This business is not BBB accredited.

The Canine Spa

Phone: (760) 328-0876 68-766 Perez Road, Cathedral City, CA 92234 http://www.thecaninespa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for The Canine Spa include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Canine Spa
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 01/03/1976 Business started locally: 01/03/1976 Business incorporated 01/03/1976 in
Business Management
Ms. Leslie Klein
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Leslie Klein
Business Category

Pet Grooming

Alternate Business Names
Canine Spa Pet Hotel

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    68-766 Perez Road

    Cathedral City, CA 92234 (760) 328-0876

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/20/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our dog's fur was pulled out by the roots by a male groomer it The Canine Spa. We are from out of town but have had our dogs groomed here before with good results. December 23rd  was a very busy day for them with a long line waiting to check in when I arrived.  I dropped them at 8:00 am and went to pick them up at 4:00.  When I arrived they had been washed and brushed but their feet were not trimmed and they did not have sanitary cuts as I had requested - both when I made the apt as well as when I dropped them off. They quickly fixed this. One dog (Riley) was done well and the other (Monty) appeared to be done acceptably also when I looked at the fur on his back and behind. When we got home the Monty was very skittish and would not let me near him.  When I tried to pet him he would run away. We inspected him more carefully and discovered huge chunks of fur missing from his sides and hot red bare skin that was extremely sensitive. When we returned to the Canine Pet Spa to confront them I asked for the owner or manager and a blond woman identified her self as the person in charge. We were told that our dog had the bare patches already under his fur and they had just removed the dead fur to expose them. These dogs are 13 years old and this has NEVER happened before. There was no mention of this issue when I picked them up. She also told us Monty was extremely matted so it was our fault is he was hurt.   Monty was matted but in no different condition than he has been for 13 years of grooming every 4 months. My husband asked why they did not call us first before ripping his hair out by the roots.  She said "he" (the groomer who did Monty) was careful and gentle.  I find that extremely difficult to believe as it is now 6 days later and Monty is finally letting me pet him again but yelped this morning when I scratched behind his ears.  They changed us $150.00 for this treatment which is the most we have ever paid for grooming. They made no offer to fix the situation as they felt they were not at fault. They were obviously over-booked just before Christmas and were apparently in a rush to get them out the door.

Desired Settlement: $75 refund and assurance that the groomer will be retrained and supervised closely or let go to ensure this does not happen to any other dog.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/01/06) */ **** keeshounds grooming Dec.24th, 2013. This complaint is valid, though the customer failed in their agitated state, to clearly ask for a refund. This request will be considered. The dogs were admitted by my staff without careful inspection. They were in terribly neglected shape for indoor dogs. When I saw they had arrived I thought there is no way we can get through this matted coat! Being Christmas eve, and knowing this client was visiting, and knowing they'd made their reservation far in advance, we attempted the task of dematting. Usually a dog will complain if the grooming is too much for them. This sweet one did not complain one bit. Collectively my staff and I (to ourselves) admonished the owners for putting their dogs through this and for not regularly grooming such full-coated keeshounds. The owners, when confronting me, suggested that I should have called and canceled the work after seeing what the dogs must endure. Because we see countless cases like this where people want us to work miracles at the animal's expense, I hadn't thought of that, though I certainly will next time. My grooming assistant did call for help when he saw patches of bald skin under the matts. I explained the skin is under pressure from long term matts and follicles die, same as with human dred-locks. The redness/bruising of the skin, like a person's scalp, was directly caused by the nearly three hours of brushing on one dog. The client is correct in the fact that our workload was overbooked because of the condition of the dogs, not the number of dogs, on Christmas Eve. My staff was reminded we cannot say "yes" to every case, and occaisionally must politely decline after CAREFUL inspection PRIOR to accepting. I sincerely apologize for this step getting skipped. The grooming assistant was very upset that he was party to causing an animal's suffering, and missed his next shift because of that. We regret this incident could have been avoided by insisting on shaving the coats off the dogs or refusing them on that day. Unfortunately, no amount of apologizing is going to explain that to the senior dog. Additionally, the sheer amount of work done by three people to beautify this neglected coat was far above what the nominal price was. I would like to do what is reasonable to rectify the events with the client. If total satisfaction by refund is the remedy, that is reasonable. I would hope that this exchange would prevent the further actions of anyone regarding same.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Canine Spa
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)