BBB Accredited Business since

Lemoore Van & Storage

Phone: (559) 924-5328 581 W Iona Ave, Lemoore, CA 93245 http://www.lemooremovers.com/7622.html


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lemoore Van & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Lemoore Van & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lemoore Van & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 20, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1967 Business started locally: 01/01/1967
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Comm/Transportation
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 848-5580
The number is 0189160.

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Paul Homan, Partner Mrs. Jeanette Homan, Manager Ms. Virginia Homan, Partner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Jeanette Homan, Manager
Principal: Mr. Paul Homan, Partner
Business Category

Movers Moving & Storage Company Scales


Additional Locations

  • 581 W Iona Ave

    Lemoore, CA 93245 (559) 924-5328

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The movers broke or damaged numerous items; ******** refused to pay for those damages. Lemoore Van and Storage moved my household goods from Northern California to San Diego, and they did a horrible job. The company was selected for us by the military. The packers were very careless and obviously untrained. We had numerous items broken, scratched, or torn. Items were not wrapped properly, or not wrapped at all. Instead of emptying dressers to move them, they actually packed more items into the dressers and this cracked some of the drawers and broke the items inside the drawer. At one point, they dropped a tool box full of tools, nails, and other hardware, and just left it there. We had to clean it up. Additionally, one of the movers was a self-confessed felon, having just been released from prison. When I filed a claim with the company, ********, the owner, refused to pay for the damages, saying we didn't file the claim in a timely manner, according to her 'policy'. This is untrue as the policy says 'we should file', not you 'have to file' within 75 days. This caused me to have to refile the claim through the military, which is a longer process. When I tried to work with ********, discussing the above problems and asking for my reimbursement, she was condescending and very unwilling to do the right thing. She is obviously just in it for the money and has no value on customer satisfaction.

Desired Settlement: The government has already given me a partial reimbursement. If ******** would like to make this right, she can reimburse me for the rest.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/10/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** *****, Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************@comcast.net Begin We have been in business over 40 years servicing Government moves, as a Contractor we must follow the rules set forth in the DTR. All military members must follow the regulations as well as us, the Transportation Service Provider. As I explained to Mrs. ******* and sent to her via email, the rules are very clear that she MUST file a written notification of any damage claims within 75 days of delivery. She also expressed dissatisfaction with incomplete unpacking when I called her the day after delivery to ask how her move went. She made no mention of a "confessed felon" to me at that time; our driver may have hired a day laborer to assist with delivery, but he was not our employee. However, in an effort to provide customer satisfaction, we offered to pay for a crew to continue with the unpacking the day after her delivery, but she declined as she "wanted to spend the day with her husband". She failed to send us any notice or documentation (pictures of the damages, receipts for proof of purchase, etc.) within 75 days of delivery to initiate the claims process. I suggested to Mr. ******* that he or I should call the MCO (Military Claims Office) to ask for extra days as he had been on detachment, but Mr. ******* also declined any assistance. Mrs. ******* was very unreasonable with my staff and myself on the phone. She threatened to sue us, telling me that she had sued General Motors and won. I explained that she would need to sue the DOD, as it is their regulations that we are required to follow. As of today's date we have not been notified or advised of the government making any payments to the *******'s as the MCO would have subrogated any claims payments directly to us. DOD regulations also allows us, the Transportation Service Provider, the option of turning jobs back that we choose not to service, in the future we will not be servicing any moves for this member. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/10/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The regulation referred to by Ms. ***** states that a claim 'should' be filed within the first 75 days. We did however notify her via email within the 75 days. A call was declined to the MCO because it was not in accordance with military protocol, and was used by Ms. ***** as an intimidation tactic. Mrs. ******* did in fact wish to spend a day with her husband because he had just returned from an overseas deployment. Further, we wished to prevent any more damage to our property by Lemoore and/or whoever was hired by Lemoore. The bottom line is that we were the customer and we were not satisfied with the service provided. We're not asking for any extraordinary standards; Lemoore damaged our property and then refused to pay for it. Ms. ***** incorrectly cited military regulations as the reason for this. Asking to be reimbursed for the damage is not an unreasonable request. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/10/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) BBB, As mentioned, and as I told Ms. ******, we let the company know we had damaged items within the 75 day window and we filed the full claim within 9 months, as outlined below. We notified the company within a few weeks once we saw that we had multiple damaged items, hence them sending us a 'gift card'. From the Defense Personal Property site that is the required site for me to use: There are two ways to notify the Moving Company of any Loss or Damage to your personal property, but only one way to file your Claim. a. Loss and Damage Report. Using forms provided by the Moving Company, you can notify them of your loss or damage at the time of delivery and/or after the delivery. You can also file a Loss/Damage Report in the DPS Claims Module. Note: You do not have to file a Loss/Damage Report as long as you file your Claim within 75 days of the delivery of your shipment. Submitting a Loss/Damage Report does not constitute filing a claim. In order to be eligible for Full Replacement Value (FRV), you must file a claim directly with the Transportation Service Provider (TSP) via DPS within 9 months from the date of delivery. If the claim is filed more than 9 months from the delivery date you will only be eligible for depreciated value up to two years from delivery. Exceptions to the filing timelines will be granted on a case by case basis. Claims must be settled, or a final offer made within 60 days, however you may transfer the claim to the appropriate Military Claims Office (MCO) after 30-days for any reason. You may transfer a claim immediately, and still be eligible for Full Replacement Value (FRV) upon: 1. Notice that the TSP has made a final offer on the claim or denied it in full. 2. Notification by SDDC that the TSP is in bankruptcy. 3. Notification that the TSP has been placed in permanent, world-wide Non-Use status by SDDC. 4. The TSPs failure to comply with the catastrophic loss provisions as verified by the MCO. 5. The TSPs failure to comply with essential items provisions as verified by the MCO. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/11/04) */ The government has a procedure in place whereby the member, if not completely satisfied with our offer or denial in the claims process, can turn the claim over to the Military Claims Office (MCO)for review. They will work directly with the member from that point on. I suggest that Mrs. ******* do this and let the government make the final decision and ruling. We occasionally work with the MCO's and, as stated previously, IF the MCO is able to grant this member some extra time (a waiver) we will be happy to comply. We will stand by the government's decision.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Lemoore Van & Storage
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)