BBB Accredited Business since

Pool Supply Unlimited

Phone: (951) 602-5337 View Additional Phone Numbers 1426 E Spruce St, Ontario, CA 91761

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pool Supply Unlimited meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Pool Supply Unlimited
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 01/01/2006 Business started locally: 01/01/2006 Business incorporated 01/25/2010 in CA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Ryan Foster Mr. Mike Barber, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Mike Barber, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Ryan Foster
Business Category

Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service Swimming Pool Kits Swimming Pools- Above Ground Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs Swimming Pools - Private Swimming Pools-Portable

Alternate Business Names
EFBE, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1426 E Spruce St

    Ontario, CA 91761 (951) 602-5337 (888) 836-6025


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/27/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ord cancelled 6/10 but shp'd 6/13. Called 6/13-they confirmed cancel. Ups order not accepted due to cancellation. Charged restocking fees. Called 6/10 7:17pm for order status of order made on 6/10(their records show I called 6/11). Was told took 2-3 weeks to process order, then ship UPS ground. I said that timing not accptable and asked If I could cancel order. I was told yes and order was cancelled. Received 5 identical emails 6/13 stating order shipped. Called Pool Supply-***** confirmed cancellation and said he would call back 6/14(no return call rec'd). UPS delivery not accepted 6/16 due to order having been cancelled w/Pool Supply (UPS Trkg 1zXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX). Called Pool Supply ********** told me ***** would need to call me back (no return call rec'd). E-Mailed ***** on 6/28 because no calls being returned. Called Pool Supply 6/29 was told "refund should be being processed - they told me about 20% restocking fee." I said order was cancelled 6/10 and that I confirmed that on 6/13 and I am not responsible for order being shipped. He said sorry ma'am. I asked to talk to manager. Was Told ***** ****** would call right back (he did not call back). 6/30 got call from ****** and had to explain situation to him. He then said he was just a rep and he would get a manager, put me on hold. ******** Srvs Manager, told me order did not get cancelled in time, was already shipped. I explained I was told it was cancelled on 6/10, he said I cancelled on 6/11 (incorrect). We discussed calls, timing, etc... I told him I can not be responsible for their communication with Supplier/Shipper. He told me another problem was that I did not call them to get authorization to ship order back and the product was returned to the Supplier vs whomever it should have gone back to. I reminded him I called on 6/13 and did not get a call back so had no choice but to not accept delivery. I also told him I called on 6/19 and did not get call back. He said he would look into this and call me back (I have not received a call back from him.) Was charged $983.28 on 6/9, refunded $701.06 on 7/4/16. Rec'd e-mail on 6/30 stating subtotal of $876.33, restocking fee of $175.27 not refunded. My guess is the remaining $106.95 was not reimbursed for shipping (not mentioned in e-mail). I should not be held responsible for restocking/shipping fees and expect full refund of the remaining $282.20 due to me. The problem arises between Pool Supply Unlimited and communication with their Supplier/Shipper and lack of followup with their customer. I was told on 6/10 order was cancelled; thus, I ordered through another source. On my 6/10 call to Pool Supply, the rep SHOULD have told me they needed to confirm status with their Supplier/Shipper. (Note: On my 6/29 to Pool Supply, Rudolfo told me I should have been told they would need to check status w/Supplier before I was told order was cancelled.) I should not be held financially accountable for problems that arose due to the untimely and/or lack of communication and/or inability to have the access to actual status of orders, shipping, etc. of their Supplier/Shipper.

Desired Settlement: Expect full refund of the remaining $282.20 due to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/07/08) */ We are regretful customer had a negative experience with Pool Supply Unlimited. Every order received is treated personally by our staff and fulfilled as quickly as possible. Here is the timeline of events for this order: 6/6/2016 - 9:26PM PST Order received 6/7/2016 - 3:32AM PST Customer was sent email specifying order was to be drop-shipped from Manufacturer. Included in email is the following information: o "One or more of the products below will be drop shipped to you directly from ******. We will place your order with ****** right away and notify you of the tracking information once we receive it. Most manufacturers do not ship the same day but your order will be shipped as soon as possible using the shipping method that you selected at checkout." o "Information regarding manufacture drop shipped products (see returns policy for more info):" o "Manufacture drop shipped products are treated as special order items and are often times non-returnable. In some instances drop shipped items may be returned to the manufacture but re-stocking fees and shipping charges will be incurred. Any re-stocking fees and shipping charges will be deducted from the refund amount issued by Pool Supply Unlimited. All returned items require an RMA prior to being sent back." o "Your credit card or PayPal account is charged at time the order is placed. Product cannot be shipped until the order is paid in full" 6/10/2016 - 10:21PM EST Order was picked up by UPS from Manufacturer on its way to customer. Tracking number showing this detail is 1ZXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX and can be tracked at While we do have a customer service rep named *****, we have no record of the phone call on 6/10. Unfortunately, we do not always receive tracking information immediately from Manufacturer after products ships. If we had received this information from Manufacturer, this complaint would not exist. 6/11/XXXX X:XXAM Customer called to cancel order with *******. 6/16/2016 Customer refused shipment and it was re-routed back to Manufacturer Pool Supply Unlimited was subject to original shipping fees, return shipping fees and a 20% re-stock fee due to this refused shipment. Pool Supply Unlimited stands behind its goal to provide swimming pool products at an extremely competitive price shipped in a timely manner. Although we feel we fulfilled that goal with this order, we will refund customer re-stock and return shipping fees. We hope Mr and Mrs ******* enjoy the remainder of their summer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/07/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On 6/10, 7:17 pm (lasting 2 min. 18 sec) I was told the order was cancelled (I have our landline phone record that shows date/time call was made). Pool Supply Unlimited (PSU) shows cancelled "6/11/XXXX X:XXAM Customer called to cancel order with *******." On 6/13, I received five e-mails showing me order shipped on 6/13 (again, these messages can be provided). PSU now keeps reinforcing order was shipped 6/10 and pushes that as an issue I only used the information provided to me in their 5 e-mail messages rec'd on 6/13. Again, another example of information provided to me that was inconsistent with the actual situation Click on UPS tracking # and shows shipped 6/10). My full understanding from PSU on 6/10 was that the order was cancelled. The morning of 6/11, I ordered the same paint, same price, from a different source. I do not expect to incur any cost involved with this PSU order. I have received two credits on the credit card one for balance (minus shipping charges and 20% restocking fee). On 7/13, my account showed another credit for the restocking fee. The balance of $106.95 for shipping charges needs to yet be refunded. The saddest part about this situation is that the pool paint from PSU arrived one day before the pain received from the 2nd vendor. If I had been given accurate information during my request for status call on 6/10 this entire situation could have been avoided. I hope you can understand why I went into a panic on 6/13 when I received the five identical e-mails from PSU telling me the order was shipped. I now had ~$1,000 worth of pool paint coming from two different sources. Please review my initial BBB complaint for specifics on the communications (or my attempted communications) that transpired since 6/13 to the time the complaint with BBB was submitted. Again, I expect a full refund with the remaining initial shipping costs of $106.95 being credited back to my credit card. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2016/07/27) */ Pool Supply Unlimited is a Google Trusted Store. They were also notified of this issue. This week we received a refund of $106.95 from Google Trusted Stores, which satisfies the remaining amount due relating to this issue. I consider this complaint closed at this time.

6/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: There were two items left out of my order salt chlorinater & Light Total of $559.28 multiple contact & No Refund Total spent was $3,720.09 I bought a pool from this company more than a year ago. I have made contact on MULTIPLE occasions and spoke with a few different people. Once in May of 2015 & again in June of 2015 I spoke on the phone with two different people. Then again in July 2015 I sent an email with no response. There were two items left out of my order that was a salt chlorinater that I decided not to use any way and a night lighter pool light. Those two items totaled $559.28 not including shipping cost. My total spent with company was $3,720.09. It's been way to long and I should have received a refund for those items. Copy of my Complete order: Receipt for Your Payment to Pool Supply Unlimited Receipt for Your Payment to Pool Supply Unlimited ******* Add to contacts 4/09/15 To: **** ******* Apr 9, 2015 14:43:18 PDT Transaction ID: XXXXXXXXSNXXXXXXJ Hello **** *******, You sent a payment of $3,720.09 USD to Pool Supply Unlimited (***** It may take a few moments for this transaction to appear in your account. ________________________________________ Merchant Pool Supply Unlimited ***** XXX-XXX-XXXX Instructions to merchant You haven't entered any instructions. Shipping address - confirmed **** ******* ** ******** Rd ************ MS XXXXX-XXXX United States Shipping details The seller hasn't provided any shipping details yet. Description Unit price Qty Amount Hayward AquaTrol Above Ground Salt Chlorine Generator Return Jet 18K Gallons ********** $478.12 USD 1 $478.12 USD Best Sand Filter Package for Above Ground Pools Over 27' Round BSTSL-KIT $629.63 USD 1 $629.63 USD AquaStar Skimmer with Waterstop Face, Float Assembly, Basket, Lid and Collar White SKR101 $85.26 USD 1 $85.26 USD SmartPool Nitelighter Ultra Multicolor Above-Ground Pool Light NLMC $81.16 USD 1 $81.16 USD Polaris 65 Aboveground Pressure Side Pool Cleaner Includes Hoses X-XXX-XX $214.31 USD 1 $214.31 USD Hydrotoolsâ"¢ 13-1.5" Giant Venturi Leaf Bagger 8170 $23.88 USD 1 $23.88 USD Martinique 27' Round Steel Wall Pool 52" Tall without Liner NB2615 $1,230.10 USD 1 $1,230.10 USD Liberty 27' Round Heavy Gauge Unibead 52" Tall J-Hook Style Liner NLXXXXXX LI2752LTU25 $336.43 USD 1 $336.43 USD Arctic Armor Winter Cover 28' Round for Above Ground Pool 12-Year Warranty WC810-4 $89.23 USD 1 $89.23 USD Subtotal $3,168.12 USD Shipping and handling $551.97 USD Total $3,720.09 USD Payment $3,720.09 USD Payment sent to ***** Invoice ID: XXXXXXX Issues with this transaction? You have 180 days from the date of the transaction to open a dispute in the Resolution Center.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund only for the items that I DID NOT receive. Thank You!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2016/06/29) */ The lack of communication that took place with missing items on this order was unacceptable. At Pool Supply Unlimited, we pride ourselves on top quality customer service and have taken necessary steps to prevent this type of poor service from happening again. Customer was credited the $559.28 she requested for missing items. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 14, 2016/06/29) */ I have received a refund. Case Closed Thank you

10/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: After RMA was approved and items shipped back, they want 40% restocking fee. We agreed on 25%. We ordered $12000 worth of pool equipment. Items arrived 2 weeks after quoted ETA and could not be used in the construction. We requested RMA on the large parts we could not use on July 24th. RMA was approved on Aug.18th. They said there would be 25% restocking fee. We shipped all the items back to them costing us about $350 in freight. Now they just emailed us saying they will have to charge us 40% in restocking fee because the boxes were damaged. It was probably during the three weeks it took for them to comeback to us on the RMA the boxes were damaged. We should not be penalized for their slow response.

Desired Settlement: We would like the business to stick with what we originally agreed upon; refund with 25% restocking fee.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/09/28) */ We are sorry to hear customer had an unpleasant experience with Pool Supply Unlimited. We have different information from beginning of this transaction to present, but would like to come to an amicable agreement. Therefore, we agree to credit customer with 25% restock fee. We are waiting for credit from Pentair. As soon as we receive credit (this week), we will process credit for customer.

9/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company, In ***** **** Supply aka **** Supply Unlimited, assured me 4 times that the product ordered online came with options included-it didn't. I was seeking a Hayward automation system called "Aqua Plus" to be purchased online. I looked at in ***** **** ********* web site and saw pictured the control panel, salt cell, sense and dispense, remote, and receiver. The price listed was $1175.28 which was considerably lower than the competition (including **** Supply Unlimited which is their company). I called to double check on the price because they advertise being up to 50% less than the competition. I was told that everything pictured except the remote and receiver was included even though the description says that it's an option. I figured it was a package deal. Because of the price listed, I called back 2 more times to make sure that I was quoted the correct amount for what I was told was included. Each time I was told the same thing...all but the remote and receiver. I purchased the system from them. When it came it was without the sense and dispense unit. I called them on 8/21/15 and spoke with **** and his supervisor ( I believe **** is one of the people who quoted me the included equipment when I called the last time before purchasing). When I called for resolution I was told that no one tree would have told me that the sense and dispense was included as it was listed on their computer as such. When I called originally and subsequently, the computer was sued to check before they told me what was included. I was told that the only resolution would be to return the unit for a credit or purchase the sense and dispense at a discount of $58 dollars (their cost). I stated that I felt that they should honor their word and included the sense and dispense since I did my due diligence and repeatedly double checked the inclusion of such before I purchased. They said they would not and that I could take one of the two mentioned options. I felt like they were calling my honesty into question and, because I could not remember who I spoke with for sure, that they were under no obligation to keep their employees (two or three different ones) word. While I opted for return and refund I still feel cheated and laughed at (which the supervisor did) and believe they should have included the sense and dispense when I called for resolution.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking delivery of ALL the individual components of the system that I sought information on: control panel, turbo 15 salt cell, sense and dispense unit the detects and controls both chlorine and ph for the amount quoted to me of $1175.82 with free delivery as advertised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/09/29) */ We are sorry to hear about customer's negative experience with In Stock Pool Supply. As with most of our competitors, the file photo of the ******* on our website shows a Sense & Dispense Sensor Kit in the product photo. However, nowhere on the product page does it say the ******** Sense & Dispense Chemistry Kit is included with the ******* system. We stand behind our offer to send customer a return label and provide 100% credit back to her for her original purchase once we receive the unit back. Or, we can sell the Sense & Dispense upgrade at a discount. As customer mentioned in her original complaint, we have the lowest price on the ******* system. No competitor sells this system for the same price and includes AQL-CHEM. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 13, 2015/09/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Seems I have no choice

8/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid for product that was never sent. Ordered a diving board on line. Was told product would ship same day, was charged same day and sent a shipping/tracking e-mail. Order never came, when I checked tracking no such number existed. When I called 9 days after placing order they said it would ship that day. When I pressed them for why it wasn't shipped before because that is the reason I ordered from them, they said they had to get it from manufacturer. I was told they had it in stock. The customer service person was very rude, didn't apologize, didn't care that they made promises they didn't keep. Basically this was equivalent to a bait and switch, it wasn't a mistake. In fact they never said that it was or apologized. The promised something they couldn't deliver in order to make the sale. At this point I still don't have shipping confirmation, have no idea if it's shipping and they have my money.

Desired Settlement: Delivery, apology, and it should be noted on their record that they make promises to make a sale that they have no idea if they can keep. I am also concerned if the product will really come, what condition it will be, and if there will be any customer service post sale.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/08/10) */ We apologize for lack of communication and delay in shipment of this order. Customer should have been informed of delay and in this case that did not happen. This diving board was delivered 7/30/2015.

7/28/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a new Pentair Heater and it has not work since it was installed. Pool Supply Unlimited is not willing to help in any way to exchange or refund on the product they sold me. They point me to the manufacturer and they have also been of little help! I am out over $2,000 and neither seems to care.

Desired Settlement: I would like to return the product for a refund and they can deal with Pentair.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/27) */ This product has a 2-year Manufacturer Warranty from Pentair when professionally installed. We would be happy to work with you and Pentair to resolve any conflicts. Please provide the Work Order Number provided by Pentair at the original service call request. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/07/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The Warranty Reference Number is *********** When I called you the first time you had no interest in helping me resolve it with Pentair!

4/27/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered product on internet from their web page, they sent me what they had like it, not what I ordered. Date ordered 03-21-2015, invoice #XXXXXXXX, item cost $89.86 + shipping $21.54 total $111.40 ( Which that was high shipping for the size of the item.)But I went ahead and paid for it because I really needed item XXXXXXA not XXXXXX. When I tried to get RMA# to return what I did not order I was denied, Erin told me that the purchasing manager ***** ****** said the company does not make the one I ordered, he looked on the PoolRX web sit, so he sent the correct one they are calling PoolRX extreme. They are not the same, I have been using this product several years and the one they sent is for 25-30k with less chemicals in it and the one I picked on their web sit was 25-35k it was the one I had been using each year. Maybe the company does not make this anymore, it would had been nice if he picked up phone and called them to ask what happen to the product since they still were selling it to people like me. I feel if I did not get what I had ordered they should send a RMA to pay for shipping to send it back, not me. I already paid $21.54 to receive something I did not order. While I was on the phone with ***** he was looking at their web sit and seen I had ordered the XXXXXXA, as I was talking with him he said to refresh my screen on my computer because he just took it off of their web sit. So now they only show what they sent me. But still the product part # is still different because my receipt shows I ordered the one with A at the end. I will never order from them again and I will let people know my experience.

Desired Settlement: I fill I should had gotten RMA to have this shipped back to them free of charge for me and refunded me full refund of $111.40 since I didn't get the item I thought was coming in the mail to me. I should not had been treated this way. Since they do not carry the item I ordered, I should had been asked if I want to try the one they have and if not they would be happy to send RMA for full return and full refund. Not just say you have to settle with what I sent you and if I don't want it then I have to pay for the shipping to send it back. Looks to me if I had to pay for the same price of shipping to send back for what they charged to ship to me in 1st place, I would already paid for half of what the product cost me to began with before the shipping cost and still would not have nothing to show for it. I would have just gone ahead and put $43.08 in the garbage can. and still have to buy different chemicals.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/04/13) */ Customer received what she ordered, and admitted it to our General Manger. She complained because the RX Extreme used to have different packaging and a bit of a different mix,and since we had a picture of the old packaging (very similar), she assumed she was getting the older version. Our General Manger advised her that he had PoolRX's site up and they only showed the version we sent her and they no longer made the older version. He removed the old image and explained our terms and policy page as it pertains to this sort of thing. He advised her she was more than welcome to return it and that we would not normally pay the shipping, but would send her a label to cover it this time. She hung up on him. She can send this item back for a refund if she would like.

4/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to refund entire purchase price. I purchased a Jacuzzi pump through the company's' web site. When ordering the pump, I placed the pump model number in the company's search bar in their web site and was directed to a pump which looked identical to the one I wanted to replace. When I received the pump, the model number was different and the part did not fit. When I returned the item I had to pay for the return postage ($44.00) and according to a manager in Customer Care (*****) they company would not refund the original shipping cost of $57.08.

Desired Settlement: A full reimbursement of the original purchase price.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/23) */ Pool Supply Unlimited prides itself on accurate shipping and expert technical assistance for our customers. This order was place by customer, not by one of our technicians. Due to the volume of orders received each day, we cannot confirm with each customer who places an order that it will work for his/her application. Customer was sent an email following transaction with a copy of order invoice. This invoice showed Waterway Executive Pump Model # XXXXXXX-XX was ordered. We shipped the XXXXXXX-XX pump that was ordered. If our shipping department shipped the incorrect pump, we would be happy to pay for original shipping as well as return shipping. In a good faith gesture, we would be happy to send the new pump with free shipping. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again, the business does not address the problem with their web site. The incorrect pump was ordered by the customer when the POOL SUPPLY UNLIMITED WEB SITE displayed pump model #XXXXXXX-XX after the customer typed in pump model #XXXXXXX-XD in the sites' search bar. Both pumps look identical except for the intake size opening. The customer should not be charged for their web sites' error. I allege that Pool Supply Unlimited intentionally misleads customers to purchase incorrect items to profit from non-refunded shipping expenses. In this instance, the customer was charged $57.08 for initial shipping which was not refunded. The customer paid $44.38 for return shipping of the same item in the same box with the same company (UPS). That is a difference of $12.70 profit. And due to Pool Supply Unlimited owns admission of "Due to the volume of orders received each day", indicate a high daily sales volume and a substantial profit margin on returns. Just how many items are shipped daily, weekly and yearly by this company? And how many are returned without shipping refunds? Why is this company charging $57.08 for shipping when it cost the customer $44.38 to ship it back using the same service (UPS). Find the answers to these questions and you'll see why this company allows its' web site to mislead customers. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/04/01) */ There is not a problem with Pool Supply Unlimited's website. When Part #XXXXXXX-XD is typed in search bar, part #XXXXXXX-XD is the pump that comes up. On the right side of page, under Purchase, customer can add selected item to Cart. Below that item is a bright green bar label "Other Purchase Options". Under the "Other Purchase Options" bar is a similar pump with larger size intake. We are sorry the customer added the "Other Purchase Option" to their cart, thinking it was the intended item. We absolutely do not mislead customers. Evidence supporting our strong business ethics are over 4,300 4+ Star Seller Rating and being awarded the Google Trusted Store Badge. It is offensive and slanderous to allege we "intentionally mislead" customers. Finally, we are a "for profit" company. I don't know of any company who can stay in business by not making profit. Shipping costs are clearly shown to customers before entering any payment information. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/04/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The responder to my complaint is simply wrong on all accounts. Firstly; originally you stated the customer entered the wrong model number, now you state the customer entered the correct model number but ordered a different model from the "Other Purchase Option". Let's stick to one account, shall we? Pure speculation; I would have preferred the latter, since you were not present when the customer ordered the part on your web site. Secondly; insulting-yes, slanderous-no. The First Amendment allows for individuals the freedom to express their ideas or opinions. The customer has exercised his right and has shown the inconsistencies in your higher shipping price and that of the customers return shipping price, indicating a profit. Bragging that your company is a "for profit" company does not justify your response to the customer's complaint. And lastly, listing prefatory business awards does not legitimize a company's' standing to the shopper; good consumer relations does.

10/29/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a Pool Pump on August 18, 2014 that arrived in two days that did not work. My pool Company Techs informed me the pump was "locked up" I purchased a STa- Rite Max-E-Pro 1 HP Energy Efficient Full Rated Pool Pump from Pool Supply Unlimited on August 18, 2014, Invoice number XXXXXXXX. The price of the pump was $482.02 with a $20 delivery charge. I placed the purchase on my Wells Fargo Visa Card. The purchase was for my home in Naples Florida. The pump was delivered in two days and was to be installed by my pool company Technicians at Stahlman Pool Company. I left for vacation and upon my return I was informed via e-mail from Stahlmans informing me that when the technician installed the pump they discovered the pump was "completely locked up". I sent an e-mail to Pool Supply Unlimited and I followed up the e-mail below with a call to their office (9:30 am east cost time). I spoke with Keith who informed me that once a pump is installed I have to deal directly with the manufacturer. When I asked how would you know something does not work until it is installed? Keith provided no answer. He said that is the policy at Pool Supply Unlimited. After I tried to present that a company should stand behind the products they sell. He went on to say he would call me back. I asked if he would call back today and he said he would call back shortly. After waiting the majority of the day I tried him again at 3pm and left a message. An hour later, after not receiving a further call, I called again only to be placed into his voice mail. I hung up and called back and spoke with ****. **** also informed me that I had to deal directly with the manufacturer, Pentair. He claimed it was Pentair's policy rather than Pool Supply Unlimited. I reminded him I lived in New York State and the pump is at my Florida home. I said the first thing they are going to ask me for is the serial number. He said that they will get the serial number when they send their technicians to inspect the pump. He gave me their number. I called Pentair and the first thing the representative asked me for was the serial number of the pump. Now I have to arrange for someone to get the number off the pump for me. The representative proceeded to opened an investigation. The representative indicated I had to have received a returned pump that was not forwarded back to them as all new pumps are tested when they leave the factory. At this point, I am left with a non working pump which Pool Supply Unlimited shipped to me. I dealt with this company in good faith however, the company did not stand by the product they sold. Pool Supply Unlimted's customer service is non existent and should be re-evaluated. At this point I am left with a non working pump at my Naples Florida home and don't know how long it will take for the manufacturer to send someone.

Desired Settlement: All I require is a new working pump which I paid for sent and the non working pump which was delivered to my Naples Florida Home picked up.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/09/19) */ Pentair Sta-Rite Swimming Pool Pumps are field warranty items by the manufacturer. This means if a pump is under warranty and does not work, customer contacts the manufacturer (Pentair), requests a warranty service call, and manufacturer sends out a warranty station. Mr *********'s professional swimming pool installers should have known of this warranty policy. In addition, if Mr ********* had notified Pool Supply Unlimited, or the Manufacturer (Pentair), he would have been notified of this policy. Instead, Mr *********'s Pool Company removed the Swimmming Pool Pump purchased from Pool Supply Unlimited and installed a different pump. We will send Mr ********* a return label for pump he purchased from Pool Supply Unlimited. Upon receipt, we will request a Manufacturer Representative inspect pump and authorize warranty return. Once authorized, we will credit Mr ********* for his original purchase. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/09/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is what is known as damage control on the part of Pool Supply Unlimited. Call this too little too late. Yes, Pool Supply Unlimited sent me an e-mail on September 19th with a shipping label only after receiving the complaint from the better business bureau. This was 3 weeks after my initial contact with this company regarding the problem I had with my good faith purchase. Pool Supply Unlimited turned their back on me and left me to deal with this on my own. Originally this company wanted me to ship their non working pump back at my own expense and told me that "if" they found the pump to be non working they would refund my cost of the pump only, not the shipping costs that I paid. How could anyone trust this company to admit they sent a non working pump? My pool company had no choice but to remove the non working that Pool Supply Unlimited sent to me and put in one of their temporary pumps in order for my pool not to become filled with algae. It was my pool company that took the initiative by working directly with the manufacturer to secure a new working pump. The manufacturer sent a new pump with a return shipping label to send the non working pump back to them. They never sent a technician to examine the pump on site. They spoke with my pool company on the phone and quickly determined I had received a non working pump from Pool Supply Unlimited. The manufacturer believed I may have originally been shipped a non working pump that was a return that was not sent back to the manufacturer. All the "after the fact" damage control Pool Supply Unlimited wishes to attempt cannot hide the fact that they sent a non working pump. They could have quickly sent a new working pump with a return shipping label and charge it back to the manufacturer. Any reputable company would have chosen this course of action.

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poolsupply unlimited had sent me a salt cell that will not work with my system. i simply asked to return the product in exchange for the correct one. I purchased a salt cell from Pool supply unlimited. there was a mix up on the correct product by using the size of the pool in gallons. i ordered the wrong salt cell. When i asked to return the cell that i spent over $200 for, and exchange it for the correct one, i was told that it was my fault and they would not take the product back or credit me on the correct salt cell. they did offer to sell me the correct one for an additional $350 and told me that the one i have is useless to them and i would have to find a way to sell it on my own. During conversations with the owner of the company ****, i at multiple times had to ask him why he was yelling at me? He said that this was my fault and that if he took all the returned product that customer wanted him to, he would go out of business. For an owner of a company (****) could be the most unprofessional person i have ever spoken with. At no time was there any guidance, help, or in that case ethical practice on his part to help the situation. When i asked him to put himself in my shoes as a customer that just spent over $200 on an item from his company that is worthless for my system, his response was that he would sell me the right one for $350 more. He also added that he would take it back and sell it on EBAY, but that may take a year or so to get done. **** (the owner)was very unprofessional and clearly does not care about his clients because if he did he would not sell the wrong equipment to hard working people to spend money on and turn his head when its the wrong product. I did speak to others within the company before and after to include a manager by the name of *****. it is very evident that this culture of unprofessionalism is throughout the organization of poolsupply unlimited from the owners down.

Desired Settlement: a return of a product and the worth of the product going toward the correct product.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/01) */ We are sorry to hear of Mr **********'s poor customer service experience. We strive to satisfy every customer we serve. Our view of this transaction and subsequent events varies greatly from Mr **********'s. We would like nothing more than to resolve this issue. Mr ********** ordered a Compupool GRC15GH from Pool Supply Unlimited on 8/9/2014. This product has specific compatibility requirements. To verify compatibility, we do not ship this product until receiving confirmation from our customer. The following email was sent to Mr ********** immediately following (within 2 minutes) his order: Hayward T-CELL Compatibility Email Sent to: Hi ****, Thank you for the order. We have this item in stock and ready to ship but would like to confirm compatibility. Software revision 1.5 or higher for AquaRite and/or software revision 4.2 or higher for AquaLogic is required for this cell to be compatible. Hayward Goldline did not start producing these software revisions until 2009 so if your system is older than 2009 it will not work with the T-CELL-3/GRC15GH or T-CELL-9/GRC25GH. It is our policy not to ship T-CELL-3, T-CELL-9, GRC15GH, or GRC25GH salt cells before confirming compatible software. We assure you the cell will ship immediately upon your response. Should you have older software we can provide you with several options which will work with systems built before 2009. Thanks again for choosing Pool Supply Unlimited and we look forward to your response. Please feel free to give us a call at XXX-XXX-XXXX or simply reply to this e-mail confirming you have verified compatibility of your system. (XXX) XXX-XXXX Office (XXX) XXX-XXXX Fax In addition to this email, we called Mr ********** and left a Voicemail requesting he call us back regarding order. On 8/11/2014 we received this notice from Mr **********: My software was originally done in 2007, but I had it redone last year and should be fine. We released this order and shipped on 8/13/2014. UPS Tracking number 1Z6196AXXXXXXXXXXX. On 8/19/2014, Mr ********** reached us via our online chat. **** received the chat and made the following notes: customer chatted demanding we take back the wrong cell - notes say he confirmed software - got mad and asked for a manager to call. Less than 1 hour later, Mr ********** called and spoke with *****. ***** noted the phone call: "Spoke with customer and told him we cant take it back. We sent him an email and even spoke with him over the phone just to make sure he was getting the right one. He's not happy with this. I told him we need the revision. Until we can get that we really cant do anything for him. We need more information. We have no idea if the cell itself is bad or if his pool man was incorrect in telling him this cell would work." On 8/20/2014, Mr ********** spoke with ****, one of the owners of Pool Supply Unlimited. At no time did **** raise his voice to Mr **********. Despite the fact that Pool Supply Unlimited did everything it could to verify compatibility of this product with Mr **********, he, in a verbally abusive manner, claimed it was Pool Supply Unlimited's fault he received the "wrong" product. In yet another offer to resolve this matter, Mr ********** was offered a GRC40GH for $82.50 less than normal selling price, which was also less than Pool Supply Unlimited's cost. Before selling this unit for a loss, we requested (as was requested upon original purchase) that Mr ********** provide the revision of his Pool Equipment software so we could be sure this new product would work with his system. Mr ********** hung up the phone and advised he would call back. On 8/21, Mr ********** called back and spoke with *****. Notes from the conversation: "Customer called today looking to place the new order for GRC40GH for $300. He did not have a copy of his installation receipt for his PCB swap he claims happened within the past year. (yelling) Informed him I needed approval before placing order. (more yelling) Got approval from MB to place order without receipt. Called customer back to place order, no answer, left message at number on file. Informed to call back and we can place the new order." Pool Supply Unlimited and its owners place a high priority on customer satisfaction. This can be seen by reviewing our testimonial page and customer reviews. Pool Supply Unlimited will take back original GRC15GH and credit Mr ********** $198.99 upon receipt. We will not sell him a replacement as we still do not know what will work properly with his system and not software confirmation has been made. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/09/22) */ There was zero resolution to this complaint from Pool supply Unlimited. I feel that it is rediculous that a customer can spend over $200 on product purchased from Pool Supply Unlimited, recieve the wrong product and not recieve an opportunity to exchange for the correct product or get a refund for it. At this time, i am stuck with product from Pool Supply Unlimited that cannot be used and is worthless to me. Yet i am out $200. This is a company that operated on the lowest form of ethics.

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product was damaged in shipment, I no longer want the product. Your business does not return emails and failed to return calls I purchased the Santiago Cantilever Umbrella. I thought it would be shipped from Ontario so I could easily return it if I needed to. Order#XXXXXXXX. Instead you shipped it from Illinois and also want a 25% "handling" return fee. You didn't even handle the product, it was shipped from Illinois. And now instead of being able to drop the return off at your business I have to return it to Illinois. The box was damaged in shipping and a plastic piece is scraped. I don't trust your business to stand by the product and support me as a customer. You also haven't returned calls you said you would and have failed to return emails. Your company is deceiving online buyers and charging exorbitant return fee, and for damaged shipmnet. Buyers are not notified when they make a purchase that returns are a 25% fee. This is an unfair and unscrupulous business model. I have purchased online for 15 years and never once was asked to pay a "handling" return fee.

Desired Settlement: I want to return the product for full refund without processing fee. I do not want a replacement as I do not want to support your business as you have been unhelpful and unresponsive. I also want PSU to clearly state on their website which items will have a processing fee on returns. I also want company t

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2014/06/24) */ After I contacted the manufacturer I was informed they would wave a 20% restocking fee and accept the return. The manufacturer credited Pool Supply who then credited my account. I never spoke with Pool Supply to obtain this credit and they never called or email me during this process. Pool Supply has not stated whether they will start posting a clearer display of what items require a restocking fee.

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 8, 2014 I placed an order for four (4) items that when taken together comprise a system to vacuum an in-ground spa. I received an email confirmation from the merchant. On April 16,2014 I sent the merchant an email in which I requested an update on the status of my order. By return email, the merchant told me that certain items were being shipped directly from the manufacturer(WaterTech). On April 21, 2014 I sent another email to the merchant asking for the tracking number that they had promised me. At this point I had received only one of the four items, which came from from a vendor who was neither the merchant not WaterTech. Later that day I again emailed the merchant asking for the courtesy of a response. The merchant wrote back that they have asked for a status update and are just waiting for a response.The next day, April 22, 2014, I write to the merchant and asked for "the name and phone number of the person with whom you are speaking at WaterTech so that I may speak with him or her directly." I have not received a response to this email.I decided to phone WaterTech on my own to inquire on the status of my order. The person at WaterTech with whom I spoke told me that she could find no record of my order. Upon my further questioning, she told me that Pool Supply Unlimited does not buy directly from WaterTech but orders products through a distributor. Upon learning this, I emailed the merchant and asked for the name and contact number for this distributor so that I might speak with him or her directly. I have not been given this information.On April 24, 2014 I received delivery of one of the three items remaining. I still have not received the final two items.On May 5, 2014 I emailed the merchant asking for a status update on the remaining two items. On May 13, 2014 I emailed the merchant and expressed my displeasure. I was particularly bothered by the fact that they had charged my credit card with the full amount of the purchase. Product_Or_Service: WaterTech Pool Vacuum

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I have spoken with several representatives from Pool Supply Unlimited. They have always been courteous and have assured me that they would follow-up, but they have not done so.I would like to return the two items I received, cancel the order and receive a full refund. During the ordering process, which I did by phone, I explained to their representative the use to which I intended to put the product. She realized that all four items were necessary to accomplish this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/02) */ Contact Name and Title: ****, VP Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **** Each time Mr ****** called Pool Supply Unlimited, we made a note on his order internally. The breakdown in communication back to Mr ****** is the failure with this order. We failed to communicate with Mr ****** when receiving information back from distributor regarding status of his order. In addition to the poor follow-up, Mr Elkamn was unsatified with his product purchase. As a result, we have processed a credit for 100% of his order. We apologize for the poor customer service and would love to have an opportunity to show our true company spirit.

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: company fail to show for appt. and did not respond to phone calls or replay as promised. no service provided

Desired Settlement: I am not seeking any amount, the company needs to provide better customer service and not give people the run around. I made several phone calls after the no show for the appointment and was told they would get back with me but they never called back and when I tried to call again, their voicemail was on. I spoke with Tyler and the appt. was supposed to be with the tech name Brennan and he never showed or called. So even though they did not provide a service to us, I fell that they should at least acknowledge they were at fault. I would never recommend them because of their reputation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/02) */ Contact Name and Title: ****, VP Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **** We are surprised and very sorry to hear of this customer service experience. Pool Supply Unlimited does not, nor do we advertise, equipment repair or installations. ***** has been reprimanded for giving incorrect customer information. We realize, as a result of this incorrect information, we have lost the opportunity provide products at a discounted price. This is the core of our business model, not installation or service. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2014/06/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I talked to **** and he was sincere in his apology about the matter and said that ***** had been reprimanded about the service. He offered to help us find a company to take care of the issure but I told him that we had already secured another company and the problem with the pool was being resolved. I thanked him for his apology so I'm am satisfied that the matter is resolved and they cn move forward from this.

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes



Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/02) */ Contact Name and Title: ****, VP Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **** We do not sell to Leslies. We are not Leslies. I believe Mr **** has confused us with another company. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2014/06/09) */ All issues resolved. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 14, 2014/06/09) */ The business resolved all issues today. Thank you

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Pool Supply Unlimited
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart