BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/20/2006

Modern Paving,Inc.

Phone: (866) 273-1953

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/29/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 8/10/15 I signed a contract with **** (salesman) for a TURF job & paid a deposit of $ 1000 to start the job on 9/2/15 7am and finish the job on 9/5/15. On 9/2 at around 8:10am, nobody showed up. I called **** and he said (like the entire situation had nothing to do with him) that it was ****'s (I didn't know who the person was) fault and he will have **** call me. I waited till 9:15am but there was still no call so I called company (@ XXX-XXX-XXXX) myself then talked to the owner- *** (or ******)- and asked why he cashed my check on 8/12 but nobody showed up & nobody returned my calls or even bothered to call me about the situation? He started to give excuses (equipment broken, too late to call last night) and didn't explain why nobody notified me this morning. I asked for my deposit back and he harassed me saying "YOU HAVE TO GET AN ATTORNEY TO GET IT BACK". He then went on to give BS excuses including "CA LAW allows them to delay work"?!?! I believe that law & common sense states that "One must follow the contract" or you don't get to cash the deposit. Also it was their responsibility to notify me for what was going on not mine to call in order to find out what was going on. This company is unprofessional and harasses women.
Product_Or_Service: Turf
Order_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
Send me back my $1,000.00 deposit that they cashed it on 08/12/15 immediately and I want to receive it within two days.Apology in writing for bullying me and harassing me with BS laws that I've never heard of.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** , president
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@modernpaving.com
The customer did not want to wait 1 extra day for her job to start. We tried to explain to her that we ran into an equipment issue, and we needed to start on Thursday 9/3 instead of Wednesday 9/2.
This customer was screaming so loud on the phone that it took my receptionist 10 minutes to understand what she was screaming about. We treat all customers very professionally , you don't stay in business for over 25 years with A+ rating if you don't, further more, the customers remarks about harassing women, is totally unfounded and libelous.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I could not screaming over the cell phone & I believe he was the one who was screaming & kept saying:" Listen..." to me. Anyways, I want my$ 1000 back they cashed it on 8/12/15 immediately. Why he did not response on the 1.refund my deposit $ 1000 part 2.Why nobody called until I made several calls to find out what was going on? 3.Why he did not answer when I asked about "If you start the job, when will you finish?" 4. Why all of a sudden he promise to send me $1000 right away (without asking my name, address) but I still have not received my $1000 they cashed on 8/12/15?

Final Business Response
Customer received check #2631, please ask her to verify

Final Consumer Response

Industry Comparison| Chart

Paving Contractors, Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair, Artificial Turf, Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Patio & Deck Builders, Landscape Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.