BBB Accredited Business since

unWired Broadband, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (559) 261-4444 Fax: (559) 261-4445 View Additional Phone Numbers 215 W Fallbrook Ave Ste 203, Fresno, CA 93711 http://www.getunwired.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that unWired Broadband, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for unWired Broadband, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on unWired Broadband, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 11, 2000 Business started: 06/03/2003 Business started locally: 06/03/2003 Business incorporated 06/02/2003 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Pete Sorensen, President Mr. Craig Demanty, CEO Ms. Anna Gonzalez
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Craig Demanty, CEO
Principal: Mr. Pete Sorensen, President
Business Category

Microwave Communications Computers - Networks Web Design Computers - Dealers


Additional Locations

  • 1997 E Tulare Ave

    Tulare, CA 93274

  • 215 W Fallbrook Ave Ste 203

    Fresno, CA 93711 (559) 261-4444

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called on numerous occasions to find out when the service would be back to normal and have been provided the run around and excuses and poor service Worst service of any internet provider I have ever used. Our service had been cutting in and out for a few months and I finally called in and spoke to Nicolas on 1/26/15. Was told they (Unwired) was aware of the issue with the towers on Bear Mountain and were in the process of trying to resolve it but did not have an exact ETA on when service would be back to normal. Did a speed test and hooked my laptop directly to the Ethernet line. Tech support submitted to have a credit placed on the account. Nothing was done. Called back a few weeks later and spoke to ******* and was told that it was hackers and that our download and upload speeds were being targeted by malware or spyware, and this was after being on hold for 20mins. Was then transferred to the billing dept since he could only see that there was a pending credit request. Talk to a *** in the billing dept on 2/11/15 and was told I would receive a call later in the day about the amount of the credit. Never got called back. Called in the next day and talk to Pricilla in the billing dept on 2/12/15 and was told they couldn't help and did not care if I cancelled service and disconnected the call. Called back yet again and spoke to *** that was supposedly handling the credits and she argued with me over the fact that she never spoke with me the day before since she was in Tulare about a callback yet her name was notated on my notes and the call was transferred by ******* the day before. I was told she would be happy to cancel my service and would transfer me and was disconnected yet again. Finally talk to another tech support rep by the name of Mikey that was semi helpful but did not know when the lack of Internet service would be resolved. He called back a few days later to say that we were exceeding our downloads and that was why the service was so slow. No one in the house has been able to use the Internet for awhile and our phones have been hooked up to our wireless providers network. I was then placed on hold yet again to see if a credit would be applied to the account. And after about 10 mins on hold was told they could not guarantee any form of credit and I finally said I would be canceling service and was disconnected on. Called back and spoke to Duane on 2/17/15 in the sales dept and he canceled the service. Was told I would receive and email confirming cancelation and have yet to receive anything. Worst customer service I have ever received. We have been good standing customers for over four years and the monthly service is $69.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the last month of service and a phone call rectifying the situation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/03/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *******, CEO Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@getunwired.com Customer's service has been cancelled per her request, she has received two months credit not one as requested. Credit invoice #INV00219961 ($139.90) 1) She has not purchased enough bandwidth to do what she is trying to accomplish. 2) We are unable to provide her upgraded bandwidth as she is being serviced off of Bear Mtn. 3) We expect to have the ability to upgrade her service in the next 60 days. Below are the case notes for this customer. Created By: ******* ******* (3/5/XXXX X:XX AM) Credit issued to CC for 2 month service Created By: ******** ******* (3/4/XXXX X:XX PM) This customer ended up cancelling. They also sent a lengthy letter to the Better Business Bureau requesting their credit be fulfilled. The customer was on Bear Mtn. This tower did experience legitimate issues throughout the month of January where various customer Belkin routers had become infected and were spewing out rogue traffic. This caused speed issues for all customers on the tower. After these routers were removed from our network, the customers that were effected by this seen an improvement. However, June Lett 's daughter claims that they were still having problems. This is when I discovered that the customer was consistently meeting or exceeding their allotted bandwidth per second. I can see us justifiably issuing a credit to the customer for the month of January as we did have issues during this time. Created By: ******** ******* (2/12/XXXX X:XX PM) I updated the other open case we have on the customer (XXXXXXXX). Created By: ******** ******* (2/12/XXXX X:XX PM) I attached a screenshot of the customer over utilizing their allotted BW per second. Please see "June Lett Bandwidth Utilization past 7 days.png" The screenshot shows that the customers bandwidth usage has consistently met or exceeded their allotted bandwidth per second. Created By: **** ****** (1/27/XXXX XX:XX AM) Customer is requesting a credit for past several months for the issues we are having with Bear Mountain. Customer understood the issues we are having but feels the company should not put it all on them. I let customer know i would escalate to billing Created By: **** ****** (1/27/XXXX XX:XX AM) Customer is requesting a credit for past several months for the issues we are having with Bear Mountain. Customer understood the issues we are having but feels the company should not put it all on them. I let customer know i would escalate to billing Created By: ******** ******* (2/12/XXXX X:XX PM) Last Modified By: ******** ******* (2/12/XXXX X:XX PM) I attached a screenshot of the customer over utilizing their allotted bandwidth per second. Please see "June Lett Bandwidth Utilization past 7 days.png" under this cases attachments. The screenshot shows that the customers bandwidth usage has consistently met or exceeded their allotted bandwidth per second. Customer is on a 1.5 Mbps circuit. Please contact the customer and inform them of these findings. If the customer is willing to let us walk them through running some speed tests, I would go ahead and do so, so that way we can have it on record. In a normal scenario, we would advise customers to upgrade when they are tapping their BW. But all upgrades are currently on hold on Bear Mtn at the moment. Customer is currently not in contract and I verified with Jeff in sales that they would not have any early termination fees if they decided to cancel. If customer wishes to cancel their service, please transfer them to sales. It is to of my understanding that this customer is irate and has already threatened to cancel. (Joy had informed me of this) Created By: ******** ******* (2/12/XXXX X:XX PM) The contact for this the following... Leann ****** (granddaughter) @ XXX-XXX-xxx Created By: **** ***** (2/13/XXXX XX:XX AM) Last Modified By: **** ***** (2/13/XXXX XX:XX AM) called, left message with grandmother. Grandmother said she would rather us talk to her daughter. Grandmother said she would have daughter call us back when she was back in. Created By: **** ***** (2/17/XXXX X:XX AM) Spoke with customer and told her that we saw her over utilizing her bandwidth, and told her that normally we would have them upgrade their service to a higher bandwidth package but at the moment we aren't letting anyone on bear upgrade their service. customer was very frustrated with her service over the last couple months and wanted to see if we could issue a credit onto her bill for the month of January, I tried to get a hold of billing but all lines were busy so i told customer that if she wanted I could transfer her to billing but customer requested to speak with sales to cancel service. Created By: **** ***** (2/17/XXXX X:XX AM) customer most likely canceling service Created By: ***** ****** (3/11/XXXX X:XX PM) Customer wrote in w BBB complaint. Joy gave credit for previous month of service on 3/5/15. Response to BBB was due 3/6/2015. I received on 3/9/15. Customer needs upgrade to stream educational video for schooling which is leading to their frustration. BW insufficient to support needs at this time.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on unWired Broadband, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)