existing windshield. They had put my truck back together and the tech had told us for a week and a half he was telling ******** to get ahold of us because the tail lights weren't working after they had our vehicle for over a month (dismantled) on their property. *** ****** (co-owner) had to go down to their facility and figure out what was wrong after they couldn't. They were paid each time for svcs rendered, never did the work for free unless it was to adjust or tighten due to improper repair. Since the inappropriate behavior when the owner's employee ******** grabbed *** ****** and threatened his life, and said she knew where we lived, I've had the truck undercarraige examined and evaluated by another shop. It was found that the "clunking" from the front end that I said was there since they claimed repairs were done, and that they refused to find the day that *** was physically and verbally assaulted by ******** (employee of Sanger Auto Body),was actually under liability of Sanger Auto Body and the alignment shop. The upper control arm bolts were so loose that they could be rotated either direction (by hand). This in NO WAY had anything to do with scraping under the truck or the stabilizer bars that were inaccurately diagnosed and not fixed by Sanger Auto Body. In fact, ******** told the tech not to do anything with the truck that day and was perfectly fine with sending us on our way (unsafe or not). If they offered to fix it for free as claimed in the statement typed and scanned by someone, ******** wouldn't have sent us away without properly diagnosing or repairing the noise. If she represented the company appropriately then the trained tech would've been the one to explain and handle showing us the undercarraige as well as finding the problem and fixing my truck until it was fixed accurately and safe to drive. I do not and will not, and since this incident, have not recommended this facility to anyone I know.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/09/2000Business started: 09/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10949 N Mather Blvd
Rancho Cordova, CA95670-6409
(800) 952-5210
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 240804 for this company, issued by Bureau of Automotive Repair. Their web address is http://www.autorepair.ca.gov.

Type: Automotive Repair

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2005, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Timothy Fry (President)Mrs. Audrey Fry (Secretary)
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including mediation and arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sanger Auto Body & Paint, Inc.

1204 9th St

Sanger, CA 93657-3158

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1204 9th St 

    Sanger, CA 93657-3158(559) 876-7727

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sanger Auto Body & Paint, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair & Painting

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.