BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/21/2009

Total Comfort, Inc.

Phone: (951) 735-2574Fax: (951) 736-0018390 E Harrison St, CoronaCA 92879-1311

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers air conditioning services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/21/2009

BBB has determined that Total Comfort, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Total Comfort, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Total Comfort, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
10/09/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cleaned outside A/C system and replaced $30 thermostat in 3 hours and charged $1087 at about $350 hour grossly exceeding standard industry rate
On 09/05/2014 Total Comfort, Inc came to my home to do annual check-up of A/C system. Special is $50 for check-up with any other service. Last year another vendor did check-up and cleaning for $150 which is standard industry price. There was no noticable problem with the A/C system at the time of the check-up. Contractor arrived at 10 AM and was at home until 2 pm with time taken for lunch. Total labor was approximately 3 hours. While at the home he did thorough cleaning of outside A/C unit which included some dissambly and complete coil cleaning/fin straigtening (his cleaning did exceed what I have seen previously for $150). Also claimed thermostat was defective and replaced with Honywell thermostat which sells at Home depot for $28.50. Total parts cost was $30. Hence, $1160 was charged for 3 hours labor or $387/hour. I manage many rental units and typical charge for A/C service is about $100/hour plus parts. I was not home at the time and my wife who is not knowledgeable about mechanical things did not question the price. This is similar to how auto repairmen sometimes take advantage of people/often women who might have more limited mechanical experience and then later the husband finds out and complains. This is what happened here.
I looked at the bill and called the technican ****** for an explanation of the charges. **** explain that his company does not bill based on parts and labor and that he is forced to follow a standard price list his boss gives him. On the price list a thermostat replacement is $383 and the outside cleaning package price is $800. Adding these two together I got $1183 which was $100 more than the $1089 I was billed. **** explained that by paying for an $168 annual membership to join the Total Comfort, Inc. A/C club I was actually getting the thermostat job for only $272 and the outside cleaning package for only $649. So adding these together plus $168 I was billed $1089. The annual membership includes having them come out and check the system in six months and change the filter (50-100 value) and at 1 year (50-100 value). I questioned the neccessity of checking the system every six months. I explained that I changed the thermostat myself before and it only takes 15 minutes and involves taking out two screws holding it on the wall and discconneting/reconecting four wires. He agreed but again said he was stuck with his bosses prioe list. He admitted that the prices were extremely high and many customers complained, but he had no choice because he must follow his bosses price list. I do not need these six month A/C check-ups **** conned my wife into and will not allow Total Comfort, Inc back on my property. Even allowing $150/hour for labor and $50 for the part this job still should not exceed $500. The amount charged is deliberate price gouging and the practices of this company are clearly designed to take advantage of unknowledgeable consumers. I am willing to get estimates from three other vendors for the work that was done to support my claim. The A/C business is very competitive and I can guarantee that no other vendor estimate will exceed $500 for the same job. I can provide these estimates upon request if Total Comfort so desires. I think they know very well what they are doing and this is their routine business practice. I think this type of systematio overcharging and manipulation of certain customer types is no different than stealing

Desired Settlement
At the time of servioe my wife paid $500 and wrote a check for $589 which had not been cashed. After talking to my wife and the technican ****** I placed a stop payment on the check. Based on my analysis of the work actually done and the parts required I actually think $500 (450 labor/50 parts) is still on the high side. Nonetheless I am willing to drop this matter and accept the $500 payment my wife already made. I am asking Total Comfort, Inc. to accept this as payment in full and to return the check on which I have stopped payment.

Business Response
******

I just wanted to let you know that we resolved this issue with the customer. ***** ****** the Vice President of the company spoke with the customer and agreed to leave the ticket at $500 as the customer requested. I doubled checked with accounting to verify only $500 is on the books.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

02/03/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Duct & Duct Fittings, Heating & Air Conditioning

Additional Information

top
Business started: 11/20/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr
Sacramento, CA95827-1703
(800) 321-2752
http://www.cslb.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 935238 for this company, issued by Contractors State License Board. Their web address is http://www.cslb.ca.gov.

Type: Contractors State License Board

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2009, CA

Business Management
Principal: Mr David Kenney (Owner)
Contact Information
Keith Flores
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Duct & Duct Fittings, Heating & Air Conditioning

Service Area

This business's service area covers Adelanto - Alhambra - Aliso Viejo - Alta Loma - Altadena - Anaheim - Apple Valley - Arcadia - August F. Haw - Azusa - Baldwin Hills - Baldwin Park - Banning - Beaumont - Big Bear City - Bloomington - Bradbury - Brea - Broadway Manchester - Buena Park - Cathedral City - Chino - Chino Hills - City Of Industry - Claremont - Coachella - Colton - Compton - Corona - Costa Mesa - Covina - Crenshaw - Cypress - Dana Point - Desert Hot Springs - Diamond Bar - Duarte - El Monte - El Toro - Fairfax - Firestone Park - Fontana - Fountain Valley - Fullerton - Garden Grove - Glendora - Grand Terrace - Hacienda Heights - Hemet - Hesperia - Highland - Huntington Beach - Indio - Inglewood - Irvine - Irwindale - La Habra - La Palma - La Puente - La Quinta - La Verne - Laguna Beach - Laguna Hills - Laguna Niguel - Laguna Woods - Lake Elsinore - Lake Forest - Lennox - Loma Linda - Los Alamitos - Los Angeles- Downtown - Lynwood - Mecca - Mira Loma - Mission Viejo - Monrovia - Montclair - Montebello - Monterey Park - Moreno Valley - Morningside Park - Murrieta - Newport Beach - Norco - Ontario - Orange - Palm Desert - Palm Springs - Pasadena - Perris - Phelan - Placentia - Pomona - Rancho Cucamonga - Rancho Dominguez - Rancho Mirage - Rancho Santa Margarita - Redlands - Rialto - Riverside - Riverside County - Rosemead - Rowland Heights - Rubidoux - San Bernardino - San Bernardino County - San Clemente - San Dimas - San Gabriel - San Jacinto - San Juan Capistrano - San Marino - Santa Ana - Seal Beach - Sierra Madre - South El Monte - South Pasadena - Stanton - Sun City - Temecula - Temple City - Thermal - Trabuco Canyon - Tustin - Upland - Usc - Vermont - Victorville - Villa Park - Walnut - Watts - West Adams - West Covina - Westminster - Wildomar - Windsor Hills - Yorba Linda - Yucaipa - Yucca Valley

BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including mediation and arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Total Comfort, Inc.

390 E Harrison St

Corona, CA 92879-1311

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 390 E Harrison St 

    Corona, CA 92879-1311Fax: (951) 736-0018

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Total Comfort, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.