BBB Accredited Business since

Management One

Additional Locations

Phone: (951) 924-4315 23846 Sunnymead Blvd STE 10, Moreno Valley, CA 92553 http://www.managementone.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Management One meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Management One include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Management One
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 11/28/1986 Business started locally: 11/28/1986 Business incorporated 11/28/1986 in
Business Management
Ron Sudman, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Cheri Thomas, President
Business Category

Property Management

Alternate Business Names
Sudman Enterprises, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1451 Rimpau Ave STE 200

    Corona, CA 92879

  • 23846 Sunnymead Blvd STE 10

    Moreno Valley, CA 92553 (951) 924-4315

  • PO Box 1196

    Moreno Valley, CA 92556

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Management One failed to fulfill promised services - properly listing the property, scheduling and showing the property, and honest/fair dealings. X-XX-XX: Signed contract & 1 photo taken 7-15: Returned a call about a time to take photos 7-16: M1 called to schedule showing for 1p on 7-21. 7-18: I advised of a problem with the property listing. One listing correctly identified the house as a 3 bedroom and provided 1 photo, but incorrectly listed the deposit as $239 instead of $2394. Deposit amount was corrected, but the property was incorrectly identified as a 2 bedroom. 7-21: They called at 12:57 to ask if I wanted to keep 1:30 appointment or would like to reschedule; I advised that appt was for 1p and I wanted to keep it. 7-21: M1 arrived at approx. 1:30 to take pictures, but said she did not really need to take any because she had some photos already from the internet. She indicated that she already had a couple of prospective tenants. She asked if I would be available the following day as she had a pre-qualified gentleman from my neighborhood. She provided personal information (unsolicited by me) on this prospective tenant (divorce, occupation, etc). 7-22: M1 called at 1:40p saying she tried reaching the interested tenant but no response. After 3p, a neighbor showed up saying he had an appointment scheduled to view the house at 3p. At 3:15, I called M1. After no answer, I decided to show my house. I called again at 4:23 -they said no appt was made. She first stated that he was not the person she was trying to schedule, but later said she canceled the appt because he could not document his income. 7-23, 9:52a: CEO returned my message from the previous day he said he would investigate concerns. 7-24, 11:38a: I received a follow-up call - he met with his staff on the issues raised. Photos appeared two weeks after signing the contract. 7-30, 11:15a: M1 called re: prospective tenant. She said she would check with the person and call back to confirm. No return call. 7-31, 9:08a: M1 called and left a message that she did not call the day before, because "our phones went down and we couldn't make any outgoing calls." 7-31: The rent was lowered by $50, even though the property was properly listed for less than a week (not 14 days, per the contract). X-X XX:XXa: M1 called to say she tried to schedule visits. Around 2p, a realtor showed up with a couple stating they had an appt. As with the prior unannounced visit, M1 did not answer until after showing the house. Again, M1 claimed there was no appointment scheduled. 8-7: I sent an email to M1/CEO stating I did not feel comfortable showing the house to unannounced appts. I received an email confirming that we would not be expected to show the house without notice. 8-11: I contacted the CEO re: the above poor business dealings and my interest in amicably dissolving the contract. I offered to walk away from our initial $349 payment for one month of "services rendered" in exchange for terminating the contract. 8-12: M1 acknowledged email and set a conference call for 8-18 8-18: On the call, I was asked to repeat my concerns to all parties (CEO & staff). CEO advised (in writing) he was confident we could reach an amicable and equitable solution. I reminded M1 (via email) that they requested a 48hr hold while we negotiated an amicable resolution. 8-18: M1s response was a 12-month "buyout" (at 70%) with no tenant in place for $1,474.20. 8-19: I countered to pay an additional $400 ($749 total) to compensate for 1 month of service (in excess of 3 mths of management fees). 8-20: M1 rejected my offer and phoned asking for a letter canceling the contract. I advised that I would cancel after 90 days, per the contract. 8-21: Our house was re-listed for rent. 8-24: M1 sent an email stating we forced them to place our property on hold again and threatened to send our account to their legal department for breach of contract. They cited a clause related to an owner refusing to move-out once they have a tenant and give us 30 days notice. Not only did M1 fail to give us a 30-day notice, they did not inquire about showing the property.

Desired Settlement: Refund $349 for failure to perform, as per the terms of the contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/08/30) */ Below is an outline of the conference call we had with Mr. ******. He is in breach of his contract which will be sent to you as additional information once this is submitted. Management One spent time and resources to market the property and had even taken an application for the property which was denied as they did not qualify for the property. Now due to Mr. ******'s plans changing He would like Management One to release him of the contract obligations. We offered a discount of 30% which he has denied. XXXXX Placid Hill- Conference call 08/18/XXXX X:XX a.m. Conference call with ***, the owner, ****** and me: *** advised owner to please give his version of the events and explain the reason for his dissatisfaction. Mr. ****** explained that the main problem is he does not trust the staff at the office. He mentioned the initial hiccups with the property listing like the issues with just one picture appearing on all ads, the amount of bedrooms being incorrect as well the amount for the security deposit. He then mentioned that his main issues are: 1) the unannounced showings, details in showings have led him to believe that ****** has not being truthful with him based on the amount of details the prospective residents showing up at his door have given him. 2) He feels like ****** just does not want to go out to the property to show it. 3) He feels like ****** has not been truthful about prospective residents since based on the people that have been out there to view his property. People that have been there were adamant about renting the property yet it is still not rented. *** advised him of the following: 1) timeline: we discussed the original issues with the listing of the home and rectified them in a timely manner. 2) making appointments: 1st person showing up unannounced filled up an app and got denied. *****: "****** said he never had an appt. with her, then changed her story." Confirmed by ****** in the meeting. He is upset that she keeps giving contradictory information. 3) issues with Leslie West (contradictory information): agent said she spoke to ******, and ****** said she never spoke to her. *** explained that this is an industry issue where agents are constantly showing up unannounced. Unfortunately it happens more often than it should. Even with ***'s explanation owner feels like he wouldn't trust what the agent would say now since he thinks she would be trying to save her professional relationship with us to get more referrals. He will go by what the agent told him the 1st time (when she showed up at the house) and the 2nd time (when he followed up with her via phone). Owner mentioned he is just generally unhappy and does not see it resolving due tot he trust issues. He is asking to find a way to end it, he does not feel happy or comfortable entrusting his property to us. He likes our systems, the way the system is set up and sees the potential, but unfortunately, he just does not trust the people in the office. *** explained that resource have been committed to service him and although we have made mistakes we have also made reasonable accommodations and adjustments to his requests therefore the money would be owed to management one. *** explained that closeout=buyout. In regards to the showings he explained that without hard evidence at this point it is heresay. Owner mentioned that he understands there are some people that may involve in unethical practices in the industry in regards to the showings but that is not normal business practices. He said that the information we have offered to him is either unreliable or lacking credit, in reference to the events that took place where M1 failed which is the reason for ending the business relationships. *** explained to him the buyout and the he will owe the full management agreement buyout, to which the owner requested that *** be satisfied with the $350.00 initial payment and if we are to charge him a full year he would like a detailed breakdown of how we have spent resources on his property. He also mentioned that upon his bad experience, he researched the company further and has found numerous bad reviews against M1, to which *** explained that it is unfortunate but negative reviews are always more common but that is soon to change. Mr. ****** explained that he feels cheated, like we just want to take him money and doesn't feel like we have earned it. To which *** explained that unfortunately, there is not enough evidence for him to approve waiving his management contract buyout. Owner feels like it is unfair that he has to pay for 1 yr of management fees and got 1 month of mistreatment in return. *** also explained to the owner that we would not call and owner until the property has rented, and that we have been currently working on getting rented every day, even after his letter. To this, the owner was appalled that we have continued to work on renting the property even though, as per him, that we might not even be able to move them in since he had given notice of wanting to end the business relationship, he feels like that is not ethical. He just wants to find middle ground and end it immediately. *** asked owner to submit to him an offer in writing and advised that the $350.00 offer is not ok, and it is not an option. Mr. ****** explained he does not want to continue negotiating, fighting, or the conversation for that matter. *** also clarified that an app is considered a renter as per his management agreement. *** advised that as per the owner's request, he will go over the account, study it and submit something to him in writing within 24 hrs. and recommended that the contract be terminated within those 24 hrs. with either a buyout or middle ground. Owner wants to take it off HOLD NOW! *** explained that we are not taking his money even though he feels like we have not earned it. *** will evaluate it tomorrow and it can come off hold by Thursday with either a mutual agreement or not to a buyout, for now it will remain on hold for 48hrs. Owner agreed to the 48hr. hold. As per ***, I will draft up cost owner breakdown, sent to *** for review and then it will be sent to the owner TODAY. After meeting ******, ***, and I went over the following lessons learned: 1) Data must go in correctly when entering a property ad. This is why we have GB, we MUST make sure all information in CORRECT and double check as a consumer. 2) We must be absolute when scheduling appointments, only advising owner when it is confirmed. 3) We must be very careful and watch what we say very carefully. 4) If we loose trust in the front end, then anything else we miss just adds to it. 5) Normally, we offer 20% off but we will offer him 30% off his buyout as of today. I will calculate his buyout today and include 30% discount. I will work n it today and sent to *** for approval. Hopefully have it send to owner today. I will also attach management agreement with page that states that an app=renter. 6) We have to constantly work on reviews. 7) ****** is to advise applicant that property is no longer available. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2015/09/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The Management One (M1) CEO now alleges that I am in breach of contract. This continues his unethical business practices in that it comes as a response to my allegation that his company breached the contract by failing to perform the management duties, as outlined in my email to the M1 CEO on 8/10/15. Despite contradictory and false statements of his leasing agent concerning unannounced showings and her failure to attend them (discussed via conference call on 8/18/15), he offered no alternative but more of the same. He stated "we aren't a perfect company" and described the complaints as hiccups and hearsay. I advised him that if I was being forced to deal with a leasing agent that was clearly unethical in her dealings, that I had no trust in his company. I advised that unannounced visits to my house were unacceptable, especially when there are times when my children are there alone. Though I did not discuss it at the time, my confidence in the company had been further shaken by the fact that I had done some research on M1 at the Bureau of Real Estate and found that their license had been previously revoked on multiple occasions (see http://www2.dre.ca.gov/PublicASP/pplinfo.asp?License_id=XXXXXXXX ), suspended on another (see http://www2.dre.ca.gov/PublicASP/displayonlinedocument.asp?filing=HXXXXXLA ), and is currently on a "Restricted" license. I advised the M1 CEO that I did not feel that they had lived up to the terms of the contract, but that I would be willing to walk away from the $349.00 I had paid ($99 for the listing, $250 for deposit) just to be done with the matter. He countered with a buyout provision in the contract (if I canceled the contract) of over $2,000. I informed him that this was unreasonable considering that in the span of 30 days, they could not list the property correctly for over half of that time, did not show up for a single property showing, and if their leasing agent were to be believed, they did not even schedule a showing. They were lowering the expected rent every week after the second week despite not showing up for interested tenants. They provided dishonest and contradictory explanations for having people show up on my doorstep unannounced, leaving me to show the house (something I was never trained to do, nor should I have to do if they are acting as my management company). I told him that I was willing to negotiate a reasonable settlement in this manner to avoid litigation. He indicated that he would look over everything and put something in writing to me in the next 48 hours in an effort to settle the matter, and asked that we put the property on hold for 48 hours while we negotiated a buyout. I received an "Owner Cost Breakdown for Account" from M1 via email on 8/18/15 offering a 30% reduction in their normal buyout, which would require me to pay an additional $1,224.20 to cancel the contract. This breakdown clearly indicates that the only costs the company has incurred on my behalf is $99 for the advertising of the property on the MLS, leaving a credit of $250 on my account. They cite a contract buyout of $1,474.20 based on contract language alone (not expenses), which is where their counteroffer originates. This is the same language that would pertain to a property for which his company had secured a tenant willing to sign a one year lease, but the owner failed to move out, causing the loss of a year's worth of management fees. In this case, with no tenant in waiting, there is no loss of management income to consider. On 8/20/15 at 9:33, I received a call from the M1 accounting rep (*******) indicating that the CEO decided that he could not accommodate my request for a settlement based on a counteroffer of $749 that I made to resolve the issue, even though their costs were only $99. In essence, their position was that I should pay them another $1,200+ on top of the $349 I had already paid them for a total of 30 days of botched listings and a pair of mismanaged and unaccompanied attempted showings. This was their offer, and I could take it or leave it. I indicated to her that I would not be complying with those terms. This phone call lasted one minute according to my cellphone record. ******* called me back immediately at 9:35 am and indicated that she needed me to put something in writing to them that would indicate that I wanted to cancel the contract. I told her that I would simply wait out the additional 60 days and cancel the contract then according to the 90-day cancellation provision in the contract (see section 5a). It did not make sense that I would pay additional money to cancel the contract when I felt they breached the contract, and when the contract language would allow me to cancel after 90 days without cost anyway. I instructed her to take the property off of hold and I would wait the additional 60 days to cancel. I told her that I was willing wait it out because they would not rent the property based on their track record. At no time during that conversation did we discuss showing the house or allowing access as this is not even her role with the company (****** handles that). This second conversation also lasted one minute according to my cellphone record. My logic was that if they were going to charge me basically the same fees that they would charge if I backed out after they secured a tenant, I might as well wait to see if they were unsuccessful after 60 additional days so that I could exit the contract without cost. On the basis of the second call, I received a letter from the CEO dated 8/24/15 claiming that in that conversation I breached the contract. This is the same CEO who thought that his leasing agent's missteps were of no consequence because they were "hearsay", even though they could clearly be corroborated by multiple uninterested parties. The letter alleges that I made a decision not to allow access to the property, breaching sections 9h, 9j, and 11b of the contract. The first error in this statement is that access could not have been prevented when the company, to this day, has never scheduled an appointment for any prospective tenant to view, let alone occupy the property. Secondly, the contract sections cited in their letter do not contain any language pertinent to the circumstances of this case: Section 9h refers to move in and move out dates once the property is rented, and gives the homeowner "0+30" days for the property to be ready for the tenant (that's 30 days AFTER the prospective tenant makes their deposit). Since they have not even shown the property, and thus have never established or communicated a move in or move out date, this section cannot apply. Section 9j requires the homeowner to keep utility and HOA bills current (which we have) and to give Management One "contact names, phone numbers, gate codes, pool keys and or any access keys at time of signing this agreement." When we signed the agreement with the CEO, he indicated that all he needed was the house key since we were still living in the house, and to this day our house key has not been returned. Section 11b outlines how the homeowner is "releasing the leasing rights to the property to Management One and occupancy rights to the resident / tenant and agrees to abide by all legal rights provided by law." It also prevents the homeowner from dealing directly with a tenant. Neither of these issues is pertinent since we never had a showing by the company, let alone any resident/tenant to speak of. Incidentally, their rental sign posted on our lawn was not removed until 9/2/15 (which was their decision - we made no request in this regard). The second phone call from ******* was obviously an attempt to bait me into canceling the contract in order to move into the "Liquidated Damages" provision of the contract. Since I refused to cancel ahead of the 90-day provision, M1 is now attempting to fabricate a basis for claiming that I am in breach of the contract based on "hearsay" that would not even breach any specific contract terms even if it were true (which it is not). In fact, there is no language in the contract regarding owner obligations to show the property prior to the owner moving out of said property. Rather than attempting a resolution by negotiating in good faith, M1's CEO is attempting to turn a contract that his company failed to honor into a collection debt he can pursue through litigation. His letter threatened us with legal action if I did not provide a written "lifting" of a verbal statement I did not make. M1's allegation of my "plans changing" are ridiculous. We had rental property in waiting in Orange County as of 7/23/15 contingent on our house renting (which we can document), which would have eliminated most of our 1-2 hour daily commutes. We have been forced to continue those commutes due to the ineptitude of M1 in the handling of our property. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/09/14) */ Management One feels we are justified in the request per the terms of the agreement. Due to Mr. ****** feeling differently we have no choice but to file a small claims suit and we will let a judge determine the outcome. Regards, Management One Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2015/09/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No resolution was proposed. The company is essentially saying "we're keeping your $349 - pay us an additional $1200+ even though we have failed to live up to the contract - pay or we'll sue you." As a consumer who feels defrauded, I have no choice but to defend my position in small claims court.

6/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged tenant for repairs and cleaning, yet repairs and cleaning weren't done upon initial move in. We are rented 1980 Olympia Fields property in Corona from May 2014 to April 2015 from Management One in Corona. Our complaint is that we were damages were deducted from our security deposit while we contend that the house was in cleaner and in better condition when we left than when we moved in, so we should not be charged for what really constitutes Management One's improvements. It did not appear cleaned and a number of minor things were broken: there was trash in the garage and under the stairs, a couple of lights were out, a doorstop had gone through a door, some paint was missing on a wall, and all the window blinds were very old and didn't work right. We never complained about the move-in condition and just took care of it ourselves. However upon move-out they deducted $1367.53 from our security deposit. They claim that this is for repairing doors, replacing window blinds, replacing lights, painting walls, and cleaning. While I these might be legitimate claims if they had brought the house up to that level before we moved in. But as it stands, the house was both cleaner and in significantly better condition when we moved out than when we moved in. So improving the ancient broken blinds and everything else they charged us for is just improvements or upgrades not damage that we incurred. When we moved in we just assumed that they didn't do much in repairs because of the state of the house. But if they also took money from the previous tenant before us, for repairs and cleaning that they apparently didn't do (based on the state of the house), this seems to me to be a fraudulent and dishonest business practice to squeeze a little more money out of out-going tenants.

Desired Settlement: The entire security deposit amount should be returned to us. If they kept the security deposit for the previous tenants, but did not use it for the repairs/cleaning that they stated they did (since the house was dirty when we moved in), they should also locate the previous tenants and return their money as well. As far as I'm concerned, taking the money and not performing the repairs/cleaning is an act of fraud.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/29) */ Management One takes video of the property inside and out before each resident moves in and when they move out. We are always happy to make and appointment with the residents if they dispute the deduction made. The refund letter stated that we require any dispute be put in writing and then we will review and set an appointment to go over things with them. They can also view the videos at the time. To date we have not received any dispute letter from **** **********. Since we received this claim we will be contacting him to set up an appointment to discuss and resolve the situation. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/06/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) After discussing with them and reviewing the videos it seems that most of the problem was that the previous inspection had been done by someone no longer at the company and he was much more lax in his inspection. Upon viewing the videos, I no longer feel like I was cheated intentionally. And they promised to reimburse a number of charges that we could either clearly see were broken when we got there as well as giving us the benefit of the doubt on some of the charges that weren't clearly documented by the previous inspection. For the record, I would like to dispute that their statement of "To date we have not received any dispute letter from **** **********," since I received an email saying "We reviewed your security deposit dispute letter...a letter was sent out to you explaining this on 05/22/2015". But I assume this was just a miscommunication internally at Management One.

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Would not fix problems with house. Never received association cards. Stopped payment on security deposit. We moved in March 2014. We had several issues that we brought to their attention, but was never fixed. We were told that we would receive access to the association and that we payed the fees through our rent. We never received access in the 13 months we lived there. We then received our security deposit in which they took money that we didn't feel was fair. We decided to just ignore that and deposited the check. They then put a stop payment on the check and we are messed over in our account now.

Desired Settlement: We want our full deposit of $2415 plus the $1000 we paid in association fees. We think this is fair due to all the havoc they have caused us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/05/08) */ If ******* ********* would like to contact me directly I will be happy to sit down and review her concerns. The refund check was reprocessed due to an error on the original one and a correct check was processed which Ms. ********* cashed on April 30th. Thank you, ***** ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2015/05/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes the check was reissued. Which I held onto for 4 days before I then had to take to their bank to cash. Which cost me an additional $10 not including all the fees I've been charged for an error they made. They stopped payment on the check and reissued it for a $30 mistake. It cost them more than to stop payment and reissue. It cost them $25 alone to stop payment. That doesn't include issuing another check, postage and man hours. All they had to do was bill us the additional $30. If this would have been me making a payment to them they would have required certified funds. They should do the same for the clients. This also doesn't include the money for the association that we never had access to. They assured us when we signed our lease that we were entitled to the benefits of the association and that the money for that was included in our rent. That was somewhere around $100 a month. They also never fixed a sliding glass door that I asked to be fixed 4 times. And I could go on. They caused lots if hardship on my family and I by pulling this stunt.

12/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Disagreement on refund On October 1, 2013, my husband and I lease the property at XXXXX ***************. Moreno valley. We made a security deposit of 1,620.We were told they take extra time to video the property before and after our occupancy, They do our move in/out inspection with us, and they do a 4 page written inspection after move out. On Aug. 6 2014, my husband was on his way out the front door when a letter fell on the ground. When he open it, it was a 60 day notice to quit. We took the letter to the office to find out why. We were told the property was sold. We moved out on Sept. 29. After we moved all of our things out, my husband and I clean the whole house. The only thing we didn't clean was the carpet in the living room. We took pictures of the whole house, and return the keys to them. we were never informed of a final inspection. On Oct.23 we received a check foe $1,046.00 and a breakdown of the charges they did. I sent a email to **** ***** inquiring about several items on the list. General cleaning, kitchen phone outlet bedroom touch up, stairwell painting, inside cabinets, for a total of $574.00. In speaking with the new owner, I learn they clean the carpet them self. I feel we were charge for something that was not done. In another email from **** I was told the property was sold as is. So if the property was sold as is why where we charge this amount?

Desired Settlement: We are seeking the $574.00 balance from management one, because there was no move out inspection, there were no 4 page written inspection and we were never informed of the inspection as stated in the letter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/10) */ After reviewing the file and talking to the resident it has been determined that a refund is due and a check is being sent out in the next couple of days. The situation is resolved. Thank you! Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/12/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am please with the outcome. Thanks to the BBB for their help.

12/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company refused to give me my refund on a rental property. They alleged things that were untrue and they deducted rent owed from my security deposit.As I am aware some rent was owed due to me packing and waiting for my new property be be completed. I was also made aware that past due rent is suppose to be billed not deducted from a security deposit.I took pictures of the property after I'd moved everything out and the things that they alleged are fully noticeable. The management's obligation to clean a rental property was not noted and all charges for work that was extremely minimal was placed on myself as the renter.I am demanding my refund $1,475.00 If this is not resolved timely, I will be seeking legal counsel.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund $1475.00 Security Deposit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/06) */ Management One video taped the property inside and out before the residents moved in to the property. Upon their move out we video taped the condition the residents left the property in and compared it to the video of the condition when they moved in. We then take into consideration of normal wear and tear and then determine if the resident should be charged for items they would be responsible per the terms of the rental agreement.The resident has the right to set an appointment with our office to view the videos to resolve any dispute. I have reached out to the resident via email to see if they would like to request an appointment with our office. I am awaiting for their response. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/12/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We will meet with the management company this week, however, they are incorrect and lack honesty. We have talked to several past tenants who have all stated the same things in regards to this management company. This has been the practice of this company and they have never utilized the laws provided according to wear and tear. Also, I am hoping that the videos are also date stamped.

8/11/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a 12 month lease which stated the rent is $1150 a month with a $1650 security deposit. The lease stated when the 12 months are over the lease will continue on a month to month basis. On July 30, 2014 I received a letter in the mail from the management company stating I now have two options regardng the lease. Option 1 is to continue on a month to month basis paying $1350 a month for rent or option 2 to sign another 12 month lease at $1300 a month rent. The letter stated a response is required by 8/15/14 or I will be defauted to the month to month rent option. The law states the rent cannot be increased more than 10% ($115) of the current rent ($1150) or more than $25 without 65 day notice.I called the rental office for clarification and I was told due to the recent appraisal the rent increase is coparable to others in the neighborhood. I informed the employee of the law and that a 65 day notice was required and she responded that if I dont want to abide by the terms of the new lease I can vacate the property upon 30 days notice.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like the management company to abide by the law and give a proper 65 day notice or reconsider the terms of the lease. If this cannot be done I would like a full refund of my security deposit as they have violated the terms of the lease as well as broke the law.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/07) */ We have contacted the resident that we will be sending them a 60 day notice for the increase of the rent. Management One will make the correction of sending out rent increases over 10% giving 60 day notice. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/08/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the response as it is law-abiding. However, the notice has not been received as of yet. 8/9/14

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to comply with California Department of Consumer Affairs requirements regarding a security deposit refund. Lack of information of deductions. I vacated the rental property, and turned in the keys on December 27th 2013. On January 21st 2014 I received an "itemized list of deductions" for my security deposit. The list was not furnished to me within 21 days, and did not contain invoices for repairs needed or time/cost statements for repairs needed. All of which is required by law. Per their rules I prepared a dispute in writing and mailed it to them, requesting the remainder of my security deposit because they failed to furnish me with the correct documents in the specified time frame. The remainder of contact was done via electronic mail in which ******* ********* will not directly respond to my complaints which include quotes from the Department of Consumer Affairs website regarding the requirements for an Itemized list of deductions. I am requesting the remainder of my security deposit, which is $852.18.

Desired Settlement: $852.18, the remainder of my security deposit owed to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/03) */ **** & *** ***** vacated the premises on 12/27/13 and Management One sent the security deposit breakdown and refund check on 1/16/2014 which is within the 21 days given by law. We received a letter from the *****'s disputing the deductions. We responded giving them the option to set an appointment with our office to go over the deductions and view the photos/videos we have of the property. The *****'s reponded with a letter to resolve the deductions not to come into the office. We reveiwed our files, photos and video of the property and determined that an additional refund is owed to them of $335.00. The refund was sent to them which they are in reciept of. The total to date deducted from their deposit is $517.18 which breaks down to $357.81 in cleaning/repairs and $159.37 which is an unpaid utility bill to the City of Corona which is the *****'s responsibility. Management One works hard to be fair to the residents as well as the owners as we are the middle man and we have obligations to both parties. We respect Mr. & Mrs. *****'s decision if they feel they need to take the next step and go to small claims court on this matter.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Management One
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)