BBB Accredited Business since

San Joaquin Tires & Wheels

Phone: (661) 861-8430 Fax: (661) 861-8431 230 Golden State Ave, Bakersfield, CA 93301

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that San Joaquin Tires & Wheels meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on San Joaquin Tires & Wheels
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 11, 2006 Business started: 04/01/2003 Business started locally: 04/01/2003 Business incorporated 04/07/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10949 N Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 254346.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Trino Rivera, Owner Ms. Irene Rivera, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Trino Rivera, Owner
Business Category

Tire Dealers Tire Retread & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Rivera Enterprises, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 230 Golden State Ave

    Bakersfield, CA 93301 (661) 861-8430


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: San Joaquin Tires & Wheels are unwilling to repair my truck without further charges even though they did not repair it correctly the first time. I took my vehicle for the first to San Joaquin Tires and Wheels on June 13, 2014. After I picked it up I noticed my truck was still not driving correctly. I took it for the second time on July 29, 2014. They made some more repairs, but again I noticed my truck still wasn't repaired. I took it for the third time on August 5, 2014. Mr. ***** ******, owner of San Joaquin Tires & Wheels became upset and said if he had to work on it again he'd charge me another $280.00, which I do not think is fair if they did not repair it correctly the first time. I took my truck to another shop and he said the leaf spring pads were installed improperly, the setting needed to be adjusted, no bump stops, causing metal to metal contact, improper shock length as they are too long, and the drop shocks must be installed. He quoted me $450 to correct the work that had been done. My time and money is very valuable and I do not want to continue taking it San Joaquin Tires & Wheels if the job isn't done correctly and I have to keep investing money.

Desired Settlement: I had to take my vehicle to another repair shop, they quoted me $450.00 for the repairs. I paid San Joaquin Tires & Wheels $800. I would just like them to refund me $450 so that I may pay the other shop as it was their lack of correct repairs that I had to take my vehicle elsewhere.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/15) */ On June 13, 2014, client *** sought out lowering services for his vehicle, specifically a 2"-4" lowering drop kit. This service #1 was completed successfully upon execution and payment of $800 was rendered. One month, and sixteen days later, the client returned to San Joaquin Tires stating that the recent lowering service appears to have caused the vehicle's rear tires to be closer to the front of the fender; the client also acknowledged there were no counter effects while driving such as a rough or imbalanced ride. The visual concern was addressed; however, the client was advised that the apparent issue could not be caused by the recent lowering service as the lowering leaf springs that were installed are manufactured for the client's vehicle and could have no possible effect as was reported. The client was also informed that this 'visual effect' is not uncommon among similar vehicles having lowering kits installed. The client being adamant that the vehicle's rear tires were actually moved forward, a different lowering kit with the vehicle's original leaf springs was offered suggesting a possible correction to the implied issue. Accordingly, San Joaquin Tires acted out of good faith, and service #2 was completed successfully upon execution, time and labor documented at no charge. The client returned again, a week later, on August 4, 2014, stating the vehicle now drove rough. Initially, the client was found to be unprofessional and offensive towards ***** and ***** ******, while explaining the issue; the client eventually asked that the service be reversed and the vehicle be restored. For this service #3, the client was originally quoted $250.00 for time and labor, however, it was rejected. After reasoning with the client, a final quote of $150.00 for service #3 was given. The client verbally accepted the quote, acknowledging time and labor for the service to be completed the following day, August 5, 2014. The client did not appear the following day as arranged and to date no further communication was received. On August 7, 2014, San Joaquin Tires received notice from the Better Business Bureau advising of the client's complaint. It is regretful that the client felt disgruntled to the point of issuing a formal complaint with the BBB as ***** ****** personally assured and agreed on 8-4-14, to provide a resolution to the matter. As a family owned and operated business, our time and attention is dedicated to ensuring customer satisfaction and earning repeat customers. Unfortunately, in this case, the client was unwilling to work with us as the above statement reflects. It goes without saying the client may have acted out of frustration, however, the clients' approach to the matter is disappointing from a business owner's standpoint. Regardless, San Joaquin Tires acknowledges the client's formal complaint and a refund of $450.00 will be issued upon formal request. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/08/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am very grateful they will be refunding me $450.00 to be able to pay the other repair shop. That is all I sought as I just want my truck to be fully repaired.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on San Joaquin Tires & Wheels
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)