BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Manco Abbott, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Manco Abbott, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Manco Abbott, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1980 Business started: 02/01/1972 Business started locally: 02/01/1972 Business incorporated 02/15/1972 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd, Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
The number is 00416367.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Goldfarb, President Ms. Maureen Lewis, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Goldfarb, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Maureen Lewis, CFO
Business Category

Property Management


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 Clock Tower Place, Ste. 250

    Carmel, CA 93923

  • 1398 W Herndon Ave STE 105

    Fresno, CA 93711 (559) 256-4016 (559) 435-1756

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Forced to move by management or pay a almost 200$ increase the next month which is more than 10% California renters law states over 10% 60 day notice. October 10th I spoke to ****** the apartment manager at Lakeside apts she told me if I didn't sign a lease my rent would increase in November the increase would include a 100$ month to month fee which makes the increase over 10%. In California to increase rent more than 10% the renter should be given 60 days notice I wasn't given a notice nor sent one by mail. I served notice that I would be out of the apartment by the first. I turned over keys to ****** on friday the 30th of October. I was charged for 10 days into November, if given proper notice of the over 10% increase I would have given notice on the 1st of October and avoided the additional charges.

Desired Settlement: I want the charges for rent due in November dropped. Again, if given proper notice of the over 10% increase there would be no charges for the month of November.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/13) */ Mr. ********: We believe that our charges are fair and accurate, yet we are adjusting your final charges to be $385.30 per your agreement with our office earlier this week. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/11/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The adjustment made to the said move out balance by Manco is sufficient.

10/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had to move during Christmas and had to stay in hotel with 5 year old disabled son and no Christmas tree it was real hard for him to understand I moved out of marbella apts on dec 20 2013 due to my home being violated with graffiti put on my door with black spray paint I asked manco Abbott to let me out of my lease and they dented me so I filed a police report and had a medadtor contact them at Wich time then they agreed to alolow me to break it and when I moved I got wat over charged for cleaning and repairs that we're not needed got video to show that it wasn't also was provided with fraudulent pappers and recipits also got yo s

Desired Settlement: I moved out of my apt on dec 20 2013 due to destruction of my property (graffiti on front door) Not only did I have to get mediation. To help break my lease but when I moved out I got over charged and did not revive my deposit back when I asked to be sent recipits from the cleaning I got fraudulent papper works fake recipits I have video showing how great the apartment looked the day I moved I wrote a demand letter and got turned downed I am very unsatisfied with the way I have been treated by Maco Abbott and i had to not only move out and live in a hotel during Christmas because of how scared we were to stay there but I got charged for cleaning or repairs that the video will obviously will show were not needed I would not have broken my lease if I felt safe In my home but I didn't and I tryed to comply with everthing I could to recive my security back and I got treated real poorly I would love to show you tape and papper work please email with time and date

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/26) */ Owners Response: ******* ***** was allowed to terminate her lease without liability for future rent. The landlord did nothing to either provoke or allow graffiti to occur. ******* ***** entered into an agreement with Manco Abbott via our Attorney, Mr. **** ******* The Agreement states that: 1. Tenants will vacate premises by December 20th, 2013 and deliver possession and keys at that time. 2. Tenants agree to pay landlord the sum of $921.67 representing rents and late charges through December 20th, 2013. Payment is due upon signing. 3. Tenants agree to leave premises clean and undamaged and will schedule a walk through. 4. If the Tenants vacate as promised and pay amount due, Landlord will agree to an early termination of the lease effective December 20th, 2013 and will waive any and all claims for future rent. This agreement was signed by ******* ***** and ****** ***** both tenants residing at **** ******* ***** **** *** ******* *** XXXXX on December 13, 2013. ******* ***** charges on her final move-out are the following: Final AUM Invoice (Water, Garbage & Sewer) $147.00 Replacement of Microwave Door due to Damage $128.79 Heavy Soil Carpet Clean $370.00 Apartment Clean $120.00 Labor and Paint Supplies $107.09 Total charges: $872.55 Security Deposit 1200.00 Refunded amount: $327.45 ******* ***** was furnished copies of invoices from A & R Appliances, Frazee Paint, Unique Carpet Care, American Maid and the final invoice from AUM. The Lease Agreement that was entered into on *** 7th, 2013 with ******* ***** states that under 3. Security Deposit: Owner *** withhold from the security deposit only such amounts as are reasonably necessary to remedy Resident defaults including but not limited to, the following: i) In the payment of rent ii) To repair damages to the premises caused by Resident. iii) To clean and paint such premises, if necessary, upon termination of the tenancy in order to return apartment to the same level of cleanliness it was in at the inception of the tenancy and/or iv) To restore, replace, or return personal property or appurtenances, exclusive of ordinary wear and tear. We are sorry that ******* ***** feels that she was treated poorly and that her move-out charges are unfair. ******* was let out of her lease, which she agreed to. Again, ******* was provided all paid receipts that landlord incurred. We feel the charges are both reasonable and necessary. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/09/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No I do not agree with you Manco Abbott Just had to roll with the punches I going to have my day and court and trust me with the evevadence I have you will see it my way . You were so sure of your selfs you didn't even bother looking at what I had against you but bbb will see it even if your response was not to !! See you and your unhonest employee in court Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/10/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Not satisfied going to court Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/10/01) */ Thank you for the video tape. The resident was not charged for any holes in the walls, strictly touch up paint and a touch up clean. I provided BBB with an itemized move-in/move-out list with area's that needed touch up paint, touch up clean, damage to Microwave door and carpet clean. The video only shows, walls and a blind. We stand by our charges.

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Theft of Personal Property; Failure to provide promised incentives (breach of contract/agreement) Problem 1: Theft of Personal Property (Marbella Apartments) Date of Incident: August 4-5, 2014 Details: We moved out of our apartment on Saturday, August 2, 2014. We moved all but 3 items from our apartment (leaving 3 items behind my mistake), left the keys in the drop-box and moved to our new house. Upon unpacking, we realized that we had failed to remove 3 floor cleaning machines from one closest. We contacted the location manager to advise of the items we left behind. Upon arriving at the old apartment, and opening the closet, we only found 1 remaining floor cleaning machine (one that was only valued at ~$100.) The two other machines had been stolen by someone that gained access to the apartment between August 4-5. The value of each machine was as follows: Oreck XL Power Scrubber - $399.00 (retail), and Bissell Quick Steamer - $99.99. Problem 2: Failure to provide promised incentives (x2) Date: August 6, 2014 Details: We renewed our lease two times for additional one year terms. One of the reasons we renewed each time was the promised incentives to clean the carpets for free. At the end of the lease, we were informed that neither incentive could be used any longer. However, at no time were we ever warned / told that these incentives expired at any time. Therefore, we were deprived of the monetary value of each incentive (x2).

Desired Settlement: We are seeking full reimbursement for the two stolen machines: Oreck XL Power Scrubber - $399.00 + Bissell Quick Steamer - $99.99 + sales tax: Total value = $539.99 We are seeking credit for our final bill for the full value of the two unused incentives - we don't know the actual value of these incentives but should be somewhere in the neighborhood of $150 each. Total credit = $300.00 We will likely be filing a police report as well for the theft of our personal property by the locations' staff and/or contractors.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/13) */ Problem 1: Theft of Personal Property Response: The items claimed to be in the unit were not there. When Mr. ******** came back to the property to retrieve the items he claimed to have left behind, there was only one machine in the closet. The site staff had not starting working on turning that unit over yet so other than the manager walking the unit at move out, no one had been in the unit. Furthermore, it is clearly defined in the lease that the "Resident's property is not insured by owner or agent", "Management is not responsible for fire, theft or damage to personal effects" and "Owner/Agent strongly recommends that the resident obtain renters insurance". I have attached below the actual policy from the rental agreement. Insurance: Resident's property is not insured by Owner or Agent. Resident is not a co-insured and is expressly excluded from any insurance policy held by Owner or Agent, which is now in effect or becomes effective during the term of this Agreement. Management is not responsible for fire, theft or damage to personal effects, etc. in the premises, laundry, storage lockers, garage, or any portion of the building. For your own protection, keep all apartment doors locked at all times. Owner/Agent strongly recommends that the Resident obtain "Renter's Insurance" covering personal possessions immediately upon occupying. Problem 2: Failure to provide promised incentives (x2) Response: All flyers that are handed out to the residents listing incentives for renewing their lease clearly state on the flyer "Offer expires 1 month from renewal". Therefore, a resident cannot come back 1 or 2 years later and claim they never received their incentive. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the business response at all. First, the statement that site staff had not started working on the unit is simply patently false. Upon return to the unit to remove the three items that were accidently left behind (2 of which were already stolen from the apartment), there were obviously things the site staff had done inside the unit, based upon miscellaneous things that had been removed from cabinets, etc., things that were obviously not in that same position when the unit was turned over. For management to give a blanket "we're not responsible" statement, when they clearly were the only ones that had access to the unit during the time period in question (e.g. there was no broken windows or other evidence that a break-in had occurred), is patently absurd and defies all common sense. Also, the statement that there is a disclaimer that incentives must be used within one month of renewal is also patently false. Perhaps they recently added this verbiage in the newest incentive flyers, however, the flyers we previously received (and relied upon when deciding to renew for (2) 1 year terms), did not include such language. Also, if the business' statements about this disclaimer were true, why didn't management at the location inform us of this when we provided our 30-day notice letter - a letter which clearly stated our intention to use these incentives if the location decided that carpet cleaning would be necessary upon our end of lease. Also, it is clear from the business' response that management has no regard for its former tenants - tenants that were perfect tenants and stayed for a very long period of time for an apartment rental (almost four years), and tenants that paid on time. Anyone reading this complaint and considering doing business with this establishment should understand that being a good tenant, for an extended period of time, buys you nothing in the way of receiving proper and just customer service after your lease is over. How loyal and good long term tenants (like us) have been treated after leaving should make anyone think twice about all the business' claims about caring about providing a high level of customer service. In the end, if you leave, you will be treated as coldly as a person off the street. Additionally, after further review of our final bill, there are three items that require immediate adjustment and credit. First - we need credit for returned Mailbox keys: $25.00 (returned as discussed with the property's onsite manager on 8/7; 3 keys were in fact returned on 8/8). Second - we need credit for invalid billing of "living room blind damaged": $54.45. There was no damage to the blind itself. There *** have been a top piece that came off, but we cannot and will not pay for a blind when the blind itself had zero damage when we left the apartment Third - we need credit for invalid billing of "freezer door rail missing": $12.29. One of the shelf rails, given its advanced age, simply cracked and fell out one day. The rail itself was not missing - it was put inside the freezer, as it was. We cannot be responsible for prior wear and tear of the locations' equipment. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/08/18) */ It is unfortunate that Mr. ******** does not accept our response; however, we stand by our initial response. We feel we were fair and followed all necessary legal procedures. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/08/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The business continues to demonstrate a lack of professionalism, lack of common courtesy, and most seriously has not responded to billing for items that were in fact not damaged upon turning the units over. The final bill is not accurate - We will not pay for a blind that was not damaged to any real extent. The top cover that is installed at the top of the window - and not part of the blind itself - costs much less than the $54 they are charging on their final bill. If the final bill does not remove this charge, or greatly reduce it to reflect the actual costs to fix the cosmetic portion of the top of the blind area, we will sue in Small Claims court - for all items that the business is responsible for. A reasonable third party will not find in their favor.

5/23/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Manco Abbott uses deceptive tactics, refusing to refund deposits and using terminated contracts to force residents into paying. Manco Abbott failed to secure a valid lease contract after the previous contract had expired. They are making me responsible for charges for which they have no valid lease agreement. I went from a 7 month lease (terminated March 31, 2014) to what they term as a month-to-month lease. However, my obligation is based on the month-to-month lease that was never presented or requested to be completed by myself. I'm now responsible for a month's lease that I wasn't contracted for. I received an unsigned letter, threatening collects and court action should the balance not be forthcoming.

Desired Settlement: I made a good faith offer to pay a per diem of 10 days, my cleaning charges and my unpaid balance on my utilities, to which they declined. I plan to file small claim charges soon. Should the balance due become delinquent, I will pay the balance and ask the court to reimburse my losses.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/22) */ I have attached the actual portion of the lease in question number 4. TERM. This has been explained a couple of different times to Mr. ****** by two different associates. Mr. ****** did not vacate on March 31, 2014 when his lease expired, therefore as stated in the lease Mr. ****** signed, the tenancy then becomes month to month and the resident is required to give the landlord a written 30 days' notice of intent to vacate, which Mr. ****** failed to do. We are simply upholding the terms of the rental agreement, agreed to and signed by Mr. ******. Term: The term of this Agreement begins on 09/01/2013 and ends on 03/31/2014. A holding over after the expiration of the lease term will be presumed to be a month to month tenancy at the option of the landlord and the Resident will be responsible for a minimum of thirty days rent thereafter unless the Resident has given the landlord a 30-day Notice of Intent to Vacate at least thirty (30) days prior to the expiration of the lease advising that the Resident does not intend to remain in possession. Except as prohibited by law, that month-to-month tenancy may be terminated by the Owner/Agent by service upon the Resident a written 60-day notice of termination of tenancy. However Civil Code Section 1946.1 provides that "If any Resident has resided in the dwelling for less than one year", the Owner/Agent may terminate the tenancy by service upon the Resident of a written 30-day Notice of Intent to Vacate. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/05/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Manco Abbott, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)