BBB Accredited Business since

California Exotic Novelties, Inc.

Phone: (909) 606-1950 Fax: (909) 606-1951 PO Box 50400, Ontario, CA 91761

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that California Exotic Novelties, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 7
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on California Exotic Novelties, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated 01/13/1994 in CA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mrs. Susan Colvin, President Mr. Alan Bloom, Business Affairs
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Alan Bloom, Business Affairs
Principal: Mrs. Susan Colvin, President
Business Category

Novelties - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 50400

    Ontario, CA 91761


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Cal Exotics product stopped working after one use. I had registered it with Vibetronics. I returned the item with a check and never heard back. I purchased the CalExotics Inspire Vibrating G Wand in May 2016 and the battery stopped working after one use. I spent $69.00 buying it at the store A Touch of Romance. When it broke after one use I returned it within a week of purchasing it. I also had to send the CalExotics/Vibetronics company a $10.00 check in the box, along with the product in its original casing, original receipt, and a note with my contact information inside. I even tracked my order from the post office and they reviewed my package. They claim to have replace mys sent out in 4-6 weeks. I patiently waited, but it has now been over two months, 9 weeks currently, and they haven't returned my phone calls or emails. I have not received my replacement despite returning the defective product well within the warranty time and following all of their return by mail directions. At this point I would prefer an entire refund of my money and check instead of a replacement, that's $79.00 total I'd like back. I had already registered the CalExotics device with Vibetronics back in May of 2016 and here is the information on my product: Item Number: SE-XXXX-XX-X Product Name: CalExotics Inspire Vibrating G Wand Registration Number: CCXXXXXXE9CC61A50C7F

Desired Settlement: Initially I was requesting a replacement, as that was all the company would offer. Now that it has been over two months and they won't answer my emails or phone calls, I would prefer an entire refund of my money ($69.00 for the defective product and $10.00 check) instead of a replacement, that's $79.00 total I'd like back to resolve this issue.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/07/13) */ Sorry for the delay. The replacement item came back into stock on 7/11 and was shipped out to ***** ***** that same day. She should receive it in 5-7 business days. Thank You

2/23/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my product for less than a month then it just quit working, I tired contacting costumer service two times and never got a reply. I bought my advance rabbit vibrater on January 8th on February 5th it quit working. I paid $120 for this product and there is no reason it should have broke after less then a month. I tried contacting costumer service twice and never got a reply!

Desired Settlement: It was a get product while it did work, I'd just like to have a replacement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/11) */ This matter was settled today.

1/4/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased a product for almost $100 used it one time and it never worked again. vendor failed to give me a reciept so due to the companies return policy i am unable to return the product. the vendors says return to company. so i complained to the company and can not even get a response from them.

Desired Settlement: i would like the product replaced or a refund!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/28) */ Please see the attached correspondence with the customer dating back to this past September. Our policy is to replace a product if (a) it was registered and, (b) they can show us a receipt. The Warranty Period is 30 days. To show good faith, even though we never heard back, we will replace the item. Ask the customer to contact Vibetronics and they will handle the return and replacement. Original Message From: Customer Service mailto:******** Sent: Monday, October 05, XXXX XX:XX AM To: ************** Subject: RE: From VIBETRONICS Contact Form from CEN Dear *******, Thank you for your email. I am sorry for the problem you encountered with your purchase. Please find attached our warranty policy; we would be happy to replace your item for you. Thank you, ******* Original Message From: Sent: Saturday, September 26, XXXX X:XX AM To: ******* Subject: From VIBETRONICS Contact Form from CEN Below is the result of your feedback form. It was submitted by () on Saturday, September 26, 2015 at 07:29:30 first_name: ******* last_name: ********** name_of_product: entice katherine e-mail: ************** phone: XXXXXXXXXX fax: fax mailing_address: 7100 conrad dr sacramento ca XXXXX comments: I used this product twice and the second time the rabbit motor shorted out and quit working i paid like $80 for one time use not happy! Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/12/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) their response on october 5th does not exist. and i do not have the reciept due to the vendor of their product, so the policy would not apply. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/12/29) */ No problem, tell her we are replacing it without the receipt. Just contact **** and she will arrange the exchange. ** ***** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2016/01/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) provided they replace product at nop cost to me.

8/28/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: i purchased one of the wireless bullets for a store and it worked the first time and now it does not work it is only like a month old. i purchased it approx a month ago used it that night then when to use it tonight and it did not work. it was about 45 dollars and i paid with a credit card.

Desired Settlement: i want some type of refund, it is bad customer service.

Business Response: Initial *usiness Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/27) */ We have no record of any phone calls, emails, or any other communication from the Customer. We do have a Warranty which can be accessed at www.***********.com. The Warranty is 30 days from purchase, but since the Customer has chosen to contact *** instead, we would be happy to replace the item at no charge and we would waive any fees. Just have the Customer go to www.***********.com. Return the item as instructed, but enclose a note that the $10.00 fee is waived by ** *. We do not issue refunds since we are the manufacturer and did not make the sale. We hope this will satisfy the Customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/08/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

5/6/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Items gets burning hot after 15 mins of usage.California Exotic Novelties Butterfly Kiss and 10 function hummer, both products not I have made attempts to contact them on their customer service number left messages no response. That item can cause harm with the heat that comes out of this thing. These items I received are defective and needs to be reviewed. I would like to receive products that work as the replacements dent to me by walgreens did not worked neither.

Desired Settlement: Replacements that work. I have lost faith in this company. More testing needs to be done before putting them on the market.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/04) */ Customer Service will contact the customer promptly and advise her of the Warranty replacement program for any defective products. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2015/05/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Final Business Response /* (4000, 8, 2015/05/05) */ We contacted the Customer today. She found our email response in her "junk" file. We responded April 13, 2015. She will be getting a replacement product at no charge, and she confirms that she is satisfied with our handling of her complaint.

2/24/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Defective product Puchased product in September 2014 called 7 Function Power Play. Se XXXX-XX-X. UPC XXXXXXXXXXXX. It never worked…well it worked but only if you held battery closure with your hands! I called 6 times and left a message for customer service as know one ever picked up the phone as well as sending 3 emails to them. I never heard back once! I just want the product replaced or a credit applied to my credit card!

Desired Settlement: $34.99

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/12) */ Customer Service contacted the customer via email in November with no reply. Another email was sent today from Leticia offering a no charge replacement for the defective product. As soon as she replies, we will send out the item. Final Business Response /* (4000, 8, 2015/02/13) */ Customer was contacted and the issue is settled to her satisfaction.

5/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON 1/26/2014 I bought and Adult Vibrator Triple Play Wild G SE-XXXX-XX-X and unfortunately the product has not properly working the beads don't rotate On the vibrator has only been used 3 times within the period of purchase on 1/26/2014 I am married and have my partner who takes care of his dutie and leaves little time for the vibrator.On 4/27/2014 I took the Wild G vibrator out and and the beads stopped and jammed. I purchased the SE-XXXX-XX-X what was appealing on the packaging it says Strategically placed Non- Jamming Beads. I paid $111.23 on my visa at S.D Books 736 Tennesee ST. Redlands CA,XXXXX (XXX)XXX-XXXX I will submit proof upon request. On 4/30/2014 on the Vibetronics warranty I gave the product name and the registeation number I was given is CEBED81AA89DE8CDFF7D and on-line submitted the nature of the problem on what happend to the Wild G and simply stated it not working and Stated I very unhappy with the problem the has occured , I didn't ask for the high amount of money the I paid on the product simply what false advertisment I read on the package Non-Jamming Beads a exchange for me as the consumer would have been fine. Instead I was E-mailed a response 4/30/2014 from CEN From Vibetronics an E-mail that said Thank You for the e-mail unfortunately we only have a 30 day warranty policy on all the items.This gave me a bad taste in my mouth, of a waste of $111.00 of my hard working money.My husband said not to get upset but, the reason I am so upset because I was mislead about the product in which a Lie on the package of false advertisment.

Desired Settlement: A new replacement of a Wild G SE-XXXX-XX-X or my money back what I paid for the product.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/13) */ Contact Name and Title: Al *****/Senior Director Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ** We apologize, but the company policy is replacement within 30 days of purchase. I am overriding policy as this customer trusted our brand, and it sounds like we let her down. If she would please send the defective product to my attention, I will waive the $10.00 shipping and handling charge, and send her a new product that was properly tested and fully functional. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. I will look into the bead issue. California Exotic Novelties is a woman owned company with 20 years in business. We are well respected worldwide, and even one dissatisfied customer is one too many....Pleasure is our business, and we are truly sorry that Vibetronics did not take care of her. Please include the return address when returning the item to: California Exotic Novelties PO Box **** Chino, CA XXXXX Attention: Al ***** Director of Business Affairs

4/29/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Defective product... then the replacement was also defective I purchased the ****** ******. We cycled quickly through all eight speeds twice just to test them. As soon as we moved the toy, it shut off. It then wouldn't stay on for more than half a second, no matter what we did. We sent it in for a replacement, though we were unhappy at having to pay an additional $10 for shipping (which, as both the company and we are in California, should not have cost more than $3). The replacement arrived - and it too is defective. Instead of the eight speeds it is supposed to have, it has only one. We will NEVER buy from this company again, and will definitely NOT pay another $10 to replace it - if we'd wanted to pay $50 for a toy, we would have bought something different to begin with.

Desired Settlement: We cannot trust this company to provide a working or quality product at this point and would like a full refund of the purchase price and the $13 we paid to ship the replacement ($3 there, $10 back). We are not under any circumstances paying to ship this one back as well - if the company wants it, they will give us an additional $3 to do so. As a second, and far less satisfying resolution if that's not possibe (seeing as I would worry about the toy failing each time we used it), we would like a fully working replacement. Since we can't trust this company any more, the new replacement should come with a statement providing a new 30-day warranty. We would also like a refund of the $10 shipping for the hassle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/28) */ We apologize for any inconvenience, and offer to send her a tested replacement product, plus an extra item to cover any shipping costs she has incurred. We do not sell to the public, we are strictly the manufacturer/importer. Our Warranty company, Vibetronics, handles our customer service. They contacted me regarding this complaint, so I am prepared to provide a fully tested unit at no charge.We ship well over a million products a month from our Distribution Center in Chino, CA. Our defective rate is less than .5%...we are a very reliable company, but I'm afraid this customer just had a run of bad luck...we will for sure take care of her. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/7/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cheaply made over priced clitoral pump Looking to spice things pu a bit I decided to buy a vibrating clitoral pump. This thing cost me $50.00 and it's not worth .50 When you go to use the hand pump it is hard to squeeze and if you even think about moving, which is something that is bound to happen with this sort of product it looses all suction.When I went to california exotics website to see if there was a warrenty it turns out that their is one but it only does repairs.... and you have to pay to send them in. WEll this was not mentioned anywhere in the box. Had I known that they don't offer something like adam and where if you are not satisfied they will take it back and give you a refund I would have NEVER purchased this product from them. THIS WAS A COMPLETE AND TOTAL RIP OFF AND I WANT MY MONEY BACK, AND IF YOU WANT THE PRODUCT BACK YOU WILL HAVE TO PAY FOR THE SHIPPING AS I HAVE ALREADY PAID ENOUGH!!!!

Desired Settlement: I want my 50.00 back from the company, and I don't want to have to wait 4-6 weeks to get it either. I want a check, not store credit I've had enough of their cheaply made products.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/02) */ We are very sorry that the customer was not satisfied with the product. We do not guarantee results with the use of our products, but we do understand the frustration when it doesn't. We are the manufacturer, and we do not make cash refunds as we did not sell the item to the customer. We do have a Warranty on all of our products against defects in manufacturing, and we would be happy to replace this item with a newer model if she will just send it back to us and to my attention. ********** Exotic Novelties PO Box 5108 Chino, CA XXXXX Attention: ** ***** Please clean the item well and return it as soon as possible. If she has the packaging, send that as well. Thank You, ** *****, Senior Director of Business Affairs. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/01/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) My home address and Email are listed in the consumer info. The following: the model number and the UPC code. Item : SE-XXXX-XX-X UPC: XXXXXXXXXXXX I would like for the respondent to send me an Email containing the following shipping information : When, I can expect to receive the item, who will be shipping it, and tracking information. Provided that all this is delivered I will be pleased with the way that this company handled this dispute. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/01/06) */ We are happy to comply with her wishes. I need complete shipping information and model number she is will be on our website details page for each item.We want every consumer to be pleased with our products. Al B

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on California Exotic Novelties, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)