BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/14/2009

David S. Siegel & Co, Inc.

Phone: (559) 438-0733Fax: (559) 432-0504

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Oak Tree Apartments owned by *****. Siegal & Co, Inc. is refusing to pay back the amount of $275 which I payed on 2/2/14 torwards 3/2014 rent.
On,February 21, 2014, I paid $275 towrds my March 2014 rent. I moved out of Oak Tree Apartments on February 28, 2014. Leaving me with the credit of $275 and a deposit of $650 which was paid when I moved in on July 1, 2012. I asked for the rent credit money to be refunded and both Oak Tree Apartments manager ***** and ***** of David S. Siegal & Co, Inc., have continued to deny my request. I have been given the run around since the first time I requested my refund. Now I have been told that they are keeping my credited rent for March for any damages to the unit, even though a deposit of $650 was paid for that purpose. In a recent phone call with ***** of David S. Siegal & Co, Inc. on March 3, she stated to me that she can keep all of the deposit and credited money because it has to stay with the unit. I have repeadily asked for the $275 to be refuned and the apartment manager and the ***** from Segal keep making up differnt execuses as to why I cannot receive my full refund for the money I put towards the March 2014 rent.I hope that you can help me resolve this issue. Thank You

Desired Settlement
FUll refund for the $275 paid towards March 2014 rent.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ************ Super.
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXXx24
Contact Email: ********@siegelandco.com
Mindy's response to *********** *******'s complaint to BBB:

On 2/25/14 ********* called me stating she overpaid her rent on 2/21/14 for March in the amount of $275 but has decided to move and wants her money now. I stated to Ms. ******* that we cannot just give her the money back and that it has been recorded on her account and stays with the unit through the tenancy. Once the tenancy is terminated we will produce a statement of deposit showing all credits and debits and forward that to her. The call ended.

On 3/3/14 I received a call from Ms. ******* stating she just did a walk through with the apartment manager at Oak Tree and did not agree with all the charges and wants her overpayment of rent back immediately. I again explained to Ms. ******* that the credit will stay with the unit through the tenancy and will be reflected on the statement of disposition which can now be processed since she vacated the unit on 2/28/14. I clarified with her that at that moment, there were no charges yet determined or approved, it was just a walk-through of the unit and ***** (the on-site apartment manager) would put together a statement of deposit reflecting the credits and any appropriate charges. Once she put that together it would be sent to me for review and approval. I let Ms. ******* know that by CA State law we have 21 days to get the statement to her but would do our best to complete it more quickly. She stated it was illegal and was going to take us to court. I told her to do what she feels she needs to do, but we will do our best to complete the statement sooner. I also informed her to make sure ***** had her correct forwarding address so the statement can be sent to her properly. The call ended.

On 3/10/14 I received the Statement of Deposit Disposition from ***** with all the appropriate credits and charges. I did make some changes and Ms. *******'s refund in the amount of $373.38 (our check ****** was mailed to her on March 11, well within our 21-day guideline set forth by the State of California.

If you require any more paperwork such as ledgers or the Statement of Deposit Dispostion, please contact us directly.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.