BBB Accredited Business since

Realty Management Services

Phone: (661) 327-4496 Fax: (661) 324-2576 300 H St, Bakersfield, CA 93304 http://www.realtymanagement.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Realty Management Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Realty Management Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Realty Management Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 13, 1978 Business started: 01/01/1972 Business started locally: 01/01/1972 Business incorporated 02/18/2005 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd, Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
The number is 01492538.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Garret Randolph, Owner Ms. Nan Brown, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Nan Brown, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Garret Randolph, Owner
Business Category

Property Management

Alternate Business Names
Bakersfield Realty Management Services, Inc. RMS RMS Realty Management Services

Additional Locations

  • 300 H St

    Bakersfield, CA 93304 (661) 327-4496

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RMS failed to give me my legal rights to an initial and final inspection and is charging me for days I was never in the apt and unidentified late fees on march 7 I requested move out inspections which never happened. RMS failed to contact me for any inspection. On march 10 I moved out of the apartment. I was finally contacted by RMS to turn in keys or legal action would be taken. so I was never given my inspections that I requested. On X-XX-XX I was sent a final notice that I owed RMS $53.01 and was to be sent to collections.my security deposit was $400 and they charged me $117.44 for six days I was never in the apt. $183.01 for late payments which I had never received any paperwork for late payments, and $145 for cleaning, and $7.56 for pge from October of 2015. I disputed the charges through certified mail and personally took a copy into the RMS office. On X-XX-XX I received a check of $91.99 of which has not been cashed. they revised the charges and took out the cleaning charges but still left the $117 for days I was not in apartment and $183 of late fees I was never given. They also sent me pictures of the apartment dated X-XX-XX and they are charging me through the 16th when they were clearly in the apt days prior. RMS is unethical and has poor customer service and I am asking for my full deposit of $400 as well as a rental referral so I have no issues renting from any other agency.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting my full refund of $400 and a rental referral from RMS so I have no issues renting from any other agency.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/06/09) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ***** Gen Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@realtymanagement.com This gentleman submitted his 30 day notice and failed to move out and turn in keys. He was charged rent until we received his keys on the 16th. The supervisor called him and left a message regarding the initial move-out inspection and did not receive a call back. She then posted a notice to enter and entered the unit on June 15th and took pictures. She then called the tenant again and requested keys as per the requirement on the security deposit form he signed when he initially rented the unit. Keys were received on the 16th. I, too, recently returned a call to this gentleman, June 2nd at 3:55 PM, who then showed up in my office the next day, stating he never got my message of which was left on his voicemail. He was refunded the cleaning costs, in good faith, because he didn't get an initial walkthru prior to move-out. He was charged for 6 days rent to the time we received keys and for standing late charges and 3-day fees on his account as well as a PGE bill.

11/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rms has damaged my property by not fixing broken sprinklers. They have left them broken for awhile and my property has been damaged. Rms has been negligent with their irrigation service. They have had a broken sprinkler for a long time according to tenants they stated that they have called and complained because it was broken for so long water was shooting into the air and damaging the tenants trucks bed. I called a landscaper to assess the damage and he said it was coming from the top which where their sprinklers are located. The damage is so bad I have a gaping hole behind my block wall I couldn't get a hold of a owner . They sent me an email saying they are not responsible . They are responsible because the water is coming from the top. I will have a landscaper give me an estimate of the damage but I believe it's in the range of 2-5,000. ***** believes otherwise . I have proof and pictures of how badly their own land is damaged from the sprinkler system being broken.

Desired Settlement: If this company does not respond I will take them to court. They are playing a game which they think they can win in court which I don't believe a judge with all my proof will side with them. I seek repair. I also seek that they take responsibility for their actions .

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/17) */ We have no work orders from any tenant that this or any other sprinkler was broken on this property. We no longer manage this property. This property was sold. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/11/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When they were "responsible" for the property they should have maintained the property with their gardener . I believe it's still their fault this should remain on record for the next tenants that they have to be careful who they rent from. Also, doesn't matter who the owner is , the owner hires the property management to take care of it while it's still in their possession which they failed to do. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/11/18) */ I am sorry this neighbor is not happy with our response however, we cannot fix something that we are unaware of that if broke. The tenants occupying this property, a 4-plex, did not report any broken sprinklers or any indication of a sign of a broken sprinkler. The sprinklers are not running when the gardening service. Upon receipt of ****** *******' call, she stated her husband told her of the broken sprinkler 2 days prior to her call to our office. The gardening company came out within 24 hours of receipt of the call from ****** *******. This property was sold and management was transferred. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/11/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have no further comments for this business they can see how badly they are rated on Yelp, if anyone doesn't believe me. They aren't responsible point blank. I called them out on it and I hope this complaint stays here to warn people of how careless they can be with their properties.

6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I submitted application for a rental, was told approved, then was told not approved. I applied for a rental house and submitted my application. I was told I was approved but they wanted applications for both of my kids since they live with me and are over 18. I gave them the applications plus the application fees. Now, all of the sudden, I am not approved because they say my current landlord gave a bad reference which is a lie. I have never been late with rent payments the last 3 years, I have no evictions, and I have been working with the same employer for 27 years. I have a couple of late payments with credit cards and some medical bills but that is it. I want the $50 back for the kids. This company is just out to get applications fees.

Desired Settlement: I want the $50 back for the credit applications for my kids.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/04/28) */ Our application cover page states all applicants over the age of 18 must apply if they are going to live at the property. It was discovered that her 2 daughters listed on her application were over the age of 18 and it was explained to her that they too must apply. It was also explained to her, again, about credit, rental history, etc. We still received the additional applications and credit fee money after explaining everything to Ms. ***** again. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2015/05/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On Friday, April 3, RMS talked to my employer and confirmed employment history. On the same day, someone talked to my current landlord who provided an excellent reference for me. On Tuesday, April 7 I received a telephone call from RMs stating that my application "looked good." She then explained that I needed to provide applications for my two daughters before I could get final approval. So I took an hour off of work and went in the next morning and provided them my daughters' applications along with $75 in cash for the credit check fees. I had written a check for me, but they held it (even though they processed everything without cashing it) and gave it back stating they needed cash. I went to an ATM and brought back cash. That was Wednesday, April 8. Never heard anything back so I called on Friday, April 10 in the morning and then twice in the afternoon before somebody finally told me I was denied because my landlord gave a bad reference. This was totally false! Why would they tell me on Tuesday that everything looked good, ask me to provide applications for my daughters and pay an additional $50, then tell me I got a bad reference from my landlord on the Friday, April 3? If they had, in fact, received a bad reference from my landlord on Friday, why would they tell me on Tuesday everything looked good, ask me to do the additional applications and pay another $50 if the reason I was not approved was due to a bad reference? It makes no sense. I believe they knew all along they were not going to rent to me, but wanted the application fees for my daughters before telling me they weren't going to rent to me. This is the reason I want the $50 for my daughters' applications. It is fraud if you ask me. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 20, 2015/05/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My brother is friends with owner, ****** ********, and he told me this after speaking with Mr. ********. I did not disregard the application requirements intentionally; was just doing what I was told by information relayed by Mr. ******** to my brother. This still does not explain why I was told (as you indicate) that my application looked good on Tuesday and on Friday I was told that I didn't qualify from something my current landlord supposedly said (which, in fact, was a lie that RMS made up to suit them) the previous Friday. Again, I was strung along just to get those applications for my daughters in, plus fees, only to be denied. Mr. ******** told me he would help me. This was no help. I took off work (which cost me money) to comply the very next day after being told they really needed my daughters applications. I was very excited and cooperative. I did everything that was asked only to be cheated out of $50. I want a refund. I am not backing down. I totally regret applying with RMS. RMS is not customer friendly, just money hungry. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2015/05/19) */ This consumer disregarded our application requirements by NOT turning in her daughters applications at the same time she turned in her application. The first page of our application specifically states that EVERYONE over the age of 18 must submit an application. Yes she was told 'her' application looked good, but then we discovered her daughters were over the age of 18 and they had not submitted their applications. I spoke to the consumer and explained why the daughters must submit their applications and what we look for. At that time she tried to tell me she was told by her brother that her daughters did not have to apply. This was not correct on the part of her brother. She then made the choice to go ahead and submit her daughters applications, AFTER I again had explained what we look for.

5/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ac isnt working. Contacted rms over a month ago first about it then last week and its still broken. Said they sent someone out but never did! moved in s. Chester apts in oct of last year. Ac worked great! Didnt use it that much since it was cooling down. Tried to use ac over two months ago. Its didnt work. It jus made loud noises and never blew any air out. We changed batteries and the filter and still didnt work. Contacted the onsite manager and told her. She then contacted rms and they sent someone out and the guy said it worked. It didnt work the next day. So we gave it time before we told them again. That was in march. We again called them in early april and they said ok we will send someone out again. They never did. I called them on april 28 and asked them y someone hasnt came out here to look at my ac, i told them that it is 90 degrees in my house and that i have a son. They then told me that it said in their system that the work order was completed on april 20 of this year. I told them that nobody ever came out to fix my ac on april 20. I talked to the receptionist and she said she would let her supervisor know. I also spoke to my onsite manager and she said that she has had multiple tenants telling her that their ac isnt working either. If i have ac in my house im going to use it. Rms needs to fix my ac asap. Its in my rental agreement so they need to fix it or find me another apartment

Desired Settlement: I jus want my ac fixed asap.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/05/12) */ Contact Name and Title: *** *****, Gen Mgr Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ********@realtymanagement.com This tenant has made 2 requests for repairs, once in March 2015 and once in April 2015. Both times an AC repair tech was sent out to repair the AC. At this time, as far as we know, the AC has been repaired and is in working order. The tenant has not called in any additional repairs needed. *** ***** General Manager Realty Management Services

2/25/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Companies inconsistent business practices. RMS has errors in billing/collections that negatively affect myself. I have rented from RMS for 11 months now, going on my last month. I paid my rent on September 4th (contract states due on 1st with 3 day grace period which lead myself to believe its late after 4th) and received a voicemail from ***** the property manager on September 12th stating that they had not received my rent, and to contact the bookkeeper (******) immediately. I did so and was told that it was a mistake on their behalf and to disregard any confusion. I specifically asked if there was a late fee or issue beings they had barely received payment from the online company used to pay rent (Paylease) she ensured me there was no issues. I then again paid my lease payment on October 4th, beings I was believed this was during the grace period, and also that after speaking to ****** in September there was no issues with the time that I paid my rent. Then in November I received in the mail a billing statement stating I owed late fees for both September rent and October rent. I called RMS and spoke to ******* whom stated that while she was out during the September occurance the person whom was filing in for her position "did not know what they were doing" and told me incorrect information. I asked if there was any way they would be able to work with me regarding the late fee for September because I was misinformed. She rudely declined stating she would not remove either fee and I would be responsible. I paid my lease payment for December on December 2nd over through Paylease as usual. I received a phone call from ******* (bookkeeper) on December 9th at which she asked if I had been at the residence that day. She continued to tell me that they made yet another "mistake" with receiving payment from Paylease and that they sent an employee to my residence to post a 3 day pay or quit on my front door. She told me to disregard the notice. I tried explaining my concern that there seemed to be a problem with business practices due to the reoccurring issues of receiving my rent. She became rude and showed no interest in my concern. On December 10th the following business day after realizing there had been a mistake on their behalf I received a 3 day pay or quit notice on my front door. I feel that this was unnecessary due to the fact that they could have simply advised the employee they sent to residence to disregard their visit to my property. This business has always been very rude and inconsiderate of their tenants. Every contact with the business regardless of who I speak to is very unpleasant.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the late fees to be waived because of the inconvenience the business has caused to either employees not correctly giving information and because of the customer service the employees have provided to the tenants.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/01/15) */ Attached please find a copy of the contract for ******* ******, the above complainant. His contract clearly states that the rent is late if it is paid after the first of the month. Sincerely, *** ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2015/01/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The practices of the business have been very poor and have caused hardships and inconveniences for parties involved. I am not satisfied with the response or consideration taken of the offices errors. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 21, 2015/01/16) */ The landlords loss is "deemed" to be the amount of unpaid rent and interest. The legal rate of 10% a year. Charging 59.70 for being four days late is not in fact 10% of the unpaid rent. According to Ca state law the landlord only suffered and is only due the amount of past due rent with interest as liquidated damages. Therefore given the legal interest rate and known unpaid balance of $995 for four days, It shall not be impracticable nor extremely difficult to assess the landlords losses as stated in the contract; and therefore I as the tenant should not be charged more than the loss.

2/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RMS IS CHARGING ME FOR REPAIRS THAT ARE UNDFOUNDED, AND KEEPING A REFUND OF RENT TOWARDS COLLECTIONS. I moved into an apartment managed by RMS. ON initial walk through, I reported stains in carpet and unpainted walls. 32 months later, I cleaned apartment and moved out. Rms was paid the total rent for December, even though I moved out Dec. 22. RMS is trying to charge me for a full carpet replacement and holding my over paid tent as part of collection.

Desired Settlement: My rent refunded, and a revised bill. I can provide pictures of how the apartment was left by me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/17) */ This person has only received an 'ESTIMATED' statement of deposit. The work is still in progress. She has been told in a prior verbal conversation of this and that as soon as the work is complete as revised/final statement of deposit would be sent to her.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Realty Management Services
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart