BBB Accredited Business since

Mill Creek Management & Real Estate Sales, Inc.

Phone: (559) 733-3385 300 W School Ave, Visalia, CA 93291

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mill Creek Management & Real Estate Sales, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mill Creek Management & Real Estate Sales, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 23, 1991 Business started: 07/15/1980 Business started locally: 07/15/1980 Business incorporated 01/30/1985 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd, Sacramento CA 95815
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
The number is 00881497.

Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd, Sacramento CA 95815
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
The number is 00700285.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mrs. Cathy Hutton, CEO Mr. Don Hutton, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Cathy Hutton, CEO
Business Category

Property Management

Additional Locations

  • 300 W School Ave

    Visalia, CA 93291 (559) 733-3385


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/5/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mill Creek Mngmt failed to produce requested copy of itemized receipt for application fees per CA Law. Mill Creek Mngmt failed to produce requested copy of itemized receipt for application fees per CA Law. I put an application (10-23-2015) in with this company for property rental, and submitted the proper application fees, $60. before submission of fees, I asked office personnel if there were any special requirements I needed to be aware of, I was told, none. on 10-27-2015, a member of their office personnel contacted me and let me know I didn't meet their requirements. after asking questions, I learned that the mngmt company actually has a requirement of 600+ minimum credit score to qualify for their properties. I then asked to speak to an office manager and was later contacted by ***** ******, General Manager for the company. we had a conversation via email, Jason refused to comply with my request for an itemized receipt of how the $60 was used to process my application. such a receipt is mandatory by CA renters law as well as a refund for any money not used toward "out-of-pocket" expenses incurred to process my application. Jason has continued to ignore further email contact from me. since most people these days know what their credit scores are... and I'm no different, had I known Mill Creek Mngmt had such a requirement, I wouldn't have applied for their property. I feel that not only was I misled, but robbed of my money and time spent in this endeavor. they should be up front with potential tenants.

Desired Settlement: I'm not looking for a full refund... I want my itemized receipt. I want the monies not used in my application processing. per CA renters law, I'm owed an itemized reciept and a refund of application fees that were not incurred as "out-of-pocket" expenses by Mill Creek Mngmt.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/02) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******-Owner Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX ext*** Contact Email: ******* Our application fee is $30.00 per adult/married couple. ***** ***** paid $30.00 for his personal application and $30.00 for his roommates application-not $60.00 for himself. In speaking with our receptionist who dealt with ***** he did not ask any questions about our requirements. Had he asked he would have been advised that we were looking for a credit score of 600 or above, income 3 times the rental amount and good landlord history. He and the roommate were second in line for an apartment but it was rented to the first applicant. He then came in and stated that he was in a hurry and applied for another apartment which is when we collected his application fees and supporting documents. Due to credit reasons his application was not approved and it was explained to him. He stated he was aware of his credit. He was told that we would supply him with a copy of his credit report but he did not want one. We used his $30.00 application fee with the cost of the credit report and in office processing time. Thee is no refund due. I will mail him a receipt today explaining the charges. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/11/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) at the time that I paid the $60, I asked what the requirements were... as I told the office manager, I know what my score and the score of my fiance are... we're trying to fix that... but I was never told upfront what the true requirements were. had I been told, I would've never bothered anyone with applying... and in regards to the receipt, I was denied a receipt by staff... the state of CA renter laws state they are entitled to out-of-pocket expenses only... since the personnel and their time in the office are covered by the services the provide... and they are there whether my application is there or not... I'm due a refund of the funds not used for out-of-pocket expenses, under CA State Renter Laws. i provided a copy of the guide I'm quoting to the office manager, ***** ******... Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/11/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) the gal at the front desk, *****, it was friday afternoon, I was returning a key from looking at apt *** of ********* ********** on ***** in ********** I asked her, because I didn't want to waste my money... are there any "special" requirements before I spend this money? she told me, just the standard stuff, we check to make sure you ***'t have any evictions... I said OK and paid the fee... nothing led me to believe that my credit report was going to be held against me... you are right, I didn't want to waste my time or money... I was looking for a place for myself and my fiance... I ***'t have the luxury of wasting time or money... not in this economy... yes, your application does specify a "non-refundable" fee... but that is not in line with CA Renting Laws... I'd have your attorney check that again... the CA Dept of Consumer affairs gives sample applications for renting... they all include a lower half page receipt for the rental company to fill out and give to the potential renter... even those do not give the rental company leeway to cover costs within their office... doing it the way you are, you are breaking the law and putting distrust between your company and the general public... you make it seem that you are profiting from the rejection of applications, and that is why the law doesn't allow extra for your internal costs... unfortunately for you, the law currently sides with the renter, or potential renter as a protection from such actions... the only reason situations like this have not been pursued is because of the small amount of money involved... but, despite how this turns out between you and I, someone will eventually take these principals to small claims and set a clear precedent to affirm the current laws... if there isn't one already... I haven't looked into that... in my personal opinion, although it doesn't matter here, it's morally wrong to not be clear and upfront in writing before any contract is executed... if Mill Creek were my company, and I had such policies to use credit scores as a determining factor in renting a property, then I would put that in writing on the application... just about anyone with a credit card these days is getting their scores for free and should know where they stand... as I have multiple cards, I always know where I stand... as I've said before, and even stated to the gal who called me with the bad news from your office, the negative credit on my report was old... and my attempts to get it removed have so far failed... but no leeway was given to my explanations... lol, even a bank would have some compassion... I felt the whole experience was a ripoff... from my point, I got my name pulled through the mud, I was turned down for a step that was to be beneficial in my life, I applied to places within my means, I applied to places that I felt were a proper and safe place to be, and to make matters worse, I paid Mill Creek for it... so I paid you to do this to me... that's funny... I haven't made up my mind whether I will pursue this further or not... but from my point of view, I think it was wrong for many reasons... as I've explained in part here... Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/11/04) */ Who did you ask about our requirements? Everyone states you did not ask and there is no reason why they wouldn't tell you our requirements. We do not want to waste your time and money nor ours. The application that you filled out states that there is a $30.00 "non-refundable" application fee for each credit file. You knew that we would be running your credit report so if you had a concern because you already knew what your score was you should have addressed it with the staff, but you did not. I apologize that you were not given the requested receipt but it was mailed to you as I stated in my previous response. The law states I am entitled to the cost of the report and also the reasonable value of time spent obtaining the credit report, verifying information given, and review of all documents. All funds were used.

8/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
1/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company manages my rental property. Though the condo was completely remodled a couple years prior to being a rental, somehow they create mystery charges for repairs that are either unnecessary or are for things the tenant has broken. I have gone months without receiving any moneyafter the mmortgage is paid when I should have a $80 profit monthly. Also they do not pay the HOA which is another $150 a month . Somehow I owe them money.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like them to stop fixing things without my approval. I would like them to explain exactly where every cent went and why.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******-Owner Contact Phone: *********** Contact Email: ******* Each month, this owner receives a financial statement from our company showing all income and all expenses paid. If a repair is done, the paid bill is attached to her statement. If it is a repair that should be charged to the tenant it is noted on the bill and the tenant is billed for the repair. There are no mystery charges-she is receiving the bills as they are paid. Per the terms of the management contract-which she signed-repairs under $300.00 do not need prior approval. The repairs that are over this amount had been approved by her. We were paying the HOA dues but due to the large past due amount prior to our management we were advised by the HOA company that we could no longer make the monthly payments unless the entire balance was paid off. We advised the owner of this as she stated she would take care of the monthly HOA payments. To recap-any bill over $300 has been approved prior to work being done. Every bill that has been paid has been sent to the owner along with her monthly financial statement. There are no mystery bills. If the tenant caused the repair the tenant would be charged for the repair. We have asked this owner to send funds to cover two unpaid bills. One is to replace a garage door spring which was worn out-not damaged by the tenant. We also have an unpaid plumbing bill that is owner responsibility to pay-not tenant's. This bill is for the supply lines to the hot water heater which began leaking on the weekend. This is not anything that the tenant caused to happen-they were simply worn out at the connection. This bill is now over 2 months old and we still are unable to pay the vendor as the owner has not submitted funds to us. The owner can see where "every cent went" by looking at her monthly statements as it is all explained to her.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mill Creek Management & Real Estate Sales, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)