Download

BBB Accredited Business since

J & S Pool and Spa Service

Phone: (559) 297-7995 338 N Minnewawa Ave, Clovis, CA 93612 http://www.jspool.net View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J & S Pool and Spa Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J & S Pool and Spa Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J & S Pool and Spa Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 27, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated 01/10/2006 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 846013.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Schaubschlager, President Ms. Heather Schaubschlager, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Schaubschlager, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Service & Repair Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
J&S Pools Inc

Additional Locations

  • 338 N Minnewawa Ave

    Clovis, CA 93612 (559) 297-7995

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A inaccurate pool and spa inspection for a new home, resulting in costly repairs for the new home owners On 1-14-2015 we contracted J&S Pool&Spa Co. to inspect a pool and spa for a new home we were purchasing. The inspector did not test the spa equipment correctly, in fact he never even tried to turn the spa on by pushing the button on it, while both I and my realtor were there. He only looked at the electrical box for the spa and said he felt it should be replaced, he told us to call our home warranty co. after we move into the home and that everything will be ok. But it wasnt, because he never turned on the spa we never knew that the heater unit wasnt working. In fact most of what he put on the report was in accurate once the warranty company came out and inspected everything. As a result of his shabby inspection we are being hit with a $3500. repair cost out of our pocket. We feel we did the right thing by hiring a professional co. to inspect the pool and spa prior to purchasing the home. We should have been alerted to these issues ahead of purchasing the home, after all thats why we hired a professional pool and spa co. When my wife contacted the owner of the co. he laughed at her, but we do not fine this funny at all, especially because we do not have the income to pay for this kind of repair. We would never recommend J&S Pool&Spa to conduct any inspection for any other unknowing home owner. We trusted their so called knowledge in this area because we didnt know anything about pools, spas, or equipment associated with them. The only resolution they would consider was to sell us a new unit.

Desired Settlement: We feel its only right for J&S Pool&Spa to find a way to replace the very costly new unit at there cost. If thats not possible then they should replace the existing unit with a used or rebuilt one. Or find someone who can repair the old unit. All of the above would be fine. After all this is a result of their shabby inspection and failure to inform us of the correct condition or the equipment. Thats why we hired them

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/06/24) */ We provided a pool inspection over 5 months ago NOT a pool certification as we don't even offer that service. We do not guarantee that the equipment will work for any length of time. The only thing we report is what we see at the time of the inspection. At the time of the inspection the air box was not turning on the spa equipment. It is possible that the button is tempermental and works sometimes but not others. The heater repair was denied due to rodent infestation according to the homeowner. A rodent infestation that could have happened since the inspection. Yes it is unfortunate and I understand the frustration of a home warranty call not going your way. However, we do not feel that we should be held responsible for an inspection that we did 5 months ago. We were told that the homeowner was given a quote of $3500 for a new heater. We quoted them a $3500 heater installed at a price of $2500. As I stated before we do not believe we should be held accountable for an inspection that was done 5 months ago when we specifically state pool inspections have no guarantee after leaving the property. However, in an effort to resolve the matter at hand and help the customer out we are willing to install a new heater at a price of $2000.00 installed or we can attempt to repair the existing heater with no guarantees. We may or may not be able to get all the parts needed for this heater. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2015/06/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We would except a repair on the heater unit if they are willing to do it at no charge to us. As for the inspection of 5 months ago, we bought the home in Feb. as it was winter we never attempted to use either the pool or spa, because it was to cold. We called our warranty company a few months after we moved into the home, because we believed that the inspection we received was correct. So when we did call, to ready the equipment for the up coming summer, we found that the inspection missed the real problems. As for the $2000. offer, thats still money we dont have. And at no time did you ever state that your inspection was only guaranteed for the one day that it was done on. In fact it was only after I complained and you supervisor came back out and reinspected the equipment that you provided me with a typed letter stating your inspection was only guaranteed for one day. As for the rats living in the unit, the warranty company stated that all you had to do was open the unit and see that they were living in the unit for some time, and that it wasnt an over night invasion. Again we paid for what we believe to be a full inspection to protect us from unknown expense,and it is your responsibility to make it know that your inspection is not a full complete inspection. If either our realtor or we were informed of this then we would have used another company. By the way the reality company that we used to purchase this home has used J and S pool company for many years and has never been informed of a one day warranty terms in the past. Thank you Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 18, 2015/07/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We agree to the terms of this offer. We will and have been very responsible and polite in this matter, and will continue to do so. As for using the spa in the winter, as I stated before we were in no hurry to use it because of the original inspection report. Please contact us with a date and time that the repairs can be made. Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2015/07/28) */ We have been doing pool inspections for years. We do inform our clients that it is an inspection and not a certification. We cannot guarantee equipment will run after we are there. There are too many variables such as rodents, water levels etc. This is how most other pool companies handle pool inspections. Pretty much an industry standard. The inspection report stated that yes indeed the equipment was not in full working order. There is no way to determine if the rodent invasion occurred before or after the inspection as it has been months since the inspection took place. I am surprised that not even the spa was used or attempted to be used during the winter when spas are typically used more. A typed copy of the report was sent over to the real estate agent when requested. This is the typical format that is used when the inspection is complete. Then typically when there are problems identified the buyer asks for a quote to repair said items. This way they know what to expect. Especially since a home warranty company will not repair a pre existing condition. As I stated in my original response I do not believe we should be held responsible for this heater. However, in an attempt to resolve the matter at hand we will attempt to repair the existing heater at no charge to the consumer. But there are no guarantees that all parts will be available due to the age of the heater. The only request we have is that my technician is not made uncomortable during the time he is on site attempting to repair the heater. Thank you and have a great day! ******* J&S Pools Inc/Leisure Living

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recieved an estimate for a pool repair, have not been able to schedule the appointment. I called J&S Pool & Spa to come give me an estimate to repair some pool damage I had. The technition came to my home to look over the pool, emailed me an estimate several days later. It took me several months to review the estimate and then I called to schedule the repair appointment. I was told the technition would call me back to schedule a time to do the reapair. I never received a call back and called three more times, still never a returned call. I even spoke with the owner twice who assured me I would get a call back but, I still have never recieved a call form this company after five attempts.

Desired Settlement: I would like to know why Im being ignored.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/12) */ I do not have records of calls or a work order generated that states the work was approved and you were ready to proceed. I did locate the original work order that was placed when we provided the estimate to repair the lights back in February. Typically when a customer is approving an estimate it is signed and returned a work order is made and the repair department schedules the job to be completed. We apologize for any misunderstanding but at this time I do not see any records of this transaction since the estimate was provided. Again I apologize for any inconvenience and you were not intentionally ignored by any means. We would be happy to discuss this bid with you and proceed should you wish to do so.

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Products have been charged to my account without my authorization after I have asked this company to make no further purchases. Algae issues. I have asked the company to call me first before making purchases of any pool equipment. I recently was charged for a floater which I do not want in my pool. The purpose of having this company is not to use chemical floaters in the pool. I have also had an algae issue for three months without resolution.

Desired Settlement: I want the floater removed and a refund. The company is to ask as requested on pool equipment especially something that takes away the aesthetic of the pool.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/16) */ It is our policy and listed on our service agreement to automatically replace necessary items to maintain the pool up to $50.00. Items like pump baskets and skimmer baskets that are required or more damage could occur to the pool causing more out of pocket expenses for our customers. So far this year we installed a skimmer basket($11.99 + tax) to keep debris from plugging the line as while under pressure a cracked basket will allow debris to enter the piping. We installed a floater to add chlorine to Mrs *******'s pool as we were contracted to maintain the chemicals in her pool, brushing and skimming on this pool was the responsibility of the customer. It is a necessary item to maintain water balance on a weekly service basis. To maintain a minimum residual of 1.0-3.0ppm of sanitizer while we are not at the home the slow dissolving tablets are the sanitizer. If the sanitizer is not kept high enough the pool will be prone to algae and bacteria. We will not put tabs in the skimmer basket as this can be harmful to the plumbing and equipment. As I explained to Mrs. ******* we will remove the floater from the pool and credit her account for the cost of the floater ($11.99 + tax). It was recommended that we add a tab feeder at the equipment to remedy the situation or install a salt water chlorination system. At this time we are waiting for a decision on the matter from Mrs. *******. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I asked the company to remove the basket which they have not come out to do on their scheduled day of service. Last year all chlorination was done via liquid chlorine and the floaters were never needed. I have asked the company to call first before purchasing any items as the last basket could have been purchased by me for a lower price. They have not addressed the algae issue also part of this complaint in which they had to make an extra trip because the chlorine was at a zero level. This has never been corrected. I have had to cancel my service as they do not seem interested in fixing the issue. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/04/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was there in the afternoon and the pool floater was still there. Per my husband no one had shown up and the gate was locked at noon. The company could not have seen the pool as the floater was left on the front porch and the gate was locked. I called the company to please come out to pick this up. There continues to be black alge around the pool lights. I would like the bill to reflect the removal of the floater and only service of two days of this month as no other service was performed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/04/18) */ One of our managers was by around noon to check the pools algae condition so he must have arrived prior to the gate being locked and indicated there was no algae in the pool. However, it was never specified that we were looking for black algae around a light until now. Per my technician the floater was picked up Wednesday afternoon at the front porch. The credit was applied and service was prorated for 1/2 the month of April immediately after receiving the cancellation notice from the customer on 4/16/14. The revised billing was mailed out on 4/16 or 4/17 and should be received by the customer today or tomorrow. I can send an emailed copy of the revised billing should an email address be provided.

2/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unauthorized billing,even though they said at the time there will be no billing and did not even ask for a signature from my side. Last year my pool salt chlorinator was acting up,some times it worked and other times it did not,and since it was under warranty i called the manufacturer to inquire about it,so they said that JS pool will check it for you,i asked them if it will be for free ,they said yes since its still under warranty,so i called them ,they came and had a look at it,at that time it happened to be working,so i told them it does work on and off,they could not wait to see when it will stop working because of the time restrictions which i undersatand,when they were ready to leave i asked them if i have to sign any thing or owe any thing they said no,you are ok,which i expected since it was still under warranty,a week later i received a bill for $95 ,so i called them and explained the situation ,so the lady said that she will discuss it with the boss and come back to me,i never heard from them agin until i called them back and ask them to stop sending me bills,this time she said their policy is to charge if there is nothing wrong with the equipment. First ,they never told me about their policy when i called them the first time.I remember asking them on the phone is it free ,she answered yes as long as its under warranty. Secondly,the equipment did malfunction again after a couple of weeks but i already received their bill at that time and was not happy about it so i decided not to call them back and managed to fix it my self,in fear of getting another bill from them specially if they will show up at a time when the equipment will be functioning normally. They continue to bill me even though i tried multiple times to rtesolve the matter ,every time they tell me they will come back to me with a resolution ,and never hear from them ,but the bills keep coming.

Desired Settlement: Stop harassing me with your unauthorized bills,i was promised a free inspection and not a paid one. The equipment was under warranty at the time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/11) */ This is the first I have personally heard about this matter. In reading the details of Ms ****' s complaint I see that Hayward told her there would be no charge. However the manufacturer's warranty covers a service call if there is a problem with the unit. If there is no problem found then they will not pay for the service call. This is typically explained to all customers at the time that the service call is requested with us. It is not our policy to have the customer sign any documentation at the end of a service call as in most cases the homeowner isn't even home at the time of our visit. Being that this occurred 8 months ago it is not fresh in our memory. What is being asked of us is to visit a property diagnose a problem if there is one and not get any compensation for our time, fuel, or knowledge. It is unfortunate that the customer did not call us back when the problem occurred again as if it was a faulty part on the salt system we would have been compensated by the manufacturer and the original service call charge would have been removed as long as it was within 30 days of the visit. I do not wish to argue over this occurrence as it sounds that it was a miscommunication between us, the customer and the manufacturer. But I would like to reiterate that in no way were we harassing or intending to harass the customer. The monthly statements go out until the matter is resolved and that is what occurred. I will remove the charges from the account. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/02/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) This matter should have been resolved long time ago,i tried multiple times to explain that i was not told as mentioned above about their policy when i first called,every time the secretary would tell me they will get back to me and never did. I accept the resolution and thank the BBB Fresno and J $S pool for their cooperation.

1/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: See Attached

Desired Settlement: See Attached

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/08) */


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on J & S Pool and Spa Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)