This business is not BBB accredited.

Kaplan Higher Education

Phone: (951) 276-1704 View Additional Phone Numbers 4040 Vine Street, Riverside, CA 92507 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kaplan Higher Education
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 08/07/2003 Business started locally: 08/07/2003 Business incorporated 08/07/2003 in
Business Management
Mr. Hossein Afrookhteh
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Hossein Afrookhteh
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational

Alternate Business Names
Brightwood College CEI College Maric College Southern California College of Court Reportin

Additional Locations


    4040 Vine Street

    Riverside, CA 92507


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kaplan failed to honor its money-back guarantee on course fees paid on its ACT Test prep course (fees: $699) In July 2014, I called into Kaplan and registered my son for its 10 class ACT Test prep course. The course fees were $699 with an additional $35 for materials. The person on the phone confirmed for me that if my son's ACT scores did not improve by at least 1 point, my course fees would be returned. I was never provided a contract nor was my son. Courses began at Kaplan's Riverside location on 7/27/14 and ended on 9/6/14 (weekend classes). My son attended EVERY class and did ALL of the HW assigned by his instructor (which was practice and review from the text). The instructor advised that "if you have any problems with the materials covered, you can check out some neat resources on-line at". Since my son believed he understood all material covered, he went on-line only to find his score results for the tests they took in class. My son took the ACT Test on 9/11/14 and we received his score this morning. It was a 24 which is the exact score he had received in March 2014 when he took the test the first time, w/out any prep. This morning, I called into Kaplan requesting the refund and was asked to email my son's score to a Ms. Ibrahim. I did so and received a response that my request for refund was denied. I called in again and a second CSR (did not get name)said that my son did not review all materials on-line and therefore the guarantee was null and void as per the contract he "signed" 9/3/14. My son never signed a contract (nor did I, his legal guardian) and neither of us was EVER told that review of the "resources" on-line was required in order for the guarantee to be honored. I asked for a copy of the signed contract and received an unsigned contract that neither of us had ever seen. This may have been included in small print on Kaplan's website but it should not be honored if neither of us got an opportunity to review it.

Desired Settlement: I simply want Kaplan to honor its guarantee and return the $699 in course fees.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/11/10) */ Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 9, 2014/10/30) */ This is in reply to an email I received today from BBB inquiring as to whether I had heard from Kaplan. I did receive an email 10/28 from Kaplan's Corporate Resolution Team advising me that on two separate occasions (10/22 & 10/24), they had tried contacting me by phone and that since they had not heard back from me, they would close the matter 10/31/14. I emailed back to inform them that I had not received any phone call and provided them with the correct phone number and times they could reach me. I added that I would prefer corresponding via email (so that I had a written record of that correspondence).

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kaplan Higher Education
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)