This business is not BBB accredited.

J & W Management

Phone: (760) 568-0349 73 320 El Paseo, Palm Desert, CA 92260


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers property management services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J & W Management include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J & W Management
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 01/01/1977 Business started locally: 01/01/1977 Business incorporated 05/25/1984 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim McPherson
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim McPherson
Business Category

Property Management

Service Area
This business's service area covers Palm Desert and the surrounding areas.
Alternate Business Names
Coachella Valley Condo Management, Inc. J and W Management

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    73 320 El Paseo

    Palm Desert, CA 92260 (760) 568-0349

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/25/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: J & W Management is withholding access to common area facilities that were deemed part of our benefits of residency in Mission Pointe subdivision. They have been unresponsive to our complaint that tennis court access has been denied to an HOA member household. The locked facility was marketed to us as part of the resident's common area and facilities for enjoyment of member households. After contacting J & M Management, we were hung up on, thwarted by not receiving requested information, and generally mistreated by an organization and its oddly trained staff, that has the legal obligation to administer HOA rules and regulations fairly to the residents of Mission Pointe by contract. We requested keys for access several times and were told to contact someone other than the management group. Further, we have had several hostile incidents acted against our residence in recent months which they are aware of and did nothing to address. In addition to these grievances, J & W Management will not provide any information to remedy our concerns. We have been damaged by the misrepresentation that common area facilities were for the benefit of all residents of Mission Pointe and have been paying the obligatory $265 monthly HOA fee to ensure our benefits and compliance with the HOA. Our requests have been denied by in action. We formally request that this organization comply with the rules and regulations of the HOA agreement and fairly administer all benefits in compliance with California Homeowner Association laws. We hereby make a final request that our access to the facilities be granted by way of proper access keys to said facilities. Failing that request, we intend to file a suit to recover our losses under the contractual misrepresentations made to us with respect to common area facility access and enjoyment.

Desired Settlement: Receive proper access to common area facilities by way of properly working key (s).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/04/21) */ Mr. **** is a renter in the Common Interest Subdivision of 52 individual homes known as Mission Pointe H.O.A. J & W Management Co. does not deal directly with tenants of owners at Mission Pointe. All requests for common area keys or access must be directed to the landlord. As shown on the included documentation, Mr. **** was directed to contact his landlord for any keys to common area facilities. Regarding my employee hang up on Mr. ****, this was after him using abusive and foul language. I have instructed my employees not to tolerate type of behavior from anyone. I sincerely hope this solves this matter. Sincerely, *** ********* President Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2016/04/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Mr. ********* needs to know that the real estate agents are marketing homes under his HOA management with included access to tennis courts and exercise rooms as part of the benefits of renting a home in Mission Pointe. His actions and policies constitute a deception in marketing homes with included services whereby he directly obstructs access to the facilities that were to be included per tenant lease agreements. Further, the reputation of J&W Management is as foul as it gets for HOA management companies locally and I applaud the BBB to document his actions. California has no governing board for these renegade HOA companies, and homeowners and tenants alike pay the price for having such incompetent and ignorant operators like Mr. ********* with power in charge. We have been targeted and vandalize by a neighbor who is in collusion with Mr. *********. A full legal response is in the works to remedy the damages that were cause by his direct inaction to manage essential neighborhood behaviors and codes of conduct. I'm certain a judge will straighten him out succinctly.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on J & W Management
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)