This business is not BBB accredited.

Benjamin Franklin Plumbing of Bakersfield

Phone: (661) 588-6444 View Additional Phone Numbers 9530 Hageman Rd STE B, Bakersfield, CA 93312 http://www.benfranklinplumbing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Benjamin Franklin Plumbing of Bakersfield include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Benjamin Franklin Plumbing of Bakersfield
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 27, 1998 Business started: 06/01/1995 Business started locally: 06/01/1995 Business incorporated 10/27/1997 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 953654.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Jones, CEO-President Barbara Ms. Kristi Hall, Accounting
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Jones, CEO-President
Business Category

Plumbers

Alternate Business Names
Pioneer Mechanical Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9530 Hageman Rd STE B

    Bakersfield, CA 93312 (661) 588-6444 (661) 827-0773 (661) 588-6449

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New shower hardware was installed and doesn't work properly. On October 21st, 2013 I had new shower handles, facet, and drain plug installed. I called and complained that the hot water handle would become loose when turned on and that when turned on, it would then lose pressure down to almost a dribble. I also stated that the drain plug would either not retain water or would drain slowly. In addition, I would have to pull the drain plug sometimes several times to get the shower water to come out. A serviceman came out three different times and the last time, he replaced the extension to the hot water handle thinking this might solve the loose handle and didn't feel that there was any other problem with the rest of the system. That did help the handle to not become so loose when turned on, but the other problems still exist. They wanted to then replace the hot water valve at a cost of over $700 less $318 credit. My complaint is that I had my shower hardware replaced only because the old hardware had water spots. These problems did not exist with my old hardware. I do not know if they replaced my old hardware with cheap hardware or unable to replace hardware correctly.

Desired Settlement: I would like either a refund of some sort or charge Benjamin Plumbing to have another company come out and fix it properly since they were not able to fix it on the three return visits.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/31) */ Mrs. ********, tells a different story than what we feel is the situation. We were asked to come out & give a free estimate on her shower/tub. She complained that the drain wouldn't hold water & that over a period of time the water level would drop & also the valve would loose water volume & the trim was old & spotting. I asked her if she would like to replace these items & after learning the cost she elected to rebuild the valve & replace the handles & spout. There does come a time in the age of every plumbing fixture when they need to be replaced and this is one of those times. But in an attempt to save money she went against our recommendation to replace these items. We made several trips to her home to try & make her happy. She expects the tub valve to function as a brand new valve. But the problem is her valve & tub drain are over 60 years old. After making three visits to her home we offered her a full credit towards the cost of installing a new valve in her shower but she decided she would rather turn us into the BBB. We don't believe the BBB should be used as a tool for homeowners to funnel anger back to a business because a customer tried to save money attempting to fix what should have been replaced.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Benjamin Franklin Plumbing of Bakersfield
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)