BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

General Air Conditioning

(760) 895-2500View Additional Phone Numbers31170 Reserve Dr, Thousand PalmsCA 92276-6608http://www.callthegeneral.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

General Air Conditioning is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised General Air Conditioning's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

27 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on General Air Conditioning

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 27
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 27 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
10/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
General A/C did not fix our AC systems as explained by their technicians. They installed overpriced components. Did not fulfil their contract.
VISIT 1: On September 2, 2015, the first technician (******)from General came to work on our AC. We have two AC systems - this work was on the one in our living quarters. After examining the system, ****** presented us with his assessment. We needed a new motor, new capacitors, and more Freon. Also a Compressor Saver for $375. He explained that with a 1-year service contract that costs $239, the parts discount it provided would save us more than that. So I bought the contract which ****** said would cover twice-yearly annual maintenance for both our units. The total charges totalled $1833. I told him to do the work. I believe I understood him to say that the Freon charge was guaranteed for a length of time I cannot exactly recall. ****** said that it was late enough in the summer that we could wait until fall to have the other unit checked out. Before leaving, he noted that there must be a leak in the system because it needed Freon but did not point one out. I paid him with Visa.
VISIT 2: September 17, 2015. The AC system was again underperforming and General AC again came. The technician was Shane. After inspecting the system Shane said we needed a new coil because there was a leak. He told me the price was $3765. I told him no. Despite the service contract, he charged me $45 for the visit which I paid again on Visa.
NEXT CONTRACTOR: I then called an AC repairman known to the people in our community. He came on Monday, September 21st. After inspecting the system, he found a leak in a high-pressure valve on the condenser system, fixed that, recharged the system with Freon, and found no leak in the coil. More than two weeks later, the AC is functioning perfectly.

Desired Settlement
I cite several aspects of my interaction with General AC for which I am requesting resolution.

1. General AC installed two capacitors in the cooling unit: Their two capacitors were $223 each. My on-line searches for these two items made by Mars are each $25 or less. (As an additional note, the internet is full of complaints about overpriced capacitors.)
2. My final repairman charges $45/lb for Freon. General AC charged $74.
3. General AC did not stand by their service contract. They did not service our second AC unit in a timely manner. They charged for a second visit when the same problem appeared just two weeks later. After this episode, I do not want their services ever again.

Based on these three complaints, I am asking for a refund of the excess price of the capacitors ($433 - $50), the Freon ($223 - $135), and a refund of the service contract ($239). This is a total of $710.

Even more important is their apparently incompetent (or fraudulent) diagnosis of a leak in the coil and a failure to correctly find the leaking component. If there was actually a leak in the coil, the other experienced technician would have found it. Beyond the fact that more than two weeks later, the system is still working properly.

Business Response
After review of Mr. ********'s complaint, review of his invoices providing 3 signatures one authorizing the work, one approving the work, and one approving his payment for the work performed on his 16 yr old system and additionally reviewing the notes left on findings and recommendations on same invoice by technician it is clear this client does not fit our criteria for who we would want to do repeat business with.

We cannot refund the amount he requests and cannot even begin to make sense of how he arrived at those calculations.

We will refund 100% of Mr. ********'s charges to the same credit card he paid with after complete removal by our technician of installed parts. If Mr. ******** uses another technician to remove parts we will refund 70% of the amount he paid.
(Refrigerant will not be removed)

After receiving a customer survey from client, he was called twice with no answer and no return call. If this offer is not satisfactory to client we will not counter and continue back and forth. A phone call back to us would of resulted in a much better outcome for client. We have a 100% satisfaction guarantee when dealing directly with General Air.

04/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
General A/C & Heating did an inspection of my house's a/c system on Thursday, March 5, 2015. The service technician indicated that I needed to replace my coil. The cost of the coil would be $3100.00 but since I was a valued customer they could discount the cost of the coil $300.00 making the final cost $2800.00. I was required to put a down payment of $280.00 which I did and the installation was scheduled for the next day, Friday, March X XXXX.A contractor that I use for home improvements from time to time happened to be present on March 6th. He observed the coil in the attic and informed me that I DO NOT need to replace the coil at this time.The next day I called General A/C & Heating and cancelled the installation. The customer service representative that received my call asked me. " Do you want us to tear up your check?" To which I replied, " No! Put it in an envelope and mail it to me." She said that she would take care of it.On Monday morning as I was reading my online bank statement, I saw that General A/C & Heating HAD DEPOSITED my check!!!!!I have called everyday since March 9th inquiring as to when I was going to receive my refund of $280.00? On each occasion the customer service representative said that she would or someone would call me back. NO ONE ever called me back!On Thursday, March 19, 2015 I paid General A/C & Heating a visit since no one was returning my calls or emails. I was informed by the receptionist that a check was mailed out that morning and I should be receiving it shortly. As of Saturday, March 21, 2015 I have not received that check. I've heard that USPS is slow, but the distance between where I live in Indio, CA and Thousand Palms, CA where General A/C & Heating is located is a mere 18 miles! Oddly enough, I ordered Beef Wellington from Kansas and I received it the next day. I think that this company probably is one of the more dysfunctional, incompetent, and unethical organizations that I've ever encountered! They have continued to lie to me regarding the refund while attempting to pacify me in the meantime. I would encourage anyone living in my area to hire another company for your air conditioning and heating needs.
Product_Or_Service: Installation

Desired Settlement
I'm $280.00 that I had placed as a down payment for an installation that I cancelled be refunded immediately. If it were possible to double the amount that this company owes me for the angst they've put me through, I would accept that.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** GM
Contact Phone: 760.343.3737
Contact Email: *******@callthegeneral.com
Mr. ******** has requested a refund and the refund has been processed and check sent long before he filed this complaint. The check has not been delivered by the USPS in the time frame Mr. ******** expected. A shipment of beef Wellington was delivered to him and he feels the USPS should be consistent with that timeline on delivery of his check.
We have no control over the USPS and we issue 100% of clients deposit upon cancellation of any job just as we did in this case. Mr. ******** or any of our clients *** contact me on my personal mobile phone anytime for assistance at
760.250.2420
Check was dated and mailed on 03/18/2015
Check number XXXXX in the amount of 280.00
Please note the date is before his date of complaint.
For the record I share Mr. Mitchells frustration with the USPS as well.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
What Mr. ****** fails to realize is that I contacted his company on March 9th complaining as to why they deposited my check for $280.00 when they were explicitly instructed to return my check in an envelope?
Each and every day since the 9th of March all I received from General A/C and Heating was the runaround!
When I paid General a personal visit on March 19th the receptionist indicated that a check for $280.00 was mailed out that morning. On Saturday March 21st, there was no check in the mail. That I found difficult to believe, thus the comparison between Beef Wellington from Kansas City and a piece of mail from Thousand Palms.
That was the day I registered a complaint with BBB because I felt that I was being led astray once again.
If General A/C & Heating had really cared about my situation and simply apologized for his company's lack of professionalism, I *** feel differently. Instead of simply apologizing, Mr. ****** took a defensive position and he seemed to blame me. It was very disappointing to see a company representative take that position with a customer.
I have, however, received the refund on Monday, March 23, 2015 for $280.00. I still have 2 months remaining with the General on my one year agreement.
Once it expires, I have no interest in continuing my relationship with The General. I do not want to do business with an organization that does not seem to understand that customers are valuable. I did not deserve to get the run around from the Thousands Palms office and I didn't deserve to have Mr. ****** be so dismissive and act as if The General did nothing wrong.
Best regards,
**** ********

Final Business Response
Reading my response to the original complaint and based on the Mr. Mitchells desired settlement I responded to his complaint based on the facts and timeline and shared what Mr. ******** know, that a check was on the way and his desired outcome had already been fulfilled we were both waiting on the postal service to arrive with the check (which as he stated they did)
To the facts of the deposited check, Mr. ******** wrote us the check on the 5th of March and we deposited it on the 6th of March. As Mr. ******** stated he called our company on the 9th of March and our customer care representative offered to return the check however it had been several days since the check was received and already deposited. Accounting had to issue payment by check through the USPS.
Mr. **** had spoken with several members of our team and was apologized to by several members of the team and when he left on the 19th there were no issue, on the 21st he filed a BBB complaint and also a yelp review in which he where he stated;
I think that this company probably is one of the more dysfunctional, incompetent, and unethical organizations that I've ever encountered! They have continued to lie to me regarding the refund while attempting to pacify me in the meantime.
I left Mr. ******** my email and personal cell phone number to ensure he could reach me directly if his check did not arrive or he had any further issues or concerns. After accusing us of lying and being unethical on Yelp we felt it best to part ways. We wish Mr. ******** the best and are sorry he experienced any delay in his refund, as stated we process them ASAP.
Again, our response was to the facts of the complaint and to the desired outcome stated by Mr. ********. I understand Mr. ******** has responded that he does not except our response however our response is exactly what he asked forwhich was set in motion without third party intervention.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. Somer's response back is inaccurate. I believe he is trying to defend and portray his company in a certain light. I understand the need to defend his organization but the organization he is portraying is not the company I was dealing with. His portrayal is how he thinks or wishes the situation should have had gone down. I seem to remember getting nothing but the run around each time that I called. I actually called the next morning to cancel the installation of an a/c coil and to have my check returned to me, not days later as he is portraying.

Let's just agree to disagree. I can come back and dispute his fact which I do and he will come back and spin his facts to fit his narrative.

I have gotten my money back and I am happy about that. But it does not change the facts that I got nothing but the run around, was lied too and generally treated like I was a second class customer to them.

Have a nice day.

Best regards,
**** ********

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Duct & Duct Fittings, Heating & Air Conditioning

Additional Information

top

Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable, but not guaranteed as to its accuracy. The BBB has not verified information including, but not limited to: business start date, ownership, licensing, and registration (if applicable). BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

Business started: 10/26/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr
Sacramento, CA 95827-1703
(800) 321-2752
http://www.cslb.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 686310 for this company, issued by Contractors State License Board. Their web address is http://www.cslb.ca.gov.

Type: Contractors State License Board

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Frank Harrison (President and CEO)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Patrick Somers (General Manager)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Duct & Duct Fittings, Heating & Air Conditioning

Alternate Business Names
Harrison Enterprises, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for General Air Conditioning

31170 Reserve Dr

Thousand Palms, CA 92276-6608

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 31170 Reserve Dr 

    Thousand Palms, CA 92276-6608(760) 343-7488

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*General Air Conditioning is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (760) 343-7488
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.