BBB Accredited Business since

Mico Construction, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (559) 875-5100 Fax: (559) 875-6737 View Additional Phone Numbers 16007 E Griffith Ave, Sanger, CA 93657 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mico Construction, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mico Construction, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 24, 1989 Business started: 06/01/1988 Business started locally: 06/01/1988 Business incorporated 12/21/2000 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 534873.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Michael Tillinghast, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Tillinghast, Owner
Business Category

Patio & Deck Builders Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction Contractors - General

Additional Locations

  • 1525 E Noble Ave # 140

    Visalia, CA 93292

  • 16007 E Griffith Ave

    Sanger, CA 93657 (800) 281-8131

  • 1625 Howard Rd # 163

    Madera, CA 93637

  • 4974 N Fresno St # 392

    Fresno, CA 93726 (559) 875-5100


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/29/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: signed contract for ***** once work was completed paid in full. Tried to charge extra 800 in addition with no change order. Called and harassed Had patio installed in March, **** came over gave estimate for 4825. After work was completed we paid in full 4825. ****** (coworker of ****) called a month later after completion, and said he needed to collect an extra 800 that was not part of contract for extra work they didn't include in estimate. We explained that we paid in full and didn't owe them any extra. ****** continued to call 3+ times trying to collect 800 and we told him we are sorry but were not paying that it wasn't in contract. Mike the owner called after 8pm two nights ago ( 2months after completion) and harassed my wife calling her a liar and verbally assaulting her over the phone demanding payment or he would put a lien on our house. He also used profanity towards my wife and demanded to talk to me. I called him back left a message to talk to him and still haven't heard back. Was told if we didn't pay by friday 06/12 it would go up to 1200 dollars. My wife fears for her safety because of this incident and the fact that he knows where we live.

Desired Settlement: We don't want to be contacted by this company no longer, I would also like his contractors license to be dinged, and no longer able to be able to advertise at the Home in Garden show in fresno. This is where we found his contact information. He also has 3 other claims with the BBB

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/16) */ I, **** ***********, President of Mico Construction Inc., have been in business for over 30yrs., have provided our services to well over 5,000 satisfied customers, and our commitment to excellence is second to none. The letter we have received is not only false but harmful and slanderous. All future communication will be provided in writing. We provided a beautiful new patio (your words) and have received payment in full ******'s existing house addition has a substandard roof ( approx. 300 sq.ft.) and cannot be sealed properly on side of new Patio Cover A "patch job" on substandard roof connection will accomplish nothing Work and Services provided by Mico Construction Inc. not included in original contract is as follows: 1. Complete tear off of "House Addition" area of roof Approx. 300 sq. ft. 2. New skip flashing, house to wall flashing at tie- in and hauling of all debris 3. New nosing, felt, and application of new roof 4. Chalk and seal to new Patio Cover and clean up Mico Construction Inc. rendered a 1200.00 New Roof on existing " House Addition" at 400.00 below costs, for a total billed of 800.00 to Mr. and Mrs. ****** A separate crew performed all "Roof Work" of Mico Construction Inc. and after Patio Cover completion Mico Construction Inc. billed and called several months and final response by Mandi ****** was that they could not afford to pay but could do some type of payments. It is noted that never did the Normans ask or request work not to be performed nor provide any concerns. It is understood we asked to speak to husband **** to keep conversations unemotional. We did not use profanity and we respect people's differences. The ******'s fail to address that they have benefited from our services, were well aware of their substandard roof and all the additional work we, (Mico Const.) rendered, and no reasoning or alleged sayings can take away the quality workmanship of their new roof that is to date unpaid. It is reasonable to assume that we, (Mico Const.), would not provide a new 300sq. ft. roof for no apparent reason and or monetary benefit; We were always trying to help and aid the customer to the best of our ability and problem solve a potentially damaging leak situation for our customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I, **** ******, have read Mr. ***********'s response, and it is completely false. My wife and I are not denying that the patio provided is not "beautiful" or up to our standards. We are though, denying that the process of collecting payment, according to Mr. *********** is completely false and misleading. No harmful or slanderous behavior has ever been committed by wife or I,as we are detailing our experience with Mico Construction. A change order detailing this work was never issued for this "addition" and was never discussed with ****. We had no communication with **** until June 8th when he called my wife calling her a liar for stating that we had agreed to pay this amount of $800 for so called "addition." Again false, is that **** did not use profanity towards my wife. He proceeded to tell my wife that this was ********** and demanded to talk to me. In regards to demanding to talk to me, to keep the conversation unemotional, my wife was emotional (in tears when I came home) due to being called a "liar" and cussed at. He also proceeded to threaten our home with a "Mechanic's lean" as well as legal action if not paid the additional $800. My wife was emotional due to the fact that he had flipped a switch on the phone and knows our address fearing for her safety. (She was home alone at the time) This attachment Mr. *********** has provided for documentation of work done, has never been seen or signed for as approval by my wife or I. This was never stated in original contract that we signed and our check was cashed the day after completion in the amount of $4825 (the balance the contract was for). We did not receive an additional bill until 04/25. (please see documents attached). We never were in contact by **** from 3/26 to 06/08 and what he is stating about setting up payments is false. We never agreed to pay $800, the only reason we sent a check for the $800 in the mail 06/15, was due to a letter from **** threatening "make no mistake, I will pursue this to end" (also attached). Out of fear of a lien being put on our house we were "pigeon holded" and didn't have a choice. **** also fails to convey that he has had prior claims with the BBB from 3 other customers regarding collection and warranty issues. It isn't surprising to me that we aren't the only ones going through this nightmare. Stating that 5,000 satisfied customers exist seems to be as far fetched as ****'s recollection of events. Complaints by my wife and I have been filed with the BBB, CA Contractors License Board, Consumer Fraud Agency at the Fresno County DA's office, as well as mentioned to consumer report for ABC 30 news. We are completely being taken advantage of. My wife has a perfect credit score and has never missed a payment on anything rightfully owed, and out of fear of having any blemishes on her credit and/or our home, we paid the unjust amount of $800. **** has been paid, so stating, in his words, "that we can't afford it" is degrading and we want this to go away. If we couldn't afford it we wouldn't have contracted Mico Co. to build a patio costing $4825, again which we paid in full. In closing we want to make sure no other customer is ever put in this situation with Mico Construction and if anyone has any questions please feel free to contact me. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/06/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We will be following up in small claims court or with aneutral arbitrator to retain our $800. We only paid to avoid any further threats from Mico Co. Attached with our check was a letter stating "this payment does not waive any claims or damages nor does it act as acceptance." Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/06/22) */ We, Mico Const Inc., have received payment balance owing 800.00 in full from Mr. and Mrs. ******. We are deeming this complaint by the ******'s closed. Thank you for your continued support in our efforts to provide quality service and exception care. **** ***********

12/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Mico Construction, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart