This business is not BBB accredited.

Mc Cabes Nursery / Gallery of Grains, Inc.

Phone: (951) 694-5384 27349 Jefferson Ave Ste 110, Temecula, CA 92590 http://mccabeslandscapeconstruction.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Mc Cabes Nursery / Gallery of Grains, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mc Cabes Nursery / Gallery of Grains, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 04/01/2003 Business started locally: 04/01/2003 Business incorporated 01/05/2005 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 864648.

Business Management
John T. Mc Cabe, President
Contact Information
Principal: John T. Mc Cabe, President
Business Category

Nurseries - Plants, Trees


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    27349 Jefferson Ave Ste 110

    Temecula, CA 92590 (951) 694-5384

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When ****** ******* gave us his presentation, I said the price on the rock was high and I would get it myself. ****** said we would pay the same as their company so it didn't matter. In fact it did matter. They charged me $185.00 per yard. Tri-State Materials charged $45 per yard (same company we both used). I understand there would be a spreading charge but $140 per yard is crazy. I also understand there would be a delivery charge. The original size of the rock they planned on using they said was 3/4". Tri-State only sold that rock in 1/2". They also had my credit card on file so I had no control to get this stopped. I tried talking to the owners on many occasions but was always shut down.I also told ****** I was not happy with the plants I saw in their nursery so I wanted to be there when they were pulled. I was told that was not possible but I could ok them before they went in the ground. That did not happen.I had to call them to schedule my 30/60/90 day inspections. In fact I got a Notification of Expiration of Warranty before I had my 90 day inspection.During the presentation we choose 3 types of iris x 2 (total 6 at $19.98 each) but they planted what they wanted. They changed out 2 but I had only 2 bloom this year and they were the wrong ones. I have a huge bed of iris in my backyard so I wanted specific ones I did not have. They were also supposed to be premium in 5 gallon pots but they were not or they would have bloomed. I also had the same type problems with the colors of Kangaroo Paws. The job was not completed in the time they said. The irrigation had leaks so now I really don't know what problems I might have under the rocks. The whole purpose of this job was to reduce our use of water. Time will tell but now it is my problem.When I called their office I would have to leave a message but the voicemail wouldn't be of the person I was calling. Usually no call back.I have run out of space. I have pictures and emails and more complaints. Product_Or_Service: Landscape Project Order_Number: 2128

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I feel I should be compensated $90 per yard of rock (5 yards). I feel they should be responsible for planting the specific plant colors they told me I was purchasing. I am disappointed with their iris so I would like them changed out to sea statice. I would like that difference refunded to me or a full iris refund and I will plant the statice myself.I am not left with a confident feeling about the irrigation system and a feeling I was lied to. Very thick file, do you want it all? $500!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/30) */ Mrs ***** contacted us to do her front yard. We did a free design for her yard with computer assisted graphics done by professional, degreed, planners. She was presented the design and liked and approved this design. Implicit in that approval she agreed to what plants and materials were in her plan. We select the plants for the customers from the nursery for time concerns. We have had issues in the past with customers fussing over specific plants and literally taking days to hand select individual plants. Sometimes those plants get damaged in transit leading to additional select processes. So we no longer allow people to choose every plant. We do allow them to select large plants and trees and this opportunity was afforded to Mrs *****. We also allow people to reject the plants that were sent in case of damage or disagreement on size (within reason) at the time of delivery. Mrs ***** never left the house to look at the plants upon delivery even though she was home. She was given the opportunity to review the plants because the job did span several days. She only complained about the plants after they were installed. Having been through this before we also stipulate in our estimates that once a pant is planted it will incur another planting charge to move it. We do this to protect ourselves from exactly this type of situation and for people who want to rearrange things after all the digging is done. We planted the plants as agreed to. We planted exactly as the plan stated. However, Mrs ***** was not satisfied that some plants were the color she asked for (because they weren't flowering when they were installed and wouldn't flower for another season. I personally went back to the nursery and picked out the plants (iris in question) to ensure exactly what was picked out was what was in the plan. My construction supervisor went over to ensure they went in exactly as planned (not the foreman who did the installation to assure that it was exactly what was supposed to be as planned). Additionally, on another occasion, Mrs ***** has complained about that lack of color variation in another group of plants. We also changed another 12 plants to make her happy. The plants we changed were done according to the plan and changed at our expense in the name of customer service. With regard to her wanting a different plant than the one that was in the plan (sea statice) that is something we simply don't do. The reason we don't do this is that a few customers want plants that flower continually. As soon as the flowering season is over for a particular plant they want a different plant installed that is flowering at that time. That is basically what she is requesting here for us to replace a perfectly good plant that was designed to replace it with another that is currently flowering. The fact that plants do not bloom all the time is explained during the design process. We fully explain seasonality of plants and that is accounted for in the design. Since all plants do not flower all the time we spread the blooms throughout the seasons so something will always be in bloom. With regard to the gravel, Mrs ***** called a local stone yard to find out a price to buy the stone in question. They quoted her a per yard price. She feels that she should pay the stone yard price. She has not accounted for delivery fees or labor for installation. That is her request in this complaint. Mrs ***** was quoted our installed price for the stone in question. We billed her for what she was quoted. Exactly what was estimated. She was not billed for the additional yards we actually needed because we in fact underestimated what we used. I have explained to her numerous times that calling a supplier to find out the price of the stone is like going to the paint store and ask the price of the paint. Does a painter charge for painting a house only for the cost of the paint? Her view doesn't take into account the time it takes to pick the material up and truck it. It doesn't take into account the time it takes to put the stone in-between the plants. It doesn't account for the weed barrier that was put under the stone. Just because you can buy the stone at the stone yard doesn't mean that is the final cost a customer should pay. She was told this before the project started, during the project, and now apparently after the project. We billed her for what she was quoted before the project began. As far as her lack of confidence in the irrigation system I have to simply point out the way the plants look. At the end of her three month warranty period we did a final walk through as is our normal procedure. The plants have more than doubled in size since they were planted. All of the plants were healthy and thriving. If there was anything wrong with the irrigation system this wouldn't be the case. Mrs ***** called so many times a day that the people in the office grew weary of her calls and took turns answering her. However, all of her calls were returned. Her continued stream of questions and concerns disrupted the entire office and eventually delayed responses back to her. This is also the reason the job was delayed because she kept holding up the progress of the work by us having to check every detail with the foreman to assure everything was correct. We have bent over backwards to try and make this customer happy and to explain the issues laid out above. But in this case I don't think it was possible to ever make this happen. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Wow! Unbelievable! The design was "free" to me only if I went with their company. You could not "have" a copy. "Implicit in that approval, she agreed to what plants and materials were in her plan." This is my complaint....I did not receive what ****** and I agreed on in that meeting. The sample of rock was so off I told ****** I would get back to him on that. He reminded me that if I chose something more expensive, I would have to pay the difference. I had my backyard done in rock so I had dealt with the same very same supplier they used. I told ****** the rock amount seemed high so I could get it myself. He told me it didn't make any difference since we would pay the same amount. I said in that case I would let them get it. He was planning on using riverock and I found out from the supplier that they did not carry the size ****** had listed. It was smaller. The smaller rock cost about $95 a yard. The rock that I chose was $45 a yard. The estimate I received did not have the wording The McCabes seemed to imply. I was not given the chance to select the two trees. The plants came in the morning of the planting day but I was not aware of it. They did not call me or come to the door. When I went out to check on the work only a few plants were yet to be planted. I never did ask for any plants to be moved. They only brought 2 iris out. One in bloom, a very small pitiful plant (I have pictures). Out of 6 iris I have seen one in bloom that is the right variety. The two out of six that did bloom in my yard were not the varaties I had selected. The 12 plants he is talking about was because they died before the warranty was up. Some due to irrigation problems. When I say irrigation problems they know very well it was because of water being where there were no plants. One of their solutions to the running water was to 1/2 the time so it wouldsn't run off so much. The Kangroo Paw plants they changed out were because of their mistake not mine. I know about seasonality of plants, I grew up on a farm. I also know when someone puts a one gallon plant in a five gallon pot. I was told by one of their workers my iris didn't bloom because they had divided them. Do you get a divided plant in a 5 gallon pot? Even an idiot knows plants don't bloom all the time. I feel that is very condescending and indicative of their doing as they please. If they took the time and concern to read my complaint, they would have seen I did include an amount for delivery and installation. I have more gravel in my backyard that had to be taken back in a wheelbarrow so I do have any idea of how long it should take. The "painter" story, are you kidding me. I WAS NOT TOLD THIS BEFORE THE PROJECT STARTED. Only ****** and another designer were in the room. By thw way, I left for a week and when I got back one of the plants was dead. I was nursing it before I left so now I know to check that irrigation before I replant. If I had called so many times, why wasn't I out hovering every moment of the job? Because I didn't. People didn't take turns dealing with me. The receptionist just put me through to a voicemail and not even to the person I was calling. Calling for my 30/60/90 day inspections was a bother to them. All of my calls were not returned and paperwork I requested from them was not given to me. A copy of my first inspection report, a copy of paperwork from McCabes that was different from the only copy I received. I don't feel McCabes dealt with the issues of my complaint. I do have emails, pictures and the second inspection report from ****** and the owners. Why the emails if I was calling all the time? Also, the people I have dealt with throw each other under the bus. I'm sure ****** would like to hear what the owner said about him and the owner what was said about him? Dealing with this company was a big mistake. I like ******'s concept, I just wish McCabe's had delivered what I was sold. The job was delayed because of the scheduling and their mistakes with the irrigation system. Not me. So much more to say on this matter but I have an appointment to keep. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/06/10) */ Mrs ***** said she thought she was told we that she would pay the same amount as TriState would charge. I am sorry for her misunderstanding of what she thought was said. She should have read the estimate it spelled out the charges in plain detail. This has been the history with Mrs *****. She complains about one thing then moves to the next and keeps going until she finds some traction to try to get more out of us. On visual inspection of the tree in her yard I showed her the new growth of the tree. She agreed that the tree was in fact healthy and didn't need to be replaced. She seems to want us to replace plants to make herself feel better. Her warranty is out of date she will not be getting a new tree. Nor was there anything wrong witht he tree she got. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/06/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When a business tells me I would pay Tri-State the same amount for rock as they pay, I expect their statement to be a true. How am I supposed to know this is not true? At that point only the company knows that is not true. I totally get all the other charges involved and expected to pay them. I do not feel McCabes has addressed all the issues of my complaint. They tell a nice story but I wanted to hear their response to my concerns. Here is just one......the one inspection report I got had the olive tree being replaced. Why did they decide not to do that? Please advise if I need to list them again.

5/15/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: No drainage in back yard, trenching and depressions throughout yard, standing water in yard In our contract signed on 9/12/2013 under the section regarding sod installation it states that McCabe's will level the ground and provide sloping for drainage. There is a depression grid that follows the sprinkler lines throughout the yard. There is standing water in these depressions that will not allow my family to use the yard. McCabe's did a complete tear out and reinstallation of our yard and is responsible for the condition of the depressions and grading. McCabe's has sent workers out to repair our yard but have given them insufficient time, materials, and information to complete the job. Each time the workers come out they state that they can not address the issues because of the standing water. They have also removed plants that were dying and replaced them with the wrong plant. I paid McCabe's the full contract amount of $24,447.96 without receiving the agreed upon services. McCabe's has very poor communication and we have had to explain our situation to a number of different people who seem to fail to pass the information along to their coworkers. This job was "completed" late October and I have been trying to get McCabe's to address the issues since then.

Desired Settlement: First, find a way to allow for drainage of water. Either tear out the yard and start over with the grading and slope, or install drains as I had them before McCabe's tore them out. Fix the trenching grid as well as depressed areas near the concrete. I don't expect my yard to look like a patchwork of grass because McCabe's failed to address the issue in a timely manner. Take out the sod, replace it, and complete the job like it should have been done in the first place. I should not be punished with a substandard yard because McCabe's did a poor job and then ignored my complaints afterward. I expect this work to given it's due attention and not be handled during off hours or as an overtime project for one or two workers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/18) */ We make every attempt to provide real estimates to our customers from the outset. We go out of our way to be sure we don't surprise people with change orders to increase the prices after the job begins. I find it insulting that someone is suggesting that we somehow did not do something when their contract plainly spells out the scope of work we were contracting for and we did that work to a high quality standard. We have received the correspondence from the customer. This is not he first time we have been contacted about this problem. The first time we were contacted the owner of the company went over and spoke directly with the customer about her concerns. As a company we always address people's concerns and try to take care of them as soon as possible. It seems the main problem here is that water collects at the bottom of a relatively flat grass area close to the patio. The water comes from running the sprinklers too long. (It appears that the homeowners are trying to make the grass grow in faster by leaving the water on longer. However, when it is the winter this strategy doesn't work and it is saturating the area. She was informed the timing of the water is creating the problem and asked to reduce the water so we could do some other repairs that she asked for as well.) Drains are made to pick up excess water from rain not to collect overwatering of plant materials. They should never be used to pick up water that is being wasted due to overwatering. There are two reasons for this. First is that the grass is in a shady location and the time of the year she contacted us it was essentially dormant. The second reason is that grass that is being overwatered is not only wasteful of a precious resource it can lead to diseases that can kill the grass. After providing her with an explanation of why the water should be turned down she said we made a mistake when we did the construction. She said we didn't do the drains as she requested. I informed her we never contracted to do any drain work and to look at her contract. She showed me a line item on the grass portion of the bill that said the grass will be sloped to assist in drainage. (That is boiler plate language that we use for all references to sod because people always ask if the ground will be sloped.) It says nothing about correcting existing drains or anything about correcting any drainage problems. They are always separate line items and customers are always informed of that fact. I told her that they were given the estimated cost of a drain extension during the estimate presentation and they asked for the item to be removed. They felt this and a few other items took them beyond their budget. It should also be noted that there were a number of other much more expensive creature comforts that were kept in the estimate that could have easily taken care of the "drainage problem cost". There were a number of other small items that were also brought up at the time. Those were fixed as requested, as it is our standard policy to do so. However, one of the things we were asked to fix was some settling around the trenches were we had made repairs to existing sprinkler lines. This was where I had asked the customer to reduce the water from the sprinklers because the clock was inside a locked garage. She said she would do so. When we returned with all the equipment and materials to make the requested repairs we found that the clock was still on too long and the area was too wet to operate the machines needed to remove the sod. (It may be that she wanted to still provide her point as to the lack of drainage. I'm not sure.) But in essence we couldn't do the smaller repairs because of her overwatering. Lastly, we made an overture to put in the drain that would resolve the problem for about half of the actual cost of doing the extension. This became much more difficult because now other work had been performed and would need to be undone and redone again because of there decision not to put in the drain in the first place. She in essence said that we should do the work for free. We should have known this was important to her (even though she asked for the item to be taken out of the estimate we provided the first time). Then she said if we didn't do the work for free she would let everyone know that we were dishonest contractors. We even tried to contact her to do the work for free (even though we were under no obligation to do so) just to ensure she was satisfied and she never answered the numerous voicemail messages left. We even attempted to go the home to resolve the issue, and despite numerous attempts to contact her, and each time no one was home. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/05/05) */ I was not able to pay attention to this matter for a while due to the illness and eventual death of my Grandfather during this time (I can provide documents if needed). In regards to ******** response, it was not satisfactory. No resolution was offered. I was told that the standing water was due to a lack of fertilization, I was never given a plan of action to resolve my issue. If I was ever told "we will be out on Saturday so please stop watering on Wednesday" I would have gladly done so. The standing water and trenching has never been addressed. As far as the drainage, I don't care if I have drains in my grass as long as it drains. If they can accomplish this through sloping and grading my yard then I am fine. The contract states to allow for drainage, however this is achieved does not matter to me. As far as the phone calls not being returned, this is the first time that ******** has been entirely untruthful. We initiated 95% of the communication trying to fix our problems and had to follow up unanswered calls a number of times. The one call from ******** that went unanswered from us was stating that they were one their way over to our house. By the time we got the message they had already arrived. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/05/06) */ First, I think we should begin by saying I asked the customer to turn down the clock because she was watering the grass way too long (the clock is locked in the garage). This is the where the problem begins and could likely be the place where the problem goes completely away. If they weren't overwatering they may not have the standing water issue at all. I did specifically ask her to have the gardening service service reduce the amount of water and she said we would. I did not ask this as a one time thing. The water from the irrigation is flooding the area and needs to be reduced and will need seasonal adjustments thereafter. This was never done so when my men arrived to do some other repairs for her they couldn't do anything because of the muddiness caused by the overwatering. She is also killing the grass by doing this and I told her as much. The resolution I am offering is for the *******'s to pay a small amount to offset what it will cost us to rework the drains that someone else installed. After visiting with them and discussing the issue I sent an estimate to them for approximately $500 to fix the problem caused by a previous gardener's work. (This in no way covers my actual cost to do the work i was just trying to make the customer happy). That estimate included removing the sod, reworking the irrigation pipes that will have to be cut, put in the drains and relay the sod. This is not a small amount of work. As I mentioned before they opted to leave this out of the original proposal in favor of doing other things because doing the drains was going to be significantly more than what I quoted her to repair the current issue. I will not do this work for free. It was not my decision to leave the drains out of the proposal it was the customer's decision. Our contracts are clearly itemized so the customer understands what they are paying for. Drains were not in that contract. The drains were existing. However, there was a short reference to raking soil out for drainage on a line in the contract pertaining to sod installation. This was in no way intended to say we were installing a new drainage pipe. I would be quiet a stretch to say that this had anything to do with drain pipes installation. I can send you a copy of the contract if you would like to see the reference. With regard to communicating with the ******** I have tried telephoning many many times. I have left messages on their devices. When I got no response it appeared to me that they were screening my calls. It made no sense to me to continue to leave additional messages. I finally tried to go to the house to resolve the issue. No one was home. I was not being untruthful I was very frustrated. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/05/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again, no resolution has been offered. I have a trench grid throughout my yard that I pointed out immediately after the sod was laid. I did turn down my watering time, but nothing can address portions of the yard that are at a 4 inch relief. Never did ******** give a clear plan for fixing the problem such as "we'll come out in 7 days so please turn off your water". Each time somebody would come out they would state they were unaware of one issue or another and were unable to do any work. ******** initially stated that I should have kept my kids and dog off the yard and that was the reason for the trench grid (that follows my sprinkler lines). The standing water (in the trenches and pits) was attributed to a lack of fertilization. The only call that I knowingly did not return came on the day I filed the BBB complaint, chiefly because ******** was asking for more money to fix a problem for which they are responsible. Fix the trenching, pits, and create some kind of drainage.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mc Cabes Nursery / Gallery of Grains, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)