BBB Accredited Business since

Mike's Evergreen, Inc.

Phone: (559) 322-1682 Fax: (559) 298-9062 PO Box 1607, Clovis, CA 93613 http://www.mikesevergreen.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mike's Evergreen, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Mike's Evergreen, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mike's Evergreen, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 20, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1987 Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated 06/29/2004 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 715439.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Fitzgerald, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Fitzgerald, President
Business Category

Landscape Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers Landscape Design and Installation


Additional Locations

  • PO Box 1607

    Clovis, CA 93613 (559) 322-1682

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Mr. ********** to landscape my back yard. The following issues have resulted: Poor workmanship, charging for services not rendered, etc. I entered into a contract presented by Mr. ********** for $22,491.05 on 09/15/14. Mr. ********** told me to pay his subcontractor separately$3,230.70. Mr. ********** was fully aware that I had never been in a construction contract, and surprised me with a contract in which he read only certain parts before I signed. He also lied to me about the contents of the arbitration agreement. I trusted Mr. ********** at the time, as he kept giving me reassuring promises and told me that I should trust him as he has 30 years of experience. Mr. ********** charged over $6,000 in a deposit and continued to request payments for services not rendered. He made me chase after his subcontractor instead of dealing with him directly. Mr. ********** told me that he had measured my yard prior to the contract, however, he later admitted during the construction process that he did not measure the yard. Consequently, several of the items on the contract were off by thousands of dollars. Mr. ********** told me that I needed 32 trees (for every three-feet in my yard). In fact, he miscalculated and I found out that the necessary amount is 60. Mr. ********** did not notify me that a permit was required for the electrical conduit. Mr. ********** also drilled a hole into my pre-existing concrete for the electrical conduit, and unfortunately, it is out-of-code. In addition, Mr. ********** was supposed to modify my pre-existing drains, however he has improperly placed them. The drains and the irrigation are also finished. These are the main complaints; I have left out the rest for brevity. I terminated the contract with Mr. ********** because of issues with poor workmanship, misrepresentation, and violations to several laws within the CA Business and Professions Code. Mr. ********** is only willing to give a partial refund and still wants to charge me $5,463.09for work that has damaged my property and is out-of-code, and is improperly placed and unfinished. I have contacted the CSLB to investigate the case. My main reason for posting this complaint is to warn other consumers about Mr. **********’s dishonest and fraudulent business practices.

Desired Settlement: I have requested a refund from Mr. **********. Unfortunately, he is not willing to budge from charging me $5,463.09, despite the facts that I have presented or the damage that he has caused.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/26) */ Better Business Bureau - Central California 4201 W. Shaw, Suite 107 Fresno, CA 93722 RE: Case # ********: ****** ********** To Whom It May Concern: We value our relationship with the Better Business Bureau and our A+ rating. Mike's Evergreen has been in business for over 28 years and could not have achieved an A+ rating if customers were not satisfied. We are sincerely concerned about the accusations made about our company and categorically disagree with every statement made. We want to make it clear that the complaints made are an opinion and until an investigation is completed, there is no factual content. We consider the comments slander. We are confident that we have provided services in accordance with the CSLB regulations/code, we are so confident that we requested that the CSLB provide arbitration to help settle this matter. We look forward to the CSLB investigation and determination. We pride ourselves on customer satisfaction and on several occasions attempted to resolve this matter. After many attempts, we came to the conclusion that no matter how much we tried, there would be no resolution without assistance of an Arbitrator. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To Whom It May Concern: Mr. ********** has not addressed any of the aforementioned issues that I have presented. Instead, he has completely dodged addressing my concerns by stating that he has an A+ rating with the BBB. Even during the process of construction when I had legitimate concerns regarding his work or business practice, he would state that he's been in the business for 28 years as a means to get me to agree and trust in what he was doing. Mr. ********** can disagree as much as he wants with what I'm stating and characterize it as "slander", but I have documents illustrating everything that I have stated in my claim, including a Correction Notice from the City of Fresno because he did not get a permit for the electrical. I have proof that he drilled a hole for the conduit in the wrong location, charged an excessive deposit, charged for services not rendered, etc. Filing a claim with the BBB and telling the truth is simply not slander. Mr. ********** included within the contract an arbitration provision which he saw me now read and lied to me about its contents. If I could, I would have taken him to court by now. I am the one who requested to arbitrate with the CSLB. The CSLB would not conduct an investigation if Mr. ********** didn't do anything that was suspect. To assert that he has done everything that he could to satisfy me as a customer is simply untrue. He has not budged from his offer which is charging me for unfinished drains and irrigation and an electrical conduit that is out-of-code and damaged my property. I previously had drains that worked and now I don't have anything and I'm out $11,745.52. I would gladly send in all of the documents that I have as proof if there were an option to do so on this page. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/06/12) */ We look forward to the investigation/arbitration to provide resolve for both our customer and Mike's Evergreen, Inc. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2015/06/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I don't have much else left to say. Mike's Evergreen should not have utilized dishonest and deceptive business practices. Despite the fact that Mr. ********** admitted that he returned items that I was charged for (even though the plants were never ordered), he has continued to keep this money.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mike's Evergreen, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)