BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Equity Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Equity Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The Equity Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 28, 2003 Business started: 05/20/2002 Business started locally: 05/20/2002 Business incorporated 05/20/2002 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd, Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
The number is 1367450.

Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd, Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
The number is 01226088.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Duerre, President/ Property Management Mr. Scott Ellis, President of Real Estate
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Duerre, President/ Property Management
Customer Contact: Mr. Scott Ellis, President of Real Estate
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate - Commercial Real Estate

Alternate Business Names
D.E. Equity Group
Products & Services

We are a full service real estate sales and property management company.


Additional Locations

  • 420 N Court St STE 100

    Visalia, CA 93291 (559) 732-8800 (559) 732-0800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/12/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Property management company Equity Group did a move out walk through without me there, after I requested to be there. Then they charged me for things The Equity Group charged me for things that I had already done after they did a walk through without me. I had t requested to be at the walk through. I have photos and video of the property from the day I moved out. When I called and questioned them I wa told, "we have to get the money from someone". When I asked for a supervisor they said he was unavailable. They also said that the owner made them charge us but then asked me not to call and bother the owner to confirm that information. They took over $600 to change light bulbs and clean carpets, that I had already paid to have cleaned and give them a cancelled check as they had asked.

Desired Settlement: I would like my deposit back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/03/15) */ The tenant called the schedule the walk through on the same day that they were moving out. Our move out coordinator was booked for the day and could not make it there. We schedule walk through of move outs up to 2 weeks in advance as indicated in the 30 day notice that they signed. The tenant failed to schedule an inspection in advance so we walked the unit after they turned in keys to us. We charged the tenant for Cleaning and Carpet Cleaning because the receipts that they provided indicated that it was not done by a professional - our move out coordinator tried to contact the tenant to get the phone numbers of the cleaner and carpet cleaner so we could send them back out to do a proper job but the tenant did not call back. We hired another crew to do the work and billed the tenant for it because it was not done properly by the tenant. We also charged for removing a shelf that the tenant installed, replacing blinds in the kitchen that were broken, missing light bulbs and dirty AC Filters. We feel that the tenant did not have the home cleaned and carpet cleaned by a professional and failed to remedy the situation. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/03/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As is clearly stated in the Equity Groups response above, they were 100% aware that we wanted to be there for the move out walk through, yet they did it without us? Before they even did the walk through they complained about our receipts for carpet cleaning and house cleaning services, so we took copies of our cancelled checks and business cards from the companies who did the work as proof that they were legitimate. This was done on March 10th at which time we again requested a walk through date. They said they would contact the move out coordinator and get back to us with a walk through date, they never did. We didn't know the walk through had been done until we got our paperwork showing that they charged us for carpet cleaning and house cleaning. I called and asked why I hadn't been notified about the walk through was told by a woman named Tara that she wasn't aware we wanted to be there? She also stated that had she been given the contact information for our carpet and house cleaning companies she would have had them redo what she felt was wrong. When I informed her she had the info prior to the walk through and that I wanted my money back she told me that the owner said to charge us. She also stated "we have to get the money from somewhere" and when I was unhappy with that response she got angry and said it's too late to do anything now anyway. At this point I asked for her boss. After a few moments with him denying that he knew we wanted to be there for the walk through he finally said, "well it was your fault for trying to schedule it the same day you moved out" at which point I said, " so you did know we wanted to be at the walk through and you did it without us anyway" and then he got angry and denied he said that. I informed him that my coworker was listening to this conversation and that he heard his(the man from equity group) previous statement of knowledge that we wanted to be at the walk through, and at that point the employee from equity group said "if you don't like what we did take us to small claims court". My coworker heard this statement as well. I also have photos and video of the property the day we moved out and the Equity Group wouldn't look at them. The Equity Group also wouldn't return my calls or allow me to speak to any other employees about my feelings that they were dishonest, that they committed fraud because they claimed the property needed work that it didn't, that they wouldn't provide receipts showing that they paid someone for the work they claimed needed to be done, and that they had violated my right as a renter to be at a walk through after two requests to be there. During the time we were living at this property the Equity Group also never answered any of our repair requests and their employee, Tara stated that that was because the owner wouldn't Approve the repairs. So we lived with a leaking roof, a leaking water heater and a great deal of mold in this home. All of which should have been taken care od for safety reasons. We also had to remove and pay the disposal fee for a broken spa that had exposed electrical wires because the Equity Group kept telling us that the owner was responsible for that and they would get back to us after they spoke to them. Again, we never heard back from them, so we removed it ourselves and paid the disposal fee. We also had to replace the air comditioning\heating thermostat because it was broken and our electrical bill tripled. The Equity Group said the owner would replace it, and that never happened, so in the interest of not paying a tripled electric bill, we replaced it. We were never reimbursed for any of these repairs and would have never complained until the Equity Group was dishonest and greedy. These are also some of the reasons we left the property. My coworker mentioned above, who was there when I spoke to the Equity Group male employee for the final time, is **** **** *****, and he is willing to make a formal statement if necessary. Also, they mentioned we were charged for a dirty air filter, and that is surprising because we left multiple, brand new air filters in the hall closet of the property. This just shows their desire to take money whether it's right or not. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2016/04/12) */ I have reached a resolution with the company and they would like me to remove my complaint

8/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on The Equity Group
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart