BBB Accredited Business since

Vern's Plumbing Heating & Air

Phone: (559) 228-8376 Fax: (559) 228-1554 View Additional Phone Numbers 3505 W Ashlan Ave, Fresno, CA 93722

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vern's Plumbing Heating & Air meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Vern's Plumbing Heating & Air
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 1980 Business started: 01/01/1969 Business started locally: 01/01/1969 Business incorporated 05/01/2001 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 303247.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Vern Ingram, President Mr. Tony Jones, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Vern Ingram, President
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Vern Ingram Jr., Inc. Vern's Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning

Additional Locations

  • 3505 W Ashlan Ave

    Fresno, CA 93722 (559) 228-8376 (559) 673-9400 (559) 896-8376


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repaired but did not work. Charged for two hours (120min) labor whereas service men told me over the phone that its 90min job. 1. On Dec 31st 2015 morning I called Vern's to repair a heater in one of our rental unit. Got information of hourly charge of USD90. 2. Sent a follow up mail and provide details of the location around 1:45PM PST. 3. ***** called back after sometime and took my credit card details. 4. Repair man was the property I think around 3:30PM to inform me about the repair need. He took my permission to replace the "current limiting switch" for USD60 and advised me to replace filter as well for USD3. I asked about labor and he said 1 and half hour. I gave my approval. 5. After that I did not hear from them. 6. So I contacted my tenant on 1st Jan 2016 to check if heater was working. She sent out the following mail and quoting that here: "Date: Fri, 1 Jan 2016 20:35:27 -0800 Message-ID: <***************************************************> Subject: Re: Heating From: trashonna herron <***********> To: ****** ******* <*******> Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary=001a113ed304cc62cXXXXXXXXad3 001a113ed304cc62cXXXXXXXXad3 Content-Type: text/plain; charset=UTF-8 I was at school so im not exactly sure what they did,but the heater still isn't working." 7. So I called them and I think ********* answered the called and promised to get back. 8. Someone called me back saying that if you did not hear from service man, it is repaired. But he promised to check service man and someone will get back to him. 8. Jan 2nd 8:40AM I sent a mail asking if the heater is repaired. 9. Jan 4th 9:33 I got a mail confirming heater was repaired. 10. During the day, we had couple of email exchanges to substantiate that the heater was not working. 11. Same day (Jan4th) Vern's sent service man again to check the problem. 12. Service man called to inform that this time motor blew and it cost USD250 to replace it plus two hours labor. 13. I declined saying this too expensive and also why would working motor blew and questions their first diagnostic methods. 14. Meanwhile I got invoice for first repair with 2hrs labor + USD63 parts. 15. I raised a compliant that this is not what is agreed and Vern's refuse to correct it. Below text of last email I sent and got no response" Date: Mon, 4 Jan 2016 15:05:56 -0800 Delivered-To: ******* Message-ID: <***************************************************> Subject: Re: Repair request From: ****** ******* <*******> To: Lynda <*****> Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary=94eb2c0ccacad60dcXXXXXXa297c 94eb2c0ccacad60dcXXXXXXa297c Content-Type: text/plain; charset=UTF-8 Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable Hello, You mentioned to me on phone that heater was working on Friday (after the repair). I just talked to my tenant over the phone and she mentioned that heater was never worked (Thursday or Friday). After whatever repair you did, you or anyone from your company did not give any update. I called Sunday and spoke to ********** and asked for the status. I did hear only today morning about the status. The tech never mentioned to me about diagnose time and repair time. I consider one and half hour for every thing. I would argue though I am not 100% sure, the replaced current limiting switch might have blown the motor. I felt I spent my time and money with an unprofessional company and that is the reason I declined further service from you. I am also declining my CC charges of $253.86. Right amount is $208.86 for repair that is not fixed the problem.... FYI, below is the mail from my tenant that heater was not working. ******" 16. But received a certified letter stating the I own then USD348. 17. For record, I used some others service to repair the unit. I can send you or fax you entire email conversation if needed.

Desired Settlement: Actually I don't want to pay a penny to this business as I think they acted unprofessionally. 1. Did not check with tenant if unit is working before they left the property. 2. Did not update me after the repair. I had to call and send mail before I got a response after 4days. 3. Working motor gone bad after they said it is repaired, which cost me an additional money to repair. But...I approved initial repair and that is what I pay, that too with good faith that this was indeed a problem. So.. Adjust the billing that is agreed with service men. 90min Labor and USD63 total USD198.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/25) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** Dispatcher Contact Phone: (XXX)XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***** Customer called and requested service for a rental property. I quoted him our rates of $95.00 per hour, 1 hour minimum plus parts and material. He then emailed me all his information and i called customer for his credit card. After diagnosing the unit, we called customer and he approved the repair. He was quoted 1 1/2 hour labor to install the limit switch of $59.11 plus tax and $3.00 to change filter. Our time on site was from 2:24pm to 4:28pm. This included diagnosing and repairing unit. We charged the two hours plus switch, and did not charge for the filter, although we did install a new one. My email response to the customer was sent on Monday, January 4th at 3:51pm. At that time i explained to the customer that the limit switch we replaced had nothing to do with the motor that failed. The blower motor operates on a 240 volt, whereas the switch operates on 24 volt. The limit switch has nothing to do with the blower motor. The tenant at the property left before we were finished but another person at the home gave us access and it was heating when we left. The motor failed due to lack of maintenance,a very dirty filter and very poor condition of the unit. Also the system is 33 years old, and parts fail often in a unit of that age. We would not of recommended changing the motor at that time because it was working. We are willing to give the customer a credit of $47.50, which is the half hour labor he is disputing, but customer has stated he has disputed the charges on his credit card, and therefore we are unable to credit the card at this time. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/01/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I had never disputed the charge with my credit card authority. I simply said I decline charge on my credit card for $253.86. They can credit back or charge only parts + one and half of labor. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2016/02/01) */ We are willing to credit back the 1/2 hour charge to the customers credit card to resolve this issue. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2016/02/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

9/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The work was not completed efficiently and the copy of billing sent did not match the original invoice On Tuesday, 6/16/15 at 4:10 pm, A representative for Vern's Plumbing, service man #72, named **** came to fix our central air unit. He found that my unit had a bad capacitor and informed me that it was about a pound low on Freon, I then approved him to add the Freon. **** said everything was now working properly and to give it a while and the house would start cooling down. After a few hours of being outside, I came into the house and realized it had never gotten any cooler. On Invoice #XXXXXX, paid with Discover, I paid the amount of $282.05. Since the problem wasn't fixed the first visit, I called Vern's to come out for a second visit to find out why the a/c unit still isn't working. Vern's sent out service man #72, ***** again for the second visit. On this visit, 6/17/15 at 4:27 pm, he changed the condenser fan motor and added a new run capacitor. The cost for this visit, Invoice #XXXXXX, paid with discover, was $423.02. So I called Vern's plumbing and talked to ***** wondering how the billing works due to the fact the a/c unit wasn't fixed the first visit, she then stated that they charge by the time spent servicing. ***** told me to refer to my Invoice #XXXXXX, under description of work, and you can see it states, "Condenser fan might be going out". I informed ***** that my copy Invoice #XXXXXX did not state that line that she quoted. When I received my billing today, 6/18/15, from Vern's, Invoice #XXXXXX, I noticed my original billing did not match my original invoice and several extra illegal lines were added to the recent invoice, one being, "Condenser fan might be going out. So I called Vern's back and spoke to ***** and informed her I received my invoice billing and that the line she referred to earlier was a added line on the invoice billing that she had mailed me and I informed her it wasn't on my original. She then told me Jose was a "new employee" to their business and they informed him that wasn't the proper way of filling out invoices and that someone would talk to him about filling out invoices properly. I feel that the billing isn't accurate due to the fact the job wasn't done right the first visit and that the several illegal added lines on my invoice copy failed to be mentioned on the original.

Desired Settlement: I'm looking to have a reasonable billing adjustment made. I paid $705.07 for the cost of 2 days of labor and parts when it should have been only one day of labor had it been fixed the first visit. I believe the several illegal added lines on my invoice was a cover up for their mistake.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/06/29) */ In response to case #XXXXXXXX: Vern's Plumbing, Heating and Air Conditioning did speak with Mr. *********. several times about this matter. Jose #72 is a new addition to our company. Once we were aware of the invoice discrepancy, I immediately spoke with Jose #72, that adding information after the fact is not our procedure. There was no intent to mislead Mr. Juarez. Per Jose #72, Mr. Juarez was with #72 the entire time he was making repairs and was made aware of the issue with the motor as of 6/16/15, but Mr. Juarez declined the replacement of the motor at that time. The labor time charged of 3.5 hours would have been the same if we had completed all the repairs in the same day. If we make a mistake, we work with the customer for a solution. Vern's Plumbing does not believe in any cover-up. Mr. Juarez never mentioned anything about a labor adjustment in any of our conversations . Vern's Plumbing is willing to work with Mr. Juarez to come to an amicable solution regarding his complaint. If we had done the complete job in 1 day we would have been on site a minimum of 3 hours. We would like to make an adjustment of 1 1/4 hours labor of $118.75 plus $11.34 for the 7.5UL run capacitor on Invoice XXXXXX. This would make a credit of $130.09. This would make the total labor charged to Mr. Juarez 2 1/4 hours for both visits. We spoke with Mr. ********* on Thursday, June 25th at 2:20pm and went over his concerns with him and presented the above bill adjustment, he said he would call us back. Sincerely, **** ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2015/07/16) */ See attached Final Business Response /* (4000, 24, 2015/08/14) */ Vern's Plumbing did dispute the credit card reversal and it was overturned and the payment was made to Vern's Plumbing. The scale issue has been addressed several times with Mr. ******* Vern's has made several attempts to settle this issue. Vern's Plumbing original credit offer of $130.09 is our standing offer. All other previous offers for settlement are void. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 26, 2015/08/27) */ This is my responce to Vern's rebudle on 8/14/2015. ("Vern's Plumbing did dispute the credit card reversal and it was over turned and the payment was made to Vern's Plumbing"). This statement was true at that time. I contacted Discover card because I received the same notification stating the monies was released too Vern's. I contacted Discover to discuss the letter and I was informed that the monies was paid out but then pulled back until further proff from Vern's was received from them. So as of today Aug 26,2015 the monies are still being held out. Since Vern's received reversal of payment it's seems they fill they were i the right and not willing to negotiate. Im still willing to pay the sum of 220.00 dollars which I believe is a fair amount to resolve this issue.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Vern's Plumbing Heating & Air
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)