BBB Accredited Business since

Merced Yosemite Realty & Yosemite Property Management

Additional Locations

Phone: (209) 722-5400 Fax: (209) 722-5406 View Additional Phone Numbers 104 Park Ave Ste 1, Merced, CA 95348 http://www.mercedyosemite.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Merced Yosemite Realty & Yosemite Property Management meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Merced Yosemite Realty & Yosemite Property Management include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Merced Yosemite Realty & Yosemite Property Management
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 12, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1995 Business started locally: 01/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd, Sacramento CA 95815
www.dre.ca.gov
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
The number is 01421427.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Terry Ruscoe, Owner/Broker Mr. Brandon Ruscoe, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Terry Ruscoe, Owner/Broker
Business Category

Real Estate Property Management Property Maintenance

Products & Services

This company offers Real Estate Sales and Property Management


Additional Locations

  • 104 Park Ave Ste 1

    Merced, CA 95348 (209) 722-5400 (209) 756-4357

  • 2853 G St

    Merced, CA 95340 (800) 277-5732 (209) 383-7653

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I applied for a rental through Merced Yosemite Realty.This home was removed from the system and we were not notified.We want refund. On May 27th I send an email out to several property management companies explaining that my husband and I were relocating to California for a job.I also explained that we had very poor credit and was looking for someone to work with us.That same day ********* ******** from Merced Yosemite Realty responded stating that "we would like to work with you.Some owners are more particular then others."On 6/22 we found a house on ****** ** in Merced that was listed with MYR.I contacted ********* again.I explained again "And again, someone would need to be willing to work with our credit score.Just FYI, the credit score is not great, but my income verification will show that I make $4700 gross per month."********* responded on 6/23 "The house on Vernal may work with you, as well as one that we have coming up on ******** Ct.Get me your app and lets go from there."Again, because I knew we had poor credit I replied "I know your previous email said that some home owners are willing to work with bad credit.Is that the case with the home owner of the Vernal property?"********* responded "Good chance that ****** will."Great!So we put in our application on 6/23 and paid the $44 through paypal all on the recommendation that ********* gave and that she could work with us.After several emails asking about application status we finally got an email back on 7/1, and that was simply to tell us that they wanted to do a rental reference check.MYR claims it takes 3-5 days to process an application, we were now going to be over 7 days.On 7/3 I got a call from our landlord saying that MYR called for a rental reference.I immediately emailed ********* and told her that I the landlord had called and to see if I could get an updated as we were running out of time.No response.I then got on MYR website on 7/6 and noticed that the house on Vernal was no longer listed.We had not been notified, so I immediately sent an email to ********* asking what was going on with the house we applied for and why weren't notified.She responded that it had been taken off for safety reasons and our application could be moved to another home but may require a double deposit.I emailed back saying that we had to stay in North Merced because we didn't want to be in the crime ridden neighborhoods around ***********.I also said a double deposit would be doable if we could spread it out over a few months.I even offered to have the rent automatically taken out.She responded "I have submitted your app to a couple of owners to see if they will approve. What is really hurting you is your credit scores.Some owners are more particular than others when it comes to the financial side.I know you reall want to be in the North Mercwd area but, I'm not sure if that is going to be an option at this point.All deposit would have to be due at the time you receive your keys.I will k to see what the owners said later this morning"We never heard anything back the next morning so at this point I informed ********* that had been upfront with her and she said she could work with us, meaning work with credit and keep us north of ***********.I told her because she said this, this is why we went with her and then asked for a refund.On 7/8 she said she had turned our package over to the property manager and that he would be giving us a call.She then gave me a list of 4 homes, 2 had picky homeowners, and 3 were near Child's.Again she responded "I know that you are wanting to stay in the north Merced area but, with the credit scores being on the lower end, inability to pay the higher deposit up front, along with brand new jobs the property owners are reluctant."Keep in mind that I had a guaranteed income of $4708 for a year, apparently she failed to push that to the homeowners.On 7/11 I emailed again and informed her that no one had called and that I wanted a refund and would file a complaint.I then received an email from ***** ****** saying that they had done their job, no refund.They had not done their job.

Desired Settlement: I want the $44 for the application fee returned. 1. We applied for a specific home and were not notified that it was taken off the market, that should have given a refund right there. 2. ********* did not work with us and we still have yet to receive any correspondence from the property manager, 6 days later.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/15) */ Yes, they threatened this BBB complaint even though their complaints were professionally responded to and addressed "in writing" (our written responses being on file). These applicants lied on their applications to us, stating they had no bankruptcy within the past seven years. Upon running their credit reports we found this to be entirely untrue (they both had a chapter 7 bankruptcies on their credit reports -among other concerning items). After learning this, we still attempted to salvage the situation and help them find a home in our inventory but the homes that were presented to them were declined by them. After several homes were looked at and declined by the applicants they grew angry and demanded their "NON-REFUNDABLE" application fee back (these fees were used by us to pay the credit bureau to process their credit and eviction reports and check other references provided by them - and resulted in no profit to our firm) and the words "non-refundable" are clearly stated at the very top/front of our application forms. These clients postured that we should be responsible for locating them their perfect home for $44 in application fees. I informed these applicants that this was beyond our scope of deliverables for said fees and the only reason we invested so much extra time for them was as a courtesy. They put themselves in a situation by lying on their applications; thereby, being determined unqualified for any of the nicer homes we had available. All evidence being discretely available upon approval. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First, I would just like to say that I am appalled that such a highly rated company would be so hostile in their response. It was completely uncalled for and very unprofessional and I will be taking this to other customer review/complaint sites. I don't appreciate being called a liar. We told ********* from the beginning we had bad credit and never lied about our bankruptcy 5 years ago. I'm not stupid; I obviously knew it would come up when they ran our credit. Why would I hide it or lie about it knowing that? I wouldn't. Furthermore, we were not given the option of many other houses as the response says. We know Merced well enough and have talked to Metced County Sheriffs to know that Child's ave is crime ridden and infested with gangs. This is where MYR wanted to place us. So because I have bad credit MYR is going to discriminate against us and place us there when I make almost $5000 a month by myself? Absolutely not. It is not right that I should have to fear for my life and the life if my one year old son because they refuse to work with me. That is unacceptable. And again, we were not told that the original house was off the market. I had to email or we may never have been told. Plus, being told repeatedly that the property manager would calm us and we never received any call or communication of any kind from him. It's not that difficult to email us and say he is working on it. But they didn't even have that common courtesy. Apparently they only want to work with people who have great credit, despite a good income. So again, if the $44 is not returned this complaint will go to other review sites. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/07/18) */ Threats will not change facts. And we don't appreciate being lied to either, nor being threatened. If the applicants wish to post comments regarding our services at other sites that is their prerogative; however, be informed that any libelous or defaming postings will receive prompt and firm legal response. We will not allow inaccurate and/or libelous comments and have worked with the four major search engines to assure this; having them document and pull untrue nefarious and/or misleading comments in the past; in addition to targeting IT addresses to serve and attain legal judgements accordingly. We take our reputation seriously and will expend whatever it takes to protect it (note that the awards for demonstrated business defamation are high and the courts are supportive in California) - perhaps the BBB will take a moment to shed more light on this for our complainant. We know that we are far from perfect and there are times when we do make errors; and when that happens we understand and accept that we are accountable for those errors. That said, this is NOT one of those times. The applicants' applications clearly stated they had no bankruptcies (when in fact they did). The applicants complaint of being discriminated against due to their poor credit may be accurate but it is important to note that we do not make the final placement determination. Bottom line: We tried, They lied (and unfortunately) They got denied. Now posting all this along with names would be defensible - because its true. But we have much better and more positive things to do with our time. And we truly hope these folks can find a good home that meets their needs and we regret not having that match in our inventory at the time they needed it. So either way, we welcome them to Merced and hope they will enjoy this wonderful community as our families have for generations! Sincerely.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Merced Yosemite Realty & Yosemite Property Management
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)