BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Valley Insured Property Mgmt. Inc.. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Valley Insured Property Mgmt. Inc.. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Valley Insured Property Mgmt. Inc..
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 01/01/1982 Business started locally: 01/01/1982 Business incorporated 11/27/1985 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd, Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
The number is 00927847.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joel Lewis, President Mr. Christopher Watkins, Broker/Vice Presiden
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joel Lewis, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Christopher Watkins, Broker/Vice Presiden
Business Category

Property Management

Alternate Business Names
Valley Insured Property Management, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 18275 Bear Valley Rd STE A

    Hesperia, CA 92345 (760) 240-9535

  • PO Box 1227

    Apple Valley, CA 92307

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They are making us pay for the cleaning of the house instead of taking it out of the renters deposit.They did the same thing last time. see above

Desired Settlement: want my money back

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** - Vacate Department Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************@gmail.com We here at VIP are very fair and value both our clients and our tenants. When an inspection is completed and cleaning is needed in certain areas, we appreciate that the tenant cleaned the property to the best of their ability. Sometimes there is cleaning that is needed and is not a tenant charge. For example, grout dirty on tile. That is not the tenants responsibility as it falls under the category of being worn over a long period of time. This was all explained to the owner of the property in great detail.

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged for damage and cleanup of a rental property. The house was filthy when we moved in; none of the promised cleanup and repairs were completed. #1 Cleaning $145.00: The home was inspected on September 12, 14 days after we moved out. Obviously, there would be dust on all the surfaces. We spent more than a week going through every room of the house, the garage and the exterior cleaning absolutely everything. Since we had experienced such poor customer service from VIP we expected an overly critical evaluation and we, in our estimation, went overboard in our cleaning efforts. The cleaning standards were exceptionally low when we moved in the home. When I (Sherri) viewed the home I was assured that the filthy house would be cleaned. The yard had trash in it; there were piles of bird poop in all the flower beds leading to the front door and on both sides of the door. The carpets were dirty. Walls were covered in dirty spots, paint washed off and worn off spots. The range was covered in grease and dirt as was the wall behind it. When we took possession of the home it was still filthy. When the gentleman from VIP came to perform the pre move out inspection he made few cleaning suggestions; he just said make sure everything was washed, which it was. Bottom line for us is we did everything we were asked to do and the house was exceptionally clean. If it is a standard policy to charge a cleaning fee then that should be understood before a lease is signed. This fee just seems to be unfair or a scam to alleviate the owner or management company of their responsibility of turning over a clean house to the next renter. #2 CARPET CLEANING 245.00 We did not have the carpets cleaned. We arranged to have the carpets cleaned on Friday, August 30. Unfortunately, the City of Victorville turned off the water a few days earlier than we requested. We discovered this on Thursday, August 29. *** called VIP to inform them of our problem. They told him they would have it cleaned after we moved out. They told him the cost would be $165.00. This was within $10 dollars of the amount we had already agreed to pay so it seemed reasonable. We have no argument with paying to have the carpets cleaned, but obviously we are disappointed in the massive increase in that bill. #3 YARD CLEAN UP $80 The yard was mowed 8/29. Weed killer had been applied, weeds pulled, raked and hauled away that week. We even cleaned the bird poop up one last time while cleaning all the flower beds. It would be reasonable to assume there would be a need to clean again by the time the house was inspected two weeks later, but why is that our responsibility? The only thing in the yard was the broken boards from the falling down fence that were stacked by the house when we moved in. We assumed it would be inappropriate to throw away someone else's property. CABINETS $75.00 We didn't believe it was necessary to point out the obvious; the kitchen is old and worn out. As these drawers are next to the stove they got more than a mild cleaning at move in as they were dirty. It doesn't seem possible that these cabinets could have been refurbished with the amount of filth that was on them. . LIGHT COVERS $40.00 I guess we have to chalk this up to our naïveté. We noticed that the covers didn't fit the fixtures. They weren't broken or missing so we made no notation. In general it was very difficult to deal with this company as phone calls were frequently unanswered. When the receptionist did answer calls we were routinely sent to voicemails that were not returned. I (Sherri) made multiple trips to the office to try to resolve some issues. Once I got to speak to someone and got some assistance. On several occasions I was told to leave because they didn't want me to have to wait while they found the information and someone would call me. Never happened. Customer service just doesn't exist for this company.

Desired Settlement: I would like a complete refund for the cleaning, cabinet cleaning/repairs and light fixture repair. I also would like the carpet fee reduced to the quoted price of $165.00. VIP is getting a deal on this considering the hundreds of dollars and hours we put into the maintenance and repairs we completed due to their lousy customer service and lack of response to our needs and concerns while renting this home.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/04) */ On 12/03/13 our office received an official complaint from the BBB regarding our previous tenants, ****** and ****** *********. They previously occupied our property at XXXXX ****** *** in ***** ******, CA. The following list pertains to the complaints these tenants have submitted to you and our responses: 1) Cleaning - $145: Per our inspection, the house needed cleaning. We have picture documentation of the state of the property when it was handed over to us. We specifically note when an item is dusty or if it is dirty. In our inspection, we note that multiple items were dirty. The following cleanliness standards were found to be below our expectations: * Overall - House needs cleaning. * Living Room - Doors Dirty Flooring Dirty Walls Dirty Blinds Dirty Windows Dirty * Dining Room - Flooring Dirty Walls Dirty Windows Dirty * Kitchen - Cabinets Dirty Counters Dirty Dishwasher Dirty Flooring Dirty Range Dirty Sink Dirty Stove/Oven Dirty Walls Dirty Dead Ants Window Dirty Blinds Dirty *Hallway - Closet Dirty Flooring Dirty Walls Dirty * Downstairs Bathroom Near Garage - Countertop Dirty Door Dirty Flooring Dirty Medicine Cabinet Dirty Sink Dirty Shower Dirty Toilet Dirty Vanity Dirty Walls Dirty Windows Dirty Blinds Dirty * Upstairs Hallway Bathroom - Countertop Dirty Door Dirty Flooring Dirty Medicine Cabinet Dirty Sink Dirty Shower Dirty Toilet Dirty Tub Dirty Vanity Dirty Walls Dirty Windows Dirty * Master Bathroom - Countertop Dirty Door Dirty Flooring Dirty Medicine Cabinet Dirty, Black Stains Sink Dirty Shower Dirty Toilet Dirty Tub Dirty Vanity Dirty Walls Dirty Windows Dirty Blinds Dirty * Family Room - Door Dirty Flooring Dirty Windows Dirty Blinds Dirty Walls Dirty * Master Bedroom - Door Dirty Dead Ants on Casing Flooring Dirty Windows Dirty Walls Dirty Fireplace Dirty Closet Doors Dirty Closet Floor Dirty * Upstairs Middle Left Bedroom - Door Dirty Flooring Dirty, Stained Windows Dirty Walls Dirty Closet Walls and Shelving Dirty, Door Missing * Upstairs Back Left Bedroom - Door Dirty Windows Dirty Walls Dirty Closet Door, Walls, And Shelving Dirty * Downstairs Bedroom Near Garage - Door Dirty Flooring Dirty Windows Dirty Walls Dirty Closet Doors, Walls, and Shelving Dirty * Laundry Room and Hallway Bedroom - Doors Dirty Flooring Dirty Walls Dirty Closet Doors and Shelving Dirty * Garage Bedroom - Door Dirty Flooring Dirty Paint Cans Left Behind Walls Dirty 2) Carpet Cleaning - $245: Previous tenants claim that someone in our office promised them that carpet cleaning would cost exactly $165. When I asked her who she spoke with, she said she couldn't remember. I let ****** know that we do not promise the price of any cleaning or carpet cleaning service, and that we can only provide an estimate when asked. Carpet cleaning costs vary between size of home and the condition of the carpet. ****** and ****** were originally charged (per our estimate here) $245 for carpet cleaning and $145 for cleaning. Since estimates can change due to the actual work that needs to be done, the final bill for cleaning ended up being $190 and carpet cleaning was $205. This actually resulted in a $5 savings for the previous tenants between the two services. 3) Yard Clean Up - $80: Per our inspection, the property needed a yard clean up. Our inspection will provide further information detailing the state of the yard, including haul away of wood that was left behind. 4) Kitchen Cabinets - $75: We have record that these cabinets were cleaned, touched up, and stained before the tenant moved in. When the tenant left, they needed cleaning and touching up again. Because of this, the tenants were charged. 5) Kitchen Light Covers - $40: When speaking on the phone with ******, she mentioned that the light covers had broke during their stay at this house and they went out and bought new covers that didn't fit right. She said she thought this would be okay, even though they weren't the right covers. She even stated to me that they were fine at her move in, but didn't write it down on her move in condition report. On 10/28/13, we received a dispute letter in our office from ****** and ******. I can provide a copy of this letter, as it is a little different than the one you received. After reviewing the letter, the owner agreed to refund them an additional $140 (they were originally refunded $232.60) because the previous tenants were charged for two broken door casings that were actually a result of a break in that happened when they lived in the house. I wrote a response letter to ****** and ****** along with the $140 check. ****** never called back and stated that she was not satisfied with the $140 additional refund. I have copies of all letters sent and received. We have provided ****** and ****** with all information necessary. We sent out their disbursement, check, inspection, detailed explanation of charges, invoices of all services they were charged for, and a response letter and additional check for their dispute. I, personally, have returned every call and message received from these tenants. I'd also like to point out that VIProperty Management Inc. does not profit or obtain deals from vendors. These vendors are licensed, bonded, and insured separately from VIP. We make sure to provide all previous tenants with invoices of services they were charged for. The following are all notes pertaining to my communication with ****** *********. All messages I have received were returned to her: Posted to ****** ********* by ******** ***** on Wed, October 30, 2013 at 05:36:11 PM edit delete ****** ********* brought in a dispute letter on 10/28/13. I read it today and called her about her concern with a "discrepancy" she believed did not add up in the charges. She didn't know what the "outstanding amount" charge was in relation to. I explained that this was in relation to the City of *********** water/sewer/trash outstanding balance we had to pay on her behalf. She stated she got three closing bills from them and paid them all. I told her it would be in her best interest to reference those paid bills and call them if she had any questions. I then got off the phone with her and called Mr. Weiss. He agreed to refund her $140 for charges related to the break in that happened before their move out. I typed out the response letter and gave it to ***** to make a check. All letters have been scanned into previous tenants' profile. Posted to ****** ********* by ******** ***** on Tue, October 15, 2013 at 10:57:22 AM I mailed out all invoices and original disbursement paperwork along with the key receipt and 30 day notice (showing that we never received the SVL *** information before we disbursed) to the previous tenants. Posted to ****** ********* by ***** *********** on Wed, October 09, 2013 at 08:41:48 AM I just found the returned disbursement mailing for this tenant. I will re-mail to correct address. Posted to ****** ********* by ******** ***** on Mon, October 07, 2013 at 05:37:00 PM Previous tenants' mailing address is SVL *** ****, *********** CA XXXXX Posted to ****** ********* by ******** ***** on Mon, October 07, 2013 at 03:53:27 PM I just had ****** Arington come into the office stating that she never received her disbursement from her move out last month. We sent it to the only address ever provided to us, which was XXXXX ********* Lane in ***********. She told me that is not an address, its a location. I told her its the only address we received for her forwarding address. She said she never gave us that address and that there is a SVL box associated with the location that she gave us. I checked my records and then checked to see if we got any returned mail from the ********* address. We received absolutely no returned mail from that address, and I checked the vacate file where only the ********* Lane address was provided, never was there an SVL box number provided ever in that time. I asked her for her SVL box number so that we can send her all of her information. She asked to know how much she got back. I told her I can get that information for you, but not all the information would be included and I would like to give her everything all at once if that was okay. She said, "Okay fine." I then said goodbye, closed the lobby door, and then she said, "Actually it's not fine, but you're not going to help me anyway so BYE!" Then she slammed the front door. I notified Aimee of the situation. ***** is still checking to see if the check was cashed. If you have any questions or concerns, please call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX ext ***. Thank you, - ******** ***** (Vacate Department) Office: XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Valley Insured Property Mgmt. Inc..
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)