This business is not BBB accredited.

AAMCO Transmission of Moreno Valley

Additional Locations

Phone: (951) 247-0400 View Additional Phone Numbers 22886 Alessandro Blvd STE F, Moreno Valley, CA 92553

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AAMCO Transmission of Moreno Valley
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 06/01/1990 Business started locally: 06/01/1990 Business incorporated 04/10/2012 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10949 N Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 283177.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Patrick Atherton, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick Atherton, Owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repairing - Foreign Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts

Alternate Business Names
Marzap Enterprises

Additional Locations


    22886 Alessandro Blvd STE F

    Moreno Valley, CA 92553 (951) 247-0400 (610) 668-2900


    PO Box 2936

    Corona, CA 92878


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in for certain auto repairs on my 2003 Ford Mustang and had to take it back 7 times over a 7 week period because after the first repair that they charged me for $2490.00 the car was still doing what it was doing in the first place. I feel they only looked for what they could get the most money for and not the real problem with the car. Which I still ended up paying $150.00 more. The head mechanic was rude and arrogant at times, telling me I should have gotten the part from the dealer that was needed and not from a different place, even though I had already told him of my situation. Each time I took the car back they would tell me oh we put in a defective torque converter so we changed that, or we bypassed your alarm system because it was after market of which it was not, they cut all of that out and had it sitting on the seat when I picked up the car, then they told me they had to replace the throw out bearings(my car does not have this it is an automatic not a stick. Several times when I took it back they would say oh we had to adjust this and we did it as a courtesy. Instead of seeing dollar signs they should have been looking for the real problem with the car and not just guessing causing so much stress and grief. During that 7 weeks period the tech kept test driving my car then telling me they could not get it to duplicate what it was doing when I had it. They used a total of over $90.00 in gas and ran up over 623 miles on my car which is documented on their contracts as the miles each time I had to bring it back. this is very unacceptable. Product_Or_Service: Car repairs

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I feel because of all of the stress and grief and the time involved besides using so much gas and running up miles that should not have been put on this car. They should have looked further instead of just seeing what was the biggest money maker. I would settle for not having to pay this bill and them taking responsibility for the rude customer service that I was given, Mainly by the head Mechanic ******. Putting people down is no way to work with the public.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/27) */ This vehicle had two problems: Could not go over 40mph and vehicle stalled at stop lights. We found internal problems with the transmission and got the customer's approvals to perform the necessary repairs. We verified all symptoms went away before delivering the car. She missed the 10-day follow-up but brought it on day 13. We found some issues still needing adjustment, which we did under warranty, free of charge. The vehicle never slipped or lacked power again. The customer came back on several occasions complaining of the stalling problem still. Every time she brought it, we tested it but were unable to duplicate the symptom, until the last time, when one of our technicians went with her on a ride, with a scanner hooked to the car. This was the very first time it happened while in our care. We determined it was an electronic component, unrelated to the repair and, therefore not under warranty. Since the customer had indicated she was under economic hardship, we allowed her to bring her own part and we installed it for free, as a gesture of goodwill. All repairs were performed with the customer's approval and all the issues have been resolved. Any buyer's remorse should be addressed by her directly with the finance company where she got the loan to pay for the repair. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As I stated in my letter. They had the for nearly a week the first time and after I drove the car home and went to drive it the following day is when it was still stalling and not able to go over 40. This car was not properly diagnosed from the get go, I never missed any kind of 10 day warranty period because it was at the shop. If it was totally fine when I first picked it up then why did they have to put a new torque convertor in? and why did they keep doing other things to my car like rerouting my alarm that is no longer on the car. The tech had put the meter on my car before as well not just the last time. What I stated in my letter is the truth and I feel that the business is just trying to cover their butts now. If I were to bring the techs into court they could not lie under oath. What was stated by the business is a lie the car was not done correctly or I would not have had to keep bringing it back. They also stated that they could not get it to duplicate what it was doing, funny it did it with the tech on one of the first visits back that is why they changed the torque convertor. And when the tech's had to come and get the car down the street at storage because it had died and would not restart I guess that is a lie too. No! What I stated in my letter is exactly what happened and what they are stating on their reply is a lie. The car repair place (Aamco) has a sign on the front that says it is an all repair shop then why didn't they look for everything instead of just the one they could make the most money from. Of which false things were entered to be able to qualify for the car repairs not by me. I feel that you need to reread my letter and you will see that a lot od stress was being dealt with because they did not do their job correctly. If they had I would not have been coming back and forth with my car like this. I submitted all of my repair slips when I submitted the claim there were even a few that did not get written up so when I picked up my car they would just say oh your good. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/09/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not agree with their statement. If the car had been repaired properly the first time I would NOT have had to bring it back in to them 6-7 more times for the same darn thing. I don't care if you have cameras in the store or not. And if that is the case then you would also be able to see where the customer service rep lied about information that was put on the loan app. for the repairs and me telling her that I did not make that much money or that I was not paying rent because I was homeless. As for the car now it is working properly only after they replaced the part that they should have looked for further than just going for what would make them the most money. There was no way the car was fixed correctly when I picked it up the first time, if it had been then there would not have been other trips back to them. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/09/10) */ I stand by our original response. There is nothing further that we can assist the customer with. She agreed to the services and the functioning properly.

12/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Left car to quote and repair and told I could pay with the credit plan, but not as easy as they put it over the phone. I left the car for diagnostic at Aamco. I was given a quote, which was quite higher than what I was expecting but they explained that I could get a payment plan, so I agreed to it over the phone. The day come to pick up the car and I did not qualified for the payment plan. But before explaining that to me they took $200 from me. Basically I cant pay that amount of money(cost of repair $2.800). This company's procedures are not the right ones. They should have given me the quote, verify if the credit can be approved and offer the other options BEFORE fixing the car. This way I would have known before if the payment plan was really a possibility for us and if not I would have taken my vehicle before any repair work was done to it. This have placed me in a position where I don't have the car, nor the possibility to take it home with me, nor the credit they offered over the phone. At this point I would like my $200 back and they might as well keep the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for the $200 refund and possibly a reasonable option to take the car out.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/26) */ At AAMCO we follow standard procedures where we get approvals from the customers before performing any repairs. If a customer does not agree with our quote they have the right to deny the estimate and take their repair elsewhere. Once work is completed and the vehicle is ready for pickup, we require payment in full in order to release the vehicle. This customer, as all other customers, was made aware of the procedure and approved the work every step of the way. When he came to pick up the vehicle he expected us to release the car and have us allow him to make payments. We reiterated that we refer customers to companies that provide financing, which are independent from AAMCO. We are not responsible for the customer's credit worthiness. This is an issue between him and the financing company. We can only release vehicles upon full payment for the work performed. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2013/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again, We understand the point of the establishment. The intelligent procedure would have been to check the credit before fixing and to provide the customer the options. If this would have been said to me I would not have fixed the vehicle . Similar to a loan, the bank does not hand out the check before the loan approval, to tell the customer, that it was not approved. My hands are tied, no money, no payment plan and no car. This company clearly need to revise the logical chronological order to do things. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/12/09) */ The vehicle has been repaired. We followed standard procedure, including asking for authorization from the customer. The final step in this procedure is to deliver a vehicle upon full payment.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on AAMCO Transmission of Moreno Valley
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)