This business is not BBB accredited.

Hillside Pools

Additional Locations

Phone: (951) 737-7665 View Additional Phone Numbers 1955 Compton Avenue, Corona, CA 92881

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hillside Pools
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 08/24/2001 Business started locally: 08/24/2001 Business incorporated 08/24/2001 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 798777.

Business Management
Mark Phillip Schloemer
Contact Information
Principal: Mark Phillip Schloemer
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Alternate Business Names
Hillside Pool Care

Additional Locations


    1245 Carbide Drive

    Corona, CA 92881


    1955 Compton Avenue

    Corona, CA 92881


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought fiberglass pool. Contractor didn't perform. I wanted refund. Does not respond. $12,000 at issue **** the owner of Hillside Pools contracted with me in April of 2014 to install fiberglass pool in the back corner of my yard. He inspected and told me no problem and would complete in 4 weeks. I paid him 9,000 to begin. Then paid another 3,000 to upgrade to a bigger pool. Then it turned out that the pool couldn't be placed where I wanted it and it would have been installed by my garage. Permits (without my permission) were taken out in March of the next year. I told them to forget it. I wanted a refund but he they said I bought the pool and it was mine. Now he won't return my calls. He has the pool that I paid for and can't have it in my yard.

Desired Settlement: Refund of 11,000 dollars. Cause he did no work

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/05/09) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* OWNER Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@HILLSIDEPOOLS.COM Mrs. ******* signed a contract to install a small pool. She did deposit and payment on pool. As we were getting everything in order with permits, the pool was delivered to my shop in anticipation of installing. While this was going on, she told me her dad passed away and she could no longer do the pool because there was un-paid property taxes on home she was living in and needed to pay that instead of pool project. So she cancelled project to lack of funds. We discussed options on how to resolve monies paid and I told her I could not send pool back to factory for a refund, but would try to sell her pool to another customer and reimburse her what was fair and reasonable considering she cancelled contract after pool was delivered to my shop. She recently contacted the factory herself and was also told there was nothing they could do for her, this pool was custom made for her. I have been storing this pool for almost 2 years at ZERO charge to Mrs. *******. It is still in my yard taking up room that I can use for my own equipment. I never told her I would be able to give her a full refund, just that I would do my best to get her something back when I was able to sell it. At this point, I have not been able to sell it. It is still here; she is welcome to have it hauled out at any time. We are here Monday - Friday 9am - 4pm She is in breach of contract, but I never pursued legal action against her. I did not want to make anything hard for her as she was dealing with personal issues and she is a sweet lady. I understand it wasn't her fault that she had to cancel job, it was an unfortunate circumstance that she had to deal with. I have made zero money on this pool/contract, what she paid was for shell, and transportation to my shop from the factory and nothing else. In closing; I can't return shell to Viking; she is welcome to come get it. She is in breach of contract; I have those documents to provide if requested. I've been storing her pool at no cost to her thus far. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2016/06/10) */ This case is far from being resolved. Contractor refuses to refund me. He wants me to pick up a pool he says is mine. This pool won't fit. And where are the permits? Nothing was done and I should be repaid what I paid him Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2016/06/10) */ Mrs. ******* signed a contract for a Viking Fiberglass Pool shell. Based on her contract (attached to this case) - She only paid for city permits/plot plans and the cost of the shell. She DID NOT pay for excavation, installation or equipment what-so-ever. Mrs. ******* herself cancelled the contract due to lack of funds. She stood in our office and explained that she had unpaid property taxes on her father's home she inherited, so she could not install the pool. Mrs. ******* contacted Viking fiberglass pools two years after cancelling the contract, asking for a refund on her custom made pool shell. - THEY REPLIED THAT THEY DON'T ACCEPT RETURNS. (These are custom built pools) Today we read the notes from Mrs. ******* stating "where are the permits?" In response: I will attach a copy of the receipt from the city and the check that I paid for her permits. Also attached the receipt and shipment confirmation on the pool shell. I have also attached email correspondence that Mrs. ******* responded to this past week. (confirming she received our emails) Mrs. ******* paid for permits and a pool shell. She HAS NOT paid for us to install this pool at her home, per her contract attached. Hillside Pools has done all that we have been paid for. Mrs. Prseley paid for permits, we in return paid the city for permits. - check copy attached. We were paid for "pool shell" and we purchased her pool shell and had it trucked to my shop until she was ready for install. - shipment confirmation attached. We were in the permit phase, getting the easement clearance from Southern California Edison when Mrs. ******* decided to cancel the installation. There is no refund due to Mrs. *******. She paid for a pool shell, and it is here at my yard located at 1955 Compton Ave, Corona - The same place she came to sign the contracts and to cancel the installation. She is welcome to have it picked up from my office during normal business hours. To this date, we have not charged Mrs. ******* to store this pool shell at our yard (2 years now.) She had hard times with her father passing away, so we never filed legal actions against her for breaking her contract with us. This pool is taking up approximately 10'x20' of my yard, storage space that I could be using for my own equipment. IN CLOSING: Mrs. ******* paid for a non refundable pool shell. This is a CUSTOM FIBERGLASS backyard pool, not a blow up pool and not a vinyl liner. She will need to make arrangements to come pick it up at our office during normal business hours. No refund is due.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hillside Pools
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)