BBB Accredited Business since

Capital Development Realty Services

Additional Locations

Phone: (760) 243-4406 Fax: (760) 243-4407 13849 Amargosa Road Suite 101, Victorville, CA 92392 http://www.mycdrs.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Full service real estate sales & listings and property management & leasing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Capital Development Realty Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Capital Development Realty Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Capital Development Realty Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 04/17/2001 Business started locally: 04/17/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Consumer Affairs -State of California
1625 N Market Blvd Ste N-112, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.dca.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 01220106.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Leah Christensen, Broker
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Leah Christensen, Broker
Business Category

Property Management Home Repair & Maintenance Real Estate

Service Area
Southern California & High Desert Areas

Additional Locations

  • 13849 Amargosa Road Suite 101

    Victorville, CA 92392 (760) 243-4406

  • PO Box 991

    Adelanto, CA 92301

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Move out deposit fraud I moved out of my previous address,I did a walk through and things were added after I signed and left but none of my deposit was returned. I overpaid rent for November and December of 2014 and other months before and I had a credit of $451.00 after paying my portion of what should of been taken which was $158.00 I had a balance of $298.00, I asked for my overpaid rent to be returned and I was told No, I filed a complaint with fair housing, Housing Authority notified them in writing that my rent was $79.00 and that they issued a check for them for rent I had already paid, they sent fair housing a letter or email that it's there policy to keep the money and credit it to my account for rent until I move and rent the overpaid rent, Once their property failed inspection and my lease was up the following month, they choose to give me a late fee even though they had my money already for rent from the overpayment, they used $79.00 of my money December but withheld using my funds for January 2015, I shows on my move out I had the credit and still charged me a late fee of $67.50 even though they used my money to pay the rent, 2nd they said they used my deposit to clean and take out 8 nails and fill in the holes and they said it cost them $185.00 and I paid for a house cleaner already and turned in receipts and I also lived there over 2 years and that falls under wear and tear, This place was move in ready and I also have pictures and receipts, also, I was charged $165.00 for a window with a bb hole in it and it was 3 windows like that and it was done from the outside it clearly shows, I didn't get a bb gun and decieded to borrow a bb gun and shoot a livingroom window and kitchen and upstairs window out, They said they replaced the upstairs window for $165.36, They put the house up for sale as soon as I moved out and had me fund for the final touches to put the home up for sale, I have pics of the windows to show it was other bb shots in the window and the windows were shattered in those spots, the neighbors will tell that those were from the previous family before I even moved in. last they say I owe full rents for Feburary, I had section 8 and this house was being ran through a agency for someone, I was told by Inland Fair Housing and Housing Authourity what my portion was until I moved out, I was set to move in December and one of the ladies from the agency came to do a walk through and seen I was moving at the end of December and Said you don't need to move now you have until Feb and you never know the Owner my deciede to make to repairs and I said we both no nothing will be done, Housing Noified them in December that there payment will end in January, I was never sent this same letter nor notified that payment will end January and if I stayed until Feburary when my 90 days was up and lease was I was liable for the complete rent, I already was set to leave at the end of December, I even forwarded my mail in December because I planned to be out during Christmas Break when it was easiest on my kids to move, In know way would I had stayed and lose my $1000.00, I did everything beliveing I should have my full refund back, I paid on time every month and as I said overpaid thourough out the 2 year period and never did they tell me, I had to find out on my own, Never did they notify me in December about the changes, Nor January did they send me notice that they were charging me for late fees because I would of sent notifacation as I always do that they had my rent already, nor did they ever notify me in feburary that I was late on my rent, never a 3 day pay of quit or saying anything at the walk out, this was all done in retalition because of all the constent disagreements about how this company handled their business illegally, Fair Housing looked at my lease and said most of my lease is illegal and wouldn't stand up in court because their just making up their own laws not the states laws. I fee this left out all this on purpose for the $

Desired Settlement: I'm seeking my full refund of $1000.00, this company fraudulently made up charges to keep my rent, and they know I have my pictures and emails and receipts, the company did the walk through but Masek Consulting Services Solo 401k Trust is the company that they worked for and the owner is F.******* Masek and phone number (XXX)XXX-XXXX, I tried to write him and notify him of the practiced of this company in December when the place fail again for the 2nd time in 3 weeks, he refused to sign for the letter 3 times in over a month's time and it was returned saying they tried 3 times to get him to sign, I finally got a hold of him once I received the move out letter and he was very nasty, So I told him we will have to go to court, he told me I was the scam artist, I told him does a scam artist pay there rent on time and clean the home and pay cleaner and carpet companies to clean and do a walk through and leave the home cleaner than what it was when I moved in, he said that was the property management job not his and I had to pay for someone to clean the home the day I moved in and was told that would be credited and once I sent in receipts and things they asked for was told they weren't going to credit me and they also left washer and dryer there and I had my own, it said if I didn't want them they would remove them, Once they removed them and I realized I overpaid rent and asked for that back, they said they were charging for removal of the washer and dryer months after it was done only after I started to constantly complain about all the problems and lies they have told since the day I took possession of the keys, I told them that was also illegal and no where in my lease does it say it's a fee to remove something that wasn't mine and says if I didn't want to use them they will take, they never answer the phone, you wait for days and you end up have to go in, and there's never anyone in their, they just don't want to deal with anyone because of everything they do to people, I went on the internet and there on many of people on yelp and y.p making complaints against this company and the same things that has happened to me has happen to everyone else, the same exact thing and it has been happening for years, I just think people didn't know to come here to make a complaint

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/26) */ All tenants (including this tenant) are informed in writing on their rental contract, a follow-up after move-in letter, and all move out correspondences, that our company is not liable or responsible for security deposits and we do not hold any security deposits and that their landlord is the responsible party for security deposits. There are no made up charges against this tenant. This tenant was present at the move out inspection and she signed the inspection that there was a broken window and that the premises needed some cleaning and that there were nail holes in the walls. Additionally, the tenant stayed a month past the Section 8 cancellation making her liable for the full month's rent that she stayed past the Section 8 cancellation. All of this was explained to her on the required 21-day letter that was mailed to her within the time requirement. Her complaint has been submitted to the landlord or record on her behalf and the landlord stands by the charges against the tenant's deposit based on the reasons already stated above. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The landlord says it is there job, I never signed to a bb hole in a window, it was put on a the paper along with a few other things, The window wasn't broken it was shattered a little just like the other's in the kitchen and living room which I have pictures of and neighbors to testify were there from previous owners/tenants and I can't be held responsible for something someone did from the outside, I don't own a bb gun for one and I defiantly didn't decide to shoot up the whole house and still take care of the home and clean it up, common sense, Once again, if they read the California law for what they can charge for , you can't charge for cleaning when the home is left clean and a receipt for cleaning was given and if the tenant has lived there for over 2 years, you can't charge for nail holes and painting and minor clean-up, this company did the write up and decided what to charge me for not the landlord, as he stated he hasn't seen the home that has been put up for sell as soon as I moved out, Also, they were sent a letter of Abatement in December and choose not to notify me of this letter as housing said was there job to do, Along with it being there job to notify me in January the they were charging a late fee on monies that they already had and they choose also not to send me a 3 day pay or quit of at the walk through that there was a balance, Why would I pay my rent on time every month and then make sure I cleaned the home and made sure I was there at the end if I knew I owed monies and not receiving money back, I knew I had to move only because I was there when I failed the second time and was served a 90 days notice about 4 days after, but I already packing and was planning to move during Christmas vacation They lady that came in November to do her 6th month check or whatever asked why was I packed up and I said because the unit failed, she said you never no the owner may decided to do the repairs and I said be both no he isn't we have been going threw this for 2 years and told her the will have a inspection again in 2 weeks and showed what all the said needed to be repaired, right after that was a 90 notice days after it failed again,I knew I had to move after it failed and I thought I had to move immediately but Housing said once they receive the paper, but they never forwarded and called or emailed the notice, So I went to housing and Fair housing at asked what to do because even they served me they wouldn't return my overpaid rent and I didn't know how the procedure worked because I have never lived anywhere where the unit has failed, All my landlords were good landlord that personally handled their properties, I was told by fair housing and Housing Authority to pay my portion and I didn't need to give notice because they gave me notice already, So since they purposely choose to hold back information, I can't be liable for something I never knew about, I have my copies my mail start of it being forwarded in December 5th, I had a place already and I actually move out of the home the 1st week of February before my family left to the Dumont Dumes for President Weekend and all was left was the pod left in front of the house which was picked up and moved by the 21st of Feb, I just kept the keys because they said I had to keep on the utilities on until the did the walk through and it they couldn't turn off services until that last week, only thing that was turned on before walk thorough was the water after the cleaning and carpet people came. Everything shows that they purposely didn't send me notice of being responsible for the full month's lease along with January falsely charging me a late fee, when they already had my rent since October 2014, it we both have the proof, You can see where on the paperwork after I left something says ok cond, and then crossed out and something was written, yes, I signed to many thing but a few I didn't, a few things written afterwards they house never had, As I wrote before, She added things after I left and the window was one, why would I take claim to windows being shot from the outside that's stupid and as I was told most stuff on the lease wouldn't stand up in court because it's against what the law says, I was told just to suspenoa records from housing and Inland Fair Housing and all false stories will be proven, the landlord is in charge of my money but they are in charge of making the false charges, not the landlord they signed because to be his proxy, he has never came to the home and seen anything or wrote and said any of these things, this is all Capital Developments decision, And as my lawyer said they both will be brought to court, because both parties and involved and the made up the illegal lease and made up the lies on the move up papers and there company didn't send out any notice to me the tenant to notify me of any of the charges the politely added on, I have never left anywhere owing rent, I have always moved on time and received my deposit back, This was all done, thinking my money for to fund them getting the house ready to sell, but it was move out ready they day they received the keys besides the few nails in the wall and I never seen the bill for the cleaning of I don't know what because I sent them a bill and pics of the house. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/04/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) NO resolution has been made even they have been notified by certified mail,that their illegally charging for things I already supplied receipts for cleaning and illegally charging me for things they had to do by law if I lived there 2 years or more and charging me for a window that was already damaged before I moved in and have witness by neighbors and for rent they already had and shows they had and charged me a late fee, there was no broken window when I was there and it says on my forms a bb shot, which wasn't done from the inside of the house and done throughout the whole house, That's common sense and the law and fair housing also said it was illegal and parts of there lease wouldn't stand up in court because it's illegal and against the law and there making up there own law, I would like for them to go ahead a disagree so I can take this to court so I can also get the other monies for the fraudulent charges the knownly added, My lawyer says we have enough to prove and by them not going to willfully change and at least send back the 150.00 that is due back in overpaid rent that is suppose to be refunded and after I moved out because they can't legally use that for anything then what it was given for that it's against the law. the deposit was to be used for whatever and my overpaid rent was suppose to be returned when I moved out and wasn't but applied for things that was already done. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/05/05) */ This is the third same complaint filed by this tenant. We have already responded and have followed by all laws and the contract. Please remove duplicate complaints.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Capital Development Realty Services
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart