BBB Accredited Business since

GSF Properties, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (559) 440-1974 Fax: (559) 440-0857 View Additional Phone Numbers 6485 N Palm Ave STE 101, Fresno, CA 93704

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that GSF Properties, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 6
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on GSF Properties, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 19, 1999 Business started: 10/01/1994 Business started locally: 10/01/1994 Business incorporated 07/21/1994 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd, Sacramento CA 95815
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
The number is 01183994.

Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd, Sacramento CA 95815
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
The number is 00704252.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. James Devany, President Mrs. Bonnie Allen, Prop Sup Ms. Claudia Conroy, District Supervisor Ms. Litha Dhillon, Property Supervisor Mr. William English, Prop Sup Ms. Brenda Franco, Corp. Sec. Ms. Debbie Lenox, Property Supervisor Ms. Audrey Lucaylucay, Property Supervisor Mr. Dan McCoy, Prop Sup
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Devany, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Brenda Franco, Corp. Sec.
Business Category

Property Management

Alternate Business Names
Golden State Financial Corporation Golden State Financial Properties Corporation

Additional Locations

  • 1160 Olivewood Dr

    Merced, CA 95348 (209) 724-3560

  • 5051 Ming Ave Apt 69

    Bakersfield, CA 93309

  • 6485 N Palm Ave STE 101

    Fresno, CA 93704


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/13/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I lived at laurel wood apartments four years and when I moved out I was charged $1630. My deposit was only $600. I lived at laurel wood apartments four years and when I moved out I was charged $1630. My deposit was only $600. The apartment was basically left in the same condition as when I moved in other than cleaning.

Desired Settlement: I would like to know why I was charged so much? I have never been charged more then my deposit at any apartment especially after living there for four years.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/05/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: 661.XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* BBB# XXXXXXXX In response to your complaint, the summary of move out charges was detailed and very thorough. The majority of the charges applied to your account were two fold. 1. You signed a 12 month lease that expired on 5/31/16 - in accordance with California law that lease is binding through its expiration. That means that regardless of when you vacate, you are responsible for the rent through the end of the lease OR the day in which we begin to collect rent from a new resident. You returned your keys on 3/28/16 and we re-rented the unit 4/22/16 - therefore you are responsible for rent through 4/22/16. This is 770.07 plus a late fee of 110.00 (10% of your monthly rent) 2. The remaining charges are clearly outlined in the invoices delivered to you in the form of a "revised move out statement" with clear direction on how to make a payment arrangement for the move out charges / balance owed. It further instructs you to contact our district office at 661.834.1498 if you should have any questions about your move out charges. Unfortunately we've not received any such communication from this customer. Customer is more than welcome to contact the office to discuss these charges if she disagrees with them. Disputed charges must be clearly defined; we will not be able to answer generalities or accusations, but only evidentiary disputes (ie photos/documentation that would prove contrary to the charge etc) . Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/05/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I wasn't disputing what I was charged for rent thru the end of my lease. I asked why I was being charged so much for repairs, paint, & other fees to get the apartment ready to rent. I haven't received a revised move out statement. Final Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2016/06/01) */ California law requires us to report your security disposition within 21 days. In order to meet that requirement, we have to prepare an estimate. Once we have all of our invoices, and the unit has been turned, we provide a revised statement. that will come with an invoice and indicative charges that we felt were your responsibility. If you dispute those, we would be happy to discuss those line byline. it is best to wait until we have that statement sent to you before we start discussing actual charges. Which we are happy to do. You can reach our main office at *************

3/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/2/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Discrepancy in billing over move-out from a GSF Property in Merced, CA. The move out statement provided by GSF was vague and incorrect in the amount owed by ****** ********* to GSF. Their claim is I owe 1025.14. I sent a letter along with and itemized statement claiming that I not only did not owe the money, but that GSF owed me. There was no response to my letter and statement and now I have been threatened with a notice of collection. I have made several calls to GSF speaking to ******* and ******* at the Fresno office. There has been no direct discussion about my account or balance, only the promise that someone from the Merced District office will return my calls. I have called on 10/111, 10/12, 10/13 and 10/14 with no return call to discuss my account. I understand that this is a business practice for GSF and resolving customer issues is secondary to making money. At this time I would like my account corrected and a refund check for my deposit sent immediately.

Desired Settlement: Refund my deposit and credit to the total of 960.00 Waive all charges for moving out since the unit was returned in better shape than when I moved in.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2016/01/22) */ Dear Better Business Bureau: This our response to the above complaint regarding Case ID#XXXXXXXX. The consumer gave a 30 day notice on 7/20/2015 and moved out of his unit on 8/20/15. The consumer was aware that he owed a prorated rent amount before his move out date. He did pay that amount but it was rejected due to insufficient funds. Move out was completed and charges were deducted for rent due and cleaning. The total amount due from the consumer is $683.34 (which is the prorated rent that he owed before move out.) As to the communication we have in good faith tried to contact this consumer and have left messages with no response. I have attached all documents regarding this matter. If you have any additional questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact me at the below mentioned phone number. Sincerely, ***** **********

1/4/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 3, 2015, I moved out of my apartment at **** ** ***** Ave ***** Fresno, CA XXXXX. The management company has failed to refund security deposit June 3, 2015 - Vacated Apartment at ********* ****** Performed initial inspection walk through with apartment representative. The only issue discussed was a "Kool Aid" stain on top of dishwasher. It was cleaned immediately. No other issues were discussed. On June 15th, I received a "Good Faith Estimate" letter stating my entire deposit was being kept and an additional charge was being levied. A response was immediately faxed that evening detailing the incorrect charges and why no deductions other than $84.29 glass repair should be deducted from security deposit. No response from GSF. On June 18th, another fax was sent demanding deposit and again detailing why the deductions were improper. In addition the fax detailed the Good Faith estimate did not meet the legal requirements and verbiage per CA law. Also, the vendor/company list attached did not include the address and phone numbers as required by law. Therefore, the estimate was an invalid response with the 21 days allowed by law to return a deposit or send an estimate. No response from GSF. Three phone calls were made from June 16 - June 19th to GSF and no messages were returned to discuss the charges and provide numerous photos of apartment taken on the day we vacated the apartment on June 3, 2015.. On June 22, a register letter was sent to GSF demanding the security deposit be sent to me no later than the end of they day of June 24th, 21 days after we officially vacated.. The company received/signed the letter with no response as of this complaint date. As required by law, GSF is required to resolve this issue legally and in good faith. They have failed in nearly every aspect of properly handling of my security deposit. The total GSF owes is $760.08. We have filed a small claims suit, but hope GSF **** comply or we **** seek damages and interest.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $760.08 immediately.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/07/23) */ California Civil Code Section 1950 par. G.3 clearly states that a good faith estimate of charges may be furnished to a vacating resident if the work in their unit will not be done within the 21 days. It goes further to say that, "If the reason for the estimate is because the documents from a person or entity providing services, materials, or supplies are not in the landlord's possession,the itemized statement shall include the name, address, and telephone number of the person or entity." In this case, the estimate was given, because we had not yet completed work, NOT because of not yet having the invoices. Therefore, the address of the vendor is not required. The estimated move out statement is therefore not defective. At this point, a revised move out with actual charges has been sent to the customer. It does not refund the entire deposit. There were substantial charges for painting and wall repairs due to the residents' damage to the walls. They made an effort to patch, but the patches were very poor quality and did not meet the standard for a rent ready apartment. This resulted in extra expense for sanding and repainting. There were further charges for disposal of furniture that the residents left by the dumpster area. All charges in the revised statement have invoices attached. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/07/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As we stated in a prior statement, the requirements of a good faith estimate were not met, in more than one circumstance. GSF Inc. may not add language to a statute that does not exist. No letter or partial deposit has been received by the business to date. However, we will not accept 100% of painting charges being applied against deposit due to the fact that the unit needed to be repainted as a matter of a normal course of business prior to the new tenant taking possession. However, a prorated share of painting cost may be reviewed for reasonableness and considered as this prorated methodology is common industry practice. Charges for sanding the wall prior to painting will be reviewed for reasonableness. Industry standard would be no more than 1.5 hours of labor for patching AND sanding. No actual patching was necessary, therefore even 1.5 hours would be excessive. No charges for furniture disposal will be accepted as a charge against security deposit. All items were packed into truck and moved. Once the documents are received by GSF Inc., we will respond accordingly. To restate, the documents that allegedly were sent prior to GSF Inc's July 23rd response have NOT been received. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 20, 2015/09/16) */ GSF Properties Inc. has failed to respond to our concerns that an exorbitant amount of money was deducted from our security deposit, as expected. It is unfortunate that the company has violated numerous sections of landlord/tenant law with regard to security deposit retention. My BBB complaint is to remain unresolved and ignored by the management company for other prospective tenants to see and be wary. Final Business Response /* (4000, 26, 2015/12/21) */ ***Document Attached*** The resident and management are at an impasse at this point. We reduced the original charges in our revised move out and did submit the revised move out statement and refund to the resident. Attached are photos of the walls in the apartment, highlighting the need for fixing the patchwork and the need for complete paint as charged. The attached move out statement shows invoices that were paid. The final move out statement did include an additional $50 due to the remove of the furniture disposal charge, resulting in the previously mentioned $123 refund. We did receive notice that the former resident filed a small claims suit, but that suit was subsequently dismissed. We feel that the charges are justified given the extremely poor condition of the unit when they vacated. Proper prorations were done to account for the time spent in the unit by the former residents.

8/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: GSF properties is charging tenants for things that should be paid for by them to get the apartment in live in condition!!!! I use to live at Sandpiper Point formerly known as Saint Doris. When Saint Doris was owned by Pacific Living I had no complaints what so ever. It is until they moved in that problems started. Maintenance went down hill on property and just to have someone go fix something in your apartment it took at least a week unless you kept calling and complaining about it. We moved out and when we did the apartment was in great condition after living there for three years. I made sure to clean EVERYTHING. The apartment did NOT require any cleaning besides the carpet. Which in reality should have been changed not cleaned because it was VERY old. We had a deposit of a TOTAL of $497.50 Which was different from what they provided on the paper to us. They claimed the previous company ONLY showed a deposit of $446. I went into the office and provided Samara with proof of all my money orders. The inital one for $100 to hold the apartment, second one for the remaining $347.50 and a third one for $50 once we found out we needed to pay an extra $50 for a second gate key. ****** made copies of all my money orders and said she would show them to her supervisor. I tried contacting ******* ***** the "manager" she clearly she does not live up to her position in the office because she never made herself available!!! I gave up trying to get an answer from ****** because she never returned my phone calls concerning the deposit credit I should receive. I called the main GSF property office for weeks, and I have record of that. No one returned my calls until I wouldnt stop calling last week. I spoke to **** who said my money orders "didnt prove anything", her exact words, and they werent going to give me credit for the $50 for the key even after they had documentation I TURNED IN the key and had PROOF I paid for it. If you return the key you are suppose to get your $50 back!!! I called the previous company who owned it, Pacific Living, and the only thing they could do was recommend for me to make a complaint on here. On top of refusing to give me those $50 back they charged me for things they are liable to in order to make the apartment ready for the next tenants. They charged me to paint the whole apartment, which here was nothing wrong with it. They then charged me down to the painting supplies...paint brushes, everything! They charged me to clean the apartment which I already mentioned was CLEAN and anything like the windows and blinds THEY should be responsible for! They even charged me to wax the floors which should not be my responsibility! If anything the tiles everywhere needed to be changed because they were lifting up, something else I complained about several times and they NEVER fixed! They also charged me for the sink stoppers and the stove top drippers because they looked "used" and needed to put new ones for the next tenants. GSP properties are thieves and find EVERYTHING possible to charge you for if you dont have any damages to your apartment in order for them not to return your deposit! In my case they're thieves because I CLEARLY PROVIDED DOCUMENTATION FOR THE $50 FOR THE KEY I DIDNT GET CREDIT FOR, BUT TURNED IN. ON TOP OF THAT I STILL PAID $229 AS A "FINAL ****". I RECOMMEND EVERYONE WHO IS RENTING FOR THIS COMPANY TO BE PREPARED FOR THEIR MONEY TO BE STOLLEN AND REDICULOUS CHARGES BE ADDED TO YOUR MOVE OUT ****.


Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/07/23) */ GSF Properties has had conversations with Ms. ******* and made changes to her move out statement. We recognized the amounts shown as deposits and have refunded her the $50 paid for the gate card. Additionally, we have reduced cleaning charges by $25. $75 was refunded to Ms. ******* on The $229 she had originally paid.

6/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes



Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/21) */ Good morning, Can you reach out to **** ***** and ask what property he lived out? I did a company search and his name did not come up. In order to better serve his complaint I need to know the complex name. Sincerely, ****** D. ****** Payroll Supervisor Corporate Secretary GSF Properties Inc. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) WE LIVED AT PALM MISSION VILLAGE APARTMENTS - **** N **** AVE ***** FRESNO XXXXX.LEASE WAS UNDER **** ***** AND ****** ************ Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 16, 2015/05/28) */ We recently experienced a death in the family which has delayed our response to the company's latest statements. However, we do not consider this matter resolved. We received a phone call from GSF Properties on 5/26/15 continuing to threaten us with collections unless we pay $400 immediately. Given the fact that we initially expected a refund for at least a portion of the $1,060 deposit, not a bill, this action is still unacceptable. We spent a considerable amount of time and effort cleaning the apartment according to the standards outlined in the "checklist" referenced in GSF's response. We have both eye witnesses and photographs that show the apartment thoroughly cleaned upon our departure. At NO TIME after giving our 30 day notice, or even upon returning keys to management in person, were we offered the opportunity to be present for the move-out inspection. We advised GSF on the phone yesterday that we still dispute this situation not only due to the fact that we fully cleaned the apartment, but that their "urine analysis" seems to have been exaggerated or fabricated to allow GSF to charge us for full carpet replacement when it was not necessary. We again advised them that the diagram shows "urine stains" in areas where the dog never had access during our stay. The only areas in need of replacement due to minor pet damage (holes in carpet, not urine) were in the living room area, which could have been taken care of at a much more reasonable cost. Although we truly believe that we are due a refund in this case, we have made the decision that we will consider this matter resolved if GSF removes any charges in excess of our security / pet deposits (totaling $1,060) which is more than enough to cover the full carpet replacement. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2015/06/05) */ On March 24th, we mailed a revised move out statement with a cover letter clearly stating your options. Unfortunately your lack of response to our inquiry of payment went unheeded and therefore your account was promptly sent to our collections advisor CMR. We are sincerely sorry for you recent loss. We have contacted CMR and asked them to hold the account until we can satisfy your BBB complaint. In as much as we would like to remove the charges for the carpet damage, we simply cannot impose that cost on an owner that did not themselves damage the carpet in the unit. In your own words, there is damage to the apartment's carpet and further you agree that a portion of this carpet is your charge. We appreciate your willingness to accept responsibility. Let me go further to explain why we can't simply remove the charges or reduce them to your liking. We cannot simply replace a piece of carpet here and there throughout an apartment. While this may be cost effective, it simply isn't fair to the next incoming resident (you were once in that position). Would you rent a "patch work" carpet? More specifically under California law, we are protected just as you are. In section 1950 you will find various citing about normal wear and tear. Pet damage is not normal wear and tear. The section goes on to state that you are to return the apartment to us in the same condition that you received it. In this case you weren't able to do that because of the pet damage. It is also notable that you did have the opportunity to be present for the move-out inspection. The management office was open the day you moved out and the manager did contact you before she closed the office to ask, if you were ready for walk-thru? You said you were not completely done moving yet and that you will drop off the keys in the 24 hour drop box. Once you drop off the keys in the drop box, you have now given possession of the unit to the owner/agent. On Monday when the manager opened the office, she found the keys and there was no note with the keys saying that you wanted to be present for the inspection, so the manager did the walk-thru on March 2, 2015 (Monday). In summary, we will not be able to settle the account per your request however we did previously reduce the balance owed by 66.89. Your new balance due and owing is $399.00

5/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The managers are untimely with repairs, some repairs are subpar or not repaired at all. **** Herera was the manager when I signed my lease in December 2013. ***** is became manager last month. when I signed my lease, *** stated that a hole in the wall from previous tennent would be repaired, it has not been repaired, shortly after moving in I noted that the oven was malfunctioning, I was unable to use e oven, a year later it was finally replaced. There is mildew in the master bath/bed, despite airing the room daily, both managers have been notified of this. The master shower door is rusty and needs to be replaced. The shower kits in both bathrooms are worn and need to be replaced. The linoleum is torn, worn and needs to be replaced. I do not use the dishwasher because of pre-existing rust spots. It smells bad and is unsafe, both managers have been notified about this. The plumbing is poor. The toilets are often backed up. Last month the 2nd bathroom toilet was inoperable, so a plumber had to use a snake, which resulted in a scratched, rusty, disgusting looking toilet bowl. There is also a horrible pest problem during summer. After one year the carpet is to be cleaned as a courtesy to the tennent, it has not been done, I have cleaned the carpets myself previously. Truthfully, the carpet needs to be replaced. Correspondence is poor with the managers, they *** not answer the phone, they do not call back like hey are supposed to. The office is often closed during the work day even though managers live on site. Now the drop box for the front door of the management office is blocked by a security gate, so no rent payments or written correspondence from tenets ca be dropped off securely when management is away from the office.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the proper repairs for the apartment unit. The linoleum needs to be replaced, at a mini the carpet needs to be cleaned again or replaced. The shower kits need to be replaced, the 2nd bathroom toilet need to be replaced. The master shower door needs t be replaced, the mildew needs to be removed. The dishwasher needs to be replaced. The dishwasher needs to be replaced. The hole in the hallway still needs to be repaired.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/09) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ******* Resident resides at Westridge Garden Apartments. After we received the complaint, we made contact with the resident and have scheduled an appointment to meet with her to walk her apartment and visualize her stated concerns. Our appointment with 4/10/15 at 9:00am. If the customer has issues with her apartment in the future, she *** contact the management company directly at ************* We also take emergency (after hours ) calls at this same number. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The master bathroom shower has been recoated. The shower door is still rusty, the mildew on the ceiling has been cleaned or repainted. However, the bathroom fan was discovered to be faulty and repaired. The rust in hall bath tub was noted but the bath tub was not recoated. A preexisting hole in the hallway was patched. Maintenance tried to replace the rusty dishwasher racks, the new dish racks did not fit. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/05/07) */ I have attempted to reach ****** ******* by telephone on several occasions and left a message on her voice mail to discuss her dissatifaction with repairs we have made to her unit. The wall has been repaired, the shower has been resurfaced, the exhaust fan has been repaired and the mildew on the wall has been cleaned and wall re-painted.I am not sure whay Ms. ******* is contacting BBB instead of the Leasing office or Management company for maintenance repairs. If she is still not satisfied with repairs or if there are any new items she would like to discus, she *** call the Property manager at XXX-XXX-XXXX or myself at the district office XXX-XXX-XXXX. **** Gardea-Property Supervisor

1/7/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint involves many problems regarding the promises and conditions of the apartment I rented from GSF Properties. The property in question is the Bear Creek Manor Apartments in Merced, CA. Upon moving into the apartment complex I began discussing the issues both verbally and via email, I had with ******* ******* the complex manager, the issues I had concerns with are gaps in the bottom of the sliding doors and the sliders not working. There was also an issue with the neighbors dog being a nuisance by continually barking at all hours of the night. The dog to date is still here an barking. I have been told this would be taken care of and it has not. The problem with the sliding doors reached its peak in around September. The cockroaches and black widows and bugs were entering the apartment on a constant basis. It became so bad I was forced to buy my own bug spray in order to combat the onslaught of hazardous bugs. The bug problem became a larger issue when moths entered my clothes closet through the gap to the outside in the closet floor. The fix offered by Joselyn was to put mothballs at my doorstep and expect me to eradicate the moths on my own. The moths ate and destroyed approximately 1100 dollars worth of my clothes thanks to my quick action and expense to eliminate them. Not only were the materials expensive but it also took a considerable amount of time. I was in constant contact with Joselyn regarding the issues with no resolve. I have tried to contact the management and spoke with the assistant manager ***** who listened but has not been effective. I have also tried to contact the owner of the apartments ***** Wainwright-Bloed and she has not returned my calls either. I can only say this is the short version of all of the problems with this apartment complex. The promises made and broken were nothing short of shady. I would not have moved in here had I known how poor the conditions were and how ineffective the management is at resolving issues.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like full reimbursement for my clothes - I would like a free months rentI want a written letter of apology and release from my lease and a full refund on my deposit should I choose to leave early.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/12/29) */ As of November 5th, 2014; 1. was aware of the situation with said tenant. We have sent in pest control, maintenance, and a contractor to address all issues, He was not happy with the quality of the service that was provided. We have also offered to place moth balls but said tenant has refused. We have also offered to release said tenant out of his contract with no penalties and with a full refund of his security deposit. There **** be compensation, at this time we are just waiting to find out what that is. ***** ****** Assistant Supervisor GSF Properties Office: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Fax: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/12/30) */ I did receive an email from them directly today offering me 300.00 dollars for my troubles regarding this matter. I am not willing to accept either offer that they have tabled at this point. I am out a considerable amount of money for my clothes, not to mention my time and work in cleaning up a mess they allowed to happen. They property manager let this situation get out of hand by her lack of response to me and hoping that I would go away. I would like to see if they are willing to increase the offer closer to my request. Otherwise I **** close the case unsatisfactorily and take this to small claims court. I was made many promises upon signing a contract to move in here and very few have been kept by GSF. Since they do not want to fulfill the promises made by the property manager I would like compensation for all of my losses, work and out of pocket expenses. If you have any questions regarding my response please feel free to contact me. Best regards, *** ********* Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/01/02) */ Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2015/01/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While the 300 dollar credit to my account is a start to resolving the problems created by GSF Properties, it is not near enough to replace the clothes lost by the neglect of GSF Properties. Yes, the situation has been resolved for the most part, but this is not because of any actions done by GSF. The situation has been resolved because I took so much time and effort and continued to complain to GSF that there was a problem. I watched the property manager close open work orders for my apartment saying that the problem was resolved with NO work being done. I **** not stand by and take a small credit for 300 dollars when over 1000.00 dollars of my clothes were destroyed due to negligence. I am not asking for any other work to be done (all of which was promised by the property manager, such as new appliances and countertops) I am only asking that my possessions be replaced. The mothballs dropped off at my doorstep also do not work in eliminating moths and had someone from GSF done their homework PRIOR to brining them here this would have been known. In order to eliminate moths, there is several steps that need to be done BEFORE installing a moth deterrent. I stand by my demand for the FULL amount otherwise I **** take the credit as a partial payment and either request mediation or litigate through small claims. Best regards, *** *********

12/2/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the month of September 2014 my wife and I went to the "The Beechwood Apartment" and met with the manager at the complex ******* showed us a unit up for rent; we declined the unit as it was too soon for us to move. At that time we took the application and return the application and the none refundable forty dollars to run our credit check. later that next week we were told we were approved. Within a week ******* called and told if we wanted to put a deposit down for a unit that had became vacant that would be available in December 2014. We rushed over and put a deposit of $100.00 for apartment #153. For the next few weeks we drop in and bring addition payment for securing the unit #153 for the total amount of $140.00. At the last meeting ******* assured my wife that unit #153 was ours and on that date 10/13/2014 my wife wrote a check $200.00. We had now paid $440.00 for unit #153, all checks were accepted for #153. No one called us to that owners of the property insisted that our unit be rented out. We called after our return from vacation and after three attempts to talk to ******* she finally return call to my wife with this news. How could they do this to us, IS THIS LEGAL it sure isn't right.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund ******* told me that is would be three weeks to get our $440.00 back. We want our money NOW we need the money for a down to a new place. What poor business management practice, we a good honest people and we only wanted to be treated with dignity and respect. Shame on Management team.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/21) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** - Property Sup Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ex 18 Contact Email: ****** Mr and Mrs ***** did place a holding deposit back in September. Our site Manager, ******* placed it as a holding deposit for a future unit. We do not hold units vacant for 2/3 months. Our policy is to hold for up to two week's after rent ready. The intention was for the next available unit in this applicants time frame to be held for them, however, one in their preference did not come available. The Manager did fail to explain the floating deposit to the applicant. When the ***** cancelled their deposit and did not want to wait for another unit, the Manager felt really bad for the error and expedited processing the return of their security deposit in order to provide excellent customer service, and so they could have the money to place their deposit on another unit elsewhere. The refund check was on the Manager's desk first thing this morning - ******* contacted the ***** who were scheduled to pick up their check today.(prior to this complaint being received)

10/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
8/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing this complaint against GSF Properties,/Palm Mesa Apartments for the refund of my security deposit. I moved out on March 31, 2014. I was a resident for 12 years. Prior to moving out I asked the manager what I needed to do to get a refund. At that time she stated I would not be responsible for painting do to length of time I lived there. The apartment was cleaned and in good repair no worse than when I moved in except for 12 years of normal wear and tear. On April 11 I received an estimate move out statement $150 for apt. cleaning, $175 carpet cleaning, $75 for repairs/parts/labor. Totaling $400. It continued to state total charges $700 no refund to resident. On April 11 I called GSF office and was transferred to supervisor for Palm Mesa I left message with questions. I followed up on APRIL 16 with a letter. On APRIL 21 I received a call from manager at Palm Mesa explaining I received an estimate and that all invoices had come in and my refund was $95. I called back same day APRIL 21 left message requesting copies of revised statement and invoices. I heard nothing. On MAY 6 I sent a letter to GSF offices requesting invoices and statement. I heard nothing. I called on MAY 12 was transferred to supervisor and I left message regarding requests. On MAY 16 I received in the mail documents and refund of $210.40. The statement indicated that I was being charged $120 for apt. cleaning (NO INVOICE TO EXPLAIN WHAT I WAS BEING CHARGED FOR) $200 for painting, $100 paint supplies, $40 carpet cleaning, $5.75 parts/repairs, $23.75 repairs/labors. On MAY 17 I sent a letter to GSF requesting the refund of $300 for painting costs. (LETTER WAS RECEIVED ON May 19 certified mail) I do not feel I should be responsible for the painting. Based on conversation with manager, length of time in apartment, and I did not cause any damage to walls. I have not heard anything from company/affiliates. I believe this company has acted in poor faith regarding my refund.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Due to the fact that it has been two months since I moved out and I feel I have been put off and miss informed. I am asking for the entire balance of the $700 security deposit. $489.60.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/04) */ ********* has been a great resident of Palm Mesa.I'm apologize for not being able to attend her call on May 12th because I was on vacation from 5/12 -5/19/14. After I returned from vacation on May 20th I received her message and it was in a very angry voice and was very difficult understand. However, I tried calling the number she left, but it was a wrong number. The first M/O statement she received was a good faith estimate and 2nd was the revised move-out, which had actual copies of the invoices that were attached the statement. Our normal process is that we keep all originals invoices and the resident gets a copy. After reviewing the revised M/O statement, I have removed the paint charges. So, ********* should be receiving the 2nd revised M/O statement that is being processed by our Accounting Department and it will be going out in few days. Should you have questions and/or concerns after you receive the 2nd revised move out statement, please contact me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX ext. 14. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

3/31/2014 Delivery Issues
3/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: GSF properties lost my leasing contract. I paid a 500 dollar deposit but since they lost the contract, they **** not refund my deposit. GSF properties purchased an apartment complex, Villa Sienna. The apartment complex is at 6900 Valleyview Drive Bakersfield, CA XXXXX Since GSF properties purchased Villa Sienna complex, they have lost the original contract which I signed. I signed a 1 year contract from June 1st of 2010 to *** 31st of 2011. Then every renewal, I had to sign another contract. I moved out on June 30, 2013. When I moved into the apartment, they had me sign a contract which includes 500 dollar deposit. When I moved out, they lost the original lease. They now also have us paying for the cleaning of the apartment, how is due at $376.60. I also believe that the cleaning was over charged and wants to be disputed. Since we have lived there 3 years, they cannot charge us for the carpet cleaning and other activities. Since then, they have been harassing us for saying we did not have a deposit, and they we have to pay for the cleaning cost of the apartment. They sent us threatening letters that if we did not pay, it would be sent to the collecting agency. However, the apartment complex has changed hands a few times. It was owned by Pinnacle and AMC company. It is the GSF Properties to bear the responsibilities since they purchased all the holdings of the apartment.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for the 500 dollars deposit back and to decrease the cleaning.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/27) */ GSF Properties is merely the managing agent of the complex. we act on behalf of the owners. The owners were provided proper documentation from the prior owners (through purchase escrow) the amount of each deposit the prior owners had on file at the time of the sale) July 2011. those deposits are transferred to the new owners upon close of escrow. In the closing documents, there are no records of receipt of a 500.00 security deposit from this resident. The prior owner **** have to account for the security deposit and the resident has been advised that we would entertain their evidence of payment of said deposit if they could show records of the same. I can be reached for comment or discussion on the matter at 661.834.1498 - Kristi Reinke district Manager, GSF Properties Inc.

10/30/2013 Delivery Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on GSF Properties, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart