BBB Accredited Business since

San Joaquin Pest Control of Fresno

Additional Locations

Phone: (559) 291-2200 View Additional Phone Numbers 2343 N Larkin Ave, Fresno, CA 93727 http://www.sanjoaquinpestcontrol.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that San Joaquin Pest Control of Fresno meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for San Joaquin Pest Control of Fresno include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on San Joaquin Pest Control of Fresno
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1969 Business started: 01/01/1968 Business started locally: 01/01/1968 Business incorporated 02/29/1968 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave Ste 18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
The number is 4781.

CA Department of Pesticide Regulation
1001 I St, Sacramento CA 95814
http://www.cdpr.ca.gov
Phone Number: (916) 445-4300
The number is 698.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Calvin Morgan, Owner Mr. Fran Oneto, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Calvin Morgan, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Fran Oneto, Manager
Business Category

Pest Control Services Fumigation Services Termite Control

Alternate Business Names
Morgan Brothers, Inc.
Industry Tips
Pest Control

Additional Locations

  • 2343 N Larkin Ave

    Fresno, CA 93727

  • 47 W Main St

    Merced, CA 95340 (209) 723-1191

  • PO Box 703

    Madera, CA 93639 (559) 674-5740

  • PO Box 7705

    Fresno, CA 93747 (209) 827-6277 (559) 896-3308

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am having multiple service and contract issues with the property at ******************* When I set up the service I told the technician he would need to call me before each service to schedule an appointment. He told me that was no problem. Over the past 6 months I have not received a single phone call. I have spoke to the technician directly again, his boss, accounting and the operations manager all who told me this would get resolved. To date it is not. I have not paid the bill for this reason. Spoke again with the operations manager (*****) again today who was rude and only concerned about collecting the balance. He told me that they do not have to call and that they can have anyone sign on my behalf. I would like proof of each service complete along with a signature of who approved the service. In addition I requested two termite reports for different properties. I was never told there was a charge for this. I met the technician at the appointments and was told he would call me with the results. Never got a call. When I got a bill in the mail I called the office who said they would e-mail me the results. Still did not receive. Finally I called again and they said they would mail them. Still have not received, but they are requesting payment for something I don't have. I explained to the operations manager today that I was done and to cancel the service. I asked to speak with the owner ****** ****** and was told by ***** that I would NEVER speak to him. Very unprofessional for an operations manager. I have owned my own business and grew up in a family run business and I'm so unhappy with the level of service given to me as a customer.

Desired Settlement: I am hiring a new service today. I want my bill cleared with San Joaquin Valley Pest since I have not received the service that was promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/10/28) */ TO: Better Business Bureau RE: case XXXXXXXX PEST CONTROL This customer started service with San Joaquin Pest Control on 6/25/13 at E. Franklin in Fresno. We serviced this address monthly and during this time he accumulated $871.45 in charges and received credit for $754.73 in payments. This leaves an unpaid balance of $116,72. We have a signed service agreement for this site. We also have service tickets signed by the technician documenting date and time of service. San Joaquin Pest Control started service at W. Regency in Fresno on 2/13/15. We have a signed and dated service agreement with what we assume is this customers' signature. No where on the agreement does it state that he needs to be notified prior to service. We did receive the initial payment of $145.00. We were never notified that he wanted to be called prior to service. This customer ordered termite inspections for ********************** in Fresno. We performed the inspections and filed the reports with the State of California as required by law. This customer received a discount of $20.00 per home for these inspections. We sent these reports twice to his email address and once to his postal address. Nothing was returned to San Joaquin Pest Control. To put this matter to rest San Joaquin Pest Control is willing to settle for $290.00 this is half of what we feel is owed. If further documentation is required please contact our office. Thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2015/11/09) */ I appreciate the offer to settle the account, however I have been very clear. I want proof of service. If they can provide that to me I am happy to pay the balance. I have requested this directly from them, also through the BBB and also through their collections agency. I have yet to receive anything. Thank you Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2015/11/13) */ Here is the information Mr. **** requested. It includes signed and dated service agreements, monthly service tickets with dates and times noted by GPS installed in trucks and also completed termite inspections to properties that Mr. **** scheduled. These reports are filed with the State of California along with inspection tags posted in structures. If you have any questions, please contact us.

8/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was wrongfully billed for service that was never given at my home ******************** I was sent to collection and I paid in protest 221.99 I do not have all exact dates but last year in 2014 I called SJ pest control to fumigate my home for ants that were becoming a pest. They did they job and I believe came out 2-3 months. They did not come back for sometime I believe 2-3 months and the ants returned. I called them and once again paid for 2-3 months of work. The ants never returned and I never asked for them to come again. I then received a letter from a collection agency and when I called them they explained it was from SJ Pest Control. I told them the situation and that they would wait for me to resolve the issue. I called the office in fresno and spoke with a ****** she said she would pass ***** the message to a supervisor and they would get back to me. This was in early June, I called back a few days later and she said the supervisor said he had not changed anything and the bill stands. On June 23rd I called back and spoke to ****** and asked her when their employees go spray a home what is the routine? She said " they knock on the door and if no one answers they spray around the house both in front and back yard". I exclaimed to her I have 2 disabled uncles living with me and 3 pitbulls in my back yard which struck her weird and she said " I'm not sure exactly what happen or what the employee did". She also told that specific employee is no longer with them and never wrote any notes or any other proof he came. I asked her to transfer me to a supervisor as anyone can see there were issues that made this situation awkward. I finally got to speak to a supervisor ***** and he was very unprofessional in deal with customers. He had a condescending way of speaking to me and was unable to work any issue out with me to say the least. I asked for proof of work or anything and all he said was "didn't you get the bills in the mail and its out of my hands and to call the collection agency". I feel I deserve a full refund and if I must go to small claims I will ask for more.

Desired Settlement: My resolution is a simple fix refund me the 221.99 I paid in protest to AR Group account number XXXXXXXXXX.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ********** office manager Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@sjpcfresno.com Mr. ******** started service on 4/14/14. We provided service on the following dates 4/14/14, 5/7/14, 6/6/14, 7/21/14, 9/23/14, 10/21/14, 11/21/14, 12/19/14, 2/20/15. All of our service trucks have GPS tracking devices in them and we have service tickets indicating the time and date of service. Our record indicates he owes $120 for service that is documented and the $100 cancelation fee that he agreed to on the initial service agreement. Mr. ******** indicated that he received our calls and letters requesting payment but chose to ignore them. We provided service in accordance with the signed service agreement and would expect to be compensated according to the agreement.

5/22/2015 Delivery Issues
11/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we were on month to month service, they changed the person they had coming out here. he missed months and as a result our dog got bite by a spider. we were not happy with our old service so we called san joaquin pest. we had a month to month service agreement, because i didn't want a contract. everything was fine until they changed our service person. he would not show up so our pests got worst. we are older and have 4 dogs, we rely on good service. at this time, one of our dogs got a spider bite, we took him to the vet. since no one would come out, we would pay late. we talked to a lady at san joaquin pest and she said that since we did not pay on time they would end our service, that was fine. now the manager, **********, say we owe $185.00 for early termination. so they do a crappy job, get my dog bitten and i'm supposed to pay them more money when it was month to month?

Desired Settlement: I assumed it was over, you go your way and I'll go mine. But since ***** **** insists I owe the termination fee, then san joaquin should pay for my dogs vet bill ($253.00). He said i did not live up to the contract (there was no contract, just month to month), well san joaquin pest did not live up to the contract either. and because of their crappy service my dog was bitten. we can pay each other the amounts listed or call it even and go our separate ways.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/10) */ As the VP of Operations at San Joaquin Pest Control, I can assure you that we take all customer complaints very seriously. First of all let me apologize for any problems or issues that you may have had with our company. We are a locally owned family business serving the San Joaquin Valley since 1972. Our number 1 priority is customer satisfaction. With that in mind I have investigated your situation and found out the following important facts. Your original service with us was ordered for a 3 month period. During that first period you only paid your invoice for a single month and left 2 months in arrears. This pattern repeated itself several times. Our policy in this type of situation is to send a suspend letter subject to suitable payment arrangements. After several more months we sent to you a final notice to pay. That was sent on September 2014. We also followed up that notice with a phone call to pay, that call was not returned. Once again, after we have a delinquent bill where payment cannot be obtained through our several steps of internal process, we have no alternative but to forward it to collections. In your case, we made extraordinary effort to collect payment for services delivered over several months. At no time did we change service technicians and we never attempted to add additional fees. When all else fails our last resort is to send the delinquent bill to collections. In your case, that was our decision. We would welcome the opportunity to re-build our service relationship. If you will pay the outstanding bill and make arrangements for payments in advance of service, we would be happy to resume your service. Thank you for time, I hope this satisfies your complaint. Sincerely, **** ***** VP Operations San Joaquin Pest Control Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First off, you have no idea what is going on in your company. I was told it was a month to month service, if that was not true, I was lied to. I requested that the technition come out on fridays because we have dogs that will bite and we have to lock them up in the garage. I do not work on fridays so I know when the technition should come. When he would come (If he would come), it was during the week when I was not here (my wife is always here, she is disabled). Since he did not get bitten, I know he did not go into the back yard to spray. That is why I did not pay, because you did not do the service you said you would. Your technition was taking advantage of an older couple with disabilities. When you called, I explained to the lady that the technition was not spraying like he should have. She said that if we paid, he would do his job. That was a lie too. He still never went into the back yard. I think the last bill was for $35.00. You say you did not add additional fees, Then how come ***** **** added $150.00 cancelation fee to the $35.00? He said I was in a 6 month contract. Now you said it was a 3 month service. You LIED again. Now as for my dog, No mention of getting reimbursed for those fees. If your technition would have gone into the backyard and sprayed like he should have, I would not have the vet bill. I do not owe you the $35.00 for service because the service was not done. I do not owe you the $150.00 cancellation fee because you just said you did not add additional fees. Now for what you owe me, $253.00 for my vet bill. I do not want your sevice (or lack of service), we have found some one who does it right, we have no complaints with this company. ***** ** **** Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/17) */ In the interest of good will we agree with your assessment that both parties should go separate ways. No further action will be taken. Thank you San Joaquin Pest Control

7/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tech never showed I called this pest control company and on their first scheduled service the tech showed up an hour late. I called the secretary to ask what was going on and she said paperwork was mixed up and they would route the tech as soon as possible. On the second scheduled service the tech called to say he was coming the next day and never showed. I called to company and they said it was due to the tech being new.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund because there are many companies out there that will not provide that kind of service

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/23) */ The issue was taken care of and the service has been scheduled for X-XX-XX at the tenants request. The problem was that the name on the acct. did not match the individual who submitted this complaint. We apologize for the misunderstanding. Thank you San Joaquin Pest Control

1/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on San Joaquin Pest Control of Fresno
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)