This business is not BBB accredited.

Bakersfield Pool Remodeling

Phone: (661) 979-0026 Fax: (661) 587-6495 3000 Allen Rd, Bakersfield, CA 93314

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bakersfield Pool Remodeling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 24, 2008 Business started: 08/01/2005 Business started locally: 08/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 863351.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Gilberto Ramos, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gilberto Ramos, Owner
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs

Additional Locations


    3000 Allen Rd

    Bakersfield, CA 93314 (661) 979-0026


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor work and refuses to repair areas in question. Concrete pool area and patio is colored and the color is very blemished due to them not having any type of moisture barrier(Sand or Plastic) under the concrete to prevent the concrete from absorbing moisture from the ground. ******* was told this by a gentleman he brought out to look at the problem. The deco drain is not located in the low area of the patio, thus it does not drain well. They attempted to correct this problem by cutting grooves in the concrete with a concrete saw. The water still puddles in this area due to the wrong location of the drain. The concrete cracked in two locations three months after the job was completed. ******* says if the crack is not large enough to put a quarter in it can't be replaced. He was going to cut the crack out and install deco drain in that area but was not able to because the crack was not straight enough. So he has done nothing. They replaced the wooden post on the patio and one of them is two inches above the concrete. The other two post are the correct height. They installed metal brackets around the short post to fill in that area. The completion date on the job was 3-26-14. ******* said to wait 2 months for the concrete to cure. We waited, then called him on the color blemishes on the concrete. He came out and acid washed an area. Again we waited several weeks and it seemed to help that area. So he acid washed the whole area and it was not as successful as was the first area. They have done nothing since. The alkali has risen to the top of the concrete in several spots discoloring the concrete because there was no moisture barrier under the concrete. I had many slabs of concrete poured where I worked and we always put a sand moisture barrier between the ground and concrete. ******* will no longer take my calls or return them, concerning my complaints with their workmanship on this job. So I am filling a complaint with the BBB concerning his poor work and inability to resolve this matter, also his blatant refusal to even speak to me. We paid $10,667.00 for this job in good faith that the job would be done correctly and to our satisfaction. We paid in cash, which he didn't hesitate to take.

Desired Settlement: I would like Bakersfield Pool remodeling to repair or replace the concrete in all areas of our concern to our satisfaction, or refund an appropriate amount that we can agree on.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2015/12/04) */ We spoke to ****** ****** in regards to his concern with the blemished concrete. We explained to him moisture barriers are not always needed to install concrete patios. When I removed the existing concrete there was no sign of moisture in it, which is why I did not install something that was not needed. In regards to their concrete cracking this is caused by shifting soil and this is out of my control. If I would have installed this concrete incorrectly it would have cracked immediately and not months later. We have also gone out to look at the crack in question and it is very minimal. The brackets mentioned by ****** are extra anchorage for the post. The existing posts did not have this extra support. We understand ****** ****** paid $10,667 for a job, but it included many others projects for his pool as well. We have tried to talk to ****** in regards the color in the concrete, and let them know we cannot guarantee an even color and no other contractor can, because color will change with different climates. We sincerely apologized to ****** multiple times, even though the changes are out of my control. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 18, 2015/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ******* never spoke to me about moisture barriers in regards to my patio. The subject was not brought up until the gentleman he brought to my house to look at the patio, stated that the lack of a moisture barrier was the reason the patio color was so blemished. It was also the reason for all the spots of alkali all over the patio. It was 3 months before I noticed the cracks in the patio. When I brought them to his attention, he stated that if you can't put a quarter in the crack then its not big enough to replace the concrete. The crack will continue to expand over time and get worse. There is only one bracket on the center post of the patio cover. As the bracket does not touch the concrete, it can in no way be construed as extra anchorage as he has suggested. The only purpose of the bracket is to cover the two inch space between the patio and the post. There are no brackets on the other two post because they are the correct length and not two inches short. I see he did not respond to the drain being in the wrong area, as it is higher than the low area of the patio. I can only assume they feel this is not a problem and does not need to be corrected. As he stated, they did change the plumbing around our pool. I don't have a concern with the plumbing part of the job. That is why I did not mention it in my complaint. His response to the areas of my concern are not accurate and that is one reason I do not accept his response. I feel there are areas that need to be addressed.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bakersfield Pool Remodeling
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)